Bitcoin Forum
May 27, 2019, 10:49:32 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Using Armory on the BCH chain  (Read 34453 times)
HCP
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 980
Merit: 1517

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
April 01, 2018, 11:10:55 PM
 #261

Do I have to remove the regular Bitcoin Core wallet first? When I try to install the ABC wallet it says data corrupted do you want to re synch? That means it's probably trying to use the BTC block chain?  
No, you don't need to remove Bitcoin Core. Bitcoin ABC (by design) attempts to usurp the data directories that Bitcoin Core uses... it was a crass attempt at "taking over" when BCH was first launched and seems to be getting worse.

When installing Bitcoin ABC, be VERY careful about where it attempts to install itself. By default, it will attempt to overwrite Bitcoin Core in the "Program Files\Bitcoin" directory... and also try to take over your Bitcoin data directory when you run it.

The latest version seems even MORE determined to do this... a fresh install of 0.16.2 does not even prompt you where your data directory should go, it just automatically tries to use the Bitcoin one defined in your registry, even if it is in a custom location!

I would recommend that you copy your Bitcoin Core "data" directory (the one with the wallet.dat and "blocks" folder) to a separate location, then delete all the blkxxxx.dat and revxxxx.dat files that are number 951 or HIGHER... and point Bitcoin ABC at this new data directory using the -datadir=path\to\new\folder commandline argument...

That should put it before the fork, and ready to sync up just the BCH portion of the chain.

1558954172
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558954172

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558954172
Reply with quote  #2

1558954172
Report to moderator
1558954172
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558954172

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558954172
Reply with quote  #2

1558954172
Report to moderator
1558954172
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558954172

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558954172
Reply with quote  #2

1558954172
Report to moderator
GET 25 FREE SPINS AT REGISTRATION
GET 100% BONUS ON FIRST DEPOSIT
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1558954172
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558954172

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558954172
Reply with quote  #2

1558954172
Report to moderator
1558954172
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558954172

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558954172
Reply with quote  #2

1558954172
Report to moderator
1558954172
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558954172

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558954172
Reply with quote  #2

1558954172
Report to moderator
justmyname
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 365
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 02, 2018, 07:26:28 AM
 #262

Do I have to remove the regular Bitcoin Core wallet first? When I try to install the ABC wallet it says data corrupted do you want to re synch? That means it's probably trying to use the BTC block chain?  
No, you don't need to remove Bitcoin Core. Bitcoin ABC (by design) attempts to usurp the data directories that Bitcoin Core uses... it was a crass attempt at "taking over" when BCH was first launched and seems to be getting worse.

When installing Bitcoin ABC, be VERY careful about where it attempts to install itself. By default, it will attempt to overwrite Bitcoin Core in the "Program Files\Bitcoin" directory... and also try to take over your Bitcoin data directory when you run it.

The latest version seems even MORE determined to do this... a fresh install of 0.16.2 does not even prompt you where your data directory should go, it just automatically tries to use the Bitcoin one defined in your registry, even if it is in a custom location!

I would recommend that you copy your Bitcoin Core "data" directory (the one with the wallet.dat and "blocks" folder) to a separate location, then delete all the blkxxxx.dat and revxxxx.dat files that are number 951 or HIGHER... and point Bitcoin ABC at this new data directory using the -datadir=path\to\new\folder commandline argument...

That should put it before the fork, and ready to sync up just the BCH portion of the chain.

I just want to keep things simple. I probably won't be using Bitcoin Core block chain in the future as I now am using a hardware wallet. All coins have been moved away from Armory and Bitcoin Core. So wouldn't it be simpler to just uninstall and delete all Bitcoin core and block chain. Then install a BCH ABC wallet and let it do whatever it wants? I don't really care how long it takes to re-download the block chain.    
alomar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 160
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 02, 2018, 08:38:57 PM
 #263

it was a crass attempt at "taking over" when BCH was first launched and seems to be getting worse.

can you elaborate?
alomar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 160
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 02, 2018, 08:46:27 PM
 #264

Do I have to remove the regular Bitcoin Core wallet first? When I try to install the ABC wallet it says data corrupted do you want to re synch? That means it's probably trying to use the BTC block chain?  
No, you don't need to remove Bitcoin Core. Bitcoin ABC (by design) attempts to usurp the data directories that Bitcoin Core uses... it was a crass attempt at "taking over" when BCH was first launched and seems to be getting worse.

When installing Bitcoin ABC, be VERY careful about where it attempts to install itself. By default, it will attempt to overwrite Bitcoin Core in the "Program Files\Bitcoin" directory... and also try to take over your Bitcoin data directory when you run it.

The latest version seems even MORE determined to do this... a fresh install of 0.16.2 does not even prompt you where your data directory should go, it just automatically tries to use the Bitcoin one defined in your registry, even if it is in a custom location!

I would recommend that you copy your Bitcoin Core "data" directory (the one with the wallet.dat and "blocks" folder) to a separate location, then delete all the blkxxxx.dat and revxxxx.dat files that are number 951 or HIGHER... and point Bitcoin ABC at this new data directory using the -datadir=path\to\new\folder commandline argument...

That should put it before the fork, and ready to sync up just the BCH portion of the chain.

I just want to keep things simple. I probably won't be using Bitcoin Core block chain in the future as I now am using a hardware wallet. All coins have been moved away from Armory and Bitcoin Core. So wouldn't it be simpler to just uninstall and delete all Bitcoin core and block chain. Then install a BCH ABC wallet and let it do whatever it wants? I don't really care how long it takes to re-download the block chain.    

yes, imo, this would be the much simpler way to do it.  if you try to work with a truncated chain terminating at the 8/1/17 fork date like the one HCP is recommending, this means that you have to go back and manually dig out every BTC tx you made when clearing/moving your BTC to Trezor and then construct separate BCH tx's using the same UTXO's in a like for like tx repeat if you will.  this is a pain and is the way i'm stuck doing it for now.  by my understanding, if you instead sync up an entirely new ABC chain on top of Armory, all your BCH will be on display in the GUI in an up to date fashion thus allowing you to harvest the entire BCH balance in a single tx.  at least, that's the way i understand it since i've never done it this way.  someone correct me if i'm wrong.
justmyname
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 365
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 03, 2018, 12:20:50 AM
 #265

Do I have to remove the regular Bitcoin Core wallet first? When I try to install the ABC wallet it says data corrupted do you want to re synch? That means it's probably trying to use the BTC block chain?  
No, you don't need to remove Bitcoin Core. Bitcoin ABC (by design) attempts to usurp the data directories that Bitcoin Core uses... it was a crass attempt at "taking over" when BCH was first launched and seems to be getting worse.

When installing Bitcoin ABC, be VERY careful about where it attempts to install itself. By default, it will attempt to overwrite Bitcoin Core in the "Program Files\Bitcoin" directory... and also try to take over your Bitcoin data directory when you run it.

The latest version seems even MORE determined to do this... a fresh install of 0.16.2 does not even prompt you where your data directory should go, it just automatically tries to use the Bitcoin one defined in your registry, even if it is in a custom location!

I would recommend that you copy your Bitcoin Core "data" directory (the one with the wallet.dat and "blocks" folder) to a separate location, then delete all the blkxxxx.dat and revxxxx.dat files that are number 951 or HIGHER... and point Bitcoin ABC at this new data directory using the -datadir=path\to\new\folder commandline argument...

That should put it before the fork, and ready to sync up just the BCH portion of the chain.

I just want to keep things simple. I probably won't be using Bitcoin Core block chain in the future as I now am using a hardware wallet. All coins have been moved away from Armory and Bitcoin Core. So wouldn't it be simpler to just uninstall and delete all Bitcoin core and block chain. Then install a BCH ABC wallet and let it do whatever it wants? I don't really care how long it takes to re-download the block chain.    

yes, imo, this would be the much simpler way to do it.  if you try to work with a truncated chain terminating at the 8/1/17 fork date like the one HCP is recommending, this means that you have to go back and manually dig out every BTC tx you made when clearing/moving your BTC to Trezor and then construct separate BCH tx's using the same UTXO's in a like for like tx repeat if you will.  this is a pain and is the way i'm stuck doing it for now.  by my understanding, if you instead sync up an entirely new ABC chain on top of Armory, all your BCH will be on display in the GUI in an up to date fashion thus allowing you to harvest the entire BCH balance in a single tx.  at least, that's the way i understand it since i've never done it this way.  someone correct me if i'm wrong.

Yes this seems like the way to do it. Anyone else? I want to know before wasting any time spinning my wheels. And would it also help to first remove Armory also? That way Armory would maybe lock on to the ABC program?
HCP
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 980
Merit: 1517

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
April 03, 2018, 07:53:27 AM
Merited by jojo69 (1)
 #266

it was a crass attempt at "taking over" when BCH was first launched and seems to be getting worse.
can you elaborate?
NOTE: "Windows" locations used for convenience

Instead of installing to a "unique" location and using a "unique" data directory location (for example C:\Program Files\BitcoinABC and C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\BitcoinABC) like all the other "QT" clones do... The BitcoinCash devs deliberately setup the installers for Bitcoin ABC to install to the same default location that Bitcoin Core uses. Specifically C:\Program Files\Bitcoin and C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin.

The upshot of this, was that any user that wasn't paying attention, and was just clicking "next-next-next" through the installer and during first run, would end up overwriting their Bitcoin Core install with Bitcoin ABC... furthermore, Bitcoin ABC would "take over" the data directory (ie. Blocks and Chainstate folders etc)... which would effectively "corrupt" the blocks folder making it no longer work with Bitcoin Core... as "invalid" blocks (as far as BTC is concerned) were being added into Blocks folder etc.

The Bitcoin Cash camp were trying to be "THE" Bitcoin... instead of accepting their fate as an "altcoin". I suspect this was also why they only added "replay protection" at the 11th hour when it was obvious they were not going to succeed usurping Bitcoin.


yes, imo, this would be the much simpler way to do it.  if you try to work with a truncated chain terminating at the 8/1/17 fork date like the one HCP is recommending, this means that you have to go back and manually dig out every BTC tx you made when clearing/moving your BTC to Trezor and then construct separate BCH tx's using the same UTXO's in a like for like tx repeat if you will.  this is a pain and is the way i'm stuck doing it for now.  by my understanding, if you instead sync up an entirely new ABC chain on top of Armory, all your BCH will be on display in the GUI in an up to date fashion thus allowing you to harvest the entire BCH balance in a single tx.  at least, that's the way i understand it since i've never done it this way.  someone correct me if i'm wrong.
If you work on a truncated chain and reindex with Bitcoin ABC and then let it finish syncing up to todays date... and then do a "Rebuild and Rescan Databases" in Armory... theoretically, that should really be the same as a complete resync/build using a "from scratch" Bitcoin ABC and Armory... But without needing Bitcoin ABC to sync up to 1st August 2017.

At the end of the day, either way should really work... and depending on your syncing speed, a truncated chain may only save a few hours or a day or two... If speed is not a concern, then a "clean" install is probably  less likely to cause you issues

justmyname
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 365
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 04, 2018, 04:45:39 AM
 #267

it was a crass attempt at "taking over" when BCH was first launched and seems to be getting worse.
can you elaborate?
NOTE: "Windows" locations used for convenience

Instead of installing to a "unique" location and using a "unique" data directory location (for example C:\Program Files\BitcoinABC and C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\BitcoinABC) like all the other "QT" clones do... The BitcoinCash devs deliberately setup the installers for Bitcoin ABC to install to the same default location that Bitcoin Core uses. Specifically C:\Program Files\Bitcoin and C:\Users\USERNAME\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin.

The upshot of this, was that any user that wasn't paying attention, and was just clicking "next-next-next" through the installer and during first run, would end up overwriting their Bitcoin Core install with Bitcoin ABC... furthermore, Bitcoin ABC would "take over" the data directory (ie. Blocks and Chainstate folders etc)... which would effectively "corrupt" the blocks folder making it no longer work with Bitcoin Core... as "invalid" blocks (as far as BTC is concerned) were being added into Blocks folder etc.

The Bitcoin Cash camp were trying to be "THE" Bitcoin... instead of accepting their fate as an "altcoin". I suspect this was also why they only added "replay protection" at the 11th hour when it was obvious they were not going to succeed usurping Bitcoin.


yes, imo, this would be the much simpler way to do it.  if you try to work with a truncated chain terminating at the 8/1/17 fork date like the one HCP is recommending, this means that you have to go back and manually dig out every BTC tx you made when clearing/moving your BTC to Trezor and then construct separate BCH tx's using the same UTXO's in a like for like tx repeat if you will.  this is a pain and is the way i'm stuck doing it for now.  by my understanding, if you instead sync up an entirely new ABC chain on top of Armory, all your BCH will be on display in the GUI in an up to date fashion thus allowing you to harvest the entire BCH balance in a single tx.  at least, that's the way i understand it since i've never done it this way.  someone correct me if i'm wrong.
If you work on a truncated chain and reindex with Bitcoin ABC and then let it finish syncing up to todays date... and then do a "Rebuild and Rescan Databases" in Armory... theoretically, that should really be the same as a complete resync/build using a "from scratch" Bitcoin ABC and Armory... But without needing Bitcoin ABC to sync up to 1st August 2017.

At the end of the day, either way should really work... and depending on your syncing speed, a truncated chain may only save a few hours or a day or two... If speed is not a concern, then a "clean" install is probably  less likely to cause you issues

I uninstalled Bitcoin Core and and then deleted Bitcoin hidden files. Installed (bitcoin-qt) Bitcoin ABC wallet. Now down loading the block chain. Should be done in 2 days. I guess I'll just turn on Armory when it's done downloading and hope it just works. If not I'll have to rebuild Armory?     
HCP
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 980
Merit: 1517

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
April 04, 2018, 07:50:57 AM
 #268

Yeah, you'll likely need to rebuild Armory... as the existing database it has built from Bitcoin blockchain will likely not line up with the Bitcoin Cash blockchain (ie. missing inputs/transactions etc) if you have transactions etc from AFTER the fork.

droark
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 501
Merit: 271


View Profile WWW
April 04, 2018, 05:40:18 PM
 #269

Yeah, you'll likely need to rebuild Armory... as the existing database it has built from Bitcoin blockchain will likely not line up with the Bitcoin Cash blockchain (ie. missing inputs/transactions etc) if you have transactions etc from AFTER the fork.

I'd still rebuild the Armory DB to be safe. I'm not intimately familiar with the DB code (yet) but I know the DB can go haywire if it thinks something is in a place where it actually isn't. I suppose the OP can try with what they have (assuming no post-fork Txes) but I wouldn't count on it working, and would rebuild to be safe.

(That said, I seem to recall a copy of the DB working when I dumped my Bcash coins at launch. Maybe I'm wrong!)
justmyname
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 365
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 06, 2018, 11:46:24 PM
Last edit: April 18, 2018, 04:19:54 AM by justmyname
 #270

Well. My BCH ABC wallet is synchronized.

 I guess I'll just uninstall Armory. Delete hidden Armory files. Reinstall Armory. Restore online quick wallet with paper back up. Then go to the offline computer with thumb drive and get data from the offline wallet to the online transmitting computer.

Would it hurt to turn on Armory to see if I can do without all this?

I wonder if I can do this with Bitcoin Gold?        
justmyname
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 365
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 06, 2018, 11:56:24 PM
 #271

I started up Armory without deleting just for kicks. It shows zero balances and node is offline. When it is fixed will it show a BCC balance?
justmyname
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 365
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 07, 2018, 01:12:15 AM
Last edit: April 07, 2018, 01:24:48 AM by justmyname
 #272

I have my Armory node online by unchecking the "let Armory run Bitcoin Core in the background" box. Then restarting Armory after starting Bitcoin ABC. Still no balance. So I have to do some type of computer whiz kid trick Or just uninstall and rebuild my Armory Wallets.

Would Rebuild and Rescan Data Bases do it? Or should I completely nuke it?  

Oh. It's Friday night. Everyone is out having a big night watching "I Love Lucy" reruns.     Crickets............................           
justmyname
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 365
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 07, 2018, 03:59:05 AM
 #273

I went to the Armory Help button/Rebuild and Rescan Data Base. Took a few hours and now I see the full balance of my wallets as they should be. So I guess I can now send the coins out of the wallet and be done with it.  Grin



As Jojo69 suggested I used bitcoin-abc-0.16.1-win64     Cheesy
HCP
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 980
Merit: 1517

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
April 07, 2018, 04:37:56 AM
 #274

Good to see you managed to get it sorted...

Logically, rebuilding and rescanning was always likely to be the best option. Especially if you had made BTC transactions after the fork... That would confuse the hell out of Armory as it tried to use a database built on a different chain with transactions that don't exist on the current chain in use! Tongue

Just a shame the price of everything has dumped so much... Undecided

Also, for future reference... Try the "edit" button instead of multi posting Wink

justmyname
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 365
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 07, 2018, 06:50:33 AM
Last edit: April 13, 2018, 03:02:45 AM by justmyname
 #275

Good to see you managed to get it sorted...

Logically, rebuilding and rescanning was always likely to be the best option. Especially if you had made BTC transactions after the fork... That would confuse the hell out of Armory as it tried to use a database built on a different chain with transactions that don't exist on the current chain in use! Tongue

Just a shame the price of everything has dumped so much... Undecided

Also, for future reference... Try the "edit" button instead of multi posting Wink

I've moved all the free BCH in both wallets today. I think this is the easiest way. Especially if you don't understand computer code.

And one more thing when doing an offline transaction. Don't forget to change your offline signing wallet to expert. If you don't the window to choose BCH won't come up.

The prices are low now. But when the next big one comes expect 18 times the value of the last little blip of $18,000 per BTC. I'll be glad I waited.    
Peg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 07, 2018, 07:25:32 AM
 #276

May you sum up the procedure?



Good to see you managed to get it sorted...

Logically, rebuilding and rescanning was always likely to be the best option. Especially if you had made BTC transactions after the fork... That would confuse the hell out of Armory as it tried to use a database built on a different chain with transactions that don't exist on the current chain in use! Tongue

Just a shame the price of everything has dumped so much... Undecided

Also, for future reference... Try the "edit" button instead of multi posting Wink

I've moved all the free BCC in both wallets today. I think this is the easiest way. Especially if you don't understand computer code.

And one more thing when doing an offline transaction. Don't forget to change your offline signing wallet to expert. If you don't the window to choose BCC won't come up.

The prices are low now. But when the next big one comes expect 18 times the value of the last little blip of $18,000 per BTC. I'll be glad I waited.   
justmyname
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 365
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 07, 2018, 06:05:31 PM
Last edit: April 14, 2018, 03:33:29 PM by justmyname
 #277

Quote
May you sum up the procedure?

(1) First move all BTC coins off of your Armory wallets and Bitcoin Core wallet to a safe place. I'm using a hardware wallet that will hold both BTC, BCH and other altcoins.

(2) Uninstall  Bitcoin Core.

(3) Configure your computer to show hidden files (google methods for your particular computer). Delete all hidden Bitcoin Core hidden files and blockchain. Google or use youtube to find files if you don't know. Your looking for a folder labeled Bitcoin. Delete it.

Or. If you intend to use the Bitcoin Core wallet later. Why not cut and paste the hidden Bitcoin File to a large enough Thumb drive? Then you could put it back later and won't have to download the blockchain later. I just deleted mine. 

(4) Download bitcoin-abc-0.16.1 (Bitcoin-qt) for windows https://download.bitcoinabc.org/0.16.1/win/

(5) Install and synchronize new ABC (bitcoin-qt). Could take several days. Not easy to find the wallet install in the downloaded folders. If you use a zip file you will have to extract the files. "Hint" Open the files with the most data in them.

(6) Open Armory and in "User" tab and set to "expert" in both online and offline computers.

(7)  Also in Armory (online computer) go to File/Settings and uncheck the box at the top of the page that says. "Let Armory run Bitcoin Core/bitcoind in the background".

(Cool Shut down Armory and bitcoin-abc. Restart computer for the hell of it.

(9) Open up the new ABC wallet you previously synchronized. Wait until it is synchronized. Leave it on.

(10) Then open up Armory and let it synchronize.

(11)  Go to Help tab in Armory and select "Rebuild and Rescan Data Bases"

(12) You should be able to see the BCH balance in a few hours. To move the BCH you just follow the directions at   "the first post of this thread".    
Peg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 08, 2018, 03:46:45 AM
 #278

Thank you very much for your reply!!



Quote
May you sum up the procedure?

(1) First move all BTC coins off of your Armory wallets and Bitcoin Core wallet to a safe place. I'm using a hardware wallet that will hold both BTC, BCH and other altcoins.

(2) Uninstall  Bitcoin Core.

(3) Configure your computer to show hidden files (google methods for your particular computer). Delete all hidden Bitcoin Core hidden files and blockchain. Google or use youtube to find files if you don't know. Your looking for a folder labeled Bitcoin. Delete it.

(4) Install bitcoin-abc-0.16.1 (Bitcoin-qt) for windows https://download.bitcoinabc.org/0.16.1/win/

(5) Install and synchronize new ABC (bitcoin-qt). Could take several days. Not easy to find the wallet in the downloaded folders. If you use a zip file you will have to extract the files. "Hint" Open the files with the most data in them.

(6) Open Armory and in "User" tab and set to "expert" in both online and offline wallets.

(7)  Also in Armory go to File/Settings and uncheck the box at the top of the page that says. "Let Armory run Bitcoin Core/bitcoind in the background".

(Cool Shut down Armory and Bitcoin core. Restart computer for the hell of it.  Should Shut down bitcoin-abc?

(9) Open up the new ABC wallet you previously synchronized. Wait until it is synchronized. Leave it on.

(10) Then open up Armory and let it synchronize.

(11)  Go to Help tab in Armory and select "Rebuild and Rescan Data Bases"

(12) You should be able to see the BCH balance in a few hours. To move the BCH you just follow the directions at   "the first post of this thread".    
justmyname
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 365
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 08, 2018, 07:19:20 AM
 #279

Quote
Should Shut down bitcoin-abc?

Yes. Bitcoin-abc. I fixed the error.
alomar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 160
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 12, 2018, 04:46:07 AM
 #280

Quote
May you sum up the procedure?

(1) First move all BTC coins off of your Armory wallets and Bitcoin Core wallet to a safe place. I'm using a hardware wallet that will hold both BTC, BCH and other altcoins.

(2) Uninstall  Bitcoin Core.

(3) Configure your computer to show hidden files (google methods for your particular computer). Delete all hidden Bitcoin Core hidden files and blockchain. Google or use youtube to find files if you don't know. Your looking for a folder labeled Bitcoin. Delete it.

(4) Download bitcoin-abc-0.16.1 (Bitcoin-qt) for windows https://download.bitcoinabc.org/0.16.1/win/

(5) Install and synchronize new ABC (bitcoin-qt). Could take several days. Not easy to find the wallet install in the downloaded folders. If you use a zip file you will have to extract the files. "Hint" Open the files with the most data in them.

(6) Open Armory and in "User" tab and set to "expert" in both online and offline computers.

(7)  Also in Armory (online computer) go to File/Settings and uncheck the box at the top of the page that says. "Let Armory run Bitcoin Core/bitcoind in the background".

(Cool Shut down Armory and bitcoin-abc. Restart computer for the hell of it.

(9) Open up the new ABC wallet you previously synchronized. Wait until it is synchronized. Leave it on.

(10) Then open up Armory and let it synchronize.

(11)  Go to Help tab in Armory and select "Rebuild and Rescan Data Bases"

(12) You should be able to see the BCH balance in a few hours. To move the BCH you just follow the directions at   "the first post of this thread".    

tried your method but it fails inside an Ubuntu VM.  Armory shows "Node Offline" but with the correct number of initial blocks as it must be seeing the previously running bitcoind.  i've unchecked the Setttings box that allows Armory to control bitcoind.  the background Armory Terminal  window shows "BDM is ready!" but no further blocks get appended to this window altho bitcoind is keeping up and appears to be running properly.  any help would be appreciated.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!