Bitcoin Forum
May 11, 2024, 12:03:05 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] Pool mining primecoin using DigitalOcean (VPS)  (Read 88501 times)
Vorksholk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1713
Merit: 1029



View Profile WWW
July 13, 2013, 03:19:48 AM
 #441

Does anyone use Chemisist's rebuild?
Quote
I've git cloned it and recompiled it on the smallest droplet (512MB 1 core) an hour ago. Didn't even had to re-size it to more memory, temporarily creating and destroying swap file for compilation, compiled while still mining.

Excellent results, it's doubled pps to previous version. It varies 250-350 pps. Recommended.

Same. Getting 300-450pps




How do I compile that?

I have the original Sunny build with the sieve update in my VPS'

Thanks for the input!
Well, somebody has to wright the full howto, so since there are no other volunteers...

First, it's easier to create the new smallest droplet. If you want to do it on the existing one you can do it also, I'll make cleaer the difference.

Create smallest droplet (512MB/ 1 CPU), select your region, select Ubuntu 13.04 x64. It has no desktop, we don't need it and desktop may make mining just a bit slower. Connect to a droplet console.

First change the root password, it's awkward to use default DigitalOcean password, hard to remember, type:
Code:
passwd
and enter the new password twice.
It's not recommended to work as root under linux, you can easily mess things up. Create a new user and make it a sudoer so it can do what root can, but safely. Enter a new password for the user and few enters, no need to enter other info:
Code:
adduser <newusername>
Make a newly created user a sudoer:
Code:
adduser <newusername> sudo
Now logoff and login again as a newly created user for the first time:
Code:
logoff
Then install all the apps and libraries you'll need in one step, -y at the and saves you for having to confirm things:
Code:
sudo apt-get install git build-essential libssl-dev libboost-all-dev libdb5.3++-dev -y
If you already had a droplet earlier, you begin here. Remove the previous source of the primecoin, if you created new instance skip only this one step:
Code:
rm -rf primecoin
Now get fresh software from Chemisist repo on GitHub:
Code:
git clone https://github.com/Chemisist/primecoin.git
Create temporary swap file and mount it as swap, this avoids compilation errors which are all due to the lack of memory, 512MB is not enough for compilation:
Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=64M count=16
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile
Move where the action takes place:
Code:
cd ~/primecoin/src
Compile the software, this takes a while, go get a cup of coffee:
Code:
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=-
Unmount and remove the swap file, we don't need it for normal usage:
Code:
sudo swapoff /swapfile
sudo rm /swapfile
Create directory for wallet, configuration and logs:
Code:
mkdir ~/.primecoin
Create configuration file. For newbies, just type the first line, you'll get a prompt for second and third line:
Code:
echo "rpcuser=ARPCUserName
rpcpassword=SomethingReallyLongOK
gen=1" > ~/.primecoin/primecoin.conf
Move newly created executable to it's permanent place, where it will also be in the path:
Code:
sudo mv primecoind /usr/local/bin/.
Go home and start mining:
Code:
cd ~
primecoind --daemon
Watch the statistics and also get info about newly mined blocks:
Code:
watch 'primecoind listtransactions & primecoind getmininginfo'

This should be it. You should have 300 pps in a few minutes. Tips are appriciated.


getting error couldnt find libdb5.3++-dev

Try apt-get install libdb-dev Smiley

VeriBlock: Securing The World's Blockchains Using Bitcoin
https://veriblock.org
1715428985
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715428985

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715428985
Reply with quote  #2

1715428985
Report to moderator
1715428985
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715428985

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715428985
Reply with quote  #2

1715428985
Report to moderator
Make sure you back up your wallet regularly! Unlike a bank account, nobody can help you if you lose access to your BTC.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715428985
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715428985

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715428985
Reply with quote  #2

1715428985
Report to moderator
kev7112001
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 479
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 03:32:07 AM
 #442

Does anyone use Chemisist's rebuild?
Quote
I've git cloned it and recompiled it on the smallest droplet (512MB 1 core) an hour ago. Didn't even had to re-size it to more memory, temporarily creating and destroying swap file for compilation, compiled while still mining.

Excellent results, it's doubled pps to previous version. It varies 250-350 pps. Recommended.

Same. Getting 300-450pps




How do I compile that?

I have the original Sunny build with the sieve update in my VPS'

Thanks for the input!
Well, somebody has to wright the full howto, so since there are no other volunteers...

First, it's easier to create the new smallest droplet. If you want to do it on the existing one you can do it also, I'll make cleaer the difference.

Create smallest droplet (512MB/ 1 CPU), select your region, select Ubuntu 13.04 x64. It has no desktop, we don't need it and desktop may make mining just a bit slower. Connect to a droplet console.

First change the root password, it's awkward to use default DigitalOcean password, hard to remember, type:
Code:
passwd
and enter the new password twice.
It's not recommended to work as root under linux, you can easily mess things up. Create a new user and make it a sudoer so it can do what root can, but safely. Enter a new password for the user and few enters, no need to enter other info:
Code:
adduser <newusername>
Make a newly created user a sudoer:
Code:
adduser <newusername> sudo
Now logoff and login again as a newly created user for the first time:
Code:
logoff
Then install all the apps and libraries you'll need in one step, -y at the and saves you for having to confirm things:
Code:
sudo apt-get install git build-essential libssl-dev libboost-all-dev libdb5.3++-dev -y
If you already had a droplet earlier, you begin here. Remove the previous source of the primecoin, if you created new instance skip only this one step:
Code:
rm -rf primecoin
Now get fresh software from Chemisist repo on GitHub:
Code:
git clone https://github.com/Chemisist/primecoin.git
Create temporary swap file and mount it as swap, this avoids compilation errors which are all due to the lack of memory, 512MB is not enough for compilation:
Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=64M count=16
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile
Move where the action takes place:
Code:
cd ~/primecoin/src
Compile the software, this takes a while, go get a cup of coffee:
Code:
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=-
Unmount and remove the swap file, we don't need it for normal usage:
Code:
sudo swapoff /swapfile
sudo rm /swapfile
Create directory for wallet, configuration and logs:
Code:
mkdir ~/.primecoin
Create configuration file. For newbies, just type the first line, you'll get a prompt for second and third line:
Code:
echo "rpcuser=ARPCUserName
rpcpassword=SomethingReallyLongOK
gen=1" > ~/.primecoin/primecoin.conf
Move newly created executable to it's permanent place, where it will also be in the path:
Code:
sudo mv primecoind /usr/local/bin/.
Go home and start mining:
Code:
cd ~
primecoind --daemon
Watch the statistics and also get info about newly mined blocks:
Code:
watch 'primecoind listtransactions & primecoind getmininginfo'

This should be it. You should have 300 pps in a few minutes. Tips are appriciated.


getting error couldnt find libdb5.3++-dev

Try apt-get install libdb-dev Smiley

now theres a error here git clone https://github.com/Chemisist/primecoin.git

MCXNOW MODERATOR
megablue
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 13, 2013, 03:44:02 AM
 #443

Been running 20cores at DO for 12 hours, only been able to find 1 block so far.
I don't think it is feasible to mine with cloud instances, it cost too much and the return is too little.

LTC: LQx367oQtbwsc7Ygf9S1B6E1d9LuGk7v11
OnlyC
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 04:00:54 AM
 #444

Been running 20cores at DO for 12 hours, only been able to find 1 block so far.
I don't think it is feasible to mine with cloud instances, it cost too much and the return is too little.
it's all about luck  Grin
ethought
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1316
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 04:03:50 AM
 #445

Been running 20cores at DO for 12 hours, only been able to find 1 block so far.
I don't think it is feasible to mine with cloud instances, it cost too much and the return is too little.

I agree - I pulled my clusters today... Price dropping too fast whilst getting too hard to find blocks
rigelugh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 04:06:57 AM
 #446

I mined 2 blocks with my single 1CPU/512 MB VPS on digital ocean in the time that I was asleep/at work yesterday.

My AMD Phenom mined 0 though it didn't have internet while I was at work all day.

Since I got hom, I've started two more single core instances, using Chemisist's builds. So I now have three, one running the same build from Sunny that gave me the 2 blocks.

Haven't found anything so far. It's only cost me $0.40 to run all this, though, so it's worth it (to me).
megablue
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 13, 2013, 04:13:12 AM
 #447

Been running 20cores at DO for 12 hours, only been able to find 1 block so far.
I don't think it is feasible to mine with cloud instances, it cost too much and the return is too little.

I agree - I pulled my clusters today... Price dropping too fast whilst getting too hard to find blocks

i pulled mine as well.

Just a reminder, if you decided to stop mining on DigitalOceans you must destroy the instances.
 otherwise it would continue to charge you.

LTC: LQx367oQtbwsc7Ygf9S1B6E1d9LuGk7v11
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 04:52:05 AM
 #448

Please refrain from mining on momento. Our seed nodes are located there. If you kill the cluster you would cause me a lot of trouble.

I made a deposit there...0.1btc, what do I do with that then? :/
How/why would it hurt to mine on say one 8 core instance? I'm not super greedy, but don't feel like wasting money.

I think momento's cluster is very small, if I run mining in 2 vms, they basically each generate half compared to just run mining in 1 vm.

So don't try to consume all cpu there, I already felt slow there today. Mine some, I think you should be able to make the money back. But I would advise other people refrain from mining there.

Thanks Sunny, yeah, I'll try to make that back and then stop mining there.
jubalix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1022


View Profile WWW
July 13, 2013, 05:37:10 AM
 #449

sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=64M count=16

this just gives a blank screen?

Admitted Practicing Lawyer::BTC/Crypto Specialist. B.Engineering/B.Laws

https://www.binance.com/?ref=10062065
RandyFolds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 06:00:52 AM
 #450

sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=64M count=16

this just gives a blank screen?


How long are you waiting? It seemed to take a while to generate the swap file.
superfluouso
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 06:40:07 AM
 #451

I have a basic mining question.

I've been moving all my xpm to my local system which is a vdi running ubuntu as I have a mac.  I haven't yet optimized  this miner with Chemisists build and would like to but I'm worried about my existing wallet that has all my xpm.  Do I just need to back up the wallet.dat file to another directory, do the rebuild, then copy back and expect to be able to open it and access all my xpm or is there some other process?
itod
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1076


^ Will code for Bitcoins


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 06:49:18 AM
 #452

I have a basic mining question.

I've been moving all my xpm to my local system which is a vdi running ubuntu as I have a mac.  I haven't yet optimized  this miner with Chemisists build and would like to but I'm worried about my existing wallet that has all my xpm.  Do I just need to back up the wallet.dat file to another directory, do the rebuild, then copy back and expect to be able to open it and access all my xpm or is there some other process?

Backuping the wallet is always a good idea, but you don't need to do it for a rebuild. Old and new executable share the same wallet, to be exact every time primecoin software starts it checks to find the wallet in the expected place and uses it if it finds one, or creates new one if there is no wallet there. It never overwrites new wallet over the old one.
superfluouso
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 06:51:50 AM
 #453

I have a basic mining question.

I've been moving all my xpm to my local system which is a vdi running ubuntu as I have a mac.  I haven't yet optimized  this miner with Chemisists build and would like to but I'm worried about my existing wallet that has all my xpm.  Do I just need to back up the wallet.dat file to another directory, do the rebuild, then copy back and expect to be able to open it and access all my xpm or is there some other process?

Backuping the wallet is always a good idea, but you don't need to do it for a rebuild. Old and new executable share the same wallet, to be exact every time primecoin software starts it checks to find the wallet in the expected place and uses it if it finds one, or creates new one if there is no wallet there. It never overwrites new wallet destroying the old.

Excellent - that's what I was assuming but wanted to be sure.  Thanks!
rethaw (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 255



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 06:54:58 AM
Last edit: July 13, 2013, 07:51:29 AM by rethaw
 #454

Difficulty is going up, and miners are improving. Looks we like have found some new world records!

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=253409.60

I wonder if any of these were mined on DigitalOcean instances?

EDIT: If you mined one of the record blocks we'd love to hear about it!

rethaw (OP)
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 255



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 07:53:00 AM
 #455

I switched to Chemisist's build for now. It appears to get a higher pps by around 25%.

Code:
git clone https://github.com/Chemisist/primecoin chem
cd chem/src
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=-
primecoind stop
sleep 5
sudo mv primecoind /usr/local/bin/.
primecoind --daemon
watch 'primecoind listtransactions & primecoind getmininginfo'

notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 08:09:41 AM
 #456

Can someone please post guide for using creating a amazon EC2 free one?  I am a noob at EC2.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 13, 2013, 09:16:31 AM
 #457

Can someone please post guide for using creating a amazon EC2 free one?  I am a noob at EC2.

Hmmm looks like it got it now.  Just needed some coffee Smiley
96redformula
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 09:21:21 AM
 #458

Can someone please post guide for using creating a amazon EC2 free one?  I am a noob at EC2.

Hmmm looks like it got it now.  Just needed some coffee Smiley

Want to help me out, no coffee right now Smiley.

Quick how to is fine, it can be vague.
jaakkop
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 13, 2013, 09:58:35 AM
 #459

Found this little bash script from reddit
https://gist.github.com/anonymous/5987007

It show your balance, recent transactions and pps, just like the command:
Code:
watch 'primecoind listtransactions & primecoind getmininginfo'

Simpe guide for using it in user's home directory
Code:
cd
wget https://gist.github.com/anonymous/5987007/raw/5f92a73e579f448a1af0e7b40ec45974e54ab4c9/miningstats.sh
chmod +x ./miningstats.sh
watch ./miningstats.sh

And the script outputs like this:
Code:
[+] Your balance is: 0.00000000
[+] Recent transactions are (amount / state)
15.79000000 - orphan
[+] You're currently mining at 149 pps

I'd buy that for a dollar bitcoin!
eule
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 13, 2013, 10:02:23 AM
 #460

Please refrain from mining on momento. Our seed nodes are located there. If you kill the cluster you would cause me a lot of trouble.
Alright, sorry.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!