Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 07:56:22 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: List of motherboard that require shorting pin A1 B17 for pci-e 1x to work.  (Read 83703 times)
N1CKH0LAS
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 186



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 07:33:59 PM
 #81

Tested with both x16 and x1 slots. It doesn't work for me on either of them: the PC won't boot up ( actually won't do anything ). When i remove the wire between A1 B17, shut down pc, then try again, it works. Haven't heard anyone having this problem. What should i do ?. I mean, my motherboard AsRocK H77PRO4-M Socket 1155 won't work even with this method.

However, i have to admit it works, without any wire, if i connect only 1 GPU, in any x1 or x16 slot. If i connect multiple GPUs, it doesn't work anymore. If i don't use risers, the PC works with multiple GPUs plugged in, so it's deffinitely because of the x1 slots/risers.

• Eve Plex, ISK and characters for BTC: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=341251.0
• Diablo 3 Powerleveling + Legedary Items + Rift/Cache runs for BTC: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=961192
1481270182
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270182

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270182
Reply with quote  #2

1481270182
Report to moderator
1481270182
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270182

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270182
Reply with quote  #2

1481270182
Report to moderator
1481270182
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481270182

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481270182
Reply with quote  #2

1481270182
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
ordy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 03:39:10 PM
 #82


MSI 990FXA-GD65V2  (at least mine anyhow)
micax1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


View Profile
December 05, 2013, 03:05:40 AM
 #83

asrock z87 killer lga 1150
also use PCI-E 2.0 settings for 16x ports if using extension PCI-E 3.0 does not work with low quality affordable cables ))

█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
_
█▌█▌█▌
TylerRice
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96



View Profile
December 05, 2013, 06:04:55 PM
 #84

asrock z87 killer lga 1150
also use PCI-E 2.0 settings for 16x ports if using extension PCI-E 3.0 does not work with low quality affordable cables ))

Hey mate just wondering how you are going with the asrock z87 killer, what slots your shorting etc, how many cards you are using? got pics of the setup?

I just ordered this motherboard with 4x R9 280X GPUs and got a 7950 spare from my gaming rig so hoping to get 5 cards up and running in it.

Thanks mate
gbyg
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 02:58:02 PM
 #85

I was wondering if anybody try below 2 mobo,

GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 (rev.1)
asrock z68 extreme7 gen3

with ashrock i can only use 3 GPU (port 1,4,6). in the manual it says if anything plug in port 2, will disable all other port. In this case wich port i need to short to enable all port? all my card connected with power raiser.

port 2 and 5?

or port 1,3,4,5,6?

with gigabyte mobo , its took the 4 GPU first time, but didn't try with 2 pciex1 port yet. waiting on the x1 to x16 raiser. i found this mobo doesn't always turn on after a power cycle. anybody have any experience with these mobo?


thanks


onscreen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
December 18, 2013, 10:50:45 PM
 #86

Using Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 and can't get all of the 1x slots working.

It has the following ports
x16 x1 x1 x16 x1

both x16 slots work fine with with risers with no shorting required.
the far right x1 slot works with no shorting required.

the middle 2 1x slots I can not get to work at all, even if they are the only slots in use it will never detect the cards, even with shorting, anyone have any ideas?

Ideally I would like a 4x GPU rig using this mobo, so I just need one of the slots to work
oktay50000
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
December 24, 2013, 09:02:29 PM
 #87

hi guys
im using 4x7970 on z87a mobo with 3220 haswell
i want tot add 5th card but not detecting by windows
im using powered risers and x1 slots are ok  the second x16 slot not recocnizing gpu

BTC : 1APsSj4vkbRVjtzhfi7ASTPLm8s3p9iRHh  DOGE : DRjdbwit2JX1fEvvtyr4xkVqtAKpP93f8Y
N[e]wBie
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164


View Profile
December 27, 2013, 08:15:27 AM
 #88

so its best to avoid these motherboards right? I would think a list where they are NOT requiring a shortage would be even better.

BTC: 1ESZr887vTZqYtDuwwspn1jBaoRU9jMcv1
coin123123
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
December 27, 2013, 09:26:15 AM
 #89

all these seems old chipsets.

how about new chipsets? some also require pin short?
TylerRice
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96



View Profile
December 27, 2013, 10:05:08 AM
 #90

I'm running an Asus H81M Plus and it needs the 3 1x slot pins shorted to run 4 GPUs
pjviitas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
December 28, 2013, 02:07:34 AM
 #91

ECS A780GM-A Version 1.1 is NOT on this list.

All 3 PCI-E slots work just fine without a jumper.
nnay_th
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 01:36:28 PM
 #92

Hello,

Does anyone know if an Asrock 970 Extreme4 needs pin shorting? I'm struggling with using it with powered risers (1x to 16x).  Huh
nvandertill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
January 02, 2014, 04:35:20 AM
 #93

ASRock Fatal1ty Z87 Killer needs shorting.
VariableDiff
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14

BTC forever


View Profile
January 02, 2014, 03:26:59 PM
 #94

hi guys
im using 4x7970 on z87a mobo with 3220 haswell
i want tot add 5th card but not detecting by windows
im using powered risers and x1 slots are ok  the second x16 slot not recocnizing gpu

Try older drivers.
TylerRice
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96



View Profile
January 02, 2014, 03:56:42 PM
 #95

hi guys
im using 4x7970 on z87a mobo with 3220 haswell
i want tot add 5th card but not detecting by windows
im using powered risers and x1 slots are ok  the second x16 slot not recocnizing gpu

Have you tried shorting the pins for the 1x slot card? It will more than likely need it done.
miztaziggy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


View Profile
January 02, 2014, 10:51:17 PM
 #96

gigabyte 990xa-ud3

To get all 5 cards working, the middle x16 slot needs to be shorted. All other slots work without any shorting at all.

If you short out pin A1 and B17 on the x16 slot the motherboard will not power on. You MUST short out pin A1 and B81 - B81 is the second to last pin at the very end of the slot.
zedicus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602



View Profile
January 03, 2014, 09:31:04 AM
 #97

How about the MSI Z77-GD80? Supposed to be like the Z77A-GD65 but with thunderbolt!



Cant get more than three cards detected! Im using pcie x1 slot #3 and #6 and then x16 pcie in slot 2!



I was hoping to do 6 cards..

 
psijic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28

Goal for 2014: 10 BTC


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 03:38:49 PM
 #98

ASRock Fatal1ty Z87 Killer needs shorting.

Hey. I'm planning on getting this board for my first mining rig, and was wondering if you could tell me how many cards you're using on the board?

I'm planning to make a rig with 7 cards, and the ASRock Z87 Killer (Fatal1ty) does have the slots, but I can't find any information regarding whether or not it supports having all slots active.

Thanks!

My BTC: 1FKkS3415Jk1bXje5GHmiu41yioaCDVMap           DOGE: DMRoVyyLyQdZYVifJCRZdPWwX9h48BSUkp
nvandertill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 08:13:35 AM
 #99

ASRock Fatal1ty Z87 Killer needs shorting.

Hey. I'm planning on getting this board for my first mining rig, and was wondering if you could tell me how many cards you're using on the board?

I'm planning to make a rig with 7 cards, and the ASRock Z87 Killer (Fatal1ty) does have the slots, but I can't find any information regarding whether or not it supports having all slots active.

Thanks!

I got 5 up and running on it. Tried to do 6 but something with the dual PSU setup was screwing up the output. Either that or shorting the very top 1x bus confuses the motherboard as it expects to send video from the 16x main bus. You could maybe do 6 if you skipped that top 1x bus. I didn't fool around with it too long though as I figured I'm already maxing out a 1600w GPU with 5 cards. I got another 5 GPUs here that I'm gonna do the same with. One tip for this board, you have to set the timings for the PCI-E busses manually in the UEFI in this order: 2nd gen, 1st gen, 1st gen under chipset configuration. This is the configuration for 3-way Crossfire/SLI. I was pulling my hair out trying to figure this out because anytime I'd add more than 1 card to the thing it wouldn't give me any output, yet it claimed to be able to handle 3x Crossfire/SLI. A quick peek through the manual showed the correct bus speeds for the 3-way. Even though we aren't running the cards this way, you need to trick the board into thinking that you are. Having them set to auto doesn't work. Other than that this is a great board. I just bought another one to set up the rest of my GPUs with. Shorting the pins is easy if you use twisted pair from inside a CAT5.

For a first build 5x GPUs is plenty. I was like you and wanted to go all out, planned to run 6 off this system with dual PSUs, but over the past month of experimenting with hardware I've found that 5 GPU + 1600w PSU is the perfect setup. After 5 GPUs it starts to get unstable and finicky. Might as well just build another rig at that point.

Hope this helps. Smiley
Vyker
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
January 05, 2014, 01:05:36 PM
 #100

Z87-G45

You can run 6 cards on this.

Leave slot 4 empty and short slot 7 and that should be all.

In terms of the BIOS, change the "PEG Gen" to "2" in Advanced> PCI.

See here ... http://www.overclock.net/t/1455347/help-losing-my-f-head-mining-rig-r9-290-x-7-on-win-8-1-but-not-a-single-working-one#post_21513603

and here ... https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=398955

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!