Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:13:55 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: poclbm using CPU 100% even though using GPU?  (Read 62855 times)
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
April 26, 2011, 09:12:22 PM
 #41

That doesn't help for the problem with 100% CPU on multi GPU setups.
1481177635
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177635

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177635
Reply with quote  #2

1481177635
Report to moderator
1481177635
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177635

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177635
Reply with quote  #2

1481177635
Report to moderator
1481177635
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177635

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177635
Reply with quote  #2

1481177635
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481177635
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177635

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177635
Reply with quote  #2

1481177635
Report to moderator
jalen
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 04, 2011, 03:30:52 AM
 #42

I know this is an ATI focused thread, but I'm seeing the same behavior on my nVidia cards. 

Two seperate systems.

1 - quad core 2.66ghz core2, GTX 260, drivers 270.61. OS Win7 64.
2 - Dual core 2.93ghz core2, GTX 460, drivers 270.61. OS WinXP 32.

On system 2, poclbm.exe hits 50% cpu (all of 1 core) and causes the temperatures to skyrocket when running only on GPU.
On system 1, poclbm.exe hits 25% cpu (again 1 core). 

Since I do not have multiple GPUs in each of these systems, I can't confirm if its the same problem, but considering the other symptoms marked here...

So, it seems that each instance of the miner is using the GPU, but also maxing out 1 core of the CPU per GPU client loaded.  This has been stated many times by m0mchil to not be proper behavior.  Seems it's not relegated just to the ATI cards any more.
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 04, 2011, 03:45:54 AM
 #43

I'm lucky to have an i7 920 with HT and 2 cards, so both together do 13% after affinity adjustment....

Has anyone found the fix yet?

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
Ali_Ze
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 07:13:18 AM
 #44

im running 4 identical rigs. and on 2 of them im having this issue.

what gives.?
frankiebits
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155


Cheif Executive Director of Thermal Dissipation


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 12:11:54 AM
 #45

Same issue here, tried a bunch of stuff , nothing worked so far. Only thing I haven't tried are different miners.

Anyone else try any?

I guess that is what I will do, I'll come back with the results.

allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
May 09, 2011, 09:37:51 AM
 #46

Same issue here, tried a bunch of stuff , nothing worked so far. Only thing I haven't tried are different miners.

Anyone else try any?

I guess that is what I will do, I'll come back with the results.

Apparently the miner doesn't make any difference. I have the same issue with both guiminer (essentially poclbm with a pretty gui on top) and phoenix.


gat3way
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
May 09, 2011, 09:56:38 AM
 #47

GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS works only for SDK2.3 and above. With older SDKs you are out of luck.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
May 09, 2011, 10:30:02 AM
 #48

Any way to turn this variable on in Windows? Modify poclbm?

Ddraig
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
May 11, 2011, 04:11:20 PM
 #49

I'm having the same issue here.

Running:
ATI 4870 - Single Card w/ 1gig of ram.
Win XP 64bit
8 Gigs RAM
AMD Phenom II x4 940 CPU

BC: 1MD6boqjpYczFzAqZKd3Thxhr6efqdL1cZ

Bitcoin Mining Is Dead - http://youtu.be/4fwAseQoUCs   Bitcoin Quick Tutorial and Overview - http://youtu.be/l0oA3WnhH4g
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 09:07:22 AM
 #50

Same problem here,
Got two 6990's so 4 gpu's and the each rape a core without me slapping affinity

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
BitAlBit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 10:02:09 PM
 #51

my problematic situation:
I have on ATI 4670 11.3 & 2.3 SDK. But CPU100% (and GUP with guiminer on always 70°C, too much?).
i seen other posts about cpus but 100% still remain..  Undecided
any solution?

thanks Wink
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
May 12, 2011, 11:56:26 PM
 #52

So far no matter what I tried in windows I cannot fix this problem. I will try linux mining over the weekend to see if that fixes it.

Guys give this a try:

https://www.bitcoin.org/smf/index.php?topic=7374.0

not saying that it fixes it ...just to try it.

Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 04:36:11 PM
 #53

there are ALOT of people in the world that dont know JACK about linux
Very honestly here is my Entire knowledge of Linux

Good for wireless cracking
almost completely open source
If your a noob GTFO
Uses some differnt HDD encryption thingy
and uhhh, Has a penguin, no windows key.
Lots of weird "Buntu" things

Literally that is Everything i know about Linux

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Nythain
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
May 13, 2011, 04:42:35 PM
 #54

there are ALOT of people in the world that dont know JACK about linux
Very honestly here is my Entire knowledge of Linux

Good for wireless cracking
almost completely open source
If your a noob GTFO
Uses some differnt HDD encryption thingy
and uhhh, Has a penguin, no windows key.
Lots of weird "Buntu" things

Literally that is Everything i know about Linux
I lol'd

nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 13, 2011, 04:56:57 PM
 #55

there are ALOT of people in the world that dont know JACK about linux
Very honestly here is my Entire knowledge of Linux

Good for wireless cracking
almost completely open source
If your a noob GTFO
Uses some differnt HDD encryption thingy
and uhhh, Has a penguin, no windows key.
Lots of weird "Buntu" things

Literally that is Everything i know about Linux
I lol'd

I facepalmed :/

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
May 14, 2011, 04:27:46 PM
 #56

rofl!!

But seriously Linux and other open source operating systems (OpenBSD, FreeBSD, NetBSD) kick ass. I used to be all hardcore into linux from back in the days of the 2.0 kernel. I was a big slackware fan and was so into compiling all my programs. Along the way the evil M$ empire got me and I installed Windows XP on my main machine (I wanted to play games) and the rest as they say is history. I still use Linux as my server operating system and I refuse to use Windows for that purpose.

You gotta admit that Linux has come a long way - a VERY long way. I don't think M$ is shaking in their boots yet though.

For mining Linux is perfect. It uses minimal resources (can be trimmed to run with very small amounts of ram) and if you use a more user friendly distro like Ubuntu it can be very well suited to quickly putting together a mining system.

Long live Linux!!!

kstepyra
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
May 14, 2011, 05:22:31 PM
 #57

Hi!

About CPU usage - i just mounted 1 GPU on core 2 duo and it was 0% on poclbm. Installed another - both uses 1 core at 100% (consuming whole processor at 100%).

Is here any way to stop this? got 2 comps running win 7 (one 64 bit another 32 bit) and both have same problem with multiple GPU's

huayra.agera
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
May 14, 2011, 05:39:51 PM
 #58

I would also like to share the same issue: 2 5850s Crossfire 16x and 4x. Two threads of poclbm uses around 25% of CPU each making the whole cpu 50% utilized. On my other mining rig a single 6850 and CPU is @ 12% utilization. I hope this get's fixed.

BTC: 1JMPScxohom4MXy9X1Vgj8AGwcHjT8XTuy
kstepyra
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
May 14, 2011, 07:32:03 PM
 #59

I heard changing GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS  variable to 1 puts cpu's on 0-5% state while mining. Any idea how to change it? in ANY sdk, can be 2.3 or 2.4 even.
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
May 14, 2011, 09:10:27 PM
 #60

I heard changing GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS  variable to 1 puts cpu's on 0-5% state while mining. Any idea how to change it? in ANY sdk, can be 2.3 or 2.4 even.

its an environment variable... I tried in Windows didn't help... seems to be only Linux

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!