Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 07:35:21 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Abe 0.7: Open Source Block Explorer Knockoff  (Read 175836 times)
John Tobey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481



View Profile WWW
February 25, 2014, 04:03:11 PM
 #621

I'm trying to set up an abe instance for a coin that is primarily proof-of-stake.  I see there were mods for NVC and Cash, do I need to add something similar? Any special config required for proof-of stake?

I would like to make these chain properties configurable.  In the meantime, you can do as I did for NVC and Cash.

In the read-me i noticed that the web interface doesn't understand proof of stake transactions.  Since this coin is going to be nearly all proof of stake will abe even work? 

I've removed that bit from README.  The block page now does say something about proof-of-stake, example: http://115.29.51.156:7703/chain/CashCoin/b/52705.  Thanks.

Can a change to the best-chain criteria protect against 51% to 90+% attacks without a hard fork?
1481312121
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481312121

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481312121
Reply with quote  #2

1481312121
Report to moderator
1481312121
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481312121

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481312121
Reply with quote  #2

1481312121
Report to moderator
1481312121
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481312121

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481312121
Reply with quote  #2

1481312121
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481312121
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481312121

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481312121
Reply with quote  #2

1481312121
Report to moderator
artiface
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
February 25, 2014, 04:27:14 PM
 #622

I'm trying to set up an abe instance for a coin that is primarily proof-of-stake.  I see there were mods for NVC and Cash, do I need to add something similar? Any special config required for proof-of stake?

I would like to make these chain properties configurable.  In the meantime, you can do as I did for NVC and Cash.

In the read-me i noticed that the web interface doesn't understand proof of stake transactions.  Since this coin is going to be nearly all proof of stake will abe even work? 

I've removed that bit from README.  The block page now does say something about proof-of-stake, example: http://115.29.51.156:7703/chain/CashCoin/b/52705.  Thanks.


Ok great, Thanks for the reply. 
lunalauncher
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
February 26, 2014, 01:01:17 AM
 #623

Is it alright to delete the earlier transactions from the earlier blocks? I'm at block 24000+ and the MySQL table is taking up 60GB already. I would still like to keep the newer X tx though.
John Tobey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481



View Profile WWW
February 26, 2014, 02:37:01 AM
 #624

Is it alright to delete the earlier transactions from the earlier blocks? I'm at block 24000+ and the MySQL table is taking up 60GB already. I would still like to keep the newer X tx though.

Please see: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=22785.msg3114556#msg3114556

Can a change to the best-chain criteria protect against 51% to 90+% attacks without a hard fork?
lunalauncher
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
February 26, 2014, 03:03:36 AM
 #625

Is it alright to delete the earlier transactions from the earlier blocks? I'm at block 24000+ and the MySQL table is taking up 60GB already. I would still like to keep the newer X tx though.

Please see: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=22785.msg3114556#msg3114556


Thank you. Will the newer commits to master be merged into no-statistics? Are there any important changes since 6 months ago?
John Tobey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481



View Profile WWW
February 26, 2014, 04:42:43 AM
 #626

Is it alright to delete the earlier transactions from the earlier blocks? I'm at block 24000+ and the MySQL table is taking up 60GB already. I would still like to keep the newer X tx though.

Please see: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=22785.msg3114556#msg3114556


Thank you. Will the newer commits to master be merged into no-statistics? Are there any important changes since 6 months ago?

I merge changes from time to time or when people hire me to.  As far as I know, no-statistics can handle BTC "mainnet" as-is or with only small fixes from master.

Can a change to the best-chain criteria protect against 51% to 90+% attacks without a hard fork?
StakeHunter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile WWW
February 26, 2014, 03:18:45 PM
 #627

OK, I think i found where to find the address and magic...but now i get the error

Using...
Code:
python -m Abe.abe --config abe-tek.conf --commit-bytes 100000 --no-serve

Code:
Opened /home/nathan/.tekcoin/blk0001.dat
Exception at 72056512226263178
Failed to catch up {'blkfile_offset': 0, 'blkfile_number': 1, 'chain_id': 11, 'loader': None, 'conf': None, 'dirname': u'/home/nathan/.tekcoin', 'id': 6L}
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "Abe/DataStore.py", line 2692, in catch_up
    store.catch_up_dir(dircfg)
  File "Abe/DataStore.py", line 2950, in catch_up_dir
    store.import_blkdat(dircfg, ds, blkfile['name'])
  File "Abe/DataStore.py", line 3072, in import_blkdat
    b = chain.ds_parse_block(ds)
  File "Abe/Chain.py", line 59, in ds_parse_block
    d['transactions'].append(chain.ds_parse_transaction(ds))
  File "Abe/Chain.py", line 52, in ds_parse_transaction
    return deserialize.parse_Transaction(ds)
  File "Abe/deserialize.py", line 90, in parse_Transaction
    d['txIn'].append(parse_TxIn(vds))
  File "Abe/deserialize.py", line 46, in parse_TxIn
    d['sequence'] = vds.read_uint32()
  File "Abe/BCDataStream.py", line 71, in read_uint32
    def read_uint32 (self): return self._read_num('<I')
  File "Abe/BCDataStream.py", line 110, in _read_num
    (i,) = struct.unpack_from(format, self.input, self.read_cursor)
error: unpack_from requires a buffer of at least 4 bytes

"Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal." -Jesus (Mat 6:19)
DigitalNexus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
February 26, 2014, 09:23:29 PM
 #628

How does Abe handle network forks?
John Tobey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481



View Profile WWW
February 26, 2014, 10:03:23 PM
 #629

OK, I think i found where to find the address and magic...but now i get the error

Using...
Code:
python -m Abe.abe --config abe-tek.conf --commit-bytes 100000 --no-serve

Code:
Opened /home/nathan/.tekcoin/blk0001.dat
Exception at 72056512226263178

The block format differs from Bitcoin's.  Please see: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=22785.msg2796317#msg2796317

Can a change to the best-chain criteria protect against 51% to 90+% attacks without a hard fork?
John Tobey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481



View Profile WWW
February 26, 2014, 10:18:15 PM
 #630

How does Abe handle network forks?

It chooses the longest chain by cumulative work, like the Bitcoin client.  This code could use a test suite, but it handles the 2013 fork, as far as I can tell.

Abe keeps orphan blocks and side chains and reuses them if they join the main chain.

Can a change to the best-chain criteria protect against 51% to 90+% attacks without a hard fork?
StakeHunter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile WWW
February 27, 2014, 03:58:55 PM
 #631

OK, I think i found where to find the address and magic...but now i get the error

Using...
Code:
python -m Abe.abe --config abe-tek.conf --commit-bytes 100000 --no-serve

Code:
Opened /home/nathan/.tekcoin/blk0001.dat
Exception at 72056512226263178

The block format differs from Bitcoin's.  Please see: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=22785.msg2796317#msg2796317


Thanks...
So I got to the ppcoin branch, and I merged...but I get a schema version error:

Code:
Exception: Can not upgrade from schema version Abe37 to Abe35

"Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal." -Jesus (Mat 6:19)
John Tobey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481



View Profile WWW
February 27, 2014, 04:22:12 PM
 #632

Thanks...
So I got to the ppcoin branch, and I merged...but I get a schema version error:

Code:
Exception: Can not upgrade from schema version Abe37 to Abe35

What happens when you try with a fresh database?

Can a change to the best-chain criteria protect against 51% to 90+% attacks without a hard fork?
StakeHunter
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile WWW
February 27, 2014, 04:42:35 PM
 #633

Thanks...
So I got to the ppcoin branch, and I merged...but I get a schema version error:

Code:
Exception: Can not upgrade from schema version Abe37 to Abe35

What happens when you try with a fresh database?


Code:
Opened /home/nathan/.tekcoin/blk0001.dat
Exception at 183
Failed to catch up {'blkfile_offset': 0, 'blkfile_number': 1, 'chain_id': 8L, 'loader': None, 'dirname': u'/home/nathan/.tekcoin', 'id': 1L}
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "Abe/DataStore.py", line 2637, in catch_up
    store.catch_up_dir(dircfg)
  File "Abe/DataStore.py", line 2895, in catch_up_dir
    store.import_blkdat(dircfg, ds, blkfile['name'])
  File "Abe/DataStore.py", line 3025, in import_blkdat
    store.import_block(b, chain_ids = chain_ids)
  File "Abe/DataStore.py", line 1756, in import_block
    raise MerkleRootMismatch(b['hash'], tx_hash_array)
MerkleRootMismatch: Block header Merkle root does not match its transactions. block hash=00000eaa8dd7e902871c444aeb415673b8244c6b7b1742ca398cefa60d87c4c1

"Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal." -Jesus (Mat 6:19)
John Tobey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481



View Profile WWW
February 27, 2014, 05:30:44 PM
 #634

Code:
Opened /home/nathan/.tekcoin/blk0001.dat
Exception at 183
Failed to catch up {'blkfile_offset': 0, 'blkfile_number': 1, 'chain_id': 8L, 'loader': None, 'dirname': u'/home/nathan/.tekcoin', 'id': 1L}
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "Abe/DataStore.py", line 2637, in catch_up
    store.catch_up_dir(dircfg)
  File "Abe/DataStore.py", line 2895, in catch_up_dir
    store.import_blkdat(dircfg, ds, blkfile['name'])
  File "Abe/DataStore.py", line 3025, in import_blkdat
    store.import_block(b, chain_ids = chain_ids)
  File "Abe/DataStore.py", line 1756, in import_block
    raise MerkleRootMismatch(b['hash'], tx_hash_array)
MerkleRootMismatch: Block header Merkle root does not match its transactions. block hash=00000eaa8dd7e902871c444aeb415673b8244c6b7b1742ca398cefa60d87c4c1
Please see:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=22785.msg750417#msg750417

Can a change to the best-chain criteria protect against 51% to 90+% attacks without a hard fork?
DigitalNexus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
February 27, 2014, 09:54:40 PM
 #635

How does Abe handle network forks?

It chooses the longest chain by cumulative work, like the Bitcoin client.  This code could use a test suite, but it handles the 2013 fork, as far as I can tell.

Abe keeps orphan blocks and side chains and reuses them if they join the main chain.

Thanks for the info.

Another question, is it possible to set the magic address in the config and not DataStore.py? I would like to parse multiple blocks but have separate databases for them. It seems I can only do this by running separate instances of Abe.
DigitalNexus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
February 27, 2014, 10:40:18 PM
 #636

Another question, is it possible to set the magic address in the config and not DataStore.py? I would like to parse multiple blocks but have separate databases for them. It seems I can only do this by running separate instances of Abe.

Looks like I might be able to specify the magic when doing 'datadir+=' in the .conf but it wont insert it into the database.
lunalauncher
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 02:46:33 AM
 #637

Somehow the current block height displayed on Abe's main page no longer changes as new blocks are processed by Abe.

Right now the current block displayed on main page is 521941. However I am able to access a newer block 521948 by going to http://localhost:2750/block/a4436cbcf8986ab38e64fc88983c973a76cd938157dbb2f0d3a20748842dc8d5. Abe's title also shows Block a443...48842dc8d5 instead of Block 521948

q/getblockcount also shows the wrong block height of 521941.

Is it possible to do like a rescan to update the Abe's current block height on the front page?
artiface
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 03:58:37 AM
 #638

Somehow the current block height displayed on Abe's main page no longer changes as new blocks are processed by Abe.

Right now the current block displayed on main page is 521941. However I am able to access a newer block 521948 by going to http://localhost:2750/block/a4436cbcf8986ab38e64fc88983c973a76cd938157dbb2f0d3a20748842dc8d5. Abe's title also shows Block a443...48842dc8d5 instead of Block 521948

q/getblockcount also shows the wrong block height of 521941.

Is it possible to do like a rescan to update the Abe's current block height on the front page?


The chain was probably forked.  Once the current chain catches up to the previous highest block it will sort itself out.  I've seen this a few times.

Quote
Abe keeps orphan blocks and side chains and reuses them if they join the main chain.
lunalauncher
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 04:02:46 AM
 #639

Somehow the current block height displayed on Abe's main page no longer changes as new blocks are processed by Abe.

Right now the current block displayed on main page is 521941. However I am able to access a newer block 521948 by going to http://localhost:2750/block/a4436cbcf8986ab38e64fc88983c973a76cd938157dbb2f0d3a20748842dc8d5. Abe's title also shows Block a443...48842dc8d5 instead of Block 521948

q/getblockcount also shows the wrong block height of 521941.

Is it possible to do like a rescan to update the Abe's current block height on the front page?


The chain was probably forked.  Once the current chain catches up to the previous highest block it will sort itself out.  I've seen this a few times.

Quote
Abe keeps orphan blocks and side chains and reuses them if they join the main chain.

Thanks for the quick reply! The chain I'm using is LTC, is this just a temp fork that affects some people, and also the reason why we wait for several confirmations for a transaction?
anush3070
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 05:41:58 AM
 #640

Tried Everything But all I get is:

Quote
A server error occurred.  Please contact the administrator.

Help.

Block Chain Explorer Link: http://107.170.63.233:2750/


CLOSED!

Only Existing Customers will be Served.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!