Bitcoin Forum
July 04, 2024, 08:30:41 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Warning: One or more bitcointalk.org users have reported that they strongly believe that the creator of this topic is a scammer. (Login to see the detailed trust ratings.) While the bitcointalk.org administration does not verify such claims, you should proceed with extreme caution.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Noirbits Update required Improved algos !!!!  (Read 74434 times)
barwizi (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 02, 2013, 12:59:36 PM
 #601

Is it possible to get Noirbits off of coinchoose to prevent these difficulty / hashrate swings? I don't think they're very good for the success of the currency. It seems like bitgem was taken off of coinchoose, not sure how that happened.

that is an option, but it's being listed on coinchoose has caused the price to rise, i think a update to the algo to put it in the more stable bracket is a better idea. your thoughts?
TheRickTM
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 02, 2013, 01:04:47 PM
 #602

Is it possible to get Noirbits off of coinchoose to prevent these difficulty / hashrate swings? I don't think they're very good for the success of the currency. It seems like bitgem was taken off of coinchoose, not sure how that happened.

that is an option, but it's being listed on coinchoose has caused the price to rise, i think a update to the algo to put it in the more stable bracket is a better idea. your thoughts?

I think it would be better to adjust the algo for the coin as people regardless of the site will come and go based on profitability. What is the way we want to approach the algo for recalculating?
JDDev
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 02, 2013, 01:11:02 PM
 #603

I think making adjustments is the right way to go, but in 12 hours or so there probably will be another massive swing that might be averted by getting it off coinchoose temporarily. I think the interest generated by the listing on coinchoose won't go away if it is delisted for a while.
barwizi (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 02, 2013, 01:16:14 PM
 #604

Is it possible to get Noirbits off of coinchoose to prevent these difficulty / hashrate swings? I don't think they're very good for the success of the currency. It seems like bitgem was taken off of coinchoose, not sure how that happened.

that is an option, but it's being listed on coinchoose has caused the price to rise, i think a update to the algo to put it in the more stable bracket is a better idea. your thoughts?

I think it would be better to adjust the algo for the coin as people regardless of the site will come and go based on profitability. What is the way we want to approach the algo for recalculating?

retarget times and percentages
current
Code:
static const int64 nTargetTimespan = 1 * 2 * 60 * 60; // Noirbits: 2 hour
static const int64 nTargetSpacing = 120; // Noirbits: 2 minute blocks
static const int64 nInterval = nTargetTimespan / nTargetSpacing;

and

Code:
static const int64 nReTargetHistoryFact = 4; // look at 4 times the retarget
                                             // interval into the block history

also
Code:
// Limit adjustment step
    int64 nActualTimespan = 0;
    if (pindexLast->nHeight > COINFIX1_BLOCK)
        // obtain average actual timespan
        nActualTimespan = (pindexLast->GetBlockTime() - pindexFirst->GetBlockTime())/nReTargetHistoryFact;
    else
        nActualTimespan = pindexLast->GetBlockTime() - pindexFirst->GetBlockTime();
    printf("  nActualTimespan = %"PRI64d"  before bounds\n", nActualTimespan);
    if (nActualTimespan < nTargetTimespan/4)
        nActualTimespan = nTargetTimespan/4;
    if (nActualTimespan > nTargetTimespan*4)
        nActualTimespan = nTargetTimespan*4;
stbgefltc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 02, 2013, 01:30:00 PM
 #605

Well I like oatmo's idea... aim for retargets every hour, with a max time until retarget... quite simple to implement :

Replace l. 878-879 in main.cpp

Code:
// Only change once per interval
if ((pindexLast->nHeight+1) % nInterval != 0)

With the following :

Code:
// Only change once per interval unless last retarget occurred more than nMaxTimeInterval seconds ago
unsigned int nMaxTimeInterval = 14400;
if ((pindexLast->nHeight+1) % nInterval != 0 && pindexLast->nTime + nMaxTimeInterval > time())

We would also need to adjust l. 836 of main.cpp, currently diff. retargets every two hours :

Code:
static const int64 nTargetTimespan = 1 * 2 * 60 * 60; // Noirbits: 2 hour
static const int64 nTargetSpacing = 120; // Noirbits: 2 minute blocks
static const int64 nInterval = nTargetTimespan / nTargetSpacing;

Would become

Code:
static const int64 nTargetTimespan = 3600; // Noirbits: 1 hour
static const int64 nTargetSpacing = 120; // Noirbits: 2 minute blocks
static const int64 nInterval = nTargetTimespan / nTargetSpacing;

Proposed changes here would give us retarget every hour, and a retarget on next block if no retarget happened for more than 4 hours. What do you think ?

TheRickTM
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 02, 2013, 01:34:40 PM
 #606

Well I like oatmo's idea... aim for retargets every hour, with a max time until retarget... quite simple to implement :

Replace l. 878-879 in main.cpp

Code:
// Only change once per interval
if ((pindexLast->nHeight+1) % nInterval != 0)

With the following :

Code:
// Only change once per interval unless last retarget occurred more than nMaxTimeInterval seconds ago
unsigned int nMaxTimeInterval = 14400;
if ((pindexLast->nHeight+1) % nInterval != 0 && pindexLast->nTime + nMaxTimeInterval > time())

We would also need to adjust l. 836 of main.cpp, currently diff. retargets every two hours :

Code:
static const int64 nTargetTimespan = 1 * 2 * 60 * 60; // Noirbits: 2 hour
static const int64 nTargetSpacing = 120; // Noirbits: 2 minute blocks
static const int64 nInterval = nTargetTimespan / nTargetSpacing;

Would become

Code:
static const int64 nTargetTimespan = 3600; // Noirbits: 1 hour
static const int64 nTargetSpacing = 120; // Noirbits: 2 minute blocks
static const int64 nInterval = nTargetTimespan / nTargetSpacing;

Proposed changes here would give us retarget every hour, and a retarget on next block if no retarget happened for more than 4 hours. What do you think ?

I have been thinking about this as well, but how will this change work across timezones as well as machines that have modified date times that could attach the retarget if the block is found?
stbgefltc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 02, 2013, 01:40:07 PM
Last edit: July 02, 2013, 01:51:05 PM by stbgefltc
 #607

Hum... good point, however, blocks do carry a timestamp. Just need to find out how it's generated, and use the same method...

Edit Looks like transaction times are generated using a call to GetAdjustedTime(). I'll check up on that later, but that could be the good call instead of time()

sal002
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500


View Profile WWW
July 02, 2013, 03:00:31 PM
 #608

Is it possible to get Noirbits off of coinchoose to prevent these difficulty / hashrate swings? I don't think they're very good for the success of the currency. It seems like bitgem was taken off of coinchoose, not sure how that happened.

that is an option, but it's being listed on coinchoose has caused the price to rise, i think a update to the algo to put it in the more stable bracket is a better idea. your thoughts?

BitGem was removed due to inability to calc the true reward for the next block (or the fact that no one could give me a good formula).  As an aside, variable block rewards give CoinChoose the most fits.
barwizi (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 02, 2013, 04:28:55 PM
 #609

LOOK at that PRICE RISE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   
bahamapascal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 695
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 02, 2013, 05:00:54 PM
 #610

LOOK at that PRICE RISE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   

Yes that is amazing, happy I had bought at 0.000084 Smiley
Can I ask what the NRB bank is doing? When do you think will it be released? Sometime soon or still weeks or month till release?
By the way, nice coin you made, like it Smiley
whitepaint0909
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 02, 2013, 07:20:28 PM
 #611

Is it normal for the confirmations to be taking hours currently?  I sent some Noir to Crypsy 2 hours and 30 min ago and so far it has 1 confirmation...?
barwizi (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 02, 2013, 07:31:21 PM
 #612

block rate is slow right now, we are working on a patch.
barwizi (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 02, 2013, 07:32:49 PM
 #613

I think a retarget tme of 20 minutes is most ideal, with only a 80% change allowable
stbgefltc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 02, 2013, 07:50:07 PM
 #614

Speaking of that, I'm about to push the changes to Testing... Smiley

barwizi (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 02, 2013, 08:02:20 PM
 #615

how many blocks to retarget?
stbgefltc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 02, 2013, 08:05:42 PM
 #616

Well I have not changed blocks till retarget, only the 4 hour max retarget time... it's there on Testing, you can review the changes (can't do that either). I wanted to create a new branch, but I can't, don't have permissions.

TheRickTM
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 02, 2013, 08:09:03 PM
 #617

Well I have not changed blocks till retarget, only the 4 hour max retarget time... it's there on Testing, you can review the changes (can't do that either). I wanted to create a new branch, but I can't, don't have permissions.

Just fork it in github and make it public. That is typically how branches work for github until you are added to the dev team.
barwizi (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 02, 2013, 08:09:36 PM
 #618

fork then i'll merge
barwizi (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 02, 2013, 08:13:30 PM
 #619

whats your git name, i can add you to collaborators
stbgefltc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
July 02, 2013, 08:19:00 PM
 #620

Well I have not changed blocks till retarget, only the 4 hour max retarget time... it's there on Testing, you can review the changes (can't do that either). I wanted to create a new branch, but I can't, don't have permissions.

Just fork it in github and make it public. That is typically how branches work for github until you are added to the dev team.

Yeah I'm an SVN guy... Fork done you should see it from your repo...

Edit. ftcminer67

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 [31] 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!