Bitcoin Forum
January 19, 2019, 05:53:12 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Setting Up a Bitcoin Node  (Read 28186 times)
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1003


Think for yourself


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 11:28:24 PM
 #81

Just a little question,
looking at the stats for bitcoin core, i can see the connections coming in but its always staying on 8 outgoing? Is this just the way it is or will this rise aswell... bare in mind ive had this running for about a hour now.

thanks

It will have 8 connections while downloading the blockchain.  Once that has completed it will accept incoming connections provided you have port forwarding set in your router for  TCP 8333 to the IP of your machine with the client running.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
1547920392
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547920392

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547920392
Reply with quote  #2

1547920392
Report to moderator
1547920392
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547920392

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547920392
Reply with quote  #2

1547920392
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547920392
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547920392

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547920392
Reply with quote  #2

1547920392
Report to moderator
1547920392
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547920392

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547920392
Reply with quote  #2

1547920392
Report to moderator
tomsanders
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 11:32:34 PM
 #82

Hi

It has completed downloading the blockchain and currently has incoming connections. I'm asking the outgoing connections seem to be stuck on 8? Is this correct or will this change as well as it stays live?

thanks
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1003


Think for yourself


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 11:37:42 PM
 #83

Hi

It has completed downloading the blockchain and currently has incoming connections. I'm asking the outgoing connections seem to be stuck on 8? Is this correct or will this change as well as it stays live?

thanks

Your client distinguishes between incoming and outgoing connections? I have never seen that.  It has always shown me "active connections".  Mine is currently at 82.

Anyway a socket is both incoming and outgoing.  You can use netstat to see how many connections there are but they should be equal to the active connections shown on the client.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
tomsanders
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 01, 2015, 11:42:55 PM
 #84

I've got bitcoin core running and in the debug window it details if its a incoming or outgoing connection and then a total of them both. Ill leave the machine going and see what it is saying then.

Just doing my contribution to the bitcoin network!! Cheesy
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1003


Think for yourself


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 12:59:33 AM
 #85

I've got bitcoin core running and in the debug window it details if its a incoming or outgoing connection and then a total of them both. Ill leave the machine going and see what it is saying then.

Just doing my contribution to the bitcoin network!! Cheesy

Mine just has the number of connections in the debug window and on the GUI.  What does it say on the GUI for "active connections" ?

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
kabopar
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 01:15:34 AM
 #86

I've got bitcoin core running and in the debug window it details if its a incoming or outgoing connection and then a total of them both. Ill leave the machine going and see what it is saying then.

Just doing my contribution to the bitcoin network!! Cheesy

Mine just has the number of connections in the debug window and on the GUI.  What does it say on the GUI for "active connections" ?
Running the latest QT 0.9.3 with the -disablewallet option on the command line brings a user interface window that shows the incoming and outgoing connections.

On another subject, if you already have Bitcoin Core running on another PC, you already have a copy of the blockchain.  That can be copied to the PC used as a node, or you could place it somewhere on your network, such on a NAS, create a mapped drive on the node running PC and place something like
"C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\bitcoin-qt.exe" -datadir=Z:\BitCoinData
(See https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Data_directory)

where Z:\BitCoinData is the path on your mapped drive (it needs also write permissions for your node PC, as it will update indexes and keep updating the blockchain).
This could be useful if your 'new' node PC has limited storage space on its local drive(s) (however you'll need to run both the NAS and the node PC together).

Cheers
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1003


Think for yourself


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 01:57:06 AM
 #87

I've got bitcoin core running and in the debug window it details if its a incoming or outgoing connection and then a total of them both. Ill leave the machine going and see what it is saying then.

Just doing my contribution to the bitcoin network!! Cheesy

Mine just has the number of connections in the debug window and on the GUI.  What does it say on the GUI for "active connections" ?
Running the latest QT 0.9.3 with the -disablewallet option on the command line brings a user interface window that shows the incoming and outgoing connections.

I fired up my newer client and do see the incoming/outgoing now.  I would say it working correctly for your.

I don't know about your other question.  I do think they are working on supporting multiple wallet.dat files I would think that would be similar to what your thinking, but they aren't there yet.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
kabopar
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 02:35:13 AM
 #88

I've got bitcoin core running and in the debug window it details if its a incoming or outgoing connection and then a total of them both. Ill leave the machine going and see what it is saying then.

Just doing my contribution to the bitcoin network!! Cheesy

Mine just has the number of connections in the debug window and on the GUI.  What does it say on the GUI for "active connections" ?
Running the latest QT 0.9.3 with the -disablewallet option on the command line brings a user interface window that shows the incoming and outgoing connections.

I fired up my newer client and do see the incoming/outgoing now.  I would say it working correctly for your.

I don't know about your other question.  I do think they are working on supporting multiple wallet.dat files I would think that would be similar to what your thinking, but they aren't there yet.

Just pointing out that the blockchain information doesn't have to reside at the 'default' location or even on the same PC that runs the node.  This is a fully supported feature of Bitcoin Core.  I'm running this now on an old laptop with a fairly small hard disk drive, that could not accommodate the full blockchain, so I copied it from one of my other PC's that runs a 'normal' client to a NAS (Network Attached Storage), mapped the path to the location on the NAS to a network drive on the PC running the node, and it works.  It saved a lot of time of downloading the blockchain off the internet, but still took some time to verify the blocks by the node PC.

Cheers
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2548
Merit: 1003


Think for yourself


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 02:47:34 AM
 #89

Just pointing out that the blockchain information doesn't have to reside at the 'default' location or even on the same PC that runs the node.  This is a fully supported feature of Bitcoin Core.  I'm running this now on an old laptop with a fairly small hard disk drive, that could not accommodate the full blockchain, so I copied it from one of my other PC's that runs a 'normal' client to a NAS (Network Attached Storage), mapped the path to the location on the NAS to a network drive on the PC running the node, and it works.  It saved a lot of time of downloading the blockchain off the internet, but still took some time to verify the blocks by the node PC.

Cheers

Cool, I didn't know that.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
someredguy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 03, 2015, 05:24:03 PM
 #90

You could also fire up btcd.

"btcd is an alternative full node bitcoin implementation written in Go (golang)."

See https://github.com/conformal/btcd for more info. Need more than 32gb of space.

Still need to open up port 8333 on router.

Dash - Fast, anonymous, digital cash.  http://www.dash.org
CoinCidental
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1000


Si vis pacem, para bellum


View Profile
November 12, 2016, 08:06:58 PM
 #91

Is there any simple work around for  isp is blocking port 8333?

It seems to be blocked on the isp level but they deny that fact when it's obvious that the problem isn't configuration on my end  (all firewalls disabled and ports 8333 forwarded in the router but still seems to be blocked and I can't get over 8 connections no matter what I try)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!