Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 03:41:36 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Anonymous Ads - bitcoin advertising network [migration to v.2]  (Read 39429 times)
arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1116


View Profile
July 15, 2012, 10:39:54 PM
 #221

New feature 1: Anonymous Ads shows ads only on languages accepted by visitor's browser. If there is no such ad then "Your ad here" link will be displayed (translated to the visitor's language). That link points to affiliate's page thus allowing to buy ads from particular affiliate.

New feature 2: New version of affiliate code. It works faster and reduces load on AA server. Please use it.

Current AA status: AA server is under heavy load, the following effects are possible:
1. Reduced availability and responsiveness of the main site.
2. Reduced availability and responsiveness of ad server for affiliates with old code.
3. Delayed bitcoin transaction (for both: reception and withdrawal).
4. Delayed (and thus distorted) statistics.

If you are AA's affiliate, you can help by updating affiliate code on your sites.

Thanks in advance and sorry for inconvenience.

1480779696
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480779696

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480779696
Reply with quote  #2

1480779696
Report to moderator
1480779696
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480779696

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480779696
Reply with quote  #2

1480779696
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2012, 06:50:53 PM
 #222

I tried using the new JavaScript code, and http://validator.w3.org complained that there is no "data-aa" attribute for the script element. Do you think you could provide valid XHTML 1.1 option?

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1116


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 07:55:16 PM
 #223

I tried using the new JavaScript code, and http://validator.w3.org complained that there is no "data-aa" attribute for the script element. Do you think you could provide valid XHTML 1.1 option?

Yes, please see the newer version of affiliate code. Should be xhtml 1.1 compliant Smiley

ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2012, 08:51:37 PM
 #224

I tried using the new JavaScript code, and http://validator.w3.org complained that there is no "data-aa" attribute for the script element. Do you think you could provide valid XHTML 1.1 option?

Yes, please see the newer version of affiliate code. Should be xhtml 1.1 compliant Smiley

Thanks, but "class" isn't defined for scripts, either. The only allowed ones are "id", "charset", "type" (which you're missing, btw), "src" and "defer" (see http://www.w3.org/MarkUp/SCHEMA/xhtml-script-1.xsd).
I just checked, and all elements you use can have an "id" attribute (I didn't check "iframe", since that isn't valid in standard XHTML 1.1, anyway). If you want to make sure, just check for both; that way affiliates can simply choose whichever they want, especially if they want to use one that doesn't have an "id" (did any of those have "class"?).

Here's a small patch to do that, just to make sure I'm not being to incoherent for you to understand me (I'm *really* tired ATM): Tongue
Code:
    var elementSrc = element.getAttribute("src");
    var elementClass = element.getAttribute("class");
+   if (!elementClass)
+     elementClass = element.getAttribute("id");
    var elementSig = element.getAttribute("data-aa");

The missing "type" and superfluous "async" aren't critical, as they don't seem to affect the displayed ad and I can simply correct them. Also, in your current version of the code, you're missing some "https:" prefixes to complete the URLs.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
opticbit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 676


PGP: 6EBEBCE1E0507C38


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2012, 09:07:55 PM
 #225

i don't get much traffic so i don't think i'm having much of an affect, i'll get around to it this week.

Set up the same thing..
http://bit.ly/btcrefs
Get more bitcoins.
gbl08ma
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 306


Donations: http://tny.im/nx


View Profile WWW
July 16, 2012, 09:16:30 PM
 #226

i don't get much traffic so i don't think i'm having much of an affect, i'll get around to it this week.

Even if you don't get much traffic, I believe every bit counts; furthermore, ads are loading very slowly (and may not load at all) with the old affiliate code, which means that from your not-much-traffic even fewer people will see the ads.

arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1116


View Profile
July 16, 2012, 10:19:15 PM
 #227

I tried using the new JavaScript code, and http://validator.w3.org complained that there is no "data-aa" attribute for the script element. Do you think you could provide valid XHTML 1.1 option?

Yes, please see the newer version of affiliate code. Should be xhtml 1.1 compliant Smiley

Thanks, but "class" isn't defined for scripts, either. The only allowed ones are "id", "charset", "type" (which you're missing, btw), "src" and "defer" (see http://www.w3.org/MarkUp/SCHEMA/xhtml-script-1.xsd).
I just checked, and all elements you use can have an "id" attribute (I didn't check "iframe", since that isn't valid in standard XHTML 1.1, anyway). If you want to make sure, just check for both; that way affiliates can simply choose whichever they want, especially if they want to use one that doesn't have an "id" (did any of those have "class"?).

Here's a small patch to do that, just to make sure I'm not being to incoherent for you to understand me (I'm *really* tired ATM): Tongue
Code:
    var elementSrc = element.getAttribute("src");
    var elementClass = element.getAttribute("class");
+   if (!elementClass)
+     elementClass = element.getAttribute("id");
    var elementSig = element.getAttribute("data-aa");

The missing "type" and superfluous "async" aren't critical, as they don't seem to affect the displayed ad and I can simply correct them. Also, in your current version of the code, you're missing some "https:" prefixes to complete the URLs.

Your patch has been accepted, thanks Smiley

I think most people are ok with html5, so I returned "data-aa" attribute. However you may replace it with "id='aa-ad-unit-<your affiliate id>'" and it should work too.

ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2012, 08:10:36 AM
 #228

Your patch has been accepted, thanks Smiley

I think most people are ok with html5, so I returned "data-aa" attribute. However you may replace it with "id='aa-ad-unit-<your affiliate id>'" and it should work too.

Thanks, that was all I was trying to ask for, anyway.

There's still a problem with the codes displayed on your site. If I go to https://anonymousads.com/affiliate/<BTC-address>/code, all the ad-display codes are still missing a proper protocol specification. E.g:
Quote
<script data-aa='525' src='//ad.anonymousads.com/525/js' defer='defer' async='async' type='text/javascript'></script>

Otherwise, things are working great, thanks for all your hard work!

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1116


View Profile
July 17, 2012, 08:44:17 AM
 #229

Your patch has been accepted, thanks Smiley

I think most people are ok with html5, so I returned "data-aa" attribute. However you may replace it with "id='aa-ad-unit-<your affiliate id>'" and it should work too.

Thanks, that was all I was trying to ask for, anyway.

There's still a problem with the codes displayed on your site. If I go to https://anonymousads.com/affiliate/<BTC-address>/code, all the ad-display codes are still missing a proper protocol specification. E.g:
Quote
<script data-aa='525' src='//ad.anonymousads.com/525/js' defer='defer' async='async' type='text/javascript'></script>

Otherwise, things are working great, thanks for all your hard work!

Protocol specification is missing intentionally. I think that is called a "Relative Reference". It allows to use the same code for serving https ads for secure sites and http ads for normal sites. Thank you for using AA and providing your feedback.

ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
July 17, 2012, 08:54:01 AM
 #230

I see - I didn't know that worked. Thanks for pointing that out.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
xDan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 662

ヽ( ㅇㅅㅇ)ノ ~!!


View Profile
July 25, 2012, 11:04:10 AM
 #231

Hello, sorry if this has already been asked, but:

Is it possible to create an ad embed code containing arbitrary payment addresses?

Say, I might want to compensate users of a site for their user submitted content, for a given ad slot on a particular page I might want to swap my bitcoin address for theirs 50% of the time to give them 50% of income.

Ideally these separate addresses are still rated by advertisers under the banner of a single "site".

HODLing for the longest time. Skippin fast right around the moon. On a rocketship straight to mars.
Up, up and away with my beautiful, my beautiful Bitcoin~
arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1116


View Profile
July 26, 2012, 12:09:26 AM
 #232

Hello, sorry if this has already been asked, but:

Is it possible to create an ad embed code containing arbitrary payment addresses?

Say, I might want to compensate users of a site for their user submitted content, for a given ad slot on a particular page I might want to swap my bitcoin address for theirs 50% of the time to give them 50% of income.

Ideally these separate addresses are still rated by advertisers under the banner of a single "site".

Hi! Did I understand it correctly, that you are AA affiliate and you want to occasionally share advertisers' money with your visitors?

There is no such functionality in AA currently. If you want to split your profits, you could use http://btcrelay.com (create a paylist by URL and use its bitcoin address to register AA affiliate.. affiliate's profits will be distributed according to your paylist, that can be generated by your server dynamically). Maybe http://btcurl.com/ could be useful too.

xDan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 662

ヽ( ㅇㅅㅇ)ノ ~!!


View Profile
July 26, 2012, 10:52:50 AM
 #233

As far as I see, using btc relay would require me generating a unique affiliate and associated paylist for each item of user submitted content, which would be unfeasible. Maybe I didn't understand it properly though.

throughads.com seems to do what I'm looking for, but it isn't very good in other ways (have to specify CPC etc.. in the code rather than best profit being found automatically, also seems abandoned and unused).

Here's a further description of the potential use case:

Quote
I make a site with user submitted content, the user provides their payment address when submitting content, I then compensate users for their content by inserting their payment address in the ad code 50% of the time to give them 50% of income generated by their content.

The ad network would still have a concept of particular zones / ad locations of value (e.g. I declare a zone with a unique ID in the ad embed code, these zones could be the things that are manually registered with the ad network), but simply the payout address can be specified in the ad code arbitrarily.

Seems to me, a bitcoin ad service offering this would be a real innovation. It would enable very easy building of profit sharing sites. Every file upload, image upload, site etc.. could offer uploaders a % cut as an incentive. (And work worldwide without the issues of paypal etc.)

It's also something that really has to be done on the ad-network's side of things since that is where profit is determined and click-fraud etc is prevented. Even with the case of anonymousads where click fraud may not be an issue, there's no real way to know what profit came from what unique URL / piece of content.

I can't just record total profit and divide it between all users based on their content's pageloads for example, as that could be faked.

Eh, sorry for talking on, I don't think Anonymousads (or any other ad network) is really built to be able to do this, but maybe this can be inspiration for someone Smiley

HODLing for the longest time. Skippin fast right around the moon. On a rocketship straight to mars.
Up, up and away with my beautiful, my beautiful Bitcoin~
arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1116


View Profile
July 26, 2012, 11:50:43 AM
 #234

As far as I see, using btc relay would require me generating a unique affiliate and associated paylist for each item of user submitted content, which would be unfeasible. Maybe I didn't understand it properly though.

throughads.com seems to do what I'm looking for, but it isn't very good in other ways (have to specify CPC etc.. in the code rather than best profit being found automatically, also seems abandoned and unused).

Here's a further description of the potential use case:

Quote
I make a site with user submitted content, the user provides their payment address when submitting content, I then compensate users for their content by inserting their payment address in the ad code 50% of the time to give them 50% of income generated by their content.

The ad network would still have a concept of particular zones / ad locations of value (e.g. I declare a zone with a unique ID in the ad embed code, these zones could be the things that are manually registered with the ad network), but simply the payout address can be specified in the ad code arbitrarily.

Seems to me, a bitcoin ad service offering this would be a real innovation. It would enable very easy building of profit sharing sites. Every file upload, image upload, site etc.. could offer uploaders a % cut as an incentive. (And work worldwide without the issues of paypal etc.)

It's also something that really has to be done on the ad-network's side of things since that is where profit is determined and click-fraud etc is prevented. Even with the case of anonymousads where click fraud may not be an issue, there's no real way to know what profit came from what unique URL / piece of content.

I can't just record total profit and divide it between all users based on their content's pageloads for example, as that could be faked.

Eh, sorry for talking on, I don't think Anonymousads (or any other ad network) is really built to be able to do this, but maybe this can be inspiration for someone Smiley

I think we can implement API that allows automatic affiliate registration (without visiting AA site). It would allow your users to earn and even to see their stats. But probably this API would require your server to authorize somehow to prevent flooding of our database. Would you use such API?

Thanks for idea!

xDan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 662

ヽ( ㅇㅅㅇ)ノ ~!!


View Profile
July 26, 2012, 02:28:33 PM
 #235

I certainly might use it. Bear in mind I haven't even made the site that needs this yet Wink

Though, IMO it's still not the most elegant solution, potentially requiring a request to your server each submission of content (often seems very slow for me). But better than nothing of course Smiley

HODLing for the longest time. Skippin fast right around the moon. On a rocketship straight to mars.
Up, up and away with my beautiful, my beautiful Bitcoin~
LuaKT
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68



View Profile
July 30, 2012, 04:31:24 PM
 #236

How long does it take for a site to link with an affiliate?

I have been using ads of my site for a while but it's not linked with my affiliate yet.

arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1116


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 05:16:37 PM
 #237

How long does it take for a site to link with an affiliate?

I have been using ads of my site for a while but it's not linked with my affiliate yet.

Normally it should happen in half an hour.. However if your site's health is 0 and it had been added long ago, then it won't happen automatically (sorry for inconvenience, fixed it for your site).

localhost
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389


View Profile
July 31, 2012, 12:54:05 PM
 #238

The new adcode is much faster indeed, but now it seems that my sites aren't detected as containing it: health dropped to 58%, except on the site where I still haven't updated the code: http://anonymousads.com/affiliate/447

-
arsenische
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1116


View Profile
July 31, 2012, 07:32:13 PM
 #239

The new adcode is much faster indeed, but now it seems that my sites aren't detected as containing it: health dropped to 58%, except on the site where I still haven't updated the code: http://anonymousads.com/affiliate/447

Looks like you are missing data-aa attribute

localhost
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389


View Profile
July 31, 2012, 07:54:54 PM
 #240

The new adcode is much faster indeed, but now it seems that my sites aren't detected as containing it: health dropped to 58%, except on the site where I still haven't updated the code: http://anonymousads.com/affiliate/447

Looks like you are missing data-aa attribute
Yeah but all works fine still... is there any use in this attribute apart from breaking HTML5 validation?

-
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!