Bitcoin Forum
July 21, 2017, 08:52:47 PM *
News: Are you prepared for Aug 1 / BIP148?
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: poclbm using CPU 100% even though using GPU?  (Read 63939 times)
yrral
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 12:23:29 AM
 #21

Are you guys all using -f 1 or some absurdly low -f?
Set -f to something higher and your cpu util will go down (though hashrate will as well)
1500670367
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500670367

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500670367
Reply with quote  #2

1500670367
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1500670367
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500670367

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500670367
Reply with quote  #2

1500670367
Report to moderator
Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile
April 01, 2011, 01:17:04 AM
 #22

No, that doesn't help yrral.


                           ,▄▄▄███████▌    ███████▄▄▄                           
                      ▄▄█████▀▀▀▀ ████▌    ██████████████▄,                     
                  ▄▄████▀▀▄▄█████▌████▌    ██████████████████▄                 
               ▄████▀▀▄██████████▌████▌    █████████████████████▄,             
            ,▄███▀;▄█████████████▌████▌    ████████████████████████▄           
          ▄████▀▄███████▀▀   ████▌████▌    █████████▌  -▀▀███████████▄         
        ,████▀▄██████▀"      ████▌████▌    █████████▌      ▀▀██████████▄       
       ████▀▄██████▀         ████▌████▌    █████████▌         ▀██████████▄     
     ▄████,██████'           ████▌████▌    █████████▌           ▀█████████▄     
    ▄███▀▄█████▀             ████▌████▌    █████████▌             ▀█████████   
   ▄███▀▄████▀                             █████████▌              ` `------   
  ▐███▀▄████▀                              █████████▌                           
 ,████▐████▀                               ███████████████████████████████████▄
 ████ ████▌                                ████████████████████████████████████
▐███▌▐████                                 ████████████████████████████████████▌
▐███-████▌                                 █████████████████████████████████████
████ ████▌                                 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
████ ████`                                                             ▐████████
████ ████⌐             ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄            ▐████████
████⌐████▌             ████████████████▌   ███████████████▌            ▐████████
▐███▌▐████             ,,,,,,,,,,,`████▌   ███████████████▌            ████████▌
 ████ ████▌            ███████████ ████▌   ███████████████▌           ▐████████
 ▐████ ████▄           ▀▀▀▀▀▀█████ ████▌   ██████████▀▀▀▀▀▀          ▄████████▌
  ▀███▌▐████▄                ▐████ ████▌   █████████▌               ▄█████████ 
   ▀███▄▀████▄               ▐████ ████▌   █████████▌              ▄█████████   
    ▀████'█████▄             ▐████ ████▌   █████████▌             ██████████   
     ▀████▄▀█████▄           ▐████ ████▌   █████████▌           ▄█████████▀     
      `████▄▀██████▄         ▐████ ████▌   █████████▌         ▄██████████▀     
        ▀████▄▀██████▄▄      ▐████ ████▌   █████████▌      ▄███████████▀       
          ▀████▄ ▀███████▄,  ▐████ ████▌   █████████▌  ,▄████████████▀-         
            ▀█████▄▀▀█████████████ ████▌   ████████████████████████▀           
               ▀█████▄▄▀██████████ ████▌   █████████████████████▀▀             
                  ▀██████▄▄▀▀▀████ ████▌   ██████████████████▀▀                 
                     `▀▀███████▄▄▄▄█████   ██████████████▀▀                     
                           ▀▀▀██████████▄ ▄███████▀▀▀▀                         

_gilgame.es_________________________________________________________
ESPORT PLATFORM FOR EVERYONE_
.ICO Starts.
___20 Jun__
rezin777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 01:25:58 AM
 #23

Are you guys all using -f 1 or some absurdly low -f?
Set -f to something higher and your cpu util will go down (though hashrate will as well)

This isn't the issue.

Using -f1 with a single card will require very little cpu usage, 0-3%.

Adding the second card, regardless of what you put after -f, will result in much, much more cpu usage for each gpu mining. I get 25% per gpu on a quad.
zoro
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 226


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 06:22:00 PM
 #24

i was testing the RPC miner and i see the same behavior. I wonder if the drivers + windows have an issue rather than the software!
anyone else trying other miners?
i was said that in linux the cpu goes down to 20-30%

"killer app" of BTC = MasterCoin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=265488.0Mastercoin(A new protocol layer on top of Bitcoin)
goatpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554

Armory Developer


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 08:20:45 PM
 #25

This is most likely a driver side issue. From what I gather, bridging the cards into crossfire (or having a dual gpu card) will prevent cpu load, even though you are running several instances of your miner.

qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
April 02, 2011, 02:32:48 PM
 #26

This is most likely a driver side issue. From what I gather, bridging the cards into crossfire (or having a dual gpu card) will prevent cpu load, even though you are running several instances of your miner.

It's working exactly the other way.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
rezin777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
April 02, 2011, 08:55:04 PM
 #27

This is most likely a driver side issue. From what I gather, bridging the cards into crossfire (or having a dual gpu card) will prevent cpu load, even though you are running several instances of your miner.

It's working exactly the other way.

I'm a bit confused.

In which situation does the extra cpu load occur?

a. Two single gpu cards - crossfire enabled (causes too much hashrate fluctuation to be worthwhile)
b. Two single gpu cards - crossfire disabled
c. One dual gpu card - crossfire enabled (can you even run a dual gpu card without crossfire?)

Or does it occur in all of these?

I haven't seen anyone complain about high cpu usage with a single, dual gpu card, but I could have missed it. If it doesn't, why?

I've experienced b. and I could test a. but that would require shutting down my miner and I'm reluctant to do that!  Cheesy
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
April 03, 2011, 06:29:01 PM
 #28

It depends on the model. Any combination of HD 6900 will cause the 100% cpu usage, no matter about crossfire or not.
The only woraround is to disable crossfire and have only 1 card plugged to a monitor, start a miner, plug that monitor to the other card, start the miner and so on. Yep, it sucks big time.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
rezin777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
April 03, 2011, 07:17:12 PM
 #29

It depends on the model. Any combination of HD 6900 will cause the 100% cpu usage, no matter about crossfire or not.
The only woraround is to disable crossfire and have only 1 card plugged to a monitor, start a miner, plug that monitor to the other card, start the miner and so on. Yep, it sucks big time.

Indeed, that is the work around for making the card active in windows. Although, I'm not sure what it has to do with the extra cpu load. Or are you suggesting that this will get rid of the extra load?   Huh

I don't mind taking extra steps for windows to make a card active. I do mind the extra cpu load.

Also, does a 6990 cause the extra cpu load?
EPiSKiNG
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 744



View Profile
April 04, 2011, 01:01:15 AM
 #30

I'm using a 5970 in two systems, an AMD Phenom II X2 555 and an Intel i7 920.  Both running Stream SDK 2.2 and the intel avgs about 30% CPU load, the AMD is 100%.  This hasn't been solved yet?  Weird.

-EP

YOU CAN TRUST ME! EPiSKiNG-'s COINS!! BUYING / SELLING BTC - USA --- View my OTC Trading Feedback!!
<gribble> You are identified as user EPiSKiNG-, with GPG key id 721730127CD7574D, key fingerprint EBFC267F8F10EFD1FB84854D721730127CD7574D, and bitcoin address 1EPiSKiNG139bzcwTm8rxMFNfFFdanLW5K
Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile
April 04, 2011, 01:31:11 AM
 #31

I'm using a 5970 in two systems, an AMD Phenom II X2 555 and an Intel i7 920.  Both running Stream SDK 2.2 and the intel avgs about 30% CPU load, the AMD is 100%.  This hasn't been solved yet?  Weird.

-EP

Dual core vs quad core with hyperthreading, each instance of poclbm should peg an entire core, so that sounds about right.


                           ,▄▄▄███████▌    ███████▄▄▄                           
                      ▄▄█████▀▀▀▀ ████▌    ██████████████▄,                     
                  ▄▄████▀▀▄▄█████▌████▌    ██████████████████▄                 
               ▄████▀▀▄██████████▌████▌    █████████████████████▄,             
            ,▄███▀;▄█████████████▌████▌    ████████████████████████▄           
          ▄████▀▄███████▀▀   ████▌████▌    █████████▌  -▀▀███████████▄         
        ,████▀▄██████▀"      ████▌████▌    █████████▌      ▀▀██████████▄       
       ████▀▄██████▀         ████▌████▌    █████████▌         ▀██████████▄     
     ▄████,██████'           ████▌████▌    █████████▌           ▀█████████▄     
    ▄███▀▄█████▀             ████▌████▌    █████████▌             ▀█████████   
   ▄███▀▄████▀                             █████████▌              ` `------   
  ▐███▀▄████▀                              █████████▌                           
 ,████▐████▀                               ███████████████████████████████████▄
 ████ ████▌                                ████████████████████████████████████
▐███▌▐████                                 ████████████████████████████████████▌
▐███-████▌                                 █████████████████████████████████████
████ ████▌                                 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████
████ ████`                                                             ▐████████
████ ████⌐             ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄            ▐████████
████⌐████▌             ████████████████▌   ███████████████▌            ▐████████
▐███▌▐████             ,,,,,,,,,,,`████▌   ███████████████▌            ████████▌
 ████ ████▌            ███████████ ████▌   ███████████████▌           ▐████████
 ▐████ ████▄           ▀▀▀▀▀▀█████ ████▌   ██████████▀▀▀▀▀▀          ▄████████▌
  ▀███▌▐████▄                ▐████ ████▌   █████████▌               ▄█████████ 
   ▀███▄▀████▄               ▐████ ████▌   █████████▌              ▄█████████   
    ▀████'█████▄             ▐████ ████▌   █████████▌             ██████████   
     ▀████▄▀█████▄           ▐████ ████▌   █████████▌           ▄█████████▀     
      `████▄▀██████▄         ▐████ ████▌   █████████▌         ▄██████████▀     
        ▀████▄▀██████▄▄      ▐████ ████▌   █████████▌      ▄███████████▀       
          ▀████▄ ▀███████▄,  ▐████ ████▌   █████████▌  ,▄████████████▀-         
            ▀█████▄▀▀█████████████ ████▌   ████████████████████████▀           
               ▀█████▄▄▀██████████ ████▌   █████████████████████▀▀             
                  ▀██████▄▄▀▀▀████ ████▌   ██████████████████▀▀                 
                     `▀▀███████▄▄▄▄█████   ██████████████▀▀                     
                           ▀▀▀██████████▄ ▄███████▀▀▀▀                         

_gilgame.es_________________________________________________________
ESPORT PLATFORM FOR EVERYONE_
.ICO Starts.
___20 Jun__
biochem
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 06, 2011, 10:18:56 PM
 #32

I've got the same problem
AMD + one 5850 consume 100% of CPU
Windows XP
 Sad
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
April 07, 2011, 03:36:10 AM
 #33

with my i7 920, I get 38% load, went into task manager and there was an svchost that was taking 13% that I close, and I put affinity to CPU0 to both my miners and they share the 12/13% 6/6 or 7/5 or 7/6

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694



View Profile WWW
April 24, 2011, 01:07:25 AM
 #34

So this hasn't been resolved in the slightest ? 

All my PC do that.
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile
April 24, 2011, 01:35:24 AM
 #35

Some one please please please please try granola & see at least it reduces your CPU.
Please please try.

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6188.0

please try

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
|Your Digital Network | 10MB Chain
| Algo XEVAN | DK3 | Masternodes
|BSD - Tether USDT Pair ✔
| Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
| Cryptopia | LOCALCRYPTO | Livecoin
| Coinofpayments | Weekly Bitsend Airdrop

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
rezin777
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
April 24, 2011, 03:42:54 AM
 #36

Some one please please please please try granola & see at least it reduces your CPU.
Please please try.

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6188.0

please try

I only do things for 8 pleases. 7 pleases is far too few.
Beremat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118


View Profile
April 24, 2011, 03:58:24 AM
 #37

Some one please please please please try granola & see at least it reduces your CPU.
Please please try.

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6188.0

please try
Tried it, no change
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile
April 24, 2011, 05:21:11 AM
 #38

Some one please please please please try granola & see at least it reduces your CPU.
Please please try.

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6188.0

please try
Tried it, no change
damn

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
|Your Digital Network | 10MB Chain
| Algo XEVAN | DK3 | Masternodes
|BSD - Tether USDT Pair ✔
| Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
| Cryptopia | LOCALCRYPTO | Livecoin
| Coinofpayments | Weekly Bitsend Airdrop

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
proudhon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232



View Profile
April 25, 2011, 04:57:11 PM
 #39

I just want to chime in to report that I'm also getting 100% CPU usage with poclbm-gui with my 6990.  I'm using Catalyst 11.3 with SDK 2.4, and my CPU is an Athlon 64x2 4200+.  This is a pretty big problem, since 100% CPU is essentially just an additional cost to mining.
m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171


View Profile
April 26, 2011, 08:04:02 PM
 #40

At least on linux you can try to export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1 environment variable.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!