Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2017, 04:01:21 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Low hashrate on 7970 scrypt? Under 700Kh/s? Here's what to do...  (Read 53180 times)
vonGreezly
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
January 15, 2014, 09:54:42 AM
 #81

Any suggestions?  I have the XFX 7970 Black Edition.

The card works, albeit, much more slowly than I am wanting but I can't flash to upgrade.

I used the rufus boot and when I use
 C:> ATIFLASH -F -P 0 s.rom
I get the response below.   (I might have used more -f flags when the simple one didn't work.)

Old SSID: 3211
New SSID: 3000
Old P/N: 113-797ATDBV32_111215SZ
New P/N: 113-2104XTHY-OB5
Old DeviceID: 6798
New DeviceID: 6798
Old Product Name: Tahiti B0 CR XT C38601 GDDR5 3GB 500e/150m
New Product Name: Tahiti B0 XT GDDR5 3GB 500e/150m
Old BIOS Version: 015.022.000.004.000000
New BIOS Version: 015.025.000.099.000000
Flash type: Unknown SPI

Write fail
0/20000h bytes programmed

Any ideas?  Also what's weird is that when I started I tried to save the ROM and the info says it's 40000 in length not 20000 in length like the replacement is.

I'm gettin the same thing right now.. Can't flash this bastard! Did you have any luck? I've thrown basically every command I can find at it. Not even able to flash the extracted rom.... just kicks back the same message pretty much...

 -von
1508688081
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508688081

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508688081
Reply with quote  #2

1508688081
Report to moderator
1508688081
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508688081

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508688081
Reply with quote  #2

1508688081
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508688081
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508688081

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508688081
Reply with quote  #2

1508688081
Report to moderator
1508688081
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508688081

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508688081
Reply with quote  #2

1508688081
Report to moderator
1508688081
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508688081

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508688081
Reply with quote  #2

1508688081
Report to moderator
WinManx2000
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
January 15, 2014, 11:40:42 PM
 #82

Great wealth of knowledge going around in this thread.  Has anyone done a bios flash with an XFX 7970A-TDK 1.0?  I see lots of other success stories of people flashing the TDJ version.  I am  stuck at 570k and have tried all the normal rounds of cgminer adjustments.

Same issue with that model card.
Has you found a resolution yet?
I tried 20+ other bios flashed on it....takes none one of them well.
 Angry


Still cant flash my TDKC 1.0.  Freakin sucks to be stuck at 500kh/s
groovadelickun
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
January 17, 2014, 05:41:06 PM
 #83

Can anyone recommend a BIOS (Non OC edition) that works well for an MSI 7970 OC Edition?  
( R7970 - 2PMD3GD5/OC  http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/14/01/16/gyd.png )

I've tried everything currently listed for MSI on techpowerup.com without much success.  (http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/index.php?architecture=&manufacturer=MSI&model=HD+7970&interface=PCI-E&memType=&PmemSize=)

Printed on the PCB Board: "V277 Ver 1.0"

Thanks for any suggestions!
arbuzzinho
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 01:47:51 PM
 #84

guys, check out configs from this page :p
they might work for u
http://cgminer-config.com/
thatdudesly
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
February 01, 2014, 07:42:17 PM
 #85

Can anyone recommend a BIOS (Non OC edition) that works well for an MSI 7970 OC Edition?  
( R7970 - 2PMD3GD5/OC  http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/14/01/16/gyd.png )

I've tried everything currently listed for MSI on techpowerup.com without much success.  (http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/index.php?architecture=&manufacturer=MSI&model=HD+7970&interface=PCI-E&memType=&PmemSize=)

Printed on the PCB Board: "V277 Ver 1.0"

Thanks for any suggestions!


I literally stayed up all night till about 5AM trying to get this exact card to hash over 550. The bios I flashed it with was one that changed made afterburner see it as a lightnining b to get a hash rate of 650 stable. It did voltage lock the card though.

I'll be home later today and will uploaded the bios I used since I don't remember the one I got from techpowerup.
Galarix
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
February 02, 2014, 09:12:33 PM
 #86

Hi!
Sorry for waking up an old thread but I've got some problems with my XFX card....
The highest I've been able to get is around 650Kh/s but since I should be able to get over 700Kh/s I really need some help.
I got the highest when I flashed my bios to the Gigabyte one.
Need some advice

EDIT: got it up to 700Kh/s by maxing out my memclock as high as it could go and take that times 0,59 and using that as a coreclock.
Wow I'm good..
--thread-concurrency 8192 -I 13 -g 2 -w 256 --gpu-memclock 1750 --gpu-engine 1032

sharecoin:SNLkZdR99ziUXRGEXw3mRgEyAJguvjniSa
utens
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163


View Profile
February 05, 2014, 12:19:30 PM
 #87

Hello,  this thread looks very useful!

Before trying to follow the advices i wanted to ask, casue I'm afraid of doing damage..

So i have  2x  Asus HD7970 dc2t-3gd5

I ve been trying to tweak all days long,  but max i can get is about 550kh per card.

Now i wanted to try to flash the bios , wich one should I choose?  I need to use the bios of my particular card model,  or  I need to use Bios from another one?

thanks!
robot314
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
February 16, 2014, 07:56:21 AM
 #88

MSI 7970 3GB OC (Boost Edition) :

http://i60.tinypic.com/16lftoo.png

reply if interested about details
kosmarnik
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
February 16, 2014, 10:58:28 AM
 #89

MSI 7970 3GB OC (Boost Edition) :

reply if interested about details

I'm interested!
I'm stuck with the Gigabyte 797OC-3GD at 530Khs. Tried flashing ~15 different BIOSes but either doesn't help or won't boot/load drivers/crashes on cgminer.
Holypriest
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
February 22, 2014, 07:47:46 PM
 #90

Any suggestions?  I have the XFX 7970 Black Edition.

The card works, albeit, much more slowly than I am wanting but I can't flash to upgrade.

I used the rufus boot and when I use
 C:> ATIFLASH -F -P 0 s.rom
I get the response below.   (I might have used more -f flags when the simple one didn't work.)

Old SSID: 3211
New SSID: 3000
Old P/N: 113-797ATDBV32_111215SZ
New P/N: 113-2104XTHY-OB5
Old DeviceID: 6798
New DeviceID: 6798
Old Product Name: Tahiti B0 CR XT C38601 GDDR5 3GB 500e/150m
New Product Name: Tahiti B0 XT GDDR5 3GB 500e/150m
Old BIOS Version: 015.022.000.004.000000
New BIOS Version: 015.025.000.099.000000
Flash type: Unknown SPI

Write fail
0/20000h bytes programmed

Any ideas?  Also what's weird is that when I started I tried to save the ROM and the info says it's 40000 in length not 20000 in length like the replacement is.

Hi

I am new here i also have the XFX Hd 7970 Black Edition 1000/1425 reference cards. 3 of them to be exact, and i am just in the beginning stages of building my very first mining Rig
I have understood these cards dont hash that great, so me too I am looking for the correct BIOS to flash them with.

I did a quick search on the "NEW BIOS" that you were trying to flash with, and I find that that bios "015.025.000.099.000000" belongs to a HD 7950 card
I dont know if that maybe is a reason for your write miss match, or maybe it is intentional. Are you suppossed to reflash the 7970 to a 7950??

If i find any sollution to my 3 cards i will post here. If anyone out there allready has a sollution,i would greatly appreciate a hint in here:)

Thank you
border43
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
February 25, 2014, 11:04:47 PM
 #91

Can anyone recommend a BIOS (Non OC edition) that works well for an MSI 7970 OC Edition?  
( R7970 - 2PMD3GD5/OC  http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/14/01/16/gyd.png )

I've tried everything currently listed for MSI on techpowerup.com without much success.  (http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/index.php?architecture=&manufacturer=MSI&model=HD+7970&interface=PCI-E&memType=&PmemSize=)

Printed on the PCB Board: "V277 Ver 1.0"

Thanks for any suggestions!


I literally stayed up all night till about 5AM trying to get this exact card to hash over 550. The bios I flashed it with was one that changed made afterburner see it as a lightnining b to get a hash rate of 650 stable. It did voltage lock the card though.

I'll be home later today and will uploaded the bios I used since I don't remember the one I got from techpowerup.

I'm having this same issue with this same (rev 1) card. Can you please tell me what bios you used? I can't find one that seems to work.

Thanks!
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491



View Profile
February 26, 2014, 08:31:49 PM
 #92

I have this card PowerColor AX7970 3GBD5-M2DHG. Could some one please tell me the correct BIOS to flash to get in the 650 to 700khash area. I currently get 585khash/s on all 10 cards with 1090/1500/1.111v
Cgminer -g 2 -I 13 --thread-concurrency 8192. If someone can tell me the correct BIOS I am willing to offer a bounty in BTC or DOGE. Thanks.

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
iCrazyNoob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
February 26, 2014, 10:08:12 PM
 #93

I have this card PowerColor AX7970 3GBD5-M2DHG. Could some one please tell me the correct BIOS to flash to get in the 650 to 700khash area. I currently get 585khash/s on all 10 cards with 1090/1500/1.111v
Cgminer -g 2 -I 13 --thread-concurrency 8192. If someone can tell me the correct BIOS I am willing to offer a bounty in BTC or DOGE. Thanks.

I have 3 of the exact same cards. Just got them yesterday to begin my mining rig. So far I have only 1 card running as my motherboard is yet to arrive. as for the settings I'm running :

Catalyst 13.1 clean install. with included APP APK.
Win 7 Ultimate 64Bit
CGminer 3.1.0

Code:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
"C:\Users\TV\Desktop\guiminer-scrypt_win32_binaries_v0.04\cgminer\cgminer.exe" --scrypt -u user -p pass -o stratum+tcp://global.wemineltc.com:3335 -w 256 -I 13 -g 2 --thread-concurrency 8192 --temp-cutoff 85

Now this will get me anywhere from 520-560kh/s speed on the card if I leave the card at default clocks. BUT after hours of tuning with just AMD Overdrive, I gotten my hasrate up to 660Kh/s

945-949/1575 = 650KHs
895-899/1500 = 625KHs

mem clock is set to max for the best efficiency mining and the core clock has a very sensitive line.
For example my card will get around 550KHs with 950/1575 and 650KHs with 945/1575
Because AMD Overdrive only does 5Mhz increment I cannot pin point the exact line to the 1Mhz yet.
You can play around with ur Core clock a bit with one card and try to find the line that gets u that extra 100 Khs Smiley

Since 650KHs is still probably a bit off from the optimal speed for a 7970
My next step would be trying to find more BIOS for the card but I havent started on that yet!  
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491



View Profile
February 27, 2014, 03:20:27 AM
 #94

Thanks for the ideas. Let me know if you can find the BIOS that will help these cards in your travels. I will send you some doge or btc.

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
Holypriest
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 05:18:38 PM
 #95

So for my cards the 3 XFX HD 7970 Black edition coreclock 1000/1425, i founs a Bios sollution , And I have flashed them all.
When flashing as somebody asked you must flash with the Bios switch in position Nr 1
Pos. Nr 2 is locked, and good to have if ya screw up...
Core is then reset to 925/1375, then you have to manually overclock to 1050/1575
and i now get a hasrate of round 740 kh/s

The Bios that I used Is one which is Modified by "TheStilt" and it will 100% work on the cards that have the part number "FX-797A-TN FX-797A-TNBC v1.0"
on the back sticker..
heres a link to that Bios http://s000.tinyupload.com/index.php?file_id=73769960143386079737

It may also work for other similar cards but I dont know, but as long as you have a bios switch there shouldnt be any problem in trying, at your own risk.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/27596325/test3.png
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
February 28, 2014, 08:11:37 PM
 #96

I have this card PowerColor AX7970 3GBD5-M2DHG. Could some one please tell me the correct BIOS to flash to get in the 650 to 700khash area. I currently get 585khash/s on all 10 cards with 1090/1500/1.111v
Cgminer -g 2 -I 13 --thread-concurrency 8192. If someone can tell me the correct BIOS I am willing to offer a bounty in BTC or DOGE. Thanks.

Back off your OC. What do you get at 1025/1500/1.111v?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491



View Profile
March 01, 2014, 03:00:56 AM
 #97

I have gone from 900 to 1100 on my gpu clock. It just slowly increases each time i move it up. No sweet spot no big jump at any spot. Really weird if you ask me.

 I am now at 1100/1575/1.102v and getting 596khash/s

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
iCrazyNoob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
March 01, 2014, 10:11:35 AM
 #98

I have gone from 900 to 1100 on my gpu clock. It just slowly increases each time i move it up. No sweet spot no big jump at any spot. Really weird if you ask me.

 I am now at 1100/1575/1.102v and getting 596khash/s

Update for ya, I found a ASUS 7970 bios modded by The Stilt that can boost my card up to around 711KHs. I'm still testing the stability will keep u informed very soon, still finding the highest hash rate so far.
Also I changed my minier to sgminer 4.1.0 as that's the newest miner available, Driver still 13.1. script:
Code:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
"sgminer.exe" -u icrazynoob.1 -p x -o stratum+tcp://global.wemineltc.com:3335 -w 256 -I 13 -g 2 --thread-concurrency 8192 --temp-cutoff 85

EDIT: also when your increasing your core clock and hash rate goes up that's a good sign, keep going up til u hit the point where it DROPS. and that last clock where it didn't drop is the sweet spot.

EDIT2: After a few hours of tuning I have gotten my card to run at 750KHs @ 1070/1500/-20% Power tune/80% Fan @ 73C. Gotta say I'm pretty satisfied. The card seems to be able to handle even higher speed but I'm playing it safe as 1070 is already fairly high clock.

For this BIOS MEM CLK stays @ 1500 as specified by The Stilt due to the BIOS contains modified CL timing. Just raise your clock from 1000 with 10 increment til it either drops or if temp is reaching GPU ~80C /VRM ~90C. My still goes up even after 1070 But like I said, I want choose this place to stop at around 750KHs for safety.

BIOS:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/cgaaubvsnw9uh0w/7970MOD.bin

HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool:
http://download.cnet.com/HP-USB-Disk-Storage-Format-Tool/3000-2094_4-10974082.html
WIN98 Boot:
http://www.bay-wolf.com/utility/usbkey/win98boot.zip
ATIFLASH 4.17:
http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2306/atiflash-4-17/

If you don't know how to flash heres the post where I learned it:
http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?p=4503953

PS: My card is Powercolor AX7970 3GBD5-M2DHV2, with SK Hynix H5GQ2H24MFR VRAM Chips. Have the reference AMD red/black Turbine cooler.
PSS: when you are putting the atiflash.exe in the usb its easier to name it shorter as DOS tend to shorten it as ATIFLA~1.exe which is a PITA to type.
PSSS: back up your current BIOS from GPU-Z and name it 7970Ori.rom so you can flash back in case of failure. Flash the BIOS 1 on the card. the switch is near the CF bridge.

Hope this helped you! I'm still waiting to sell my gaming machine for money so I can get a mobo that can run all 3 of my cards together haha. Right now only one card its sitting in this old HP machine with AMD 4600+, 4GB DDR2 533 RAM and an Antec 450W PSU Tongue and it still hashes 750KHs without a sweat xD
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491



View Profile
March 01, 2014, 03:20:32 PM
 #99

One thing. I was going to try this but I thought the bios should be a .rom file not a .bin?


Edit:  tried it. Flash worked. But only gained 4khash/s. wtf

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
March 01, 2014, 05:17:15 PM
 #100

One thing. I was going to try this but I thought the bios should be a .rom file not a .bin?
shouldnt matter.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!