Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2017, 04:21:47 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [OS] rxOC easy-to-use Linux AMD Mining v_stopgap  (Read 27759 times)
TheNewEthlite
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 05:38:41 PM
 #181

First all, Thank you very much for the awesome work you do!!

So,

Tried to put the DAG fix using the following:

#Install new ROCm Kernel:

wget -qO - http://repo.radeon.com/rocm/apt/debian/rocm.gpg.key | sudo apt-key add -
sudo sh -c 'echo deb [arch=amd64] http://repo.radeon.com/rocm/apt/debian/ xenial main > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/rocm.list'
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install rocm

#edit grub
sudo nano  /etc/default/grub
#2MB fragments for Ellesmere are enabled with a grub option:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="amdgpu.vm_fragment_size=9"

sudo update-grub
sudo reboot


The problem is the first GPU will now do about half speed while the other GPU's are running properly faster. Tried multiple times, different gpu's, etc, same results.

I know it's being updated in V13, anybody have a clue how to fix this first GPU problem in the meantime? I've just reverted back to untouched V12.

If anyone cares, my 580's run at about 25(no oc), with dag fix 27, but the first gpu will run at 14, would be nice to get them all to 27.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513398107
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513398107

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513398107
Reply with quote  #2

1513398107
Report to moderator
1513398107
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513398107

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513398107
Reply with quote  #2

1513398107
Report to moderator
1513398107
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513398107

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513398107
Reply with quote  #2

1513398107
Report to moderator
fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
October 07, 2017, 08:46:55 PM
 #182

Hi, will v13 released soon?

It is next on my list; before v0020 nvOC.  I'm very busy right now; so I don't want to give a specific timeline.

Thanks for reply! Is there way to perform undervolt on cards, with your OS or in Linux generally?
I'm not very familiar with Linux.

You need custom tools: see https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1984302.msg20432376#msg20432376

fullzero
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
October 07, 2017, 08:49:03 PM
 #183

First all, Thank you very much for the awesome work you do!!

So,

Tried to put the DAG fix using the following:

#Install new ROCm Kernel:

wget -qO - http://repo.radeon.com/rocm/apt/debian/rocm.gpg.key | sudo apt-key add -
sudo sh -c 'echo deb [arch=amd64] http://repo.radeon.com/rocm/apt/debian/ xenial main > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/rocm.list'
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install rocm

#edit grub
sudo nano  /etc/default/grub
#2MB fragments for Ellesmere are enabled with a grub option:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="amdgpu.vm_fragment_size=9"

sudo update-grub
sudo reboot


The problem is the first GPU will now do about half speed while the other GPU's are running properly faster. Tried multiple times, different gpu's, etc, same results.

I know it's being updated in V13, anybody have a clue how to fix this first GPU problem in the meantime? I've just reverted back to untouched V12.

If anyone cares, my 580's run at about 25(no oc), with dag fix 27, but the first gpu will run at 14, would be nice to get them all to 27.

What happens if you run headless?  Is the first GPU still nerfed?

alko67bi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
October 08, 2017, 06:47:48 AM
 #184


The problem is the first GPU will now do about half speed while the other GPU's are running properly faster. Tried multiple times, different gpu's, etc, same results.


Try to change BIOS PCI-E link speed setting to "Auto"

Get Free ONION https://deeponion.org/apply TOR
woodl1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
October 09, 2017, 08:57:46 PM
 #185

First all, Thank you very much for the awesome work you do!!

So,

Tried to put the DAG fix using the following:

#Install new ROCm Kernel:

wget -qO - http://repo.radeon.com/rocm/apt/debian/rocm.gpg.key | sudo apt-key add -
sudo sh -c 'echo deb [arch=amd64] http://repo.radeon.com/rocm/apt/debian/ xenial main > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/rocm.list'
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install rocm

#edit grub
sudo nano  /etc/default/grub
#2MB fragments for Ellesmere are enabled with a grub option:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="amdgpu.vm_fragment_size=9"

sudo update-grub
sudo reboot


The problem is the first GPU will now do about half speed while the other GPU's are running properly faster. Tried multiple times, different gpu's, etc, same results.

I know it's being updated in V13, anybody have a clue how to fix this first GPU problem in the meantime? I've just reverted back to untouched V12.

If anyone cares, my 580's run at about 25(no oc), with dag fix 27, but the first gpu will run at 14, would be nice to get them all to 27.

What happens if you run headless?  Is the first GPU still nerfed?

I did the same to apply dagfix, with the same effect on the GPU0, tried to run it headless and yes, it is the same slow without monitor attached. By the way I had the same problem with nvOC headless P106 rigs, and it was easily solved by reconfiguring xorg with nvidia tool when no monitor attached. Maybe reconfiguration is the right way here too, but I don't know how to do it with RX cards.
woodl1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
October 12, 2017, 02:00:27 PM
 #186

First all, Thank you very much for the awesome work you do!!

So,

Tried to put the DAG fix using the following:

#Install new ROCm Kernel:

wget -qO - http://repo.radeon.com/rocm/apt/debian/rocm.gpg.key | sudo apt-key add -
sudo sh -c 'echo deb [arch=amd64] http://repo.radeon.com/rocm/apt/debian/ xenial main > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/rocm.list'
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install rocm

#edit grub
sudo nano  /etc/default/grub
#2MB fragments for Ellesmere are enabled with a grub option:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="amdgpu.vm_fragment_size=9"

sudo update-grub
sudo reboot


The problem is the first GPU will now do about half speed while the other GPU's are running properly faster. Tried multiple times, different gpu's, etc, same results.

I know it's being updated in V13, anybody have a clue how to fix this first GPU problem in the meantime? I've just reverted back to untouched V12.

If anyone cares, my 580's run at about 25(no oc), with dag fix 27, but the first gpu will run at 14, would be nice to get them all to 27.

What happens if you run headless?  Is the first GPU still nerfed?

I did the same to apply dagfix, with the same effect on the GPU0, tried to run it headless and yes, it is the same slow without monitor attached. By the way I had the same problem with nvOC headless P106 rigs, and it was easily solved by reconfiguring xorg with nvidia tool when no monitor attached. Maybe reconfiguration is the right way here too, but I don't know how to do it with RX cards.

Issue with slow GPU0 solved by setting it's PCIe slot to Gen2 in BIOS. I had Gen1 for all slots before.
MentalNomad
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
October 13, 2017, 12:05:35 AM
 #187

I've decided to stop waiting for v0013 and just run with v0012 for now because all my 1000-series rigs are now stable (thanks, @fullzero and all the contributors!) and my six Radeon RX470s were sitting idle (boo! BOO!)

But I'm running into a snag. On First Boot with the v0012 build after imaging (with the same solution I successfully use for imaging nvOC), the rig falls into BusyBox, as shown in the top screen, here:



Second boot goes into Grub, which allows me to start Ubuntu, but goes into the second image in the image above, reporting some sort of corruption and need for fsck. Sad

I've scratched and re-imaged the USB key (same model used with nvOC), I've removed all video cards but the one in the primary X16 slot, I've pre-edited the oneBash file and dropped it into various folders for First Boot, but no joy.

It's on an Asus Z170-AR mobo - which worked fine in Win 10 for mining 6 cards after BIOS update. I have Above 4G enabled.

Any suggestions or direction for troubleshooting? I'm happy to provide whatever info anyone needs to assist. (Warning: I am still getting my bearings in Ubuntuland.)

I'm currently set up with a single video card in the primary X16 slot, connected via USB riser. On First Boot, I briefly get the purple Ubunu desktop background before the screen goes black and it drops into BusyBox.

If necessary, I'll pull the mobo out so that I can do a first boot with a card directly in the slot - that's something I've found necessary for Windows builds, but which I have not found to be necessary for nvOS builds.

Thanks, in advance!
MentalNomad
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
October 13, 2017, 01:03:11 AM
 #188

Update:

Figured out that I can run fsck manually with the following:

Code:
fsck /dev/sda2

Afterwards, CTRL-ALT-DEL gets Ubuntu to start, but no GUI... just a login.

Will continue trying to troubleshoot and look through the thread again to see how to start the GUI...
MentalNomad
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
October 13, 2017, 03:43:32 PM
 #189

OK, mined ETH all night!

Looking forwards to next version, but meanwhile, thanks for all you've done for us!

 
Next job: upgrade Claymore to 10.0 and tweak OC...
TheNewEthlite
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
October 14, 2017, 07:57:46 PM
 #190

First all, Thank you very much for the awesome work you do!!

So,

Tried to put the DAG fix using the following:

#Install new ROCm Kernel:

wget -qO - http://repo.radeon.com/rocm/apt/debian/rocm.gpg.key | sudo apt-key add -
sudo sh -c 'echo deb [arch=amd64] http://repo.radeon.com/rocm/apt/debian/ xenial main > /etc/apt/sources.list.d/rocm.list'
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install rocm

#edit grub
sudo nano  /etc/default/grub
#2MB fragments for Ellesmere are enabled with a grub option:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="amdgpu.vm_fragment_size=9"

sudo update-grub
sudo reboot


The problem is the first GPU will now do about half speed while the other GPU's are running properly faster. Tried multiple times, different gpu's, etc, same results.

I know it's being updated in V13, anybody have a clue how to fix this first GPU problem in the meantime? I've just reverted back to untouched V12.

If anyone cares, my 580's run at about 25(no oc), with dag fix 27, but the first gpu will run at 14, would be nice to get them all to 27.

What happens if you run headless?  Is the first GPU still nerfed?

I did the same to apply dagfix, with the same effect on the GPU0, tried to run it headless and yes, it is the same slow without monitor attached. By the way I had the same problem with nvOC headless P106 rigs, and it was easily solved by reconfiguring xorg with nvidia tool when no monitor attached. Maybe reconfiguration is the right way here too, but I don't know how to do it with RX cards.

Issue with slow GPU0 solved by setting it's PCIe slot to Gen2 in BIOS. I had Gen1 for all slots before.

Thank you very much! This solved my issue :-)
woodl1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
October 16, 2017, 05:15:56 PM
 #191

TheNewEthlite, thanks to alko67bi - he gave the idea Smiley
burntone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
October 16, 2017, 07:14:24 PM
 #192

fullzero, when should we expect a v0013 on the rxOC?
I`m currently using nvOC and I`m very pleased with the new implementatinos of telegraph messages and the watchdog, great job!
risinqsun
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
October 16, 2017, 07:20:25 PM
 #193

thank you for v12.   v12 better than v11 seems and stabiliz.  I can download thx but google download link some slow Sad you should upload mega or ftp .

                                   
  ███████████████████████████████U
  ███████████████████████████████U
  ███████████████████████████████U
  ███████████████████████████████U
  ████████████▌     ]████████████U
  ████████████▌     ]████████████U
  ████████████▌     ]████████████U
  ██████""""""       """"""██████U
  ██████                   ██████U
  ██████                   ██████U
  ████████████[     ]████████████U
  ████████████▌     ]████████████U
  ████████████▌     ]████████████U
  ████████████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████████U
  ╙█████████████████████████████▀ 
    ╙█████████████████████████╜   
      `▀███████████████████▀'     
          ╙█████████████▀`         
              ╙▀███▀╜`             
                                   
 
 






.✫ Forex in crypto for everyone ✫.
 
 






Zakyn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
October 19, 2017, 08:45:19 AM
 #194

Seems like there is new drivers for Nix.

Hoping for new version to come out so I can move on from Windows to RxOC. Those vegas are waiting :-P

https://support.amd.com/en-us/kb-articles/Pages/AMDGPU-Pro-Beta-Mining-Driver-for-Linux-Release-Notes.aspx
shade123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
October 20, 2017, 08:25:25 AM
 #195

@fullzero
Hey man, I know this is kinda stupid and I'm sure I'm missing something, but I've searched and cannot find a solution, this occurs on both miners Genoil and Claymore, any thoughts?
Genoil :
Claymore : https://i.imgur.com/QIXKhxG.jpg
Genoil 1 : https://i.imgur.com/QmjFWjn.jpg
Genoil 2 : https://i.imgur.com/csX5vKq.jpg
Onebatch : https://pastebin.com/CqqYSfGd
Any help is appreciated! Thank you and have a nice day Smiley
Edit note : I tried a few different pools and they're all the same...
MentalNomad
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
October 20, 2017, 04:17:52 PM
 #196

@fullzero
Hey man, I know this is kinda stupid and I'm sure I'm missing something, but I've searched and cannot find a solution, this occurs on both miners Genoil and Claymore, any thoughts?
Genoil :
Claymore : https://i.imgur.com/QIXKhxG.jpg
Genoil 1 : https://i.imgur.com/QmjFWjn.jpg
Genoil 2 : https://i.imgur.com/csX5vKq.jpg
Onebatch : https://pastebin.com/CqqYSfGd
Any help is appreciated! Thank you and have a nice day Smiley
Edit note : I tried a few different pools and they're all the same...

Those are not miner errors and are not GPU errors.

Those are network errors.

Are you on WiFI? Try wired, instead.

From your mining rig, try pointing Firefox at a web site that tests the quality of your internet connection.
shade123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
October 21, 2017, 03:00:37 PM
 #197

Those are not miner errors and are not GPU errors.

Those are network errors.

Are you on WiFI? Try wired, instead.

From your mining rig, try pointing Firefox at a web site that tests the quality of your internet connection.

@MentalNomad

Hey man thanks for replying, I'm using wired internet that is running at 40 Mbps/sec , I solved it by re-installing rxOC and trying a pool I haven't tried before, anyway, I have now another issue LOL, I just got a GTX 1070 and I wanna put it on my mining rig which is running rxOC and R9 380x but I only have a 32gb USB for my rig, I saw ocFACTORY which works for both but I only have 32 gb space Sad

@FullZero

My motherboard is Gigabyte G1.Sniper B7 running rxOC with R9 380X at 17.8Mh/s non OC if you wanna add it to the list, I'm trying to get that GPU (R9 390X) and a GTX 1070 to work but I only have a 32GB USB and I cannot find anything that works except your rxOC... Do you have any idea? :/ Thank you!
MentalNomad
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
October 21, 2017, 04:57:02 PM
 #198

@shade123 - rxOC only has video drivers for AMD cards. @FullZero has a separate build/project called nvOC with NVIDIA drivers.

nvOC is actually much better developed:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.0
shade123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
October 21, 2017, 08:06:24 PM
 #199

@shade123 - rxOC only has video drivers for AMD cards. @FullZero has a separate build/project called nvOC with NVIDIA drivers.

nvOC is actually much better developed:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.0

I read about it but I only have one rig and I have an AMD R9 380X and GTX 1070...
I wanted to download factoryOC which is another OS/build that works for both AMD and Nvidia but I only have 32 GB of space and the main problem is his the factoryOC download links are not working idk why...

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1996684
MentalNomad
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
October 21, 2017, 08:49:30 PM
 #200

@shade123 - rxOC only has video drivers for AMD cards. @FullZero has a separate build/project called nvOC with NVIDIA drivers.

nvOC is actually much better developed:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1854250.0

I read about it but I only have one rig and I have an AMD R9 380X and GTX 1070...
I wanted to download factoryOC which is another OS/build that works for both AMD and Nvidia but I only have 32 GB of space and the main problem is his the factoryOC download links are not working idk why...

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1996684

You can try running nvOC and then adding AMD driver for your 380x... but the automated setting of power and OC is effective on NVidia, but not on AMD right now.

(Under Linux. Under Windows, AMD tweaking works better. It's a function of the drivers available, so no good solution for Linux, right now. I think that's part of why rxOC gets less attention - until drivers make tweaking more possible, there's not as much demand for rxOC.)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!