Bitcoin Forum
May 04, 2024, 09:18:37 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] Pool mining primecoin using DigitalOcean (VPS)  (Read 88501 times)
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 09:30:44 PM
 #401

Does anyone use Chemisist's rebuild?
Quote
I've git cloned it and recompiled it on the smallest droplet (512MB 1 core) an hour ago. Didn't even had to re-size it to more memory, temporarily creating and destroying swap file for compilation, compiled while still mining.

Excellent results, it's doubled pps to previous version. It varies 250-350 pps. Recommended.

Same. Getting 300-450pps




How do I compile that?

I have the original Sunny build with the sieve update in my VPS'

Thanks for the input!

Quoting myself, do I just do this all over again but replace the url with chemisist's github?

apt-get install git
git clone https://github.com/Chemisist/primecoin
apt-get install build-essential libssl-dev libboost-all-dev libdb5.3++-dev -y
cd ~/primecoin/src
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=-
mkdir ~/.primecoin
echo "rpcuser=ARPCUserName
rpcpassword=SomethingReallyLongOK
gen=1" > ~/.primecoin/primecoin.conf
sudo mv primecoind /usr/local/bin/.
primecoind --daemon
watch 'primecoind listtransactions & primecoind getmininginfo'
1714857517
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714857517

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714857517
Reply with quote  #2

1714857517
Report to moderator
"This isn't the kind of software where we can leave so many unresolved bugs that we need a tracker for them." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714857517
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714857517

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714857517
Reply with quote  #2

1714857517
Report to moderator
eule
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 09:34:55 PM
 #402

delete old primecoin source folder, git clone, make, strip, copy to your home dir

adambeazley
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
July 12, 2013, 09:39:42 PM
 #403

Does anyone use Chemisist's rebuild?
Quote
I've git cloned it and recompiled it on the smallest droplet (512MB 1 core) an hour ago. Didn't even had to re-size it to more memory, temporarily creating and destroying swap file for compilation, compiled while still mining.

Excellent results, it's doubled pps to previous version. It varies 250-350 pps. Recommended.

Same. Getting 300-450pps

https://i.imgur.com/CxYZFi0.png


I get this error.

Code:
In file included from main.cpp:16:0:
prime.h: In constructor ‘CSieveOfEratosthenes::CSieveOfEratosthenes(unsigned int, unsigned int, uint256, CBigNum&)’:
prime.h:109:6: error: ‘prevWeaveTime’ was not declared in this scope
prime.h:110:3: error: ‘prevTotalTime’ was not declared in this scope
make: *** [obj/main.o] Error 1

Chemisist just made some changes to the prime.h file to add those declarations or remove them.

Just do the following and recompile:
git reset --hard HEAD
git pull
then make -f etc.....
itod
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1076


^ Will code for Bitcoins


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 09:43:19 PM
Last edit: July 12, 2013, 09:55:10 PM by itod
 #404

Does anyone use Chemisist's rebuild?
Quote
I've git cloned it and recompiled it on the smallest droplet (512MB 1 core) an hour ago. Didn't even had to re-size it to more memory, temporarily creating and destroying swap file for compilation, compiled while still mining.

Excellent results, it's doubled pps to previous version. It varies 250-350 pps. Recommended.

Same. Getting 300-450pps




How do I compile that?

I have the original Sunny build with the sieve update in my VPS'

Thanks for the input!
Well, somebody has to wright the full howto, so since there are no other volunteers...

First, it's easier to create the new smallest droplet. If you want to do it on the existing one you can do it also, I'll make cleaer the difference.

Create smallest droplet (512MB/ 1 CPU), select your region, select Ubuntu 13.04 x64. It has no desktop, we don't need it and desktop may make mining just a bit slower. Connect to a droplet console.

First change the root password, it's awkward to use default DigitalOcean password, hard to remember, type:
Code:
passwd
and enter the new password twice.
It's not recommended to work as root under linux, you can easily mess things up. Create a new user and make it a sudoer so it can do what root can, but safely. Enter a new password for the user and few enters, no need to enter other info:
Code:
adduser <newusername>
Make a newly created user a sudoer:
Code:
adduser <newusername> sudo
Now logoff and login again as a newly created user for the first time:
Code:
logoff
Then install all the apps and libraries you'll need in one step, -y at the and saves you for having to confirm things:
Code:
sudo apt-get install git build-essential libssl-dev libboost-all-dev libdb5.3++-dev -y
If you already had a droplet earlier, you begin here. Remove the previous source of the primecoin, if you created new instance skip only this one step:
Code:
rm -rf primecoin
Now get fresh software from Chemisist repo on GitHub:
Code:
git clone https://github.com/Chemisist/primecoin.git
Create temporary swap file and mount it as swap, this avoids compilation errors which are all due to the lack of memory, 512MB is not enough for compilation:
Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=64M count=16
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile
Move where the action takes place:
Code:
cd ~/primecoin/src
Compile the software, this takes a while, go get a cup of coffee:
Code:
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=-
Unmount and remove the swap file, we don't need it for normal usage:
Code:
sudo swapoff /swapfile
sudo rm /swapfile
Create directory for wallet, configuration and logs:
Code:
mkdir ~/.primecoin
Create configuration file. For newbies, just type the first line, you'll get a prompt for second and third line:
Code:
echo "rpcuser=ARPCUserName
rpcpassword=SomethingReallyLongOK
gen=1" > ~/.primecoin/primecoin.conf
Move newly created executable to it's permanent place, where it will also be in the path:
Code:
sudo mv primecoind /usr/local/bin/.
Go home and start mining:
Code:
cd ~
primecoind --daemon
Watch the statistics and also get info about newly mined blocks:
Code:
watch 'primecoind listtransactions & primecoind getmininginfo'

This should be it. You should have 300 pps in a few minutes. Tips are appriciated.
altsay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 359
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 09:52:15 PM
 #405

Does anyone use Chemisist's rebuild?
Quote
I've git cloned it and recompiled it on the smallest droplet (512MB 1 core) an hour ago. Didn't even had to re-size it to more memory, temporarily creating and destroying swap file for compilation, compiled while still mining.

Excellent results, it's doubled pps to previous version. It varies 250-350 pps. Recommended.

Same. Getting 300-450pps




How do I compile that?

I have the original Sunny build with the sieve update in my VPS'

Thanks for the input!

Quoting myself, do I just do this all over again but replace the url with chemisist's github?

apt-get install git
git clone https://github.com/Chemisist/primecoin
apt-get install build-essential libssl-dev libboost-all-dev libdb5.3++-dev -y
cd ~/primecoin/src
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=-
mkdir ~/.primecoin
echo "rpcuser=ARPCUserName
rpcpassword=SomethingReallyLongOK
gen=1" > ~/.primecoin/primecoin.conf
sudo mv primecoind /usr/local/bin/.
primecoind --daemon
watch 'primecoind listtransactions & primecoind getmininginfo'

I just removed the primecoin folder (not the .primecoin) And compiled the Chemisist rebuild with

Quote
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=-

Then run the daemon, BUT nothing changed it's still fluctuates between ~100-130 pps. Anyone have an idea about that?
Moebius327
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 09:57:37 PM
 #406

Works! Thanks so much!

edit: after Primecoin server starting I get some blocks downloaded and then

Code:
"blocks" : 889,
    "currentblocksize" : 0,
    "currentblocktx" : 0,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "primespersec" : 0,
    "pooledtx" : 0,
    "testnet" : false

error: couldn't connect to server
kimosan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 10:04:07 PM
Last edit: July 12, 2013, 10:42:34 PM by kimosan
 #407

Quoting myself, do I just do this all over again but replace the url with chemisist's github?

apt-get install git
git clone https://github.com/Chemisist/primecoin
apt-get install build-essential libssl-dev libboost-all-dev libdb5.3++-dev -y
cd ~/primecoin/src
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=-
mkdir ~/.primecoin
echo "rpcuser=ARPCUserName
rpcpassword=SomethingReallyLongOK
gen=1" > ~/.primecoin/primecoin.conf
sudo mv primecoind /usr/local/bin/.
primecoind --daemon
watch 'primecoind listtransactions & primecoind getmininginfo'

Yes.

You can simply make a new droplet. Better to follow itod's directions though.

chemisist release is not an official release, use at own risk.
itod
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1076


^ Will code for Bitcoins


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 10:13:32 PM
 #408

Works! Thanks so much!

edit: after Primecoin server starting I get some blocks downloaded and then

Code:
"blocks" : 889,
    "currentblocksize" : 0,
    "currentblocktx" : 0,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "primespersec" : 0,
    "pooledtx" : 0,
    "testnet" : false

error: couldn't connect to server

Strange for DigitalOcean instance to lose connectivity. Maybe it has not, but you cannot connect to server for some other reason?
Try restarting the primecoind
Code:
primecoind stop
primecoind --daemon
Moebius327
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 10:20:59 PM
Last edit: July 12, 2013, 10:41:01 PM by Moebius327
 #409

Works! Thanks so much!

edit: after Primecoin server starting I get some blocks downloaded and then

Code:
"blocks" : 889,
    "currentblocksize" : 0,
    "currentblocktx" : 0,
    "errors" : "",
    "generate" : true,
    "genproclimit" : -1,
    "primespersec" : 0,
    "pooledtx" : 0,
    "testnet" : false

error: couldn't connect to server

Strange for DigitalOcean instance to lose connectivity. Maybe it has not, but you cannot connect to server for some other reason?
Try restarting the primecoind
Code:
primecoind stop
primecoind --daemon

I have tried installing clean on a new droplet, still getting the same error. Restarting the daemon doesn't change the result. Noticed if I keep typing
Code:
primecoind --daemon 
I reconnect and then disconnecting again. In the process some blocks get downloaded.

Edit: Solved
eule
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 10:33:58 PM
 #410

referencing to this post https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=252944.msg2715241#msg2715241
OK since so many people have asked about the provider I use, it's https://momentovps.com/ .
Note that my first instance got 1000 pps until the second instance started mining. I currently have 6 instances running, each averaging around 450 - 500pps. One instance is running Chemicist's mod getting the same performance. I noticed no performance difference between 1GB and 256MB RAM, but it's possible there are some load balancing rules favoring instances with more RAM.

So if too many people join we will probably kill the cluster (I don't know which hardware is used, there's a topic here but it's pretty old). But since you have to install the OS on each server by hand via VNC (can't clone disks afaik, well now that i think about it you could attach two disks to one server and then clone the disk in linux; detaching drives doesn't work you have to delete the server, oh and their interface is a mess generally), I doubt too many people in this thread will make use of this provider.  Tongue

And before you get your hopes up, I got no blocks since I started mining there.

altsay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 359
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 11:01:04 PM
 #411

Is there anyone using Chemisist version on a 1 core/1 gig droplet? What is your pps? Mine is stucked at 100-130 pps whereas it's supposed to be far more than that.
BTC-Market
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 229
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 11:02:44 PM
 #412

Chemisist's version kept almost instantly crashing on an 8 core droplet, not even enough time to see how much it was pumping. I tried to update it first, thought I screwed something up, so I destroyed the Droplet and created a new one to install it from scratch. It would still insta-crash. Reverted back to Sunny's latest build
Moebius327
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 11:06:36 PM
 #413

Chemisist's version kept almost instantly crashing on an 8 core droplet, not even enough time to see how much it was pumping. I tried to update it first, thought I screwed something up, so I destroyed the Droplet and created a new one to install it from scratch. It would still insta-crash. Reverted back to Sunny's latest build

Works for me. I'm getting 2500 pps going up.
altsay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 359
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 11:09:17 PM
 #414

Chemisist's version kept almost instantly crashing on an 8 core droplet, not even enough time to see how much it was pumping. I tried to update it first, thought I screwed something up, so I destroyed the Droplet and created a new one to install it from scratch. It would still insta-crash. Reverted back to Sunny's latest build

So many releases on this thread, where to find Sunny's latest build?
Kavre
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 11:11:08 PM
 #415

Chemisist's version kept almost instantly crashing on an 8 core droplet, not even enough time to see how much it was pumping. I tried to update it first, thought I screwed something up, so I destroyed the Droplet and created a new one to install it from scratch. It would still insta-crash. Reverted back to Sunny's latest build

So many releases on this thread, where to find Sunny's latest build?


https://github.com/primecoin/primecoin

For support:
- BTC: 143JzbV9RC4r5uLDsQQnVWay6fJfRyYgjS
OnlyC
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 11:16:57 PM
 #416

I didn't see any different in PPS with Chemisist's git.
BTC-Market
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 229
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 11:20:26 PM
 #417

Chemisist's version kept almost instantly crashing on an 8 core droplet, not even enough time to see how much it was pumping. I tried to update it first, thought I screwed something up, so I destroyed the Droplet and created a new one to install it from scratch. It would still insta-crash. Reverted back to Sunny's latest build

Works for me. I'm getting 2500 pps going up.

With the 8 core droplet?
hak8or
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 172
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 11:24:04 PM
Last edit: July 12, 2013, 11:39:52 PM by hak8or
 #418

For anyone curious, here is how it looks on the amazon free instance (micro)



I will check out the other amazon high CPU instances soon to see what they can do.

Edit: This is using primecoin from github by the way.
Quote
{
    "version" : "v0.1.1xpm-beta",
    "protocolversion" : 70001,
    "walletversion" : 60000,
    "balance" : 0.00000000,
    "blocks" : 24635,
    "moneysupply" : 422219.69000000,
    "timeoffset" : -2,
    "connections" : 8,
    "proxy" : "",
    "testnet" : false,
    "keypoololdest" : 1373670321,
    "keypoolsize" : 101,
    "paytxfee" : 0.00000000,
    "errors" : ""
}
jubalix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1022


View Profile WWW
July 12, 2013, 11:39:44 PM
 #419

ok mined for 10 hrs at 500-600pps got nothing

i did see a write error broken pipe

Admitted Practicing Lawyer::BTC/Crypto Specialist. B.Engineering/B.Laws

https://www.binance.com/?ref=10062065
Moebius327
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 11:43:03 PM
 #420

Chemisist's version kept almost instantly crashing on an 8 core droplet, not even enough time to see how much it was pumping. I tried to update it first, thought I screwed something up, so I destroyed the Droplet and created a new one to install it from scratch. It would still insta-crash. Reverted back to Sunny's latest build

Works for me. I'm getting 2500 pps going up.

With the 8 core droplet?

yes, but it is down to around 2000 now  Undecided
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!