Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 01:05:59 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: List of motherboard that require shorting pin A1 B17 for pci-e 1x to work.  (Read 83721 times)
zedicus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602



View Profile
January 06, 2014, 01:51:22 AM
 #101

^^ @Vyker

 Whoa .. i didnt realize you can short the 16x pcie slots..

The last 2 16x pcie slots on my board arent working with risers attached.. (msi z77a-gd80)

I read somewhere that i can only use then number 3 and 6 slots or the 1 and 4  slots at the same time for the 1x pcie slots so im using 3 & 6.

Im using the  3 and 6 with the check marks and ive tried shorting with no go for the others.

Is there something in bios i should look for! Whats PEG Gen" to "2"?

Does it apply to gd80? Can it get me past 3 cards. I would be ok running 5 at this point.




1481375159
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481375159

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481375159
Reply with quote  #2

1481375159
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
nvandertill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
January 06, 2014, 04:55:12 AM
 #102

^^ @Vyker

 Whoa .. i didnt realize you can short the 16x pcie slots..

The last 2 16x pcie slots on my board arent working with risers attached.. (msi z77a-gd80)

I read somewhere that i can only use then number 3 and 6 slots or the 1 and 4  slots at the same time for the 1x pcie slots so im using 3 & 6.

Im using the  3 and 6 with the check marks and ive tried shorting with no go for the others.

Is there something in bios i should look for! Whats PEG Gen" to "2"?

Does it apply to gd80? Can it get me past 3 cards. I would be ok running 5 at this point.






You likely need to set them to Gen1 bus speed. Leave the top 16x at Gen2 and set bottom 2 to Gen1. This is how your motherboard would be configured for a 3x Crossfire/SLI setup and it is the configuration it needs to be able to detect all the cards and power them properly. You aren't using much bandwidth on the bus when mining so it is fine to set them to lower speed. This is the same reason we can get away with plugging cards into the x1 slots. I highly doubt you need to short them.
zedicus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602



View Profile
January 06, 2014, 12:49:38 PM
 #103

^^ ok i will give that a shot. Ill report back if i find that it works.
zedicus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602



View Profile
January 07, 2014, 04:02:57 AM
 #104



You likely need to set them to Gen1 bus speed. Leave the top 16x at Gen2 and set bottom 2 to Gen1. This is how your motherboard would be configured for a 3x Crossfire/SLI setup and it is the configuration it needs to be able to detect all the cards and power them properly. You aren't using much bandwidth on the bus when mining so it is fine to set them to lower speed. This is the same reason we can get away with plugging cards into the x1 slots. I highly doubt you need to short them.


Hmm.. went to advanced and all it shows is pcie GEN3    Auto or disabled is the choice? .. Cant really specify which card its just one choice i guess for all?





 EDIT : DISABLED IT.. The 4th card didnt get detected  ..


micax1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 04:54:41 PM
 #105


Hey mate just wondering how you are going with the asrock z87 killer, what slots your shorting etc, how many cards you are using? got pics of the setup?

I just ordered this motherboard with 4x R9 280X GPUs and got a 7950 spare from my gaming rig so hoping to get 5 cards up and running in it.

Thanks mate

sorry so late ) I have 3 rigs with 7 5 and 5 r9 290 cards attached

will post photos if you still need `em - post questions it`s awesome MB imho

█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
micax1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 05:21:37 PM
 #106


Hey. I'm planning on getting this board for my first mining rig, and was wondering if you could tell me how many cards you're using on the board?

I'm planning to make a rig with 7 cards, and the ASRock Z87 Killer (Fatal1ty) does have the slots, but I can't find any information regarding whether or not it supports having all slots active.

Thanks!

I have 7 cards setup - works ok, but requires a monitor to boot. 5 cards setup on same MB - does not require monitor connected - not sure what this problem connected to (

█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
nvandertill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 12:07:23 AM
 #107

How are you running the 5 r9 290s? I have 4 of them and have nothing but trouble... They are totally unstable. I'm about to RMA them for r9 280x's which I know run great.
micax1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 04:02:31 PM
 #108

How are you running the 5 r9 290s? I have 4 of them and have nothing but trouble... They are totally unstable. I'm about to RMA them for r9 280x's which I know run great.

i run them stable at 820 mhash each 24/7, what you mean trouble?

█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
siera
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 08:39:27 PM
 #109

How are you running the 5 r9 290s? I have 4 of them and have nothing but trouble... They are totally unstable. I'm about to RMA them for r9 280x's which I know run great.

i run them stable at 820 mhash each 24/7, what you mean trouble?

Do you use default BIOS settings? Any jumpers on PCI-E? How many Kh/s do you get per card?

ammi84
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
January 08, 2014, 09:11:03 PM
 #110

Hello,

Does anyone know if an Asrock 970 Extreme4 needs pin shorting? I'm struggling with using it with powered risers (1x to 16x).  Huh

yeah would be nice to know ...
i got two different opinions ... some say "yes" some say "no"

a question all around ....
when i use a dumy plug i don't have to short the port or are this two different things ?!

which wire-type is the best .. any suggestions? any cheap source to get one?
broken usb cable perhaps?! or anything else?
zedicus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602



View Profile
January 09, 2014, 01:01:35 AM
 #111

Hello,

Does anyone know if an Asrock 970 Extreme4 needs pin shorting? I'm struggling with using it with powered risers (1x to 16x).  Huh

yeah would be nice to know ...
i got two different opinions ... some say "yes" some say "no"

a question all around ....
when i use a dumy plug i don't have to short the port or are this two different things ?!

which wire-type is the best .. any suggestions? any cheap source to get one?
broken usb cable perhaps?! or anything else?

This info was like gold for one of my boards! This guy on another forum went out of his way to show me how he did it so i will return the favor!

Here is the cable im using! Its sitting on the manual for my gd80.. You notice how there are some strands I have pointing downwards and the rest is pointing straight ahead!

First off the cable is from an old power supply! Just clipped of the molex connectors and stripped a quarter of an inch or so of plastic to show the bare wire.

Then i pulled 8 strands or so and pointed them downwards! The rest that were pointing straight i cut off!!

The total length should be about 3inches or so.. I then cut off the other side and stripped and pulled 8 strands and twisted while the rest i cut!






Here is the resulting cable!



Then ends are the 8 strands of wire twisted! That will fit in the pcie hole so you can short it!



Here is a nice photo i found online showing which holes on the pcie slot to put the ends in!

The picture next to it shows the 1x pcie cable inserted while the shorting cable is there!





I hope that helps you on your quest! Be careful not to insert in the wrong pcie hole! Do it while power supply is off!
Double check everything and then power it on. See how on my finished cable there is a bunch of hanging wire on one of the ends .. besides the twisted thread!   Dont do that! Make sure you cut off all the cable you are not using on the ends. Dont wanna short something you had no intention of shorting! I went back and fixed mine!




Zedicus



micax1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 02:22:45 AM
 #112

How are you running the 5 r9 290s? I have 4 of them and have nothing but trouble... They are totally unstable. I'm about to RMA them for r9 280x's which I know run great.

i run them stable at 820 mhash each 24/7, what you mean trouble?

Do you use default BIOS settings? Any jumpers on PCI-E? How many Kh/s do you get per card?



almost default - usung PEG2 for pci-ex 16x with 16x extensions
any jumpers - you mean PCI-ex shortening A1 B17 pins - yes.
How many Kh/s - 820 each

█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
ammi84
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
January 09, 2014, 06:33:52 AM
 #113

Hello,

Does anyone know if an Asrock 970 Extreme4 needs pin shorting? I'm struggling with using it with powered risers (1x to 16x).  Huh

yeah would be nice to know ...
i got two different opinions ... some say "yes" some say "no"

a question all around ....
when i use a dumy plug i don't have to short the port or are this two different things ?!

which wire-type is the best .. any suggestions? any cheap source to get one?
broken usb cable perhaps?! or anything else?

This info was like gold for one of my boards! This guy on another forum went out of his way to show me how he did it so i will return the favor!

Here is the cable im using! Its sitting on the manual for my gd80.. You notice how there are some strands I have pointing downwards and the rest is pointing straight ahead!

First off the cable is from an old power supply! Just clipped of the molex connectors and stripped a quarter of an inch or so of plastic to show the bare wire.

Then i pulled 8 strands or so and pointed them downwards! The rest that were pointing straight i cut off!!

The total length should be about 3inches or so.. I then cut off the other side and stripped and pulled 8 strands and twisted while the rest i cut!

IMAGE


Here is the resulting cable!

IMAGE

Then ends are the 8 strands of wire twisted! That will fit in the pcie hole so you can short it!



Here is a nice photo i found online showing which holes on the pcie slot to put the ends in!

The picture next to it shows the 1x pcie cable inserted while the shorting cable is there!





I hope that helps you on your quest! Be careful not to insert in the wrong pcie hole! Do it while power supply is off!
Double check everything and then power it on. See how on my finished cable there is a bunch of hanging wire on one of the ends .. besides the twisted thread!   Dont do that! Make sure you cut off all the cable you are not using on the ends. Dont wanna short something you had no intention of shorting! I went back and fixed mine!




Zedicus






Hi,

thanks a lot
i will give it a try
i got some little wires out of an old usb cable which is broken ...
on the first look they look the same from the "thickness" when they are twisted together. i wil report :-)
zedicus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602



View Profile
January 09, 2014, 07:45:57 AM
 #114

^^ Good Luck! I got frustrated with my gd80 and bought another board. I got the G45 today. Gonna use the gd80 to do some gaming.. or something.
note235
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 192


View Profile
January 12, 2014, 05:13:34 AM
 #115

possible to not short the pins and instead use the usb3 powered risers?
Trigun
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 12, 2014, 01:01:50 PM
 #116

i have a problem with my z87 killer....
i have 3 cards connected in the 1x slots...
but this is what the bios see


the cards are connected in the slot : 3,4,6
but only the card on 4 is detected
if i let windows start i get the msg "all device are disabled, cannot mine" and windows see only the gpu from the mobo
if i disconnect 2 gpu (random positions) and start it works ...


any help?

Donate me :-)
BTC: 1NAZYVrf4tUagVxQhBkBkpntkZPgLuB5vJ
micax1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile
January 12, 2014, 11:01:41 PM
 #117

turn on peg2 instead of peg3 for all pciex16 slots.
additional GPU molex connected?

█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
zedicus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602



View Profile
January 13, 2014, 01:09:25 AM
 #118

i have a problem with my z87 killer....
i have 3 cards connected in the 1x slots...
but this is what the bios see


the cards are connected in the slot : 3,4,6
but only the card on 4 is detected
if i let windows start i get the msg "all device are disabled, cannot mine" and windows see only the gpu from the mobo
if i disconnect 2 gpu (random positions) and start it works ...


any help?


Hey man..

Try running 3 & 6! Alone!!

leave slot 4 disconnected! On my msi board i can only run 1 & 4 at the same time or 3 & 6 at the same time!

Its maybe cause you have the #4 slot occupied and its looking for a device in the #1 pcie slot and ignoring 3 & 6!
nvandertill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 09:54:40 AM
 #119

i have a problem with my z87 killer....
i have 3 cards connected in the 1x slots...
but this is what the bios see


the cards are connected in the slot : 3,4,6
but only the card on 4 is detected
if i let windows start i get the msg "all device are disabled, cannot mine" and windows see only the gpu from the mobo
if i disconnect 2 gpu (random positions) and start it works ...


any help?


Hey man..

Try running 3 & 6! Alone!!

leave slot 4 disconnected! On my msi board i can only run 1 & 4 at the same time or 3 & 6 at the same time!

Its maybe cause you have the #4 slot occupied and its looking for a device in the #1 pcie slot and ignoring 3 & 6!


Set your 16x pci-e busses to gen2, gen1, gen1 in that order. Then your mobo will detect any cards plugged into the 16x busses. From there, you will need to short the 1x busses to get detection. I'm currently running 5 cards on this board no problem. Very stable. In fact, it worked so well that I've cloned it and made another.
majsta
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 533


kittehcoin.info


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 09:57:48 AM
 #120

Ok I can confirm that Gigabyte motherboard Z68AP-D3 rev 2.0 can detect 4 Gigabyte 280X cards. On PCIEX1_3 used A1B17 on other slots not needed, but unable to use PCIEX 1_2 no matter what I have tried, with or without A1B17. So I used PCIEX16, PCIEX1_1, PCIEX1_3(A1B17) and PCIEX4.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!