Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 05:18:34 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: If you were to implement a CPU-only coin...  (Read 1304 times)
ZirconiumX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136



View Profile
July 28, 2013, 09:14:36 AM
 #1

...How would you do it?

I, personally, would use something like AES as the base cypher, due to AES-NI. But then, AES is pretty easy to implement on a GPU.

I note Quark uses multiple cyphers, but again, those aren't hard to put on a GPU.

Matthew:out
1508779114
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508779114

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508779114
Reply with quote  #2

1508779114
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
cryptohunter
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
July 28, 2013, 03:00:22 PM
 #2

make something in it require windows to run if that is possible

if people want to fire up the vps clusters at least it will hopefully cost them a lot more to rape all the coins away.

████████
████████
████
████





████
████
████████
████████
     ▄▄████████▄▄
   ▄██████████████▄
 ▄██████████████████▄
██████▀▀▀▀▀█████▀▀▀▀▀█
██████     █████     █
██████     █████     █             ▄▄▄
██████     ▀▀▀▀▀     █        ███  ███
 ▀████                  ▄▄▄   ███  ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄  ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄ ▄▄▄  ▄▄
   ▀██     ▄▄▄▄▄      ▄█████▄ ███  ███ ███  ███ ████████████▄
     ▀     █████      ███▄▄██ ███  ███ ███  ███ ███ ▀███ ▀███
           ▀▀███      ███▄▄▄  ███▄ ███ ███▄████ ███  ███  ███
               ▀       ▀████▀  ▀██ ███ ▀███▀███ ███  ███  ███
                   ▀█
████████
████████
████
████





████
████
████████
████████
█  ████▀  █
█  ██▀▄█  █
█  ▀▄███  █
█  ████▀  █
██▀▄█
▀▄███
████▀
██▀▄█

▀▄███

█  ████▀  █

█  ██▀▄█  █

█  ▀▄███  █

█  █████  █
|
█  ████▀  █
█  ██▀▄█  █
█  ▀▄███  █
█  ████▀  █
██▀▄█
▀▄███
████▀
██▀▄█

▀▄███

█  ████▀  █

█  ██▀▄█  █

█  ▀▄███  █

█  █████  █
bcp19
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
July 28, 2013, 03:09:27 PM
 #3

Memory intensive would prevent GPUs as the transfer rate to/from GPU kills productivity.  On my old project, there were 3 different tests, trial factoring (at which the GPU was 100+x faster), LL tests (at which the GPU was 6-10x faxter) and P-1 (which works in 2 stages, I think they got stage 1 to work at 2x speed, but I don't think they ever got stage 2 to work)

I do not suffer fools gladly... "Captain!  We're surrounded!"
I embrace my inner Kool-Aid.
turtle83
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


Supersonic


View Profile WWW
July 28, 2013, 03:19:28 PM
 #4

make something in it require windows to run if that is possible

if people want to fire up the vps clusters at least it will hopefully cost them a lot more to rape all the coins away.

huh? As a linux user i find that statement highly offensive.

smscotten
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile WWW
July 28, 2013, 08:41:13 PM
 #5

make something in it require windows to run if that is possible

if people want to fire up the vps clusters at least it will hopefully cost them a lot more to rape all the coins away.

huh? As a linux user i find that statement highly offensive.

As a computer user I find the statement offensive too.

bcp19
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
July 28, 2013, 09:03:17 PM
 #6

make something in it require windows to run if that is possible

if people want to fire up the vps clusters at least it will hopefully cost them a lot more to rape all the coins away.

huh? As a linux user i find that statement highly offensive.

As a computer user I find the statement offensive too.
I found it highly entertaining. 

In an ideal world, bot nets would be useless for mining coins.  Problem is, you'd have to have something like a captcha that could not be faked.  That way each person would be equal, none of this 'He who has the most cash/bot-net/farm/whatever wins'.

I'm just imagining it now "Congrats, you found a block!  Please enter the following captcha to claim it"   <Bzzzzzz> Sorry, you were too slow and were beaten out by a 12 year old!

I do not suffer fools gladly... "Captain!  We're surrounded!"
I embrace my inner Kool-Aid.
TheSpiral
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile WWW
July 28, 2013, 10:00:23 PM
 #7

make something in it require windows to run if that is possible

if people want to fire up the vps clusters at least it will hopefully cost them a lot more to rape all the coins away.
Clearly, there's no Windows VPS clusters.

[Cex.io] - Cheap virtual mining.
n4ru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
July 28, 2013, 10:12:48 PM
 #8

make something in it require windows to run if that is possible

if people want to fire up the vps clusters at least it will hopefully cost them a lot more to rape all the coins away.
Clearly, there's no Windows VPS clusters.
My thoughts exactly.

ETH-Nova - Fully Automated OC/PL/P-state/Mining/Monitoring for Windows
ETH: 0x00972cd6a2c6786afbcc24ca592b8c86f33f747a / BTC: 1n4ruYy5QWbTDBbPEyBRWwj1Ni4U4Sz5P
FreeTrade
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050



View Profile
July 29, 2013, 02:55:48 AM
 #9

...How would you do it?


This might be interesting -
http://security.stackexchange.com/questions/15373/hashing-algorithms-on-gpu-32-bit-vs-64-bit

So, lots of 64 bit operations. As mentioned already, memory intensive. I've seen mentioned elsewhere that GPUs are not so good at conditional branching. So lots of that too.

HODLCoin ANN - 5% Interest. No Staking Req. Term Deposits 10%. Solo Mining.http://hodlcoin.com/
digitalindustry
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812


Rocking Retro world since that Star got moved !


View Profile WWW
July 29, 2013, 04:31:02 AM
 #10

If you were to write a cpu only currency ....

I would pay someone to write a gpu miner for it .  Or anything else.

Because it would be rare enough to justify it .

tiny rick !
- https://voat.co/v/Contact/
- Twitter @Kolin_Quark
SirMintALot
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


In POS we trust


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 05:37:07 AM
 #11

I would use a combination of bcrypt (uses lots of memory operations) and sha512 or keccak512 (64bit arithmetic).

BTC: 142BHpdq4wey7PC3Cp5QiUoshF19u3yvHN LTC: LbiEUDYjohwpXnv1Gd4LvdGr1Jr1M5Usjc NMC: N3eeYkWqeLFWBJRmS3WyU1zz6WgKkjEVtb
IXC: xtR8uc2EFGWFJgrVEgZZ5yvRsWKhwAg8ZH DVC: 18oVWfSqHjvhJEuHHxsDpCfBeDMuLWyh5p CLR: CGZGWW16sooX69PJBEtJH2Xmo4KFupkow7
PPC: PLJ5uzFw21FkKdSrmfccT3MqubSfSB4soE YAC: Y7FM89AiFhWKBcXh2BzzRaw4eUAYkreXbs LBW: 5ygEWM7dMjeUV2sBeppTvkTTXCkeREKqf2
I0C: jatiogvXJYhK7auegbjPnQRV3kQgFvz482 JPU: JE7fhhPfP1Kjyd1hj8zevNsf7THeMqHo6A NVC: 4Hvecu2fzC2rCwYbKBeYXr8y9pdAZLFZHH
Palmdetroit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


PHS 50% PoS - Stop mining start minting


View Profile WWW
July 29, 2013, 05:47:29 AM
 #12

The solution to resistant mining to current evils (VPS and botnets).. is to have a coin require insane amounts of RAM.. maybe 8-16 gigs just to start with... 32-128 to mine fast

this would put the above to bed.


hook me up if you use this in a coin

kelsey
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 06:19:18 AM
 #13

make something in it require windows to run if that is possible

if people want to fire up the vps clusters at least it will hopefully cost them a lot more to rape all the coins away.

huh? As a linux user i find that statement highly offensive.

As a computer user I find the statement offensive too.

as an internet user I lol'd that you guys found dribble on the internet you found offensive  Roll Eyes
Buffer Overflow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652



View Profile
July 29, 2013, 06:51:06 AM
 #14

make something in it require windows to run if that is possible

if people want to fire up the vps clusters at least it will hopefully cost them a lot more to rape all the coins away.

That deserves a generous *facepalm*.

LOL  Cheesy

wiggi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 10:00:30 AM
 #15


In an ideal world, bot nets would be useless for mining coins.  Problem is, you'd have to have something like a captcha that could not be faked.  That way each person would be equal, none of this 'He who has the most cash/bot-net/farm/whatever wins'.


The bot net would set up a site with naughty pics, for free but surfers must solve a captcha to see them,
then let the surfer solve your captcha. This was a new bot trick in 2007   Roll Eyes

Kevlar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 310



View Profile
July 29, 2013, 10:03:32 AM
 #16

make something in it require windows to run if that is possible

if people want to fire up the vps clusters at least it will hopefully cost them a lot more to rape all the coins away.

huh? As a linux user i find that statement highly offensive.

As a computer user I find the statement offensive too.
I found it highly entertaining. 

In an ideal world, bot nets would be useless for mining coins.  Problem is, you'd have to have something like a captcha that could not be faked.  That way each person would be equal, none of this 'He who has the most cash/bot-net/farm/whatever wins'.

I'm just imagining it now "Congrats, you found a block!  Please enter the following captcha to claim it"   <Bzzzzzz> Sorry, you were too slow and were beaten out by a 12 year old!

Wouldn't work. I would just compile a version without the capatcha.

            █
           ███
          ████   ▄
         ███ ███▄█▀█
        ███   ██   █
   █▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█   █▀
  █           █   █▀
 ▀▀█████▀▀▀███   █
██
    ███ █   █   █ ██
   ███   █   █ █   ███
  ████████   █████████
 ▀
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█   ██▀▀▀▀▀▀
            █▄▄▄█
  ▄█
▄███

████    ▄
████  ▄██

████ ████
████ ████

████ ████
████ ████

████ ████
██▀  ████

    ████
     ███▀
     █▀
A  G A M I N G  R E V O L U T I O N  I S  O N  T H E  W A Y
|      FACEBOOK      |      SLACK      ▀▀▀▀      WHITEPAPER      ▀▀▀▀      TWITTER      |      TELEGRAM      |
  ▄█
▄███

████    ▄
████  ▄██

████ ████
████ ████

████ ████
████ ████

████ ████
██▀  ████

    ████
     ███▀
     █▀
Kevlar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 310



View Profile
July 29, 2013, 10:05:41 AM
 #17

make something in it require windows to run if that is possible

if people want to fire up the vps clusters at least it will hopefully cost them a lot more to rape all the coins away.

huh? As a linux user i find that statement highly offensive.

As a computer user I find the statement offensive too.

As a windows user I find the statement by going to Start->All Programs->Offensive statements, or by typing in it's name after hitting start.

            █
           ███
          ████   ▄
         ███ ███▄█▀█
        ███   ██   █
   █▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█   █▀
  █           █   █▀
 ▀▀█████▀▀▀███   █
██
    ███ █   █   █ ██
   ███   █   █ █   ███
  ████████   █████████
 ▀
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█   ██▀▀▀▀▀▀
            █▄▄▄█
  ▄█
▄███

████    ▄
████  ▄██

████ ████
████ ████

████ ████
████ ████

████ ████
██▀  ████

    ████
     ███▀
     █▀
A  G A M I N G  R E V O L U T I O N  I S  O N  T H E  W A Y
|      FACEBOOK      |      SLACK      ▀▀▀▀      WHITEPAPER      ▀▀▀▀      TWITTER      |      TELEGRAM      |
  ▄█
▄███

████    ▄
████  ▄██

████ ████
████ ████

████ ████
████ ████

████ ████
██▀  ████

    ████
     ███▀
     █▀
crendore
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 10:27:01 AM
 #18

make something in it require windows to run if that is possible

if people want to fire up the vps clusters at least it will hopefully cost them a lot more to rape all the coins away.

This is probably the most retarded thing i have read all day.

coinerd
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 11:01:11 AM
 #19

The solution to resistant mining to current evils (VPS and botnets).. is to have a coin require insane amounts of RAM.. maybe 8-16 gigs just to start with... 32-128 to mine fast

this would put the above to bed.


hook me up if you use this in a coin

This would be VPS Heaven.  How many people do you think have that kind of memory in a desktop or laptop?
crendore
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 11:51:03 AM
 #20

The only way to block botnets from CPU mining a coin would be to implement some physical access lock into the software.  For example a USB thumb drive that contained a signature of some sort.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!