Bitcoin Forum
April 30, 2024, 03:03:56 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: 1 2 [All]
  Print  
Author Topic: Clocked Avalon to 350 MHz and beyond/ 80GH/s  (Read 3489 times)
goxed (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1006


Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 11:04:03 AM
Last edit: June 22, 2013, 08:19:14 AM by goxed
 #1

cgminer version 3.2.0 - Started: [2013-06-21 16:12:28]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):79.63G (avg):81.75Gh/s | A:1026  R:227  HW:119  U:169.3/m  WU:1159.7/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 1  LW: 5983  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to us3.eclipsemc.com diff 62 with stratum as user
 Block: 00142ffb0e8b1b37...  Diff:19.3M  Started: [16:12:28]  Best share: 20.6K
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [\S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 AVA 0: 25/ 48C 2640R | 79.27G/82.26Gh/s | A:1027 R:227 HW:120 U: 169.47/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------











Question: what should be buf[6] and buf[7] for 325MHz, 350MHz, and 375MHz?

Ans: This is working on Avalon 2

 case 350:
                        buf[6] = 0xf3;
                        buf[7] = 0x0a;
                        break;

Flash Image from users ckolivas, Xiangfu freq ranges from 300 - 375. Have to edit /etc/init.d/cgminer

http://downloads.qi-hardware.com/people/xiangfu/avalon/next-testing/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory-20130622.bin

Flash Image from user Strombom freq ranges from 300 - 395. Fans seem to run at 100% regardless of temperature.
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/16881231/avalon_clone/firmware/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-tl-wr703n-v1-squashfs-factory_20130519b.bin

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=210186.msg2544524#msg2544524

Revewing Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
1714489436
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714489436

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714489436
Reply with quote  #2

1714489436
Report to moderator
"The nature of Bitcoin is such that once version 0.1 was released, the core design was set in stone for the rest of its lifetime." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714489436
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714489436

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714489436
Reply with quote  #2

1714489436
Report to moderator
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 11:21:09 AM
 #2

Good Question


It is possible for sure here is the evidence

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=234173.msg2478266#msg2478266

I am wandering how burnin made them work at 125 for testing

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=179769.msg2536501#msg2536501

PS: How do you know that 325MHz, 350MHz, and 375MHz are possible at all?





Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
someone42
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78
Merit: 10

Chris Chua


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 11:35:19 AM
 #3

Question: what should be buf[6] and buf[7] for 325MHz, 350MHz, and 375MHz?

   if (frequency == 256) {
      buf[6] = 0x03;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 270) {
      buf[6] = 0x73;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 282) {
      buf[6] = 0xd3;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 300) {
      buf[6] = 0x63;
      buf[7] = 0x09;
   }

Use these at your own risk!

For 325 MHz: buf[6] = 0x2b and buf[7] = 0x0a
For 350 MHz: buf[6] = 0xf3 and buf[7] = 0x0a
For 375 MHz: buf[6] = 0xbb and buf[7] = 0x0b
The meaning of these values is documented on page 6 of the Avalon ASIC (A3256-Q48) datasheet.
goxed (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1006


Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 11:35:43 AM
 #4

Good Question


It is possible for sure here is the evidence

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=234173.msg2478266#msg2478266

I am wandering how burnin made them work at 125 for testing

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=179769.msg2536501#msg2536501

PS: How do you know that 325MHz, 350MHz, and 375MHz are possible at all?






I am not sure, just plain assumption. There is possibly a clock divider and clock multiplier values associated with those registers, and it would be good it reverse engineer it, to check if higher than 300MHz performance is feasible.

Revewing Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
goxed (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1006


Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 11:37:37 AM
 #5

Question: what should be buf[6] and buf[7] for 325MHz, 350MHz, and 375MHz?

   if (frequency == 256) {
      buf[6] = 0x03;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 270) {
      buf[6] = 0x73;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 282) {
      buf[6] = 0xd3;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 300) {
      buf[6] = 0x63;
      buf[7] = 0x09;
   }

Use these at your own risk!

For 325 MHz: buf[6] = 0x2b and buf[7] = 0x0a
For 350 MHz: buf[6] = 0xf3 and buf[7] = 0x0a
For 375 MHz: buf[6] = 0xbb and buf[7] = 0x0b
The meaning of these values is documented on page 6 of the Avalon ASIC (A3256-Q48) datasheet.
Thanks, I guess I need to take a good look at the datasheet first, and then re-compile cgminer with the new avalon driver.

Revewing Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 11:40:10 AM
 #6

Question: what should be buf[6] and buf[7] for 325MHz, 350MHz, and 375MHz?

   if (frequency == 256) {
      buf[6] = 0x03;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 270) {
      buf[6] = 0x73;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 282) {
      buf[6] = 0xd3;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 300) {
      buf[6] = 0x63;
      buf[7] = 0x09;
   }

Use these at your own risk!

For 325 MHz: buf[6] = 0x2b and buf[7] = 0x0a
For 350 MHz: buf[6] = 0xf3 and buf[7] = 0x0a
For 375 MHz: buf[6] = 0xbb and buf[7] = 0x0b
The meaning of these values is documented on page 6 of the Avalon ASIC (A3256-Q48) datasheet.
Thanks, I guess I need to take a good look at the datasheet first, and then re-compile cgminer with the new avalon driver.

And pls make sure to replace stock PSU first Smiley
Because magic smoke can come out

Apart of the joke i am interested how it will go I will watch this tread closely. If someone has made it i will be glad to see that info shred here



Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
greaterninja
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 11:41:00 AM
 #7

Good Question


It is possible for sure here is the evidence

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=234173.msg2478266#msg2478266

I am wandering how burnin made them work at 125 for testing

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=179769.msg2536501#msg2536501

PS: How do you know that 325MHz, 350MHz, and 375MHz are possible at all?






I am quite interested in your results as well goxed.  Yifu hinted that the chips can clock much higher.  It may need additional cooling once the chips pass a certain clock.

good work mrb,

this is what we wanted to see in the beginning.

hint hint: the chip has a much higher clock cap.  Wink Roll Eyes
Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 21, 2013, 11:42:31 AM
 #8

A water cooling block has been created by a member on this very site...

Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4088
Merit: 1631


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 21, 2013, 11:57:13 AM
 #9

In another thread, I'm running mine stable at 350...

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 12:05:29 PM
 #10

how easy is it to upgrade the avalons with a 4th module? does this create extra heat? doe it require a better PSU needed?
Sitarow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1047



View Profile
June 21, 2013, 01:46:04 PM
 #11

how easy is it to upgrade the avalons with a 4th module? does this create extra heat? doe it require a better PSU needed?
Batch 1 Avalon modules are so close together that the communication cables are pinched.

Bitaxe.ca rep suggested that I file down the heat sink were the cable gets pinched.

Batch 1 has room for a 4th module.

Batch 2 Avalon's had a airflow modification in the spot that would have the 4th module. However this enabled them to have the modules spaced apart a little more and the data cable is further towards the center of the module.
candoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500


Vertrau in Gott


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 02:01:36 PM
 #12

Would anyone be so nice and compile bfgminer for windows with this settings in the driver-avalon.c file?

Quote
   if (frequency == 256) {
      buf[6] = 0x03;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 270) {
      buf[6] = 0x73;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 282) {
      buf[6] = 0xd3;
      buf[7] = 0x08;
   } else if (frequency == 300) {
      buf[6] = 0x63;
      buf[7] = 0x09;
   } else if (frequency == 325) {
      buf[6] = 0x2b;
      buf[7] = 0x0a;
   } else if (frequency == 350) {
      buf[6] = 0xf3;
      buf[7] = 0x0a;
   } else if (frequency == 375) {
      buf[6] = 0xbb;
      buf[7] = 0x0b;

Einer trage des andern Last, so werdet ihr das Gesetz Christi erfüllen.
goxed (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1006


Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.


View Profile
June 21, 2013, 08:12:18 PM
 #13

In another thread, I'm running mine stable at 350...
This is great news. As you have already indicated, it should be great to have as a new TP-link firmware update.

Revewing Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
Big Time Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 12:09:59 AM
 #14

how stable at 350?  Running for a week without a hard reboot stable or hard reboot every 24 hours stable?

Big time, I'm on my way I'm making it, big time, oh yes
- Peter Gabriel
goxed (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1006


Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 12:12:44 AM
 #15

how stable at 350?  Running for a week without a hard reboot stable or hard reboot every 24 hours stable?

Strombom has been running for close to a month now

Revewing Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
shmadz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000


@theshmadz


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 12:22:09 AM
 #16

very nice!

Question for Goxed, re: "Fans seem to run at 100% regardless of temperature."

Do you have any indication of what would likely happen if (eventually when) a fan fails? will the device turn off before it fries itself?

The "regardless of temperature" part makes me wonder/worry that some kind of built-in failsafe might have been disabled in order to run at these speeds...

Still freakin' awesome  Shocked

 worst case, if you were really paranoid, you could replace the fans every 3 months or so much like a preventative maintenance schedule

"You have no moral right to rule us, nor do you possess any methods of enforcement that we have reason to fear." - John Perry Barlow, 1996
psjw4450
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 342
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 12:23:41 AM
 #17

Does anyone have a link on how to do this?
goxed (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1006


Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 12:31:50 AM
 #18

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=239360.0

and

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=140539.1060

Revewing Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
bennybong
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 682
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 01:25:37 PM
 #19

Bang tidy, If only I had my Avalons...

This is going to be a long weekend!
johnyj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988
Merit: 1012


Beyond Imagination


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 03:45:14 PM
 #20

very nice!

Question for Goxed, re: "Fans seem to run at 100% regardless of temperature."

Do you have any indication of what would likely happen if (eventually when) a fan fails? will the device turn off before it fries itself?

The "regardless of temperature" part makes me wonder/worry that some kind of built-in failsafe might have been disabled in order to run at these speeds...

Still freakin' awesome  Shocked

 worst case, if you were really paranoid, you could replace the fans every 3 months or so much like a preventative maintenance schedule

You can have several fans to reduce the risk

I added 2 exhaust fans and one external turbo blow fan towards the bottom of the box, if one of the internal fan fails, the external fan could still cool the bottom plate to avoid overheating. But I think those 38mm thick server grade fans are designed to last for years of continuous operation

ewibit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2955
Merit: 1049


View Profile
June 22, 2013, 08:36:11 PM
 #21

But I think those 38mm thick server grade fans are designed to last for years of continuous operation
how do you (I) recognize that a fan is a server grade fan and of high quality and life period?
TIA
OnkelPaul
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1039
Merit: 1003



View Profile
June 22, 2013, 08:56:55 PM
 #22

PS: How do you know that 325MHz, 350MHz, and 375MHz are possible at all?
I am not sure, just plain assumption. There is possibly a clock divider and clock multiplier values associated with those registers, and it would be good it reverse engineer it, to check if higher than 300MHz performance is feasible.

ckolivas has tested it (see https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=239360.msg2540290#msg2540290), you can run at higher frequencies, although at some point the error rate grows too high so that effective hash rate goes down.
You should be able to replace the "if cascade" with two simple lines as shown here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=239360.msg2540247#msg2540247
However, whether a given frequency actually works would probably depend on additional factors.

Onkel Paul

el_rlee
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1600
Merit: 1014



View Profile
June 23, 2013, 06:01:20 AM
Last edit: June 23, 2013, 06:38:21 AM by el_rlee
 #23

A water cooling block has been created by a member on this very site...

That would be me... unfortunately I have to waste my time with a thing called "employment" at the moment. Also this other thing called "family" keeps me from finally pimping my Avalon.
Soon. Hopefully.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=211825.0
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1183


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
June 23, 2013, 08:38:45 AM
 #24

But I think those 38mm thick server grade fans are designed to last for years of continuous operation
how do you (I) recognize that a fan is a server grade fan and of high quality and life period?
TIA
By being 38mm.

Pages: 1 2 [All]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!