Bitcoin Forum
November 25, 2017, 12:55:16 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 »
  Print  
Author Topic: R9 Nano Modded Rom  (Read 58799 times)
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 961

Huh?


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 12:15:26 AM
 #1

Rom update for Zcash
Zcash Nano Rom  Wink

This one is heavy, you'll need to have a killer nano to be able to handle this.
Link: Here
Reduced core voltage, raised memory voltage (which is needed)


Second one: A little softer

Link: Here
No reduced core voltage, increased memory voltage (+25mV)
Stock memory clock is 550 with the option to raise to 600max.

Have fun!


Rom update
For more information check my post regarding this.
Link : -Here-


Small update (got a pm from someone with issues.)
For those with problems, this package "here" includes -106mV, -112mV, -118mV and -125mV memory clock.
Core clock is still 800 stock, memclock 300, core voltage -100.

If you still have problems with one of these roms, pump up your core voltage (+6mV), some cards just won't do -100mV with a monitor attached.


New Update

Details rom usage.
---------------
Ethereum tests:

134 Mh/s 140 Mh/s @ 2.25A, 495watt (6 Cards) stock settings rom

185 Mh/s @ 4.8A, 1050 watt (6 Cards) 1020 Core, 300 Mem


Details package
---------------
-175mV(memory) rom
-200mV(memory) rom (only for the silicon lottery winners!)
Atiflash (command line flash tool)
AtiWinFlash (Gui version)
Readme.txt


Details ROMs
-----------
Core voltage is set at -100mV
You can go lower with software like afterburner.
Do this in steps. F.e. +6mV, if stable, try +12mV.. and so on..

I noticed that -100mV is the most stable for all cards (i have 100 so i know..)
Some will even do -125mV without issues.

Memory Voltage first rom is set at -175mV
Works perfectly when mining Ethereum, other more memory intensive algo's could be a problem though.

Memory Voltage second rom is set at -200mV
This will work just fine with this rom when mining Ethereum or any other algo that isn't so memory intensive Smiley
Please try the -175mV one first before you try the -200mV one, it's even better to try the -125mV one to see if your system is stable or not!
Link for the -125 package is on top in the last update.


Core clock is set at 800 stock for both rome but can easily be raised to 1000 or higher.
Memory Clock is set at 300 stock, also on both roms, this can also be raised but i would advice not to. IT has not point anyway....


AtiFlash.exe
------------
I use this one because i just like it and has never given me any issues.
It is NOT possible to use a version of atiflash when your system is loaded with a bootable drive (ex. Win 98 USBboot)

Steps:
1. Unpack everything to a folder of your choice.
2. Run cmd as administrator, go to where your folder is located.
3. To flash enter atiflash -p -f 0 DPM-200mV.rom, wait until atiflash tells you to restart.

!!!: Do NOT have HWiNFO , GPU-Z, MSI AB, etc running in the background when flashing card!

AtiWinflash.exe
--------------
Run as Administrator.
Easy does it...


References
--------------
OCN Fiji Bios Editing


Issues?
-------
I would advice everyone, after you flash your card(s) to remove your driver with DDU
and reinstall your driver. This always works! It takes some more time but it's worth it.

You can however just restart (don't just restart, completely shut down your system) "Power off!",
go to crimson preferences and reset everything.

Remove any profiles you have in afterburner (Program Files(x86) - MSI Afterburner - Profiles)
Remove settings from Trixx
Idem for any other OC tools.

You can always contact me with questions!

Greetings

Heliox.


Link: Here


Some old info and blabla:

Hey,

As we all know, the R9 Nano is one of the most energy efficient GPU's out there at this moment.

In the past months i've done numerous of tests on how to get this card as stable and as power efficient as possible.

I've been thinking about sharing my results and tests and came to the conclusion to keep it short and as helpful as possible for every Nano owner out there.

I modded my Sapphire Nano rom to the point that it almost dropped 50% in power usage at the same speed  Grin

And i would like to share that.

Please be careful. (you have a secondary bios switch, so you can always switch back)



For all the *nix users out there. This might be very interesting for you guys because i know what a hassle it is to change voltage in linux. Yeah.. not...

Also, if you want to flash in Linux, that isn't possible right now. You'll need Windows. (And not a bootable version! Won't work on Fiji..)


Enjoy!

1511571316
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511571316

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511571316
Reply with quote  #2

1511571316
Report to moderator
1511571316
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511571316

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511571316
Reply with quote  #2

1511571316
Report to moderator
1511571316
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511571316

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511571316
Reply with quote  #2

1511571316
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
antantti
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 910


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 01:02:10 AM
 #2

Soon there is someone whining about something not working  Cool

Bios for hawaii too, please!  Wink

adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428



View Profile
April 03, 2016, 01:02:49 AM
 #3

The problem with undervolting is that it might crash every few hours or so. And you have to manually restart the mining.

FORTUNEJACK.COM[
                            
9 BTC WELCOME PACK FOR 1ST 5 DEPOSITS
FREE 1,000 mBTC daily for LuckyJack winners
[
          
]
Ayers
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


★Bitvest.io★ Play Plinko or Invest!


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 07:48:20 AM
 #4

The problem with undervolting is that it might crash every few hours or so. And you have to manually restart the mining.

not to mention removing the warranty with all those bios flash, i would certainly not do it with so many gpu, the risk to screw one is high, and those card are expensive, it must be said that without this mod, having 1500w for 170 mega on ETH, is not good at all,  a 970 can do 1k and 132 mega, this is almost 200 mega with 1500w



.
.BITVEST DICE.
HAS BEEN RELEASED!


▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
██████████▀▀██████████
█████████░░░░█████████
██████████▄▄██████████
███████▀▀████▀▀███████
██████░░░░██░░░░██████
███████▄▄████▄▄███████
████▀▀████▀▀████▀▀████
███░░░░██░░░░██░░░░███
████▄▄████▄▄████▄▄████
██████████████████████

▀████████████████████▀
▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
█████▀▀█▀▀▀▀▀▀██▀▀████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░░████
█████░░░░░░░░░░░░▄████
█████░░▄███▄░░░░██████
█████▄▄███▀░░░░▄██████
█████████░░░░░░███████
████████░░░░░░░███████
███████░░░░░░░░███████
███████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███████

██████████████████████
▀████████████████████▀
▄████████████████████▄
███████████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
███████████▀▀▄▄█░░░░░█
█████████▀░░█████░░░░█
███████▀░░░░░████▀░░░▀
██████░░░░░░░░▀▄▄█████
█████░▄░░░░░▄██████▀▀█
████░████▄░███████░░░░
███░█████░█████████░░█
███░░░▀█░██████████░░█
███░░░░░░████▀▀██▀░░░░
███░░░░░░███░░░░░░░░░░

██░▄▄▄▄░████▄▄██▄░░░░
████████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██
█████████████░█▀▀▀█░███
██████████▀▀░█▀░░░▀█░▀▀
███████▀░▄▄█░█░░░░░█░█▄
████▀░▄▄████░▀█░░░█▀░██
███░▄████▀▀░▄░▀█░█▀░▄░▀
█▀░███▀▀▀░░███░▀█▀░███░
▀░███▀░░░░░████▄░▄████░
░███▀░░░░░░░█████████░░
░███░░░░░░░░░███████░░░
███▀░██░░░░░░▀░▄▄▄░▀░░░
███░██████▄▄░▄█████▄░▄▄

██░████████░███████░█
▄████████████████████▄
████████▀▀░░░▀▀███████
███▀▀░░░░░▄▄▄░░░░▀▀▀██
██░▀▀▄▄░░░▀▀▀░░░▄▄▀▀██
██░▄▄░░▀▀▄▄░▄▄▀▀░░░░██
██░▀▀░░░░░░█░░░░░██░██
██░░░▄▄░░░░█░██░░░░░██
██░░░▀▀░░░░█░░░░░░░░██
██░░░░░▄▄░░█░░░░░██░██
██▄░░░░▀▀░░█░██░░░░░██
█████▄▄░░░░█░░░░▄▄████
█████████▄▄█▄▄████████

▀████████████████████▀




Rainbot
Daily Quests
Faucet
Batelk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 08:16:53 AM
 #5


I could pull that down to around 5A with -100mV on the core clock, also stock clocks! Not bad at all! (Afterburner). "1100watt"

So with only doing that i would win 400 watt and some serious temperature changes.

Well, that wasn't enough for me :p

So i started messing around with the bios "rom".

I managed to modify the bios to set the stock vddc to -100mV (Afterburner's maximum negative offset is -100mV).
I also managed to modify the MVDDC, "Memory Voltage", also to -100mV (can't even do that in afterburner :p).

Ran another test with settings in afterburner at stock, didn't change a thing. And guess what?

Yeah, power went down to 4.85A Smiley "1055watt" another 45watt win. (not much but it's something!)


Enjoy!

Thanks for the good efforts.
So the memory consumes very little energy. With -100mV, power drops from 1100 to 1055W.
glerand
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 08:20:56 AM
 #6

Is there R9 390 mod? The default memory speed is 1500 MHz, but we only need 1250 to mine Ethereum. So memory voltage mod is useful.
bobben2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 194


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 08:27:36 AM
 #7

Eliovp,
Excellent initiative, albeit a risky one.  Those cards cost around $500-520 each?

Would you happen to know how to undervolt an R9 380X by BIOS mod?
I tried the Hedzin BIOS reader, but that didnt work on on my card.

Mining Hobbyist
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 961

Huh?


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 08:40:36 AM
 #8

The problem with undervolting is that it might crash every few hours or so. And you have to manually restart the mining.
Got 96 nano's running for weeks with my rom. No issues. The issues start when i go lower than -125mV.

Believe me, you can't imagine how much testing i've done...

not to mention removing the warranty with all those bios flash, i would certainly not do it with so many gpu, the risk to screw one is high, and those card are expensive, it must be said that without this mod, having 1500w for 170 mega on ETH, is not good at all,  a 970 can do 1k and 132 mega, this is almost 200 mega with 1500w

Well, you've got a point there. But like i've said, secondary bios switch. The risk to screw one isn't "that" high. If you go to low on the volts it will just crash the display driver and reset itself. So no risk there.
If you "OVER"volt, then yeah, you could risk screwing it up.

170Mh/s, 6cards, 1500watt, true. Those cards are getting pushed, i haven't mentioned that i upped the Powertune to 50 which will also consume some extra energy.
Bumping the cards from 1000 core clock to 1050 core clock will gain you an easy 10Mh/s at only 60-70 watt extra (Complete rig)

Again, my power draw is all from the wall. So Motherboard, cpu, Memory, 6 cards that have to get power, 6 risers that all need some power.

If i do this test on 1 card, directly seated into the PCI slot (which i have done) the power draw is A LOT less.

I haven't really calculated on this to happen either. But it's still okay Smiley

Thanks for the good efforts.
So the memory consumes very little energy. With -100mV, power drops from 1100 to 1055W.
Yes indeed, it didn't drop very hard.
Although. When using a stress program like 3DMark the memory controller will be using A LOT more of energy, because basically the memory will be used :p

When mining Ethereum, or any other algo, the memory on Fiji isn't really being used at it's fullest. Well, Almost not.

So cranking that down to -100mV was basically logical for me to do as it's not needed.

(-100mV will still be perfect for the HBM mem to run on 500clock at full load) "Stress test in 3DMark".


Is there R9 390 mod? The default memory speed is 1500 MHz, but we only need 1250 to mine Ethereum. So memory voltage mod is useful.

You could create one Smiley

I believe there are plenty of Hawaii tutorials out there :p

if you have questions, just ask, no worries!


Eliovp,
Excellent initiative, albeit a risky one.  Those cards cost around $500-520 each?

Would you happen to know how to undervolt an R9 380X by BIOS mod?
I tried the Hedzin BIOS reader, but that didnt work on on my card.


Thx!
Well i got a nice discount because i bought in bulk :p

Well, it's probably the same as like i've done.
Just different numbers.

I believe i have seen an Hawaii Bios Editor somewhere. Just don't know where. So that could be easy to do.

Dunno for Tonga though.

fricircled
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 09:59:43 AM
 #9

The R9 390 bios can be editted by the HawaiiBiosReader
https://github.com/OneB1t/HawaiiBiosReader

I do not have experience with it.
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 961

Huh?


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 10:25:36 AM
 #10

The R9 390 bios can be editted by the HawaiiBiosReader
https://github.com/OneB1t/HawaiiBiosReader

I do not have experience with it.

That's the one Smiley

smaxz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


VeganAcademy


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 02:41:59 PM
 #11

The problem with undervolting is that it might crash every few hours or so. And you have to manually restart the mining.

not to mention removing the warranty with all those bios flash, i would certainly not do it with so many gpu, the risk to screw one is high, and those card are expensive, it must be said that without this mod, having 1500w for 170 mega on ETH, is not good at all,  a 970 can do 1k and 132 mega, this is almost 200 mega with 1500w

yes but some considerations are; max gpu per rig and ability to resell gpu's when mining goes PoS or unprofitable.

nano's smaller form factor make them pretty desirable for some scenarios, even when newer and more powerful gpu's are out in the wild.. the 970gtx is already the little brother to the 980.. not sure it would fetch the same price in 18 months time.

- NGdTwHRSdnThdi1drQuHGT3khAHRtZ1HMq -
Kidsgarter
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 04:19:41 PM
 #12

The R9 Nano modded Rom comes out a few days too later. I already bought some R9 390. Otherwise, I would have bought sapphire Nano.
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 961

Huh?


View Profile
April 03, 2016, 07:28:19 PM
 #13

The R9 Nano modded Rom comes out a few days too later. I already bought some R9 390. Otherwise, I would have bought sapphire Nano.

yeah i'm sorry about that.. could have shared it sooner.. my bad!

390 isn't bad either! You'll have fun with that as well!

Greetings!



Changed the OP with some new info :-)

Mastsetad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
April 04, 2016, 11:40:29 AM
 #14

What program do you use to mod the R9 nano.

I would like to mod the R9 390 memory voltage. We do not need faster memory for Eth.
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 961

Huh?


View Profile
April 04, 2016, 03:52:11 PM
 #15

What program do you use to mod the R9 nano.

I would like to mod the R9 390 memory voltage. We do not need faster memory for Eth.

You could try HawaiiBiosReader (check a couple of post above..)

Opquar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 345


View Profile
April 04, 2016, 04:04:45 PM
 #16

What program do you use to mod the R9 nano.

I would like to mod the R9 390 memory voltage. We do not need faster memory for Eth.

You could try HawaiiBiosReader (check a couple of post above..)

Have you changed the R9 390 memory voltage before? It seems we only need 1250 MHz memory speed instead of 1500 MHz.
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 961

Huh?


View Profile
April 04, 2016, 08:42:31 PM
 #17

What program do you use to mod the R9 nano.

I would like to mod the R9 390 memory voltage. We do not need faster memory for Eth.

You could try HawaiiBiosReader (check a couple of post above..)

Have you changed the R9 390 memory voltage before? It seems we only need 1250 MHz memory speed instead of 1500 MHz.

Yeah but i can do that in Afterburner for the Sapphire R9 390. So not needed to mod the bios. Smiley

Mastsetad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
April 05, 2016, 09:38:19 AM
 #18

What program do you use to mod the R9 nano.

I would like to mod the R9 390 memory voltage. We do not need faster memory for Eth.

You could try HawaiiBiosReader (check a couple of post above..)

Have you changed the R9 390 memory voltage before? It seems we only need 1250 MHz memory speed instead of 1500 MHz.

Yeah but i can do that in Afterburner for the Sapphire R9 390. So not needed to mod the bios. Smiley

How low can the memory voltage go? What was the original memory voltage? Just want to save some energy.
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 961

Huh?


View Profile
April 06, 2016, 06:24:16 PM
 #19

What program do you use to mod the R9 nano.

I would like to mod the R9 390 memory voltage. We do not need faster memory for Eth.

You could try HawaiiBiosReader (check a couple of post above..)

Have you changed the R9 390 memory voltage before? It seems we only need 1250 MHz memory speed instead of 1500 MHz.

Yeah but i can do that in Afterburner for the Sapphire R9 390. So not needed to mod the bios. Smiley

How low can the memory voltage go? What was the original memory voltage? Just want to save some energy.

Well i'm @ -150mV at this moment and still running stable. Will let you know when i hit bottom..


Anyhow, for those that want to see some more in stead of some numbers i wrote down here.

A little video showing the first Rom (the one i shared here), a quick run, nothing special, just stock rom with nothing extra changed.

Link To Movie

Turn down your sound and sorry for the "not so optimal" quality..

From Above
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
April 06, 2016, 09:31:03 PM
 #20

Well i'm @ -150mV at this moment and still running stable. Will let you know when i hit bottom..

Srsly?  i had no idea this could run that stable tbh
and thx for the little movie
~CfA~

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!