Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2017, 11:34:43 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: The YACoin Superfun Premine Thread  (Read 8797 times)
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 06:42:47 PM
 #1

Can't help but think there are either some huge cpu farms working this now, or it's being gpu mined now.

Probably a mix of both.  I was stuck in "newbie jail" so I couldn't weigh in earlier (this was the first thread I thought worth actually registering to post in).  I got a late start, about 8 hours after the coin was released.  I commenced mining with 800 servers with 2x Xeon E5450's (rows and rows of IBM BladeCenters) when difficulty was reaching 0.008.  Shortly after, I provisioned an additional 760 Amazon c1.xlarge instances, starting when difficulty was reaching 0.020.  I shut everything down when difficulty reached 0.1 last night.

Observations, orphan rate was about 20% across all 1560 servers, with an average of ~60 connections (modified outbound connection count in the client).  At the time I shut everything down with difficulty at 0.1, I was solving roughly 15% of the blocks.  Hash rate on the 2x E5450 servers averaged about 300kH/sec, and the Amazon c1.xlarge instances averaged about 200kH/sec, so I was mining with apprx 392,000kH/sec.  Based on that, I estimate the network hash rate was actually about 2,613,333kH/sec at that time.  Yeah, I know I could probably calculate a better figure from the block spacing vs. difficulty, but I didn't feel like digging into the source to determine the exact relationship between hash rate, difficulty and block solving rate.  And I know from trying to estimate block solving rate with litecoinpool's calculator that Yacoin's difficulty calculation differs significantly from LTC.  It's entirely possible that a large number of people also had the same bright idea to spin up a huge number of Amazon EC2 instances and that could possibly account for the hash rate, but I suspect the reality is that GPU farms were crunching Yacoin based on my observations.  Either that, or Amazon was the party that profited the most from Yacoin (so far).  :-)

Just for kicks, I fired 100 servers back up a bit ago to mine for a while starting when difficulty was 0.3, just to see how things compare.  I see 0% orphan rate now over the last couple hours and I'm definitely still solving blocks..

Quote
People trying linux for the first time, you need to run this command before you can make it with QTcreator

Code:
sudo apt-get install qt4-qmake libqt4-dev build-essential libboost-dev libboost-system-dev libboost-filesystem-dev libboost-program-options-dev libboost-thread-dev libssl-dev libdb4.8++-dev

More details here: http://ubuntuhak.blogspot.ca/2012/11/bitcoin-basics-and-ubuntu-1204.html

I really like that people here were all raving about the lack of a premine.  Apparently you've all been had if you've been running the Windows binaries of the program that were released at launch, because my Linux binaries are about 10x faster.  OP on linux probably had 10,000 blocks before anyone else.

Good call though for OP, release a Windows version that 95% of people on here will use that mines 10 times as slow, and it doesn't look like you've got an actual premine but you yourself are mining an order of magnitude faster than everyone else.  He'll probably be walking away with bags full of money.

tl;dr pretty much everyone running the Windows binaries from the onset was screwed.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
1513467283
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513467283

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513467283
Reply with quote  #2

1513467283
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513467283
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513467283

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513467283
Reply with quote  #2

1513467283
Report to moderator
1513467283
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513467283

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513467283
Reply with quote  #2

1513467283
Report to moderator
ymer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 06:47:05 PM
 #2

I phucking knew that something was fishy from the begining and made a thread to document the orphan rate. Windows users had 90%+ orphan rate, linux users about 10-15%:

i5 2500k stock, 8GB RAM, client compiled on Linux. I think my overall ratio is like 10 accepted - 2 not accepted, which is fine. I restarted a couple times, old rejects aren't in the list anymore.

I think you and JimmyFL are the ones with the best ratios and both are running Linux.

Is there a chance that there's a problem with the windows build?

oroqen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 06:47:35 PM
 #3

Releasing clients for windows with no UPNP support is the new premine
ymer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 06:48:50 PM
 #4

Releasing clients for windows with no UPNP support is the new premine

They will always find a way to have an advantage at release.

That's why they do not publish binaries until the actual release without notice. Anyway I predict that this thread will change nothing and this pre-mine scam will be forgotten in 10 seconds.


Mhash pipe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 06:49:13 PM
 #5

Also adding the addnode part from the first post on the official thread limited my connections to 8, and I didn't solve any blocks or get above 8 connections until I removed that code (after wasting 8 hours).
Lowlander
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 06:55:22 PM
 #6

Also adding the addnode part from the first post on the official thread limited my connections to 8, and I didn't solve any blocks or get above 8 connections until I removed that code (after wasting 8 hours).

The same. Without adding some nodes. Win 7
jimmyk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 06:57:01 PM
 #7

Windows?  Screwed... Na.  Never.   Smiley
procrypto
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


Shitcoin Maximalist


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 06:59:00 PM
 #8

tl;dr pretty much everyone running the Windows binaries from the onset was screwed.

Makes sense now you've collated those posts.. Feel foolish as I was one of those defending the lack of premine. The relatively small handful I've accumulated, due to lack of linux knowledge, now seems like an absolute pittance. I wondered why you'd taken an interest in the thread, but now I see you were trying to figure out the OP's game..



BBQKorv
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 07:10:12 PM
 #9

Nice find. How is the actual performance difference between linux/windows builds on a same hardware, 10x as suggested?
efx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 07:10:42 PM
 #10

Let's make no mistake: some things are seriously wrong with the windows client...So wrong, in fact, I see no way it cannot have been intentional. As I see it, there are 3 specific issues that cannot be easily explained by 'oops'.

Anyways, it's a short amount of time (I would bet it has already been done) until the scrypt kernel is ready to roll out the (n,1,1). I will say this: at least the dev isn't foolish enough to pretend it cannot be done.

  

^^It's funny when some of the most outspoken linux users show their complete lack of understanding. Thanks for the contribution, buddy.  
DryPowder
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 07:26:04 PM
 #11

This explain a lot fishy things to me, in other words it´s a selective pre-mine of the coin, windows user (90%) will screwed.


Keep Your Powder Dry
xibeijan
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1008


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 07:32:25 PM
 #12

So some people have been affected by a bug in the windows implementation. Not convinced this is a wide spread problem nor that it was intentional.

DryPowder
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144



View Profile
May 09, 2013, 07:33:01 PM
 #13

So some people have been affected by a bug in the windows implementation. Not convinced this is a wide spread problem nor that it was intentional.

 Grin

Keep Your Powder Dry
Boba
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101


Reality doesn't care if you believe in it.


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 07:38:14 PM
 #14

I used the windows binaries, I don't feel scammed at all.

BTC: 1JTwkAWCBtjd51Xhzu1EULmmProMYNVX9E
cryptohunter
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 07:39:47 PM
 #15

another scam, good job we have some smart people who can detect this kind of behaviour. Let's hope this does not make it to an exchange.

Someone should put out a decent cpu only coin asap  because ppl will keep yacoin going because they can mine it at the same time as gpu mined coins.

████████
████████
████
████





████
████
████████
████████
     ▄▄████████▄▄
   ▄██████████████▄
 ▄██████████████████▄
██████▀▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀▀█
██████     █████     █
██████     █████     █             ▄▄▄
██████     ▀▀▀▀▀     █        ███  ███
 ▀████                  ▄▄▄   ███  ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄  ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄  ▄▄
   ▀██     ▄▄▄▄▄      ▄█████▄ ███  ███ ███  ███ ████████████▄
     ▀     █████      ███▄▄██ ███  ███ ███  ███ ███ ▀███ ▀███
           ▀▀███      ███▄▄▄  ███▄ ███ ███▄████ ███  ███  ███
               ▀       ▀████▀  ▀██ ███ ▀███▀███ ███  ███  ███
                   ▀█
████████
████████
████
████





████
████
████████
████████
█  ████▀  █
█  ██▀▄█  █
█  ▀▄███  █
█  ████▀  █
██▀▄█
▀▄███
████▀
██▀▄█

▀▄███

█  ████▀  █

█  ██▀▄█  █

█  ▀▄███  █

█  █████  █
|
█  ████▀  █
█  ██▀▄█  █
█  ▀▄███  █
█  ████▀  █
██▀▄█
▀▄███
████▀
██▀▄█

▀▄███

█  ████▀  █

█  ██▀▄█  █

█  ▀▄███  █

█  █████  █
shivansps
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 484


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 07:41:38 PM
 #16

Lets put it simple...

Windows client on my 2500K was getting about 60 khash/s with 8 conecctions, 90% of the people was using that, the result, for me, was 3 valid blocks, 27 orphans in about 16 hours.

Now, the same 2500K with the same client, BUT compiled on linux with AVX (that are NOT by default, you must add them), does about 300 khash/s and has 64 conecctions.

Tecnically is not premine, but you are screwing 90% of the people on launch...

||CanYa Autonomous P2P marketplace of Services
Initial Coin Offering | | Bitcointalk Thread
Adamlm
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 805



View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 07:41:56 PM
 #17

another scam, good job we have some smart people who can detect this kind of behaviour. Let's hope this does not make it to an exchange.

Someone should put out a decent cpu only coin asap  because ppl will keep yacoin going because they can mine it at the same time as gpu mined coins.
+1
totally agree

mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 07:42:27 PM
 #18

they're all scams.

mc_lovin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


www.bitcointrading.com


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 07:43:02 PM
 #19

can we, as a community, create a coin that we all AGREE is fair terms?  like right from the get-go, a solution that works for all of us?

jdebunt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1414

Freelance Bitcoin / Blockchain / FinTech Writer


View Profile WWW
May 09, 2013, 07:43:12 PM
 #20

guess i'll better get a linux distro for any future coins before my 7950 arrives Smiley
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!