Bitcoin Forum
June 21, 2018, 05:18:23 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Datacoin - Censorship-Free Data Storage  (Read 33511 times)
extro24
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 478
Merit: 252


View Profile
October 04, 2017, 07:54:41 PM
 #61

Hi,

I have just had a look at one of the nodes that I run and noticed that the money supply over the last week increased from about 2750000 to nearly 400000 and the blocks are solved at a rate of 15 per second - who could be mining at this rate and with what?

Also, is there anyone that can help me to get a datacoin.conf file properly setup to get rpc commands working on Ubuntu

Tnx,

H


I see

"moneysupply" : 27531657.33783475 at 09:42 PM.  Seems OK.

datacoin.conf example:

rpcuser=****username***
rpcpassword=****password***
gen=1
addnode 45.63.115.238:4777
addnode 144.76.64.49:4777
addnode 89.76.250.116:4777
addnode 95.188.90.31:4777
addnode 119.9.108.125:4777


1529601503
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529601503

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529601503
Reply with quote  #2

1529601503
Report to moderator
1529601503
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529601503

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529601503
Reply with quote  #2

1529601503
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529601503
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529601503

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529601503
Reply with quote  #2

1529601503
Report to moderator
1529601503
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529601503

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529601503
Reply with quote  #2

1529601503
Report to moderator
Chicago
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 498
Merit: 257


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 01:03:38 AM
 #62

Hi Hamburger,

I have just had a look at one of the nodes that I run and noticed that the money supply over the last week increased from about 2750000 to nearly 400000 and the blocks are solved at a rate of 15 per second - who could be mining at this rate and with what?

    Over here, the last three blocks looked like the following.

Code:
grep  SetBestChain /var/lib/datacoin/debug.log | tail -n 3
2017-10-05 00:54:30 SetBestChain: new best=6b8ca6e413ad535f4adfbf654cd602b4c03b07f0239ccc0cb1d137babcbd1368  height=2067186  difficulty=8.8249899 log2Work=20.316233  log2ChainWork=44.260878  tx=2359386  date=2017-10-05 00:51:08 progress=0.999941
2017-10-05 00:54:38 SetBestChain: new best=0b192dcb3b26a14ceaea1d0c6d930f53accebd397acc473bb4ab1a77ea183567  height=2067187  difficulty=8.8250101 log2Work=20.316373  log2ChainWork=44.260879  tx=2359387  date=2017-10-05 00:54:32 progress=0.999998
2017-10-05 00:56:47 SetBestChain: new best=6bb5c0d04d8ed7f45a8f432b77ed77512a6b05eb2a8087774735952b0a02495b  height=2067188  difficulty=8.8249269 log2Work=20.315794  log2ChainWork=44.260879  tx=2359388  date=2017-10-05 00:54:37 progress=0.999962

    What is the height of your copy of the blockchain and what hash do you have for block 2067188?

Code:
datacoind getblockhash 2067188
6bb5c0d04d8ed7f45a8f432b77ed77512a6b05eb2a8087774735952b0a02495b

Also, is there anyone that can help me to get a datacoin.conf file properly setup to get rpc commands working on Ubuntu

    Inside of your ~/.datacoin/datacoin.conf make certain you have a rpcuser= and rpcpassword= declaration in order to be able to make RPC.
    Using datacoind a simple 'datacoind getinfo' should just work after you've started datacoind with the rpcuser and rpcpassword specified.

Best Regards,
-Chicago
Chicago
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 498
Merit: 257


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 02:08:55 AM
 #63

Hello,

    I surveyed the network just now and wanted to post a list of full nodes which can be used to optimize peer connectivity.

/Satoshi:0.8.3/
  • 80.74.157.31
  • [2a01:4f8:191:7330::2]
  • [2a01:4f8:201:528c::2]
  • 148.251.2.141
  • 144.76.64.49
  • 95.188.90.31
  • 139.59.84.79
  • 169.1.159.87
  • [2a01:4f8:191:7330::2]
  • 154.66.207.206
  • 76.16.12.81

/Satoshi:0.8.5/
  • 104.236.250.232
  • 89.76.250.116

/Satoshi:0.8.6/Datacoin:0.1.2(v0.1.2.0dtc-hp14-gunk-beta)/
  • 91.214.79.144

/Datacoin:0.8.6/Datacoin:0.1.2(v0.8.6.0)/
  • 169.1.159.87
  • 119.9.108.125
  • [2401:1800:7800:104:be76:4eff:fe1c:5d6]

Best Regards,
-Chicago
Casimir1904
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 209
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 02:18:50 AM
 #64

I'm currently syncing Datacoin for BTCpop.
As soon its synced it will be added to the exchange.
At the moment the exchange has not much volume yet and there is no API but we're working on a new Exchange + API.
On BTCpop we do also pooled staking for many PoS coins.
dtc2017
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81
Merit: 16


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 12:48:48 PM
 #65


Datacoin current status 

https://imgur.com/a/dTKIw

 
extro24
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 478
Merit: 252


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 01:37:09 PM
 #66

I'm currently syncing Datacoin for BTCpop.
As soon its synced it will be added to the exchange.
At the moment the exchange has not much volume yet and there is no API but we're working on a new Exchange + API.
On BTCpop we do also pooled staking for many PoS coins.

Thank you Casimir.  I am firing up the Twitter.  BTCPOP (https://btcpop.co) is a lovely exchange.
-extro

extro24
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 478
Merit: 252


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 01:55:13 PM
 #67


Datacoin current status 

https://imgur.com/a/dTKIw

 

Lol.

hamburger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177
Merit: 103



View Profile
October 05, 2017, 04:00:32 PM
 #68

Hi Hamburger,

I have just had a look at one of the nodes that I run and noticed that the money supply over the last week increased from about 2750000 to nearly 400000 and the blocks are solved at a rate of 15 per second - who could be mining at this rate and with what?

    Over here, the last three blocks looked like the following.

Code:
grep  SetBestChain /var/lib/datacoin/debug.log | tail -n 3
2017-10-05 00:54:30 SetBestChain: new best=6b8ca6e413ad535f4adfbf654cd602b4c03b07f0239ccc0cb1d137babcbd1368  height=2067186  difficulty=8.8249899 log2Work=20.316233  log2ChainWork=44.260878  tx=2359386  date=2017-10-05 00:51:08 progress=0.999941
2017-10-05 00:54:38 SetBestChain: new best=0b192dcb3b26a14ceaea1d0c6d930f53accebd397acc473bb4ab1a77ea183567  height=2067187  difficulty=8.8250101 log2Work=20.316373  log2ChainWork=44.260879  tx=2359387  date=2017-10-05 00:54:32 progress=0.999998
2017-10-05 00:56:47 SetBestChain: new best=6bb5c0d04d8ed7f45a8f432b77ed77512a6b05eb2a8087774735952b0a02495b  height=2067188  difficulty=8.8249269 log2Work=20.315794  log2ChainWork=44.260879  tx=2359388  date=2017-10-05 00:54:37 progress=0.999962

    What is the height of your copy of the blockchain and what hash do you have for block 2067188?

Code:
datacoind getblockhash 2067188
6bb5c0d04d8ed7f45a8f432b77ed77512a6b05eb2a8087774735952b0a02495b

Also, is there anyone that can help me to get a datacoin.conf file properly setup to get rpc commands working on Ubuntu

    Inside of your ~/.datacoin/datacoin.conf make certain you have a rpcuser= and rpcpassword= declaration in order to be able to make RPC.
    Using datacoind a simple 'datacoind getinfo' should just work after you've started datacoind with the rpcuser and rpcpassword specified.

Best Regards,
-Chicago

First problem solved
I do not know where I got the source code from for the datacoind that I have complied - it seems to use another block chain - anyway, there where ten connections, so it seems like I am not the only one that made that mistake.

Second problem

I should have been more specific in that I would like to use the rpc commands to access datacoind with PHP - have done it a long time ago with bitcoin and do not know if things have changed.

Tnx

H
Chicago
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 498
Merit: 257


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 04:03:16 PM
 #69

Hi Hamburger,

I should have been more specific in that I would like to use the rpc commands to access datacoind with PHP - have done it a long time ago with bitcoin and do not know if things have changed.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/PHP_developer_intro may be a good pointer in the right direction.

Let us know if it works for you.

Best Regards,
-Chicago
extro24
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 478
Merit: 252


View Profile
October 07, 2017, 07:16:13 AM
 #70

Porting Counterparty

In my quest to put digital assets on the Datacoin blockchain, I had a look at the Counterparty Protocol:  https://github.com/jsimnz/Counterparty

The code itself (https://github.com/CounterpartyXCP) appears to be just python, so it should be straightforward to port it to Datacoin.  As I see it, Counterparty uses 80bytes of data, while Datacoin has 128kB available.

I also looked at Book of Orbs, where digital assets are listed.  Very similar, I think, to what can happen to Datacoin.  My feeling is that Datacoin will end up as something between Bitcoin and Ethereum.  With Counterparty integration and Javascript programs in the DTC blockchain, we could end up with something that is more than Bitcoin, but less than the unwieldy ICO ecosytem of Ethereum.

Or perhaps the DTC Browser, Bytestamp and Apertus.io will incorporate aspects of the Counterparty Protocol.  The art world needs to prove ownership to stop the exploitation of artists:  https://bitcoinmagazine.com/articles/op-ed-how-blockchain-technology-could-save-struggling-artists-around-world/

For now we are consumed by worries about exchanges and clients, but this is something to be pursued in the future.

-extro

hamburger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 177
Merit: 103



View Profile
October 07, 2017, 10:15:40 AM
 #71

Hi Hamburger,

I should have been more specific in that I would like to use the rpc commands to access datacoind with PHP - have done it a long time ago with bitcoin and do not know if things have changed.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/PHP_developer_intro may be a good pointer in the right direction.

Let us know if it works for you.

Best Regards,
-Chicago

It seems to me that I found my problem, however, I'll test it later to be sure.

From the original post;

Quote
Official code repository
https://github.com/foo1inge/datacoin - Primecoin fork with data in tx and corresponding RPC (not useful just now because nobody has money for fee).
https://github.com/foo1inge/datacoin-hp - Primecoin-hp fork with data in tx (and no RPC ... I'll port this later). You should use this for mining because it is faster.

I'll have to find the source that gjhiggins made available.

Tnx,

H
extro24
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 478
Merit: 252


View Profile
October 07, 2017, 01:16:10 PM
 #72

Datacoin trading now LIVE on BTCPOP:

https://btcpop.co/Exchange/DTC

Liftoff.

esprit577
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 250



View Profile
October 07, 2017, 01:35:09 PM
 #73

Projects like cloud services, which store things in blockchains so that they can be called at any time, are promising, and I don't think anyone would want to miss the coin.

MarcusDe
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 782
Merit: 503



View Profile WWW
October 07, 2017, 05:03:27 PM
 #74

Hi Hamburger,

I should have been more specific in that I would like to use the rpc commands to access datacoind with PHP - have done it a long time ago with bitcoin and do not know if things have changed.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/PHP_developer_intro may be a good pointer in the right direction.

Let us know if it works for you.

Best Regards,
-Chicago

Heh, that link reminded me I had to add some info into pool start page :-)

Chicago
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 498
Merit: 257


View Profile
October 07, 2017, 10:09:55 PM
 #75

Datacoin trading now LIVE on BTCPOP:
https://btcpop.co/Exchange/DTC

Excellent work to everyone involved, it is nice we have a market now.
pedrog
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1005



View Profile
October 08, 2017, 06:00:17 PM
 #76

Is it still worth it to mine with CPU?

Mined a few blocks, now not getting anything for a few days.

biy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 08, 2017, 06:28:46 PM
 #77

Which cryptocurrencies do you accept?

sampei7777
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0

http://www.bytestamp.net


View Profile WWW
October 08, 2017, 06:39:06 PM
 #78

How to mining using CPU?

Open the console/debug window, type setgenerate true <n> into the box where <n> the number of threads/cores you wish to dedicate. The console window also knows help as a  command. setgenerate false stops all processes dedicated to “mining” (actually, prime number generation in Datacoin's case).

Cheers

Graham


Or you can set

Code:
gen=1
genproclimit=<nr of cores>

in your datacoin.conf files

Donations BTC: 1Kua7FySPXQhH2XaW6LryZkPPnuejC2jc3
sampei7777
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0

http://www.bytestamp.net


View Profile WWW
October 08, 2017, 06:41:04 PM
 #79

What is the algorithm of this coin?

Prime algorithm. 

More precisely, Cunningham chains.

Just like primecoin.

Datacoin is a primecoin fork.

Donations BTC: 1Kua7FySPXQhH2XaW6LryZkPPnuejC2jc3
sampei7777
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0

http://www.bytestamp.net


View Profile WWW
October 08, 2017, 06:43:11 PM
 #80

Rare Pepe

I am trying to wrap my head around the Rare Pepe cards meme and it seems to me the idea is also applicable to Datacoin.  We have a data field of 128kB and an asset can be associated with a particular transaction. That asset can then be sent to a new address with the Datacoin.  So we should be able to create Rare Pepe cards (size 128kB) on Datacoin?

I uploaded a Pepe image I got on the internet on Bytestamp here: txid: 2e73abc7d24f1a042abc2e7c7114a9b0b12ab4b2765e8ba3036a790ef9ee26af

Bytestamp now lists it as Und App.  I need the picture to be shown (it is a jpg).  Will it be visible in Bitfossil?  I understand that if I send those coins to a new address the image will also be transferred.
Will it be visible in Bitfossil
Any thoughts/questions/rebukes are most welcome.

-extro


Hi all.

I added support for digital assets on http://www.bytestamp.net.

Now you can make an asset from a timestamped file and transfer its ownership.

Topic: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2248452.0


PS: it will not be visible in Bitfossil, because we store in the Datacoin blockchain only the md5, not the file itself

Donations BTC: 1Kua7FySPXQhH2XaW6LryZkPPnuejC2jc3
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!