Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 06:26:14 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] FutureBit Moonlander 2: The Most Powerful and Efficient USB Stick Miner!  (Read 57800 times)
sabujo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
October 29, 2017, 09:05:06 PM
 #401

Thank you for your answer. Wouldn't 1.2A be enough for the expected hashrate? I read it needed 750mA for a 3.4MH/s performance.
I then found some USB3.0 Hubs with 1.2A so I wonder if that fits the job.

Yes, if you want the stock performance, 1.2A works fine. One of the great things about USB sticks with adjustable clock speeds is that you can squeeze out even more performance - according to jstefanop, up to 5mh/s. That's why you'd get a high powered hub.

Oh, I wasn't aware it could go that far. Thank you for the clarification.

I wonder if it would be easy (and safe) to convert a 4-port Hub with a 5A power supply to 10A. I've seen the tutorials on converting powerless Hubs but they lack some specification on how far the amperage can go on those devices. I need to research more.
1513362374
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513362374

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513362374
Reply with quote  #2

1513362374
Report to moderator
1513362374
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513362374

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513362374
Reply with quote  #2

1513362374
Report to moderator
Bitcoin mining is now a specialized and very risky industry, just like gold mining. Amateur miners are unlikely to make much money, and may even lose money. Bitcoin is much more than just mining, though!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
renerex1001
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 06:19:56 AM
 #402

you try this https://www.aliexpress.com/item/10-Port-USB-HUB-Charger-Sipolar-A-400-Standard-20V-6A-Power-adapter/32513481750.html
Mr_Snipes
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
October 30, 2017, 12:04:41 PM
 #403


looks good, but im not sure if their values are all accurate. The thing has 12V@10 AMPS which is 120Watt-from the wall.
They claim that you can bring up to 12W per port -> you are then @ 120 Watt. This cannot be right, because the PSU would need 100% efficiency for that.

Im still looking for a highly-efficient model for the few i ordered.
sabujo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 12:08:45 PM
 #404


looks good, but im not sure if their values are all accurate. The thing has 12V@10 AMPS which is 120Watt-from the wall.
They claim that you can bring up to 12W per port -> you are then @ 120 Watt. This cannot be right, because the PSU would need 100% efficiency for that.

Im still looking for a highly-efficient model for the few i ordered.

Yes, the description seems a bit off. They say each port can supply 2.1 Amps but if every port is sucking that amperage, whouldn't we need a 20amp power supply for 10 ports?
sabujo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 12:24:41 PM
 #405

Would this be enough for 4 units (with "riser" cables or adapters for the moonlanders to fit, of course)

http://www.silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=491&area=en

I also thought on getting this one:

http://www.silverstonetek.com/product.php?pid=405&area=en

And plugging a 5V 10A transformer to it - since it is USB 3.0, anyone knows if it would handle the amperage correctly to each port?
sabujo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 01:15:15 PM
 #406


Sorry, this one is limited to one 2A port Tongue
31biggestholderofsigt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 09:05:40 PM
 #407

any shipping/ production updates.  Probably get asked 10000000000000 times a day Undecided but i want them preferably before 17th November.
jstefanop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 856


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 10:04:13 PM
 #408

any shipping/ production updates.  Probably get asked 10000000000000 times a day Undecided but i want them preferably before 17th November.

Same deal...im ramping up production this week and focusing on that. Bulk shipments to distributors should start going out next week. As long as your not at the end of the pre-order lists you should get it before the 17th.

www.AriseChickun.com 0% fee segwit signaling Litecoin Pool!
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
Lafu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


www.cryptopia.co.nz


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2017, 10:11:37 PM
 #409

any shipping/ production updates.  Probably get asked 10000000000000 times a day Undecided but i want them preferably before 17th November.

Same deal...im ramping up production this week and focusing on that. Bulk shipments to distributors should start going out next week. As long as your not at the end of the pre-order lists you should get it before the 17th.


I cant wait for !!!  Its all ready for plug in  the Hub  Smiley    !

Regards Lafu


            
                          
                    
                       ▄███████▄ 
                      ███████████   
                     █████████████   
          ▄████████▄  ███████████   
         ████████████  ▀███████▀  
        ██████████████ 
         ████████████  ▄████████▄  
          ▀████████▀  ████████████
                     ██████████████ 
                      ████████████
                       ▀████████▀
     

..Cryptopia..██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
.★★★ Cryptocurrency Platform Services ★★★ 
...Exchange | Mineshaft |  Marketplace | Rewards | CoinInfo 
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
.f. ▄████████████████████████████████████▄
████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████
█████████▀████████████▀▀▀▀▀██▀██████████
█████████  ▀████████          ▀█████████
██████████    ▀▀████          ██████████
█████████▀▀                  ███████████
██████████                  ▄███████████
███████████▀               ▄████████████
████████████▄▄▄           ▄█████████████
█████████▀▀▀▀         ▄▄████████████████
███████████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████
 ▀████████████████████████████████████▀
       ███  ██
       ███  ██
  ██████████████
  ████████████████▄
  ▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀███████
     █████     ██████
     █████▄▄▄▄█████▀
     ████████████████
     █████▀▀▀▀▀▀█████▄
     █████      ██████
     █████▄▄▄▄▄▄█████
  ███████████████████
  ██████████████
       ███  ██
       ███  ██
wwonka36
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 11:35:33 PM
 #410

Ok guys how useful is this hub for mining with these? Opinions please. http://www.smartdelux.com/index.php/products/13-port-aluminum-usb-hub
Thanks,
WW
wavelengthsf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 11:40:44 PM
 #411

Ok guys how useful is this hub for mining with these? Opinions please. http://www.smartdelux.com/index.php/products/13-port-aluminum-usb-hub
Thanks,
WW

It doesn't really give enough details to know. The "smart ports" seem promising if they can really deliver 2.1amps each, but the rest of it seems like a standard USB hub.
renerex1001
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
October 31, 2017, 02:36:16 AM
 #412


looks good, but im not sure if their values are all accurate. The thing has 12V@10 AMPS which is 120Watt-from the wall.
They claim that you can bring up to 12W per port -> you are then @ 120 Watt. This cannot be right, because the PSU would need 100% efficiency for that.

Im still looking for a highly-efficient model for the few i ordered.


sir this is accurate for me.

---MATH---
12V x 10A = 120watts
so we have 10 ports @ 5V each
120watts/10 ports = 12watts each port
so 12watts/5V = 2.4amps per port
they put 2.1amp per port to be safe +/- 20%

 Smiley
sabujo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
October 31, 2017, 04:34:32 PM
 #413


looks good, but im not sure if their values are all accurate. The thing has 12V@10 AMPS which is 120Watt-from the wall.
They claim that you can bring up to 12W per port -> you are then @ 120 Watt. This cannot be right, because the PSU would need 100% efficiency for that.

Im still looking for a highly-efficient model for the few i ordered.


sir this is accurate for me.

---MATH---
12V x 10A = 120watts
so we have 10 ports @ 5V each
120watts/10 ports = 12watts each port
so 12watts/5V = 2.4amps per port
they put 2.1amp per port to be safe +/- 20%

 Smiley

Nice! If anyone know of any shop that sells this in Europe, please advise. China takes too long and customs are tough on taxes of electronic equipment.
Mr_Snipes
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile WWW
October 31, 2017, 10:09:12 PM
 #414

Quote


sir this is accurate for me.

---MATH---
12V x 10A = 120watts
so we have 10 ports @ 5V each
120watts/10 ports = 12watts each port
so 12watts/5V = 2.4amps per port
they put 2.1amp per port to be safe +/- 20%

 Smiley

from that calculation you are right, what i meant is that the psu itself draws some power. 
It converts from 220 V or 110V to the 5V.
Usually the PSU will draw ~ 20% of the input power to generate the desired output.
Since the 120 is from the wall, i thought the power at the port cannot be 12 Watt.
With 80% eff we have 9,6 Watt per port. Maybe i am missing something.

@jstefanop  Was 1.9 A enough when you tested it the last time ?
jstefanop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 856


View Profile
October 31, 2017, 10:48:29 PM
 #415



@jstefanop  Was 1.9 A enough when you tested it the last time ?

500ma is enough to run it from a standard USB 1 port ;P It all comes down to how high you want it to hash and how stable you want it to be. If your running near the max Amps the hub can output, the voltage will not be as clean etc and will cause stability issues (i.e. the sticks will drop out and you'll need to periodically restart them)....though I am working on a driver update to take care of dead sticks (not sure if I can fit it in for the initial release I am getting ready for in the next day or two).

Here is a breakdown of hash rates/current draw for production units

500mA (standard USB 1/2 ports) ~ 2.5 MH/s
1A (standard USB 3 ports) ~ 4 MH/s
2A+ (powered hubs) ~5 MH/s +

Efficiency wise it does not make much sense to run these more than ~4.5 MH/s since after that current increase exponentially as you can see.

www.AriseChickun.com 0% fee segwit signaling Litecoin Pool!
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
aarons6
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


View Profile
November 01, 2017, 12:56:28 AM
 #416



@jstefanop  Was 1.9 A enough when you tested it the last time ?

500ma is enough to run it from a standard USB 1 port ;P It all comes down to how high you want it to hash and how stable you want it to be. If your running near the max Amps the hub can output, the voltage will not be as clean etc and will cause stability issues (i.e. the sticks will drop out and you'll need to periodically restart them)....though I am working on a driver update to take care of dead sticks (not sure if I can fit it in for the initial release I am getting ready for in the next day or two).

Here is a breakdown of hash rates/current draw for production units

500mA (standard USB 1/2 ports) ~ 2.5 MH/s
1A (standard USB 3 ports) ~ 4 MH/s
2A+ (powered hubs) ~5 MH/s +

Efficiency wise it does not make much sense to run these more than ~4.5 MH/s since after that current increase exponentially as you can see.

can you put that update in the v1 drivers?? also have you made it so you can use v1 and v2 sticks on the same hub?
renerex1001
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
November 01, 2017, 08:31:43 AM
 #417

Quote


sir this is accurate for me.

---MATH---
12V x 10A = 120watts
so we have 10 ports @ 5V each
120watts/10 ports = 12watts each port
so 12watts/5V = 2.4amps per port
they put 2.1amp per port to be safe +/- 20%

 Smiley

from that calculation you are right, what i meant is that the psu itself draws some power. 
It converts from 220 V or 110V to the 5V.
Usually the PSU will draw ~ 20% of the input power to generate the desired output.
Since the 120 is from the wall, i thought the power at the port cannot be 12 Watt.
With 80% eff we have 9,6 Watt per port. Maybe i am missing something.

@jstefanop  Was 1.9 A enough when you tested it the last time ?

sir this is only my opinion
The PSU is 220v to 110V step down to 12V so you will get a plain 120watts DC "12V 10A" hope that the power supply is true Smiley
if it is true rated 120watts DC PSU then you will have the full 5V 2.1Amp per port

sir jstefanop  as i remember at your last post the stick "uses about 1.5w/mh for most of that range"
so to to attain 5mh you only need 1.5amp???

Paul.iBox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
November 01, 2017, 08:21:43 PM
 #418

Hello, is it still possible to pre-order? I'm interested to buy 3 pcs Smiley
jstefanop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 856


View Profile
November 01, 2017, 09:54:41 PM
 #419



sir jstefanop  as i remember at your last post the stick "uses about 1.5w/mh for most of that range"
so to to attain 5mh you only need 1.5amp???



No, 5MH/s is at the extreme end of what the chip can do, and that will require 2+ Amps

www.AriseChickun.com 0% fee segwit signaling Litecoin Pool!
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
renerex1001
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
November 02, 2017, 01:38:48 AM
 #420



sir jstefanop  as i remember at your last post the stick "uses about 1.5w/mh for most of that range"
so to to attain 5mh you only need 1.5amp???



No, 5MH/s is at the extreme end of what the chip can do, and that will require 2+ Amps

thanks for the clarification sir Smiley
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!