Bitcoin Forum
May 03, 2024, 05:40:30 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Custom RAM Timings for GPU's with GDDR5 - DOWNLOAD LINKS - UPDATED  (Read 155459 times)
MoneroCrusher
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 88
Merit: 1


View Profile
June 30, 2018, 09:57:47 AM
 #1081

I am currently making a script to runtime mod the timing straps of AMD cards on Linux.
I can successfully overwrite timing straps while the GPU is mining. It only works if I use the same, or slightly abbreviated changes of *current* straps though.

Example of how it works:
1. GPU A is flashed with custom strap VBIOS
2. Miner is initiated for GPU A (to alleviate Mem Freq to get the desired timing strap activated)
3. Script is overwriting GPU A's Timing Straps with the ones it already has
4. GPU A continues mining

Example of how I want it to work (but for now it doesn't):
1. GPU B (exact same model as GPU A) fully stock
2. Miner is initiated for GPU B (to alleviate Mem Freq to get the desired timing strap activated)
3. Script is successfully overwriting GPU B's current timing straps with the one also used in GPU A
4. GPU Crashes

I mod the timing straps in this order:
Code:
####SEQ_WR_CTL_D1####
DAT_DLY = 7
DQS_DLY = 7
DQS_XTR = 0
DAT_2Y_DLY = 0
ADR_2Y_DLY = 0
CMD_2Y_DLY = 0
OEN_DLY = 7
OEN_EXT = 0
OEN_SEL = 0
ODT_DLY = 0
ODT_EXT = 0
ADR_DLY = 0
CMD_DLY = 0
####SEQ_WR_CTL_2####
DAT_DLY_H_D0 = 0
DQS_DLY_H_D0 = 0
OEN_DLY_H_D0 = 0
DAT_DLY_H_D1 = 0
DQS_DLY_H_D1 = 0
OEN_DLY_H_D1 = 0
WCDR_EN = 0
####SEQ_PMG_TIMING####
TCKSRE = 2
TCKSRX = 2
TCKE_PULSE = 10
TCKE = 10
SEQ_IDLE = 7
TCKE_PULSE_MSB = 0
SEQ_IDLE_SS = 0
####SEQ_RAS_TIMING####
TRCDW = 17
TRCDWA = 17
TRCDR = 22
TRCDRA = 8
TRRD = 5
TRC = 54
####SEQ_CAS_TIMING####
TNOPW = 0
TNOPR = 0
TR2W = 26
TCCDL = 2
TCCDS = 5
TW2R = 15
TCL = 21
####SEQ_MISC_TIMING####
TRP_WRA = 54
TRP_RDA = 25
TRP = 22
TRFC = 97
####SEQ_MISC_TIMING2####
PA2RDATA = 0
PA2WDATA = 0
TFAW = 0
TCRCRL = 2
TCRCWL = 2
T32AW = 4
TWDATATR = 0
####ARB_DRAM_TIMING####
ACTRD = 23
ACTWR = 18
RASMACTRD = 38
RASMACTWR = 43
####ARB_DRAM_TIMING2####
RAS2RAS = 97
RP = 43
WRPLUSRP = 55
BUS_TURN = 21
####MC_SEQ_MISC####
MC_SEQ_MISC1 = 0x2014047C
MC_SEQ_MISC3 = 0xA98089CA
MC_SEQ_MISC8 = 0xC0040002
I asked nerdralph if he has an idea and he told me timing straps are interdependent and therefore you have to runtime-mod them in a certain sequence for the GPU not to crash...
I was wondering if you could help me out with my problem. Would be really happy as I've wasted days of time now...
1714758030
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714758030

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714758030
Reply with quote  #2

1714758030
Report to moderator
1714758030
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714758030

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714758030
Reply with quote  #2

1714758030
Report to moderator
1714758030
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714758030

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714758030
Reply with quote  #2

1714758030
Report to moderator
Even in the event that an attacker gains more than 50% of the network's computational power, only transactions sent by the attacker could be reversed or double-spent. The network would not be destroyed.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 251


View Profile
July 01, 2018, 05:12:07 PM
 #1082

does anyone know how to copy, mod or properly decode /sys/kernel/debug/dri/*cardnumber*/amdgpu_regs into readable hex code? when I try to copy it to another folder (to later view it in a windows hex editor) the kernel panics while reading the file.
would appreciate it a lot

Not a full dump, but some of the key strap timings:
https://github.com/nerdralph/amdmeminfo

@MoneroCrusher I know you already found my amdmeminfo fork, so this is more for other readers of this thread.
nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 251


View Profile
July 01, 2018, 05:17:26 PM
 #1083

I asked nerdralph if he has an idea and he told me timing straps are interdependent and therefore you have to runtime-mod them in a certain sequence for the GPU not to crash...
I was wondering if you could help me out with my problem. Would be really happy as I've wasted days of time now...

It takes some time, but you can find most of the info in this and other threads on bitcointalk.  For example, you have to be very careful changing CAS timing, since one part of the strap contains the mode register settings that program the actual GDDR chips, and another part of the strap programs the memory controller CAS timings.  Wolf noted that you can usually get away with the two timings being one clock cycle off, but any more than that and you are pretty much guaranteed to get a crash.
QuirkSilver
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80
Merit: 13


View Profile
July 04, 2018, 07:17:03 PM
Last edit: July 04, 2018, 11:40:16 PM by QuirkSilver
 #1084

Hi all, i have succeeded to do relaxed timings from the one click ones etc (for bad hynix for example that would bsod with those one click too tight timings at even 1750 mhz memory)..... but GOOD memory is what i can't understand or explain, the phenomena for cryptonight being capped to maximum 540 h/s AND memory controller being at exactly 50% load (rx 560 2gb elpida) and thats it.... still the memory is a good batch and can clock more above 2000, but there is no increase in hash rate (deminishing returns for memory speed with one click elpida, starts at 1975-2025 mhz memory speed). Although i did the wise "other way around" of loosening timings alot, +2 tCL and tRP increasing tRC abit, tried substantially increasing RASMACTRD /WR (like that Hynix MJR strap with 55/66 respectively)and even tRFC to 150-160 value which is much for elpida straps.
Can someone explain this phenomena? What i thought i understand is that higher clock (as long as silicon/batch frequency allows) means higher hash rates but needs better custom timings to allow the higher clock.
What i also noticed is, the WIERD timing values i capture with gatelessgate, only some of the timings i cooked are there, rest are tottaly different or lower specially rasmact rd/wr the bus_turn group and ras2ras they are much lower live.

Appreciate any insight from the "Gurus"
QuirkSilver
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80
Merit: 13


View Profile
July 10, 2018, 07:52:36 PM
 #1085

Is the memory voltage in 560 locked?regardless of PBE stock value of 1000mv in reality it never sees anything above 850(overdriven seeing 850 and HWinfo 875 . meanwhile my 580 with hynix almost always locks to 950 forcibly whenever i 2100+ memory.
I'm certain its somewhere in the hex but not sure where to start. BTW same with all 560s i have 4gb and 2gb (got 4-5 different ones) one i'm using atm is GBrx 560 2gb OC gaming (6pin powered)
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/192987/gigabyte-rx560-2048-170423
deusofpower
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 11, 2018, 09:55:36 AM
 #1086

I'm reading into this for a while and wanna give to all the experts here big kudos for the huge amount of data that this thread produced. Thank you!

It took me a while to read through the 60 pages and lots of effort and even more trial and error to get some decent hashrate with the strap editor on SRB Editor. (btw, never used Excel so much Grin... to compare and edit the decoded straps).

My small but important request is:

I wanna find the sweetspot between power consumption and hashrate on, for example on one of the sapphire rx 570 4gb (hynix), but although I read (as far as I can.. there are many points that i do not understand.. on GDDR5 datasheets found through google) the decoded straps, i don't get it where to reduce significantly the power usage. (Sometimes it's quite frustrating Sad )  Is it the strap in its complexity that makes the power usage or is it one specific point that makes the difference?

Thank you in advance!




Larvitar
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 1


View Profile
July 11, 2018, 11:36:39 AM
 #1087

I'm reading into this for a while and wanna give to all the experts here big kudos for the huge amount of data that this thread produced. Thank you!

It took me a while to read through the 60 pages and lots of effort and even more trial and error to get some decent hashrate with the strap editor on SRB Editor. (btw, never used Excel so much Grin... to compare and edit the decoded straps).

My small but important request is:

I wanna find the sweetspot between power consumption and hashrate on, for example on one of the sapphire rx 570 4gb (hynix), but although I read (as far as I can.. there are many points that i do not understand.. on GDDR5 datasheets found through google) the decoded straps, i don't get it where to reduce significantly the power usage. (Sometimes it's quite frustrating Sad )  Is it the strap in its complexity that makes the power usage or is it one specific point that makes the difference?

Thank you in advance!


Straps doesn't change power consumption. Voltage/clocks do.
deusofpower
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 11, 2018, 11:47:27 AM
 #1088

Thank you for your specification.

At the moment with my RX570 sapphire nitro+ on hynix memory I'm reaching following hashrates:

1200 - 2150 Oscillating between 31.8 - 32.2. But with a power consumption that is far too high. (165 watts on wall).
1150 - 2050 Oscillating between 30.3 - 30.7. But with a power consumption that is still too high. (135 watts on wall).

I've talked to someone who shared a video proofing that on the same card with the same memory in a 6x rig he's making 31,3 stable for weeks and months with a consumption of 100-103watts per card. I'm hardly trying to reach that level.. but'm still far away.

Any hints on how to solve this?

Thank you in advance!
Larvitar
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 1


View Profile
July 11, 2018, 12:02:28 PM
 #1089

Thank you for your specification.

At the moment with my RX570 sapphire nitro+ on hynix memory I'm reaching following hashrates:

1200 - 2150 Oscillating between 31.8 - 32.2. But with a power consumption that is far too high. (165 watts on wall).
1150 - 2050 Oscillating between 30.3 - 30.7. But with a power consumption that is still too high. (135 watts on wall).

I've talked to someone who shared a video proofing that on the same card with the same memory in a 6x rig he's making 31,3 stable for weeks and months with a consumption of 100-103watts per card. I'm hardly trying to reach that level.. but'm still far away.

Any hints on how to solve this?

Thank you in advance!

Okay, let's go. What strap do you are using? Your hash is pretty good at 1200/2150

About power consumption: Do you are setting voltages manually? what cvddc/mvddc do you are using? RX570 often runs around 875~910mv cvddc at 1150. mvddc doesn't impact much power consumption.
deusofpower
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 11, 2018, 12:12:39 PM
 #1090

my strap:

999000000000000022559D0010DE5B44A0551312B74C450A00400600750414206A8900A00200312 011112E36A42A3816

I've left voltage stock on bios. (means 1000mv on SRBeditor).
never used cvddc/mvddc on claymore , as i thought that reducing power consumption can be made by bios modifications.

deusofpower
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 11, 2018, 12:35:06 PM
 #1091

EDIT: CALCULATION ON REAL POWER CONSUMPTION WAS WRONG. MY GAMING RIG CONSUMES IN IDLE 51 WATTS AT THE WALL SO THE REAL CONSUMPTION OF THE CARD IS AS HIGHLIGHTED BELOW.



Thank you for your specification.

At the moment with my RX570 sapphire nitro+ on hynix memory I'm reaching following hashrates:

1200 - 2150 Oscillating between 31.8 - 32.2. But with a power consumption that is far too high. (195 watts on wall).
1150 - 2050 Oscillating between 30.3 - 30.7. But with a power consumption that is still too high. (173 watts on wall).

I've talked to someone who shared a video proofing that on the same card with the same memory in a 6x rig he's making 31,3 stable for weeks and months with a consumption of 100-103watts per card. I'm hardly trying to reach that level.. but'm still far away.

Any hints on how to solve this?

Thank you in advance!
Branko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 318


View Profile
July 11, 2018, 01:01:09 PM
 #1092

my strap:

999000000000000022559D0010DE5B44A0551312B74C450A00400600750414206A8900A00200312 011112E36A42A3816

I've left voltage stock on bios. (means 1000mv on SRBeditor).
never used cvddc/mvddc on claymore , as i thought that reducing power consumption can be made by bios modifications.




You HAVE to undervolt...best test it through claymore, then if you really want it, put it in BIOS after
you find lowest stable voltage
deusofpower
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 11, 2018, 01:26:00 PM
 #1093

Thank you for your reply.

I will try to undervolt it by SRBeditor to 900mv. (Shouldn't be that much..) and let you know the readings on the wall.



deusofpower
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 11, 2018, 01:39:45 PM
 #1094

Tried undervolting up to 875mv. On that value i got -10 watts @ wall. Not much...  Shocked
Branko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 318


View Profile
July 11, 2018, 01:43:52 PM
 #1095

Tried undervolting up to 875mv. On that value i got -10 watts @ wall. Not much...  Shocked

No way, something wrong there
deusofpower
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 11, 2018, 01:51:27 PM
 #1096

Any ideas?

Undervolt made with SRBeditor.

Mem Controller:

300   @ 875mV
1000 @ 875mV
2100 @ 875mV

What could be wrong?
vuli1
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 3


View Profile WWW
July 11, 2018, 02:02:01 PM
 #1097

do you know, this will actualy not lower voltage on your memory, right? vmem is kind of bullshit.

★ PRiVCY ➢ Own Your Privacy! ➢ Best privacy crypto-market! ★
✈✈✈[PoW/PoS]✅[Tor]✅[Airdrop]✈✈✈ (https://privcy.io/)
heavyarms1912
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 729
Merit: 114



View Profile
July 11, 2018, 02:04:12 PM
 #1098



That's the setting. Anything wrong about it?

you've not achieved undervolting in actual.  Check the load voltage during mining using HWInfo or gpu-z.  It would be much higher.
deusofpower
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 11, 2018, 02:39:54 PM
 #1099

Checked it on hwinfo64... you were right. it says 1.131v. So, how do i lower that on bios? There should be something i did completely wrong...
heavyarms1912
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 729
Merit: 114



View Profile
July 11, 2018, 06:55:00 PM
 #1100

Checked it on hwinfo64... you were right. it says 1.131v. So, how do i lower that on bios? There should be something i did completely wrong...

The undervolt you actually made is just the floor voltage for core.

Actual core voltage hovers between voltage values indicated on p7 core and p2/p3 mem.  Use overdriventool disable all states except p7 and p2/p3 mem (highest) and set the voltage 925mV in p7 and 900mV in p2/p3 mem.  Check actual voltages while mining you should be hovering in between these two values.

If you undervolt too much you might just crash or drivers won't honor it
Pages: « 1 ... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 [55] 56 57 58 59 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!