Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2017, 05:24:15 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Low hashrate on 7970 scrypt? Under 700Kh/s? Here's what to do...  (Read 53160 times)
iCrazyNoob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
March 01, 2014, 08:48:04 PM
 #101

One thing. I was going to try this but I thought the bios should be a .rom file not a .bin?


Edit:  tried it. Flash worked. But only gained 4khash/s. wtf

lol really only 4? what settings have u tried and what drivers are you running?
also give me a screenshot of the flashed card with gpu-z
Transactions must be included in a block to be properly completed. When you send a transaction, it is broadcast to miners. Miners can then optionally include it in their next blocks. Miners will be more inclined to include your transaction if it has a transaction fee.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508347455
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508347455

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508347455
Reply with quote  #2

1508347455
Report to moderator
Holypriest
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
March 01, 2014, 10:11:03 PM
 #102

I have this card PowerColor AX7970 3GBD5-M2DHG. Could some one please tell me the correct BIOS to flash to get in the 650 to 700khash area. I currently get 585khash/s on all 10 cards with 1090/1500/1.111v
Cgminer -g 2 -I 13 --thread-concurrency 8192. If someone can tell me the correct BIOS I am willing to offer a bounty in BTC or DOGE. Thanks.

I have 3 of the exact same cards. Just got them yesterday to begin my mining rig. So far I have only 1 card running as my motherboard is yet to arrive. as for the settings I'm running :

Catalyst 13.1 clean install. with included APP APK.
Win 7 Ultimate 64Bit
CGminer 3.1.0

Code:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
"C:\Users\TV\Desktop\guiminer-scrypt_win32_binaries_v0.04\cgminer\cgminer.exe" --scrypt -u user -p pass -o stratum+tcp://global.wemineltc.com:3335 -w 256 -I 13 -g 2 --thread-concurrency 8192 --temp-cutoff 85

Now this will get me anywhere from 520-560kh/s speed on the card if I leave the card at default clocks. BUT after hours of tuning with just AMD Overdrive, I gotten my hasrate up to 660Kh/s

945-949/1575 = 650KHs
895-899/1500 = 625KHs

mem clock is set to max for the best efficiency mining and the core clock has a very sensitive line.
For example my card will get around 550KHs with 950/1575 and 650KHs with 945/1575
Because AMD Overdrive only does 5Mhz increment I cannot pin point the exact line to the 1Mhz yet.
You can play around with ur Core clock a bit with one card and try to find the line that gets u that extra 100 Khs Smiley

Since 650KHs is still probably a bit off from the optimal speed for a 7970
My next step would be trying to find more BIOS for the card but I havent started on that yet!  

I can actually get a little over 700kh/s on my Powercolor without flashing it
use the mem and clock tuning in cgminer and set it to 1020/1450
and i use the same config in scrypt as you do
heres some info on the card i have
if you like i can send a copy of my bios..

PowerColor Card
GpU-Z
015.032.000.002.000000 (113-C3860100-100)

Tahiti indentifier- HD 7970 (SK Hynix H5GQ2H24AFR)
iCrazyNoob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
March 01, 2014, 10:46:14 PM
 #103


I can actually get a little over 700kh/s on my Powercolor without flashing it
use the mem and clock tuning in cgminer and set it to 1020/1450
and i use the same config in scrypt as you do
heres some info on the card i have
if you like i can send a copy of my bios..

PowerColor Card
GpU-Z
015.032.000.002.000000 (113-C3860100-100)

Tahiti indentifier- HD 7970 (SK Hynix H5GQ2H24AFR)

you have the AFR vram which according to The Stilt has the correct timing built in. I got the MFR which is the rubbish timing. But I already got a modded bios which can get me 750KHs so I'm good! But thanks.
Axco
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
March 01, 2014, 11:32:47 PM
 #104

Anyone got any ideas or suggestion / help for these please: 

I Have 2 x XFX R9-280x-TDFD / R9 280X 1000M BOOST 3GB D5

They have been clocking very stable at ~702Kh/s for 3 weeks ( GPU clock 1020, MEM clock 1500, 1200mv )
powertune 20. Using CGminer3.7.2 each card matching pretty much constant.

I have also had them run stable for over the last week at this ~725Kh/s ( GPU clock 1050, MEM clock1500, 1200mv )

Just the last 2 days one card has been dropping down to ~614Kh/s regardless of clock settings above and into the ~500KH/s at stock clock of GPU 1000, MEM 1500

It starts of ok for the first 15 mins where they both match then it drops off bouncing from 64% load to 99%load spending like most time between 64% and 70% load. approx. 580kh/s  - 615Kh/s THE OTHER CARD JUTS SITS STABLE 724Kh/s - 725Kh/s

I have ran several programs to check it, the only thing I have noticed during the tests and overclock programs is that the fan speeds reports they are only spinning the fan at 70% of the other card even when it reports 100% in test programs it shows actual rpm of the other cards saying 70%.

So while 1 can spin 3150RPM at 85%     the other card reports 2800RPM at 100%

OR there is a bit of give and take on the figures below +/_  of 25 - 50  I just took averages.

GPU0 Fan speed ~100% =RPM 3150   GPU0 Fan speed ~85% =RPM 3150   GPU0 Fan speed ~75% = RPM 2850        
GPU1 Fan speed ~100% =RPM 2800   GPU1 Fan speed ~85% =RPM 2800   GPU1 Fan speed ~75% = RPM 2500

I have swapped the cards round in there pcie x16 sockets and it makes no difference.

I have tried running in both CGminer 3.7.2 and SGminer4.0

In both programs the same card is down in KH/s on what it normally is, while the other runs same as always. They are only 4 weeks old.

Any Ideas, advice  or suggestions would be welcomed ?

Thanks Axco
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491



View Profile
March 03, 2014, 04:57:55 AM
 #105

One thing. I was going to try this but I thought the bios should be a .rom file not a .bin?


Edit:  tried it. Flash worked. But only gained 4khash/s. wtf

lol really only 4? what settings have u tried and what drivers are you running?
also give me a screenshot of the flashed card with gpu-z



Cat 12.8 <-- Could this be the problem?

I have the MFR Hynix. Could I get you BIOS iCrazyNoob?

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
iCrazyNoob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 08:26:11 AM
 #106

One thing. I was going to try this but I thought the bios should be a .rom file not a .bin?


Edit:  tried it. Flash worked. But only gained 4khash/s. wtf

lol really only 4? what settings have u tried and what drivers are you running?
also give me a screenshot of the flashed card with gpu-z

http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/14/03/02/efz.png

Cat 12.8 <-- Could this be the problem?

I have the MFR Hynix. Could I get you BIOS iCrazyNoob?

The one I posted above is my BIOS, Keep your mem clock at 1500
and adjust core from 1000 and higher I'd say for my card 1020/1500 - 1070/1500 is the best performing clocks.
Use AMD uninstaller to uninstall all drivers and download 13.1
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491



View Profile
March 03, 2014, 02:58:33 PM
 #107

Is that screen shot confirm it is the same bios you are using?

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
FoFFiFFe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 03:48:35 PM
 #108

I know it's a 7970 thread but ...

I hold a brilliant Sapphire Vapor-x 7950 (11196-09-40G). Unfortunately, memory that is installed on it is the "SK Hynix H5GQ2H24MFR" which with stock BIOS. I have a poor hashrate (tested a lot of settings, max 510kh/s) and the VRM are hot like hell while the GPU is at 69°C, which is correct. After some reading I came to the conclusion that I needed to recover a modified bios to solve this problem. But, as you certainly know The Stilt closed his thread on litecointalk.  Undecided

So I wanted to know if by luck one of you had the stilt bios for this card or a modified bios that can solve the problem. PM me please.

Otherwise, good luck with your 7970.  Smiley
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491



View Profile
March 03, 2014, 06:00:46 PM
 #109

iCrazy it seems it was the 12.8 Drivers causing the problem. I installed 13.1 and what a world of difference. Thanks so much for your help! Would you like a tip in DOGE or BTC?

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
iCrazyNoob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 07:25:58 PM
 #110

iCrazy it seems it was the 12.8 Drivers causing the problem. I installed 13.1 and what a world of difference. Thanks so much for your help! Would you like a tip in DOGE or BTC?

good to hear, how much are you getting now with what clocks? I'm currently running 1050/1500 @ 730KHs. 1070/1500 can get me 750KHs for about 15 min and it lowers to 730 for some reason, so I just lowered clock to 1050 and it hashes 730KHs happily.
anything is appreciated Smiley

Cheesy tip received thanks ! that was my first income since I started mining LOL.


EDIT: I found another Modded BIOS for the card going to try it out later when I get home today, will keep you updated! Happy mining
EDIT2: Well the BIOS I found pretty much perform on-par with the last BIOS i posted. I'm gonna try out 13.12 driver see if any difference with that.
EDIT3: 13.12 and 13.1 perform same. So I pretty much hit the ceiling for now at 730KHs/s on this powercolor reference.
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491



View Profile
March 04, 2014, 01:40:20 PM
 #111

Sent you a lil something. I am running at 1020/1500/1.0v getting around 705khash/s

I also have 2 Sapphire reference 7970. Tried flashing that ASUS Bios and it bricked them. Love that BIOS switch.  If you have any ideas or Bios for those let me know. Thanks

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
iCrazyNoob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
March 04, 2014, 05:10:02 PM
 #112

Sent you a lil something. I am running at 1020/1500/1.0v getting around 705khash/s

I also have 2 Sapphire reference 7970. Tried flashing that ASUS Bios and it bricked them. Love that BIOS switch.  If you have any ideas or Bios for those let me know. Thanks

Try this BIOS out:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/8dldldm58wxqrs2/MBA_C3860100-100_AGR_K2.rar
it should work well with any reference design card!
Same stuff as always 1500MEMCLK only and adjust core&voltage to your liking.
iCrazyNoob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
March 04, 2014, 05:27:05 PM
 #113

Anyone got any ideas or suggestion / help for these please: 

In both programs the same card is down in KH/s on what it normally is, while the other runs same as always. They are only 4 weeks old.

Any Ideas, advice  or suggestions would be welcomed ?

Thanks Axco


Use GPU-Z to check your VRM temperature, for mining you want to use as low voltage as possible that will greatly reduce VRM stress and power consumption.
When you are mining the first to overheat is your VRM if there is no steps taken to lower your voltage and additional cooling fans at the back of videocard.
most likely the reduced hashrate is because VRM overheat and throttling down the core speed.

Worst case scenario it will heat up to much your video card caches on fire. according to the stilt some XFX cards have really cheap VRM controller (analog instead of digital) to save cost.

You can use VBE7 to modify BIOS voltage or use software like MSI Afterburner to lower voltage. You can start by lower the powertune to -20%
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491



View Profile
March 05, 2014, 12:03:48 AM
 #114

Sent you a lil something. I am running at 1020/1500/1.0v getting around 705khash/s

I also have 2 Sapphire reference 7970. Tried flashing that ASUS Bios and it bricked them. Love that BIOS switch.  If you have any ideas or Bios for those let me know. Thanks

Try this BIOS out:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/8dldldm58wxqrs2/MBA_C3860100-100_AGR_K2.rar
it should work well with any reference design card!
Same stuff as always 1500MEMCLK only and adjust core&voltage to your liking.

Turns out the cards were fine. The Bios in the ASRock mobo did not like the new GPU Bios and would not boot because of that.  I updated the MOBO Bios and now all is good!

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
virtualreality69
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 125

Check out FireCoin!


View Profile WWW
March 12, 2014, 04:35:47 PM
 #115

Joshwaa/iCrazyNoob,
I'd kill for 700kh/s average on my xfx r9 280x DD.  I'm averaging around 675 with throttling or even lower (630) with (non-throttling) clock speeds of 1020/1400. Everything fully cranked 1135/1500 @ 20 Intensity will get me almost 700kh/s, but it runs hotter, throttles every 20 seconds, and produces a lot more rejects.

I've tried just about everything.  Updated to the latest amd drivers (from 13.11), updated to cgminer 3.7.2, tried two of the Silts undervolted bios, created my own undervolted bios, tried a dozen or two different config files, tried bat file configurations, even tried linux (Ubuntu) all with no hash increase. The only things I havent tried yet are custom kernals (up to 20kh/s increase) and sgminer. 

Recently I've noticed quite a bit of throttling when they're running at 1100/1500 (currently undervolted to 1.144, anything lower and the card crashes when mining). I get less throttling at 1020/1500, and almost none at 1020/1400, but a much lower has hrate.  I've also noticed the MVDDC still seems quite high at 1.500 in gpu-z. Does that seem correct or should it be lower? Might that have something to do with the throttling? Atleast I'm running a bit cooler with it undervolted (regardless of throttle).

Any advice? Can/should I lower my mem vddc?

Someone mentioned using Trixx, Afterburner, gpu tweak, etc to stop throttling. If I lower the voltage just a little the card will usually crash.  Anything else I can do?

See my gpu-z and be7 image attached

Cheers,
- VR



Sent you a lil something. I am running at 1020/1500/1.0v getting around 705khash/s

I also have 2 Sapphire reference 7970. Tried flashing that ASUS Bios and it bricked them. Love that BIOS switch.  If you have any ideas or Bios for those let me know. Thanks

Try this BIOS out:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/8dldldm58wxqrs2/MBA_C3860100-100_AGR_K2.rar
it should work well with any reference design card!
Same stuff as always 1500MEMCLK only and adjust core&voltage to your liking.

Turns out the cards were fine. The Bios in the ASRock mobo did not like the new GPU Bios and would not boot because of that.  I updated the MOBO Bios and now all is good!

http://firecoin.tk  --> FireCoin: Currently one of the fastest growing, rare, alt-currencies!!
currently selling several undervolted cards: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=645037.0
www.amazon.com/shops/Virtualreality69
iCrazyNoob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
March 18, 2014, 01:19:20 AM
 #116

Joshwaa/iCrazyNoob,
I'd kill for 700kh/s average on my xfx r9 280x DD.  I'm averaging around 675 with throttling or even lower (630) with (non-throttling) clock speeds of 1020/1400. Everything fully cranked 1135/1500 @ 20 Intensity will get me almost 700kh/s, but it runs hotter, throttles every 20 seconds, and produces a lot more rejects.

I've tried just about everything.  Updated to the latest amd drivers (from 13.11), updated to cgminer 3.7.2, tried two of the Silts undervolted bios, created my own undervolted bios, tried a dozen or two different config files, tried bat file configurations, even tried linux (Ubuntu) all with no hash increase. The only things I havent tried yet are custom kernals (up to 20kh/s increase) and sgminer. 

Recently I've noticed quite a bit of throttling when they're running at 1100/1500 (currently undervolted to 1.144, anything lower and the card crashes when mining). I get less throttling at 1020/1500, and almost none at 1020/1400, but a much lower has hrate.  I've also noticed the MVDDC still seems quite high at 1.500 in gpu-z. Does that seem correct or should it be lower? Might that have something to do with the throttling? Atleast I'm running a bit cooler with it undervolted (regardless of throttle).

Any advice? Can/should I lower my mem vddc?

Someone mentioned using Trixx, Afterburner, gpu tweak, etc to stop throttling. If I lower the voltage just a little the card will usually crash.  Anything else I can do?

See my gpu-z and be7 image attached

Cheers,
- VR
http://i.imgur.com/pUH1EQB.jpg


Sent you a lil something. I am running at 1020/1500/1.0v getting around 705khash/s

I also have 2 Sapphire reference 7970. Tried flashing that ASUS Bios and it bricked them. Love that BIOS switch.  If you have any ideas or Bios for those let me know. Thanks

Try this BIOS out:
http://www.mediafire.com/download/8dldldm58wxqrs2/MBA_C3860100-100_AGR_K2.rar
it should work well with any reference design card!
Same stuff as always 1500MEMCLK only and adjust core&voltage to your liking.

Turns out the cards were fine. The Bios in the ASRock mobo did not like the new GPU Bios and would not boot because of that.  I updated the MOBO Bios and now all is good!

Hmm, if you are using Stilts' BIOS u can also try 1375MHz Mem and adjust core clocks accordingly.

If your card is throttling even at 73C check your VRM temperatures in GPU-Z, if that is hitting 90C+ that might be the problem. Try turn the Power Limit to -20% might help.

Keep in mind sometimes higher clock doesnt result the highest hashrate. go from 900 Core clock and add 10Mhz each time if hashrate goes up try bump 10 more until you hit the point where it start dropping or your card is running too hot. try to keep it under 80C

Adding a strong fan blowing directly at top of the card or the back of the card will reduce VRM temptures try that.

my 7970s run @ 1050/1500/1.087V
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!