Bitcoin Forum
December 12, 2017, 03:07:17 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: The YACoin Superfun Premine Thread  (Read 8796 times)
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 03:24:46 PM
 #141

Mmh, does the address change when restarting? I fiddled a lot with the number of cores setting.

...not as far as I know.  I messed with mine a lot and all my generation blocks have the same coinbase transaction.  It's possible that if you have multiple addresses in the wallet it might use them all, though.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
1513091237
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513091237

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513091237
Reply with quote  #2

1513091237
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513091237
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513091237

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513091237
Reply with quote  #2

1513091237
Report to moderator
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 03:27:08 PM
 #142

Pocopoco added a checkpoint via a GitHub pull despite not saying anything at all over here, and at block 15,000 no less.  Why?

To mitigate 51% attack, no?

Possibly, it's hard to tell.  He might also be locking in blocks that are his own if he mined a bulk of them in the first 15k blocks.

This is getting more and more bizzarre. Do you argument the same way for checkpoints on the BTC and LTC networks? You don't like a checkpoint because of what? Because it prevents people to attack the network and steal coin? I would think this a very positive thing.

This is a young coin, so the fear of a 51% attack is real. Why would it be good if someone could do that?

BTW, pocopoco did announce the checkpoint in his original thread here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=196196.msg2083242#msg2083242. I rest my case. Stop being bitter if you feel that you've missed out.

If anything you can complain that the starting diff was too low (and that you were not online then, see my posts on "fairness"). There are ~2.34 Mio coins out by now. That still is much less than FTC (6.5 Mio) and CNC (5 Mio).

As I said before, I didn't miss out and made a lot of coins myself.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 03:30:23 PM
 #143

Of course I believe, compilation with -O0 flag it's just an accidental bug Cheesy

 Grin

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
gpudude
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


GPUDude


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 03:32:53 PM
 #144

Not at all, couldn't care less if you sold them or not, it was just kinda strange. It still is a bit but yeah, you put some effort in the explanation, it's fine to me.

Roger that, perhaps I misread the tone of your private message and the post above.  My apologies.

Amusing images to suggest that I was indeed mining YAC on an IBM BladeCenter server farm:












want!  Shocked
R_Lem
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 04:12:47 PM
 #145

Started mining on two i5 2500k at block 12000 with windows 7. Mined a total of 8 blocks (320 coins), 7 on one pc and 1 on the other.

After reading through this and based on my experience mining this release, I'd give the YAC release a much higher grade than any of the other recent ones (I wasn't around for any prior to FTC).
jomay
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 167


View Profile
May 10, 2013, 05:21:24 PM
 #146

I would imagine you started mining sooner than 8 hours after the launch of the coin, and didn't make your estimate based on your block generation rate right when difficulty reached 0.1.  Otherwise, if you were 1/1000th of the network hash power, you would've been successfully mining between 2 and 2.5 non-orphaned blocks per hour on your 6-core i7 at that point in time.  Or if you were 1/600th of the network hash power, you would've been successfully mining between 3 and 4 non-orphaned blocks per hour.  Is that your claim?
Correct - I have mined 3-4 blocks in less than 2h. There was a new block every 2-4secs if I remember correctly, so 900-1800 new blocks per hour. I switched off yacoin-qt sometimes in between, so there are gaps.


You'd have no way of knowing I didn't just lift someone else's data center photo off Google Images anyway, unless I went around scribbling silly YAC-specific messages on everything with a Sharpie to prove otherwise.
Photoshop? Wink

I didn't doubt you may have one rack with a few blades. I know that old blades are cheap on ebay, but are pretty power-inefficient, so usually sold off by large companies. Heck, even one of my colleagues had a rack server at home when I was doing my PhD.

Not including the additional blades used as file servers for all the other blades to network boot from, we're talking about 197kW.  It's >200kW if we count cooling however (62kW more, for 60 tons of HVAC).
Uh, I feel so bad, 3kW short! And that is for someone who is more into statistics than into building blade farms and didn't bother to google it. Cheesy
The error in power costs is easy to explain: UK is more expensive.

If you're actually curious, my cluster is rented out for large 3D render jobs for film projects.
Yes, that's interesting. It'd be a nice project to have people rent out their CPU cycles for a distributed renderer instead of mining coins... The upload bandwidth would be a bit shitty and introduce some render latency, but probably negligible.

If you've had any experience with the BladeCenter platform, you may be aware that this hardware doesn't fail particularly often (I can count hardware failures in the last year on one hand) and managing an 800 server cluster is a 1 person job.
Hmm, our infra team is a bit larger and we do have quite a few outages throughout the year. But then, we are actually running disks in them that fail, discover Redhat-Linux bugs along the way and monitor network latency very tightly.

BTC 1NoV8NFSB7eiuK2aABFtBTdUdXhbEdG7Ss
LTC LaFyWSfzKY7CKwwmbxhyf8S2iJvfT7JFtL YAC YKKwR5B64Z9ww971J42vEGVPaema623Tz6
leadnor
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


For the Community! By the Community!


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2013, 05:27:07 PM
 #147

Has anyone tried a raspberry pi for this? do you think it can work? How well?

www.bitcoinza.com
BitCoin : 15e1QneZebxTZKwexnGmQMN9VzwR9DCsTf
LiteCoin : LcCKETJgjCVYoBc8Ep4JuaZKrPoQvZz6Vp
YAC - YL8SrYKDeS8NXAj7gQsLXTP5dXFgy63Txz - Yacoin Forum Moderator
leadnor
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119


For the Community! By the Community!


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2013, 10:11:21 PM
 #148

Well been mining 5 hours. with i5 3570k Overclocked to 4400mhz and on i7 laptop. havent found anything. Sad sniff sniff

www.bitcoinza.com
BitCoin : 15e1QneZebxTZKwexnGmQMN9VzwR9DCsTf
LiteCoin : LcCKETJgjCVYoBc8Ep4JuaZKrPoQvZz6Vp
YAC - YL8SrYKDeS8NXAj7gQsLXTP5dXFgy63Txz - Yacoin Forum Moderator
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
May 18, 2013, 06:42:01 PM
 #149

Aaaaand the truth comes out.

Indeed.  You passed the test to check if you know what you're talking about.  Smiley

Crafty. I like your style.

Quote from: WindMaster
You would indeed be one of the people I'd expect to have modified your own OpenCL code for scrypt+chacha fairly early on.  Anyway, willing to post some hash rate info for your kernel at the current N=128 for a given GPU type and lookup gap (if any)?  You can probably post that info safely without giving anyone a head-start on making the modifications themselves.

The knowledge might give others incentive to do it, but oh well. Currently (N=128) it does 3.4MH/s on a core-underclocked (830->738) HD6990, with lookup_gap at 1, thus no gap. As a curiosity, at N=32, it does 7.3MH/s under the same setup.

Quote from: WindMaster
Out of curiosity, how many hours after launch or after you started modifying your OpenCL kernel did it take you to make the changes?  Mainly a point of curiosity, for comparison with how many hours it took me.  I went from scratch rather than modifying the Reaper/cgminer kernel though, so my hour comparison will differ a bit because of that.

I was a bit late, I started coding the miner about 16h after the launch. It took me 13.5h from start, to a working implementation. It was very intensive, as you might imagine. Difficulty rising like no tomorrow, and my code only gave errors, until it finally worked. Debugging OpenCL code is horrible. :-)


Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
R_Lem
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 07:10:57 PM
 #150

Aaaaand the truth comes out.

..and at 13.5 hours to get it working by someone that really knows what he's doing. I'm guessing the gpu use on YAC is quite low indeed.

I'm truly a fan of your efforts on your coin Taco and I bow to your superior knowledge in all things crypto-currency but what is it with YAC that seems to be such a specific irritation to you?
WindMaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 07:28:29 PM
 #151

Aaaaand the truth comes out.

..and at 13.5 hours to get it working by someone that really knows what he's doing. I'm guessing the gpu use on YAC is quite low indeed.

I'm truly a fan of your efforts on your coin Taco and I bow to your superior knowledge in all things crypto-currency but what is it with YAC that seems to be such a specific irritation to you?

Looks like over on the other thread, people are starting to weigh in with their own hash rate results.  Of the 4 that have weighed in so far with their own GPU implementation hash rates (me included), only mtrlt achieved really high hash rates.  So I'd say the barrier to entry for people to achieve a GPU implementation is probably still pretty high.  Or else the people with very fast implementations still aren't talking.
dragon2nd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
May 20, 2013, 04:33:35 PM
 #152

Aaaaand the truth comes out.

..and at 13.5 hours to get it working by someone that really knows what he's doing. I'm guessing the gpu use on YAC is quite low indeed.

I'm truly a fan of your efforts on your coin Taco and I bow to your superior knowledge in all things crypto-currency but what is it with YAC that seems to be such a specific irritation to you?

Looks like over on the other thread, people are starting to weigh in with their own hash rate results.  Of the 4 that have weighed in so far with their own GPU implementation hash rates (me included), only mtrlt achieved really high hash rates.  So I'd say the barrier to entry for people to achieve a GPU implementation is probably still pretty high.  Or else the people with very fast implementations still aren't talking.

They will release it when the difficulty is high enough.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!