Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 11:00:52 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: What if your Avalon breaks?  (Read 2514 times)
lastbit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203


View Profile
February 03, 2013, 07:20:30 PM
 #1

So, what do you do, after (hopefully) receiving your Avalon unit, it (suddenly) stops working (properly)?

It seems like it has an ATX power supply, fans, an USB hub, 3 ASIC modules, and a ARM based controller.
If power supply, a fan or the USB hub break, no problem, go buy another, replace and you're back in business.

If an ASIC module fails, given the fact that the unit is modular and expandable, it has a good change to work with only 2 modules. Maybe Foundation (or Jeff) can help with a 15 minutes test, disconnecting one of the (hot glued) USB cables between USB hub and one of the modules? 44GH/s is better than nothing, until a replacement part arrives.

But what if controller fails? Disaster! Maybe there's a possibility to put the firmware (or part of it) on a wireless router (w/USB) with the same chipset? Any idea anybody? 
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
davecoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
February 03, 2013, 07:34:23 PM
 #2

Contact Avalon and order a replacement? 
regular
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 297


View Profile
February 03, 2013, 07:36:32 PM
 #3

there does not seem to be any warranty explicitly stated on the avalon website.
lastbit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203


View Profile
February 03, 2013, 07:47:03 PM
 #4

Contact Avalon and order a replacement? 
Yes but on one hand, every day of non-functioning costs you money.
On the other hand, as REGULAR said, it's unclear with Avalon guys.

So, I'm more interested of what can be done by yourself, at least until (hypothetically) you get your replacement parts.
 
Fuzzy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
February 03, 2013, 08:22:25 PM
 #5

The term Buyer Beware has never been more applicable than when dealing with avalon.
regular
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 297


View Profile
February 03, 2013, 08:29:07 PM
 #6

I have to admit BFL is clearer for their products.  I don't feel that horrible missing out on Avalon batch 2 now.

https://forums.butterflylabs.com/showwiki.php?title=FAQ:What+is+the+warranty+period+on+your+devices&do=comments
senseless
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562



View Profile
February 03, 2013, 08:56:18 PM
 #7

I have to admit BFL is clearer for their products.  I don't feel that horrible missing out on Avalon batch 2 now.

https://forums.butterflylabs.com/showwiki.php?title=FAQ:What+is+the+warranty+period+on+your+devices&do=comments

Cant post video? Sad

Reminds me of: http://youtu.be/mEB7WbTTlu4

Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
February 03, 2013, 10:53:34 PM
 #8

So, what do you do, after (hopefully) receiving your Avalon unit, it (suddenly) stops working (properly)?

It seems like it has an ATX power supply, fans, an USB hub, 3 ASIC modules, and a ARM based controller.
If power supply, a fan or the USB hub break, no problem, go buy another, replace and you're back in business.

If an ASIC module fails, given the fact that the unit is modular and expandable, it has a good change to work with only 2 modules. Maybe Foundation (or Jeff) can help with a 15 minutes test, disconnecting one of the (hot glued) USB cables between USB hub and one of the modules? 44GH/s is better than nothing, until a replacement part arrives.

But what if controller fails? Disaster! Maybe there's a possibility to put the firmware (or part of it) on a wireless router (w/USB) with the same chipset? Any idea anybody? 

It's just a WR703N with some custom firmware and an external antenna connector soldered in.

If someone would be so kind as to rip the firmware from their Avalon and post it, I think I can use the openwrt toolchain to build from it a firmware bundle that can be flashed onto a factory WR703N.

I'd be more worried about the DC-DC converters failing.  No offense to ngzhang.

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
lastbit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 12:19:03 AM
 #9


It's just a WR703N with some custom firmware and an external antenna connector soldered in.

If someone would be so kind as to rip the firmware from their Avalon and post it, I think I can use the openwrt toolchain to build from it a firmware bundle that can be flashed onto a factory WR703N.

I'd be more worried about the DC-DC converters failing.  No offense to ngzhang.

Thanks, valuable information!
I think DC-DC converters are on each module, so a failure will kill only one module, not the whole unit. Even this is depending on how a module reacts to a partial failure, be it a DC-DC or an ASIC chip (probably are multiple DC-DC per/on each module).
lastbit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 08:41:58 AM
 #10

Now I notice there's probably another module each ASIC module connects with a ribbon cable to.
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 08:55:02 AM
 #11

I would first invest in



and



before investing in any beta stage HW

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
lastbit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 09:03:37 AM
 #12

You forgot the hot-air soldering station  Grin
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 09:51:34 AM
 #13

You forgot the hot-air soldering station  Grin
Oh yeah! Silly me, how could I forget that.

There you go

This

and

this


Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
yohan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
February 04, 2013, 10:04:11 AM
 #14

You forgot the hot-air soldering station  Grin
Oh yeah! Silly me, how could I forget that.

There you go

This

and

this



If you want to do it properly better add a microscope and a chip/board drying cabinet to all of that.
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 10:33:20 AM
 #15

You forgot the hot-air soldering station  Grin


If you want to do it properly better add a microscope and a chip/board drying cabinet to all of that.

No wonder I had this feeling that I forgot something important





Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
Korbman
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064



View Profile
February 04, 2013, 05:12:45 PM
 #16

So, what do you do, after (hopefully) receiving your Avalon unit, it (suddenly) stops working (properly)?

Easy. Buy replacement parts or buy another Avalon.

It's not like Avalon offers a warranty on their "no refund" devices Wink

Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 05:52:21 PM
 #17

Got the DSO, DMM, soldering iron, and cheap microscope.

No hot air gun yet.

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
Frequency
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 523


sheeople


View Profile WWW
February 04, 2013, 06:01:05 PM
 #18

Sarcasm on )_(

You probably first need to get an Avalon before you can break em... Shocked  Grin  Wink

Sarcasm off (_)

Put your money were your mouth is…       #coinderdotcom
lastbit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203


View Profile
February 04, 2013, 08:30:52 PM
 #19

Sarcasm on )_(

You probably first need to get an Avalon before you can break em... Shocked  Grin  Wink

Sarcasm off (_)
Yeah Frequency, I tried to order but failed, so, for me, this thread is a sad one Sad
I'm pretty disappointed at how Avalon dealt with their website mess, but that's another story Sad
siggy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255



View Profile
February 04, 2013, 10:06:00 PM
 #20

Yeah Frequency, I tried to order but failed, so, for me, this thread is a sad one Sad
I'm pretty disappointed at how Avalon dealt with their website mess, but that's another story Sad


+1

Tried, failed..  trying to decide if I'm disapointed..  Do I really want to do business with a company that soooo drops the ball on communication? 

Silence is NOT golden in this case.

Sigg
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!