Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 10:11:16 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: List of motherboard that require shorting pin A1 B17 for pci-e 1x to work.  (Read 83581 times)
zdavidi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
April 05, 2013, 12:17:53 AM
 #61

I'm somewhat confused by the information I've read after reading this thread. First, some information.

I'm using a 1x-16x riser with an HD 6950 on an XFX 750i Intel 775 DDR2 Motherboard. The OS(Win7x64) recognizes the card and I'm able to mine when I use a 16x-16x riser. I don't need to short the card or use a dummy plug. So, since I also purchased a 1x-16x riser (as I have an additional PCI-E slot, though it's only 1x) I figured I'd give the card a try in the 1x slot to see if I can still mine on the card. The card boots, but Win7 doesn't even show the card in the device manager.

So, here are some questions:
  • Will I need to short the riser or use a dummy plug?
  • How am I to short an extender from the motherboard side instead of the GPU side? Judging by the picture above, I have to remove the cables that are already attached to the extender and short it that way? Why do I have to destroy my brand new riser to make it work?
  • Am I shorting the extender at the motherboard or am I shorting the extender at the card?

1480803076
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480803076

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480803076
Reply with quote  #2

1480803076
Report to moderator
1480803076
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480803076

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480803076
Reply with quote  #2

1480803076
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
April 05, 2013, 06:20:53 AM
 #62

I'm somewhat confused by the information I've read after reading this thread. First, some information.

I'm using a 1x-16x riser with an HD 6950 on an XFX 750i Intel 775 DDR2 Motherboard. The OS(Win7x64) recognizes the card and I'm able to mine when I use a 16x-16x riser. I don't need to short the card or use a dummy plug. So, since I also purchased a 1x-16x riser (as I have an additional PCI-E slot, though it's only 1x) I figured I'd give the card a try in the 1x slot to see if I can still mine on the card. The card boots, but Win7 doesn't even show the card in the device manager.

So, here are some questions:
  • Will I need to short the riser or use a dummy plug?
  • How am I to short an extender from the motherboard side instead of the GPU side? Judging by the picture above, I have to remove the cables that are already attached to the extender and short it that way? Why do I have to destroy my brand new riser to make it work?
  • Am I shorting the extender at the motherboard or am I shorting the extender at the card?

What picture are you looking at ? It's obvious the cable is entirely separate, (taken from a cat5 cable.)

On destroying brand new risers .... I MEAN ,,, no destruction needed but these things are ~4$ each.

you are shorting, end of the story, It doesn't matter where you short, you can do the above directly on the motherboard slot.
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
April 05, 2013, 08:29:10 PM
 #63

Asus M4N98TD Evo requires shorting pin A1 - B17 for PCIe 1x  Smiley
Works great BTW.
I have an AMD X6 1055T on it, running at 0.9 Vcore and 1000MHz (multiplier @ 5x). Very cool and energy efficient.

My M3A32-MVP Deluxe board died, so I had to use another board.
zdavidi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
April 06, 2013, 10:00:22 PM
 #64

Think I got it.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/5noexk5yr3r9j42/2013-04-06%2017.48.11.jpg
The damage to the slot that the man is holding in his hand confused me.

tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
April 07, 2013, 12:25:56 AM
 #65

Think I got it.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/5noexk5yr3r9j42/2013-04-06%2017.48.11.jpg
The damage to the slot that the man is holding in his hand confused me.


That's how I did it; be aware that when you stick the card in it tends to warp the pins with insertions in them.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
pajak666
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 495



View Profile
April 19, 2013, 03:21:52 PM
 #66

Gigabyte GA-M55S-S3
requires pin shortening
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
April 19, 2013, 03:22:28 PM
 #67

Gigabyte GA-M55S-S3
requires pin shortening
added
YipYip
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
May 01, 2013, 05:17:09 AM
 #68

Gigabyte GA-M55S-S3
requires pin shortening
added

I gotta say i just found this thread ...once again in the crypto world is a never ending journey of learning

To ask a couple of $64,000 dollar questions that have been driving me nuts

When trying to run 4 cards on risers (MSI 990fxa GD80) the 4th card will drop off after a while and long story short  u have to drop it back to the mobo to get the rig stable ...  u end up with best case 3 on non-powered risers and 1 on the board ... (as they get older 2 on board and 2 on risers etc ) I take it that there is no enough extra power from the mobo getting to all 4 cards risers add another level of overhead to this problem Huh

And finally Long story short powered risers will fix this bullshit Huh

This being true (please say its so ) i should be ok with a shorted A1->B17 and powered  16-> 1x riser on the 1 x slots on the gd 80 and also be able to get 6 gpu's (7950's) per board ??

Thanks in Adavance

OBJECT NOT FOUND
mufa23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


I'd fight Gandhi.


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 01:34:58 AM
 #69

MSi K9N Neo-F V3

Needed to short both 1x slots to get each one working. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=191530.msg2020681#msg2020681

Positive rep with: pekv2, AzN1337c0d3r, Vince Torres, underworld07, Chimsley, omegaaf, Bogart, Gleason, SuperTramp, John K. and guitarplinker
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
May 04, 2013, 02:39:37 AM
 #70

MSi K9N Neo-F V3

Needed to short both 1x slots to get each one working. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=191530.msg2020681#msg2020681
added
Torrerre
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 12:44:24 PM
 #71

I shorted A1-B17 on the 16x slots for 16x-1x riser on the ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z mobo successfully.  Thanks to the OP for the original article.
p00chie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
May 13, 2013, 09:28:58 PM
 #72

when is shorting required ?

I have MSI Z77A-G45 and i can see 6 GPUs in Win7 x64 with 2 of them with driver errors (code 43).

Do i need Shorting for these 2 slots?
Or is shorting required just to see them in the system settings?

Which ATI Cat do you use for 4+ GPUs ?

waichet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
May 21, 2013, 03:48:55 PM
 #73

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5, Finally got it stable with 6 cards

Lots of problems with the mobo at first, some cards would work with 1x extenders and some wouldn't and never got it to detect 6 cards at the same time. Ended up solving it by shorting A1 to B17 in the 16x_2 and 8x slot and it seems to have fixed it (16x_1 slot might have to be shorted as well but got a card in that slot that seems to work in any motherboard and slot no matter what, pins are shorted on the card itself perhaps?) 4x and 1x slots working by default. Using flexible 1x extenders in all slots.

 

It seems most Gigabyte motherboards doesn't like PCI-E riser even for x16 to x16. I myself is still trying to figure out how to get Gigabyte motherboard to find all of my 7970 connected to all the 4 x16 slot. I'm now able to see 3/4 Graphics card on riser with Xubuntu when i run the command "aticonfig --lsa" and out of the 3 only 1 seems to be working as the other 2 is not getting any temperature, core GHz, mem GHz, etc information.

I tried shorting pin A1 to B17(PCI-E x1, don't think this would work for me as I'm trying to get x8 and x16 slot on my motherboard to work with riser) and A1 to B48 (PCI-E x8) and A1 to B81 (PCI-E x16) each done separately.

Am hoping you would share exactly how you manage to get your PCI-E x16 slot to work. My motherboard is Gigabyte GA-Z77x-UP7. Thanks in advance...
waichet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 02:23:21 PM
 #74

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5, Finally got it stable with 6 cards

Lots of problems with the mobo at first, some cards would work with 1x extenders and some wouldn't and never got it to detect 6 cards at the same time. Ended up solving it by shorting A1 to B17 in the 16x_2 and 8x slot and it seems to have fixed it (16x_1 slot might have to be shorted as well but got a card in that slot that seems to work in any motherboard and slot no matter what, pins are shorted on the card itself perhaps?) 4x and 1x slots working by default. Using flexible 1x extenders in all slots.

 

It seems most Gigabyte motherboards doesn't like PCI-E riser even for x16 to x16. I myself is still trying to figure out how to get Gigabyte motherboard to find all of my 7970 connected to all the 4 x16 slot. I'm now able to see 3/4 Graphics card on riser with Xubuntu when i run the command "aticonfig --lsa" and out of the 3 only 1 seems to be working as the other 2 is not getting any temperature, core GHz, mem GHz, etc information.

I tried shorting pin A1 to B17(PCI-E x1, don't think this would work for me as I'm trying to get x8 and x16 slot on my motherboard to work with riser) and A1 to B48 (PCI-E x8) and A1 to B81 (PCI-E x16) each done separately.

Am hoping you would share exactly how you manage to get your PCI-E x16 slot to work. My motherboard is Gigabyte GA-Z77x-UP7. Thanks in advance...

Apparently the problem was from the riser cable not from the Gigabyte motherboard or graphics card. I tried it on my ASUS motherboard with ASUS graphics card and out of 4 riser cables only 1 is working without problem the other 3 is bad. The guy from cablesaurus offer to refund me if I send the bad cables back.
p00chie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 05:54:53 PM
 #75

Does anyone know if this:
http://www.msi.com/product/mb/Z68MA-G45--B3-.html
can handle 4 gpus with or without shorting?

It has z68 chipsets and i want to use it with 4x 7950 cards. Does anyone have experience with z68 chipsets?
It is very cheap available for only 50€ thas around 65$ (including taxes)

veleten
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
June 02, 2013, 01:12:02 PM
 #76

tested
990fxa-gd80
990fxa-gd55
990fxa-gd70

all require shortening pin
after that work like a clock Smiley

.BITSLER.                 ▄███
               ▄████▀
             ▄████▀
           ▄████▀  ▄██▄
         ▄████▀    ▀████▄
       ▄████▀        ▀████▄
     ▄████▀            ▀████▄
   ▄████▀                ▀████▄
 ▄████▀ ▄████▄      ▄████▄ ▀████▄
█████   ██████      ██████   █████
 ▀████▄ ▀████▀      ▀████▀ ▄████▀
   ▀████▄                ▄████▀
     ▀████▄            ▄████▀
       ▀████▄        ▄████▀
         ▀████▄    ▄████▀
           ▀████▄▄████▀
             ▀██████▀
               ▀▀▀▀
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄             
▄▄▄▄▀▀▀▀    ▄▄█▄▄ ▀▀▄         
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄       
█  ▀▄▄  ▀█▀▀ ▄      ▀████   ▀▀▄   
█ █▄  ▀▄   ▀████       ▀▀ ▄██▄ ▀▀▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█  ▀▀       ▀▄▄ ▀████      ▄▄▄▀▀▀  █
█            ▄ ▀▄    ▄▄▄▀▀▀   ▄▄  █
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
█ ▄▄   ███   ▀██  █           ▀▀  █ 
█ ███  ▀██       █        ▄▄      █ 
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀   
▀▄            █        ▀▀      █   
▀▀▄   ███▄  █   ▄▄          █   
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀     
▀▀▄   █   ▀▀▄▄▄▀▀▀         
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▄▄▀▀▀▀               
              ▄▄▄██████▄▄▄
          ▄▄████████████████▄▄
        ▄██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████▄
▄     ▄█████▀             ▀█████▄
██▄▄ █████▀                ▀█████
 ████████            ▄██      █████
  ████████▄         ███▀       ████▄
  █████████▀▀     ▄███▀        █████
   █▀▀▀          █████         █████
     ▄▄▄         ████          █████
   █████          ▀▀           ████▀
    █████                     █████
     █████▄                 ▄█████
      ▀█████▄             ▄█████▀
        ▀██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▀
          ▀▀████████████████▀▀
              ▀▀▀██████▀▀▀
            ▄▄▄███████▄▄▄
         ▄█▀▀▀ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▀▀▀█▄
       █▀▀ ▄█████████████▄ ▀▀█
     █▀▀ ███████████████████ ▀▀█
    █▀ ███████████████████████ ▀█
   █▀ ███████████████▀▀ ███████ ▀█
 ▄█▀ ██████████████▀      ▀█████ ▀█▄
███ ███████████▀▀            ▀▀██ ███
███ ███████▀▀                     ███
███ ▀▀▀▀                          ███
▀██▄                             ▄██▀
  ▀█▄                            ▀▀
    █▄       █▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█
     █▄      ▀█████████▀
      ▀█▄      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
        ▀▀█▄▄  ▄▄▄
            ▀▀█████
[]
nwoolls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile WWW
June 02, 2013, 01:52:41 PM
 #77

I'm using a 1x-16x riser with an HD 6950 on an XFX 750i Intel 775 DDR2 Motherboard. The OS(Win7x64) recognizes the card and I'm able to mine when I use a 16x-16x riser. I don't need to short the card or use a dummy plug. So, since I also purchased a 1x-16x riser (as I have an additional PCI-E slot, though it's only 1x) I figured I'd give the card a try in the 1x slot to see if I can still mine on the card. The card boots, but Win7 doesn't even show the card in the device manager.
I ran into the exact same issue and it took me some time to work it out. I had 2 GPU's working in a rig. I then put them on 16x risers and they still worked great. Then I tried them on 1x risers and, while the OS displayed on them (Windows), they were not recognized as 3D cards and didn't show in the device manager. After lots of trial-and-error, the answer was simple: once you've filled the new slots with your GPU's, re-install the ATI/AMD display drivers. All of the cards will be detected.

MultiMiner: Any Miner, Any Where, on Any Device |  MobileMiner: Monitor and manage your rigs from your browser or phone  |  Xgminer: Mine with popular miners on Mac OS X
btc: 1BmXY4ZZQh1iHSVre658gM1gPAEtDnq8rv  |  ltc: LP1SsHZTDexndkvRKsqAkXNsienPHwaMb5  |  hardware: nwoolls at gmail dot com
AvenG
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 97


Res Et Non Verbum


View Profile
June 02, 2013, 06:51:58 PM
 #78

tested
990fxa-gd80
990fxa-gd55
990fxa-gd70

all require shortening pin
after that work like a clock Smiley

Yesterday I purchased 3 990fxa-gd80 v2 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130649) we're talking about the same MB?

I'm planning setting up 6 gpu's on each.. do you think was a good choice?

N1CKH0LAS
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 186



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 03:20:09 PM
 #79

Does this only work for the x1 slot or is it possible to use this technique for x16 slots too ? ( eg: if you have only x1 to x16 risers, insert an x1 to x16 riser into the mobo x16 slot - with the risers x1 pin and the riser's x16 into the GPU )

• Eve Plex, ISK and characters for BTC: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=341251.0
• Diablo 3 Powerleveling + Legedary Items + Rift/Cache runs for BTC: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=961192
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 07:28:45 PM
 #80

Does this only work for the x1 slot or is it possible to use this technique for x16 slots too ? ( eg: if you have only x1 to x16 risers, insert an x1 to x16 riser into the mobo x16 slot - with the risers x1 pin and the riser's x16 into the GPU )

AFAIR it should work.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!