Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 03:27:58 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] rxOC easy-to-use Linux AMD Mining v_stopgap  (Read 27769 times)
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 25, 2017, 02:56:20 AM
 #1

Fellow miners,

this is the build I use with my AMD rx series rigs.  I am providing it to the community 100% free, with no fees (from me at least):  (Claymore's miner still has his fee)

rxOC is a customized Ubuntu 16.04 build with AMD OC support, manual fan support, auto launching on boot, and a single easy to configure Bash Script (oneBash) which can be configured from a windows pc using wordpad.

rxOC is easy-to-use and supports mining (with the v_stopgap oneBash):

 ETH   ZEC   NICE   HUSH   ZEN   ZCL   MUSIC   ETC   EXP   DCR   PASC
DUAL_ETC_DCR  DUAL_ETC_PASC  DUAL_ETC_LBC  DUAL_ETC_SC  
DUAL_EXP_DCR  DUAL_EXP_PASC  DUAL_EXP_LBC  DUAL_EXP_SC  
DUAL_ETH_DCR  DUAL_ETH_PASC  DUAL_ETH_LBC  DUAL_ETH_SC  
DUAL_MUSIC_DCR    DUAL_MUSIC_PASC    DUAL_MUSIC_LBC  DUAL_MUSIC_SC    

xleejohnx SRR implementation Link I will integrate this into the next oneBash / v0013; for now, if you want to use this follow the instructions on xleejohnx's post.

rxOC uses Optiminer, Genoil, Claymore Ethash, Claymore Equihash, sgminer, and plusCPU uses cpuminer-opt;
if you want an additional algorithm or mining client post here or pm me the details and I will add it to the next version

For Nvidia rigs see: [OS] nvOC easy-to-use Linux Nvidia Mining: Link

Current Version: v_stopgap

To setup remote re-configuration of rigs / remote viewing using SSH and screen LINK

How to Setup _Parallax_Mode (have oneBash autoupdate from a pastebin file when the mining process is launched) Guide Link
 
  this version is intended for USB keys and SSD's

  However you can use an SSD or HDD with a USB adapter cable Link

  Or you can follow this process to enable Autolaunch with an SSD or HDD install Link

  
Change Log:

v_stopgap
  removed swap space (improved boot time)
  updated driver to the AMD Blockchain Beta driver ( much better for Ethash )
  ETH, ETC, and ZEC coin selections miner are launched in a screen ( access the screen via the cmd:    screen -r miner   in the guake terminal )
  Updates are disabled.
  added Claymore 10.1

v0012
  added Genoil for NICE / ETH / ETC
  added GENOILorCLAYMORE selector
  added Optiminer for Equihash algorithms
  added OPTIMINERorCLAYMORE selector
  added atiflash (use at your own risk)
  implemented  wget / pastebin oneBash auto-updating suggested by: _Parallax_
  Thanks _Parallax_   Smiley
  workernames are auto-generated (set to the rig host address: last 3 digits of the rig IP)
  added IP output to the top of mining process (easier to get the rig IP)
  added lspci and supported clocks output to the top of the mining process
  added USE_ENVIRONMENTAL_VARIBLES selector (adds them if YES)
  increased primary partition size (more available space)
  added SLOW_USB_KEY_MODE (for slow usb keys; also helps ensure the setting of powerlimits and fanspeeds)
    HUSH COIN selection

v0011 (initial release)


If you don't have an imaging program already download HDDRawCopy (Link)

Or get etcher for Mac / Linux / Windows Link

v_stopgap zip should extract on OSX / *nix / Windows  Wink

v_stopgap is 15.6gb



rxOC_v_stopgap Google Drive Link use this image for all mobos


Note: you still need to implement bios setting changes.  The SHA256 hash (for the zip) is:
Quote
e011b2bb4d948cbce2b9c907e39e6d1a1f3aa3166d6e9dcb6c8c013333f145f5


Note: you still need to implement bios setting changes.  The SHA256 hash (for the image) is:
Quote
4e89fe4508858e6bb55a793a690098348a285fda3362a61724bd46e1f3a7feed

Expected Bios settings (I have not tested all of these for AMD rigs):

If you are using an ASRock H81 PRO BTC or BIOSTAR TB85; either should work with without any changes to the bios settings.


If you are using an MSI Z270-A PRO; ensure you enable Above 4G memory option in the bios before connecting the nvOC USB.  


If you are using a GIGABYTE GA-B250M-Gaming 3; ensure the Audio Controller is disabled in the bios.


If you are using a BIOSTAR TB250-BTC; ensure Miner Mode is enabled in the bios.  Also ensure Max TOLUD is set to 3.5 GB in the bios.


If you are using an ASUS Z270-F GAMING; ensure 'Above 4G Decoding' is enabled in the bios.  Also ensure PTP aware OS: is set to 'Not PTP Aware' in the bios.  Finally, ensure you 'Clear Secure Boot Keys' in the bios.


If you are using an MSI Z170-A GAMING M5; ensure 'Above 4G Decoding' is enabled in the bios.  Also download, unzip and copy to a usb key ( the 2016-12-19 Version 1.D ) Bios and follow instructions to flash the bios.


If you are using an ASUS PRIME Z270-A; ensure 'Above 4G Decoding' is enabled in the bios.  Also ensure PTP aware OS: is set to 'Not PTP Aware' in the bios.  Finally, ensure you 'Clear Secure Boot Keys' in the bios.


If you are using a GIGABYTE GA-Z270P-D3; ensure the Audio Controller is disabled in the bios.


If you are using a ASUS PRIME H270-PLUS; You must update the bios; with this motherboard it can be done by connecting an ethernet cable and entering the EZ Flash 3 Utility.  Select DHCP and download then install the update.  It should look like this.  After updating ensure 'Above 4G Decoding' is enabled in the bios.


If you are using a BIOSTAR RACING Z170GT7; Ensure you are only using the first 6 pcie slots closest to the CPU.  Ensure you set Security Device Support to: Disable Finally ensure you set the max TOLUD to 3.5 gb


ENSURE THAT YOU unzip the image BEFORE YOU IMAGE YOUR USB  Wink


Use HDDRawCopy or etcher to image the extracted img file to the 16gb or larger usb ( see this guide for an HDDRawCopy walkthru )

Image to a 16gb or larger USB key.


I recommend these very fast HQ USB keys $22 fastest (in actual usage) I have tested so far:

https://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-Extreme-Flash-Drive-SDCZ80-032G-GAM46/dp/B00KT7DXIU


NOTE: You only need to configure the oneBash file in the Windows Partition.  If you don't have a text editor with syntax highlighting: open it with wordpad.  I recommend downloading atom if you don't have a text editor with syntax highlighting .

When you are done configuring oneBash ensure that you save, then eject the USB.

Attach the USB key to your rig and power it on.

NOTE: first boot will take longer to start mining as oneBash must be converted

All files are in the rxOC folder Link.

rxOC uses the blockchain Beta Driver.

the root password for rxOC is:

    miner1

Known Limitations and Issues:

Please let me know if there are any issues with this version not OCing cards with mobos.

If your miner crashes at all, it is probably because your OC is too high.  

IMO it is easier to start with a lower OC and walk up the OC until it becomes unstable, than to start at the max and walk it down to stability.

My thoughts on OC Link

If you find rxOC helpful and would like me to expand it; please let me know.  I will make requested changes over time as I am available to.

Requested Changes / Additions / Tests:

a global switch to turn off all overclocking / excluding manual fans  OVERCLOCK="OFF"

integrate SRR support

add UBIQ coin selection

add https://github.com/sling00/amdmeminfo]https://github.com/sling00/amdmeminfo]https://github.com/sling00/amdmeminfo

check into atiflash in it current folder / potentially move to: /usr/local/bin

make rxOC github repo

implement individual card settings

actual clockspeed implementation

1513481278
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513481278

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513481278
Reply with quote  #2

1513481278
Report to moderator
1513481278
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513481278

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513481278
Reply with quote  #2

1513481278
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 25, 2017, 02:56:29 AM
 #2

reserved

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 25, 2017, 02:56:36 AM
 #3

reserved

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 25, 2017, 02:57:26 AM
 #4


To verify the downloaded zip:

the SHA256 hash is:
Code:
6b20a7ba0132362aba9bab45eff2679ad539d3d19a52418f054f07be3c1175e8


If you are using windows:


open a cmd prompt:

click the start button and type: 

Code:
cmd

then press enter:

type the following:

Code:
CertUtil -hashfile PATH_TO_IMAGE_ZIP_HERE SHA256

and press enter

if the result is:

Code:
6b20a7ba0132362aba9bab45eff2679ad539d3d19a52418f054f07be3c1175e8

then the ZIP_containing_the_image is good

Note: you can find the file path by right clicking the zip and selecting properties


If you are using linux:

open a terminal and enter the following:

Code:
sha256sum 'PATH_TO_IMAGE_ZIP_HERE'

and press enter

if the result is:
Code:
6b20a7ba0132362aba9bab45eff2679ad539d3d19a52418f054f07be3c1175e8

then the ZIP_containing_the_image is good

Note: you can also type sha256sum then drag the zip to the terminal window to add the absolute path without typing it.


If you are using OSX:

open a terminal and enter the following:

Code:
shasum -a 256 'PATH_TO_IMAGE_ZIP_HERE'

and press enter

if the result is:
Code:
6b20a7ba0132362aba9bab45eff2679ad539d3d19a52418f054f07be3c1175e8

then the ZIP_containing_the_image is good


Zucca
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
June 25, 2017, 10:28:32 PM
 #5

I posted this on the other topic, but this is the OS I am using:
I am trying to start using your operating system. Unfortunately I am not able to properly start it.
This is what I am getting at login:

http://imgur.com/a/2U3Wr


Does it work with R9 Fury GPUs?
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


A new tool for prediction https://bitvol.info/


View Profile
June 25, 2017, 10:50:34 PM
 #6

I have an old 7950

is there an issue for a 1 card build?

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 25, 2017, 11:07:44 PM
 #7

I have an old 7950

is there an issue for a 1 card build?

With v0016 nvOC will work with 1x GPU; but you will have to wait for it to repair the xorg file on its initial boot; reboot on its own; and then on the second boot it should be good to go.

AMD is significantly better with Linux system integration than Nvidia (although Nvidia has vastly improved their Linux support in the past few years); essentially if Ubuntu recognizes the GPU; the AMD driver will recognize the GPU.

However, AMD cards older than the R9 300 series; will not be supported by the AMDGPU-PRO driver used in rxOC.

For now; I recommend using the smOS build made for R series cards for your 7950.

If there is enough interest I can make an R series build of rxOC; but I am trying to focus first on helping users resolve problems, then with implementing the most requested improvements first.

I will add an R series build to the request list for rxOC.


fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 25, 2017, 11:17:51 PM
 #8

I posted this on the other topic, but this is the OS I am using:
I am trying to start using your operating system. Unfortunately I am not able to properly start it.
This is what I am getting at login:

http://imgur.com/a/2U3Wr


Does it work with R9 Fury GPUs?

It should work with R9 fury GPUs.

You have a disk error.  Ubuntu grubloader will attempt to repair the error; if you wait a long time it might repair it and boot; but I would do the following:

Reimage the USB key; like so:

first check and see if your zip has downloaded correctly by following the directions here:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1984302.msg19757170#msg19757170

If your zip produced the same hash it is good.

Maybe you imaged from the zip without extracting?

Ensure that you extract the image before imaging.

After imaging is complete, and you have configured and saved oneBash:

ensure that you properly eject the USB key.

Let me know if this works.


VoskCoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


YouTube.com/VoskCoin


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2017, 02:19:15 AM
 #9

Keep up the awesome work my friend!

Check out my Crypto YouTube channel
https://www.youtube.com/VoskCoin
If you enjoy my content click Subscribe
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826


winter*juvia


View Profile
June 27, 2017, 04:05:58 AM
 #10

Hi fullzero,

Could we get a sgminer (with ethash-new.cl) as an alternative to Claymore.

The big news now is Claymore's ASM implementation may have some issues in the coming epoch and diff level.

I am on Claymore for ETH mining and I think we better have Plan B just in case.

Thanks

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826


winter*juvia


View Profile
June 27, 2017, 07:13:04 PM
 #11

Hi fullzero,

Could we get a sgminer (with ethash-new.cl) as an alternative to Claymore.

The big news now is Claymore's ASM implementation may have some issues in the coming epoch and diff level.

I am on Claymore for ETH mining and I think we better have Plan B just in case.

Thanks

read more on the subject and seems that sgminer is likely also impacted .....

Citronick's Beer & Chicken Wings Fund : 32oo5tk1RfTbndrUjWvHJ9yT3bb2EyQYkq
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 27, 2017, 10:34:13 PM
 #12

Hi fullzero,

Could we get a sgminer (with ethash-new.cl) as an alternative to Claymore.

The big news now is Claymore's ASM implementation may have some issues in the coming epoch and diff level.

I am on Claymore for ETH mining and I think we better have Plan B just in case.

Thanks

read more on the subject and seems that sgminer is likely also impacted .....

I have confirmed the new CUDA implementation is better than Claymore; that combined with this AMD problem; it is not looking good for AMD miners.

If you find a mining client that is immune let me know; and I will add it.

I worked on nvOC today; I will work on rxOC tomorrow.



Zucca
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
June 28, 2017, 03:05:15 AM
 #13

I posted this on the other topic, but this is the OS I am using:
I am trying to start using your operating system. Unfortunately I am not able to properly start it.
This is what I am getting at login:

http://imgur.com/a/2U3Wr


Does it work with R9 Fury GPUs?

It should work with R9 fury GPUs.

You have a disk error.  Ubuntu grubloader will attempt to repair the error; if you wait a long time it might repair it and boot; but I would do the following:

Reimage the USB key; like so:

first check and see if your zip has downloaded correctly by following the directions here:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1984302.msg19757170#msg19757170

If your zip produced the same hash it is good.

Maybe you imaged from the zip without extracting?

Ensure that you extract the image before imaging.

After imaging is complete, and you have configured and saved oneBash:

ensure that you properly eject the USB key.

Let me know if this works.



I did it all the process again, downloading, checking, extracting, flashing.
Same error Sad .
I am using an 32Gb Adata USB Key.
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 28, 2017, 04:01:20 AM
 #14

I posted this on the other topic, but this is the OS I am using:
I am trying to start using your operating system. Unfortunately I am not able to properly start it.
This is what I am getting at login:

http://imgur.com/a/2U3Wr


Does it work with R9 Fury GPUs?

It should work with R9 fury GPUs.

You have a disk error.  Ubuntu grubloader will attempt to repair the error; if you wait a long time it might repair it and boot; but I would do the following:

Reimage the USB key; like so:

first check and see if your zip has downloaded correctly by following the directions here:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1984302.msg19757170#msg19757170

If your zip produced the same hash it is good.

Maybe you imaged from the zip without extracting?

Ensure that you extract the image before imaging.

After imaging is complete, and you have configured and saved oneBash:

ensure that you properly eject the USB key.

Let me know if this works.



I did it all the process again, downloading, checking, extracting, flashing.
Same error Sad .
I am using an 32Gb Adata USB Key.

What motherboard are you using?

Millenium Falcon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131


View Profile
June 28, 2017, 09:23:09 AM
 #15

I am going to use it at all my rigs. Will you make a new release version today or tomorrow?
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 28, 2017, 06:57:19 PM
 #16

I am going to use it at all my rigs. Will you make a new release version today or tomorrow?

I will try to release the next version of rxOC by tomorrow night; but I can't promise it will be done by then.

ATCkit
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 779


View Profile
June 29, 2017, 05:13:11 PM
 #17

Anyone have rxOC working with 7 GPUs on MSI Z170A PRO Carbon motherboard?

I modded the BIOS a month ago and have it running 7 x 470s on Windows 10- but tired of windows instability.

Recently, I tried both smOS and rxOC with no luck.

If any one has been successful, please let me know.

I will also enquire elsewhere to check if EthOS works for this setup.
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 29, 2017, 06:03:16 PM
 #18

Anyone have rxOC working with 7 GPUs on MSI Z170A PRO Carbon motherboard?

I modded the BIOS a month ago and have it running 7 x 470s on Windows 10- but tired of windows instability.

Recently, I tried both smOS and rxOC with no luck.

If any one has been successful, please let me know.

I will also enquire elsewhere to check if EthOS works for this setup.

This mobo should have similar requirements to the z170 gaming 5; but I can't say for sure (as I don't have one myself):

Other members have reported that the Version 1.7 bios is the one to use for this mobo:

Download BIOS Version 1.7: https://us.msi.com/Motherboard/support/Z170A-GAMING-PRO-CARBON.html#down-bios

unzip, copy to usb key, attach to rig, use the m-flash to flash the 1.7 bios

then ensure you set Above 4G decoding to enabled

Also you might need to use a skylake CPU: G4400

If you try this let me know how it goes.

ATCkit
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 779


View Profile
June 29, 2017, 06:37:01 PM
 #19

Anyone have rxOC working with 7 GPUs on MSI Z170A PRO Carbon motherboard?

I modded the BIOS a month ago and have it running 7 x 470s on Windows 10- but tired of windows instability.

Recently, I tried both smOS and rxOC with no luck.

If any one has been successful, please let me know.

I will also enquire elsewhere to check if EthOS works for this setup.

This mobo should have similar requirements to the z170 gaming 5; but I can't say for sure (as I don't have one myself):

Other members have reported that the Version 1.7 bios is the one to use for this mobo:

Download BIOS Version 1.7: https://us.msi.com/Motherboard/support/Z170A-GAMING-PRO-CARBON.html#down-bios

unzip, copy to usb key, attach to rig, use the m-flash to flash the 1.7 bios

then ensure you set Above 4G decoding to enabled

Also you might need to use a skylake CPU: G4400

If you try this let me know how it goes.


Yup- I have a skylake CPU -ie: G4400. I f i have another bad day with my windows 10 system , I will try what you suggested and let you know how it works.

Thx. Smiley
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
June 30, 2017, 02:31:29 PM
 #20

v0012 is out:  

v0012
  added Genoil for NICE / ETH / ETC with no fee
  added GENOILorCLAYMORE selector
  added Optiminer for Equihash algorithms
  added OPTIMINERorCLAYMORE selector
  added atiflash (use at your own risk)
  implemented  wget / pastebin oneBash auto-updating suggested by: _Parallax_
  Thanks _Parallax_   Smiley
  workernames are auto-generated (set to the rig host address: last 3 digits of the rig IP)
  added IP output to the top of mining process (easier to get the rig IP)
  added lspci and supported clocks output to the top of the mining process
  added USE_ENVIRONMENTAL_VARIBLES selector (adds them if YES)
  increased primary partition size (more available space)
  added SLOW_USB_KEY_MODE (for slow usb keys; also helps ensure the setting of powerlimits and fanspeeds)
    HUSH COIN selection

To verify the downloaded zip:

the SHA256 hash is:
Code:
e2402a75423b5afc933b7cda4952ce2213e13d01c45ec971d386995004273763


If you are using windows:


open a cmd prompt:

click the start button and type:  

Code:
cmd

then press enter:

type the following:

Code:
CertUtil -hashfile PATH_TO_IMAGE_ZIP_HERE SHA256

and press enter

if the result is:

Code:
e2402a75423b5afc933b7cda4952ce2213e13d01c45ec971d386995004273763

then the ZIP_containing_the_image is good

Note: you can find the file path by right clicking the zip and selecting properties


If you are using linux:

open a terminal and enter the following:

Code:
sha256sum 'PATH_TO_IMAGE_ZIP_HERE'

and press enter

if the result is:
Code:
e2402a75423b5afc933b7cda4952ce2213e13d01c45ec971d386995004273763

then the ZIP_containing_the_image is good

Note: you can also type sha256sum then drag the zip to the terminal window to add the absolute path without typing it.


If you are using OSX:

open a terminal and enter the following:

Code:
shasum -a 256 'PATH_TO_IMAGE_ZIP_HERE'

and press enter

if the result is:
Code:
e2402a75423b5afc933b7cda4952ce2213e13d01c45ec971d386995004273763

then the ZIP_containing_the_image is good


Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!