Bitcoin Forum
October 15, 2018, 10:54:15 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][BMR] Bitmonero - a new coin based on CryptoNote technology - LAUNCHED  (Read 67865 times)
thankful_for_today
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 19, 2014, 08:22:13 PM
 #181

fix coming soon, it looks like get_block_reward doesn't work as intended.

i will pm thankful_for_today with some c code to disable adaptive block sizing and set blocksize limits to those similar in bitcoin, then we should be back on track with a hardfork i hope.

Hello!

It's allright Smiley
I have a fix and I will deploy it now.
Hardfork is not required. The problem is in mining code not in protocol rules.

10 minutes, please Wink

cool, sounds good Smiley

The problem is in block generation code. In one of last updates in Bytecoin there was a bug introduced: it calculates extra-size penalty the wrong way. As a result we see that a mined block isn't accepted by the network. I will consume the big transaction now into correct block. As soon as network accepts this block I will release new mining code to git.

Here is the tx that caused the problem:

id: <f1d8e3391161e4e98566c746d605f97cf432cbd19c83d8b0444e02748f54117e>
blob_size: 20534


Vote for BitMonero on Comkort exchange: https://comkort.com/vote
BTC: 1F1Ryrc2gvJQsVNTS5xvCxKugMjvbFRzX4
1539644055
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539644055

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539644055
Reply with quote  #2

1539644055
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539644055
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539644055

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539644055
Reply with quote  #2

1539644055
Report to moderator
1539644055
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539644055

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539644055
Reply with quote  #2

1539644055
Report to moderator
thankful_for_today
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 19, 2014, 08:24:25 PM
 #182

I'm seeing a ton of red in bitmonerod - presumably this is the issue displaying itself.

Do I need to re-download the blockchain? Download a new wallet  or bitmonerod? Just leave it mining and it will fix itself?

Thanks.

It's a soft fork so prior blocks should be OK, just need to recompile

Yes. No actions from node operators is needed just now. As soon a fix will be pushed to repo you need to replace old binaries to new ones. But in any way this will not be an urgent issue. The problem now is that nobody can include that transaction in block Wink As soon as it will be accepted network will continue normal operations.

Vote for BitMonero on Comkort exchange: https://comkort.com/vote
BTC: 1F1Ryrc2gvJQsVNTS5xvCxKugMjvbFRzX4
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 19, 2014, 08:43:59 PM
 #183

The problem is in block generation code. In one of last updates in Bytecoin there was a bug introduced: it calculates extra-size penalty the wrong way. As a result we see that a mined block isn't accepted by the network. I will consume the big transaction now into correct block. As soon as network accepts this block I will release new mining code to git.

Here is the tx that caused the problem:

id: <f1d8e3391161e4e98566c746d605f97cf432cbd19c83d8b0444e02748f54117e>
blob_size: 20534

Funnily this is my tx

Hope to see the commit soon!

edit: looks like your patch worked, as the tx now exists in the main chain.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
eizh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 19, 2014, 08:45:24 PM
 #184

The problem is in block generation code. In one of last updates in Bytecoin there was a bug introduced: it calculates extra-size penalty the wrong way. As a result we see that a mined block isn't accepted by the network. I will consume the big transaction now into correct block. As soon as network accepts this block I will release new mining code to git.

Here is the tx that caused the problem:

id: <f1d8e3391161e4e98566c746d605f97cf432cbd19c83d8b0444e02748f54117e>
blob_size: 20534

Funnily this is my tx

Hope to see the commit soon!

First notable event in the history of BMR.
thankful_for_today
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 19, 2014, 08:47:07 PM
 #185

Looks like it's fixed now. Big tx gone into blockchain. You can see blocks in the network at normal speed.

1. Sorry for inconvenience.

2. I'll post about git changes soon.

Vote for BitMonero on Comkort exchange: https://comkort.com/vote
BTC: 1F1Ryrc2gvJQsVNTS5xvCxKugMjvbFRzX4
thankful_for_today
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 19, 2014, 08:47:58 PM
 #186

The problem is in block generation code. In one of last updates in Bytecoin there was a bug introduced: it calculates extra-size penalty the wrong way. As a result we see that a mined block isn't accepted by the network. I will consume the big transaction now into correct block. As soon as network accepts this block I will release new mining code to git.

Here is the tx that caused the problem:

id: <f1d8e3391161e4e98566c746d605f97cf432cbd19c83d8b0444e02748f54117e>
blob_size: 20534

Funnily this is my tx

Hope to see the commit soon!

edit: looks like your patch worked, as the tx now exists in the main chain.

Thank you for this problem. This is the way software becomes better.

Vote for BitMonero on Comkort exchange: https://comkort.com/vote
BTC: 1F1Ryrc2gvJQsVNTS5xvCxKugMjvbFRzX4
eizh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 19, 2014, 08:57:10 PM
 #187

It's up on git. Can someone compile the Windows binary?
x0rcist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 19, 2014, 08:57:15 PM
 #188

The problem is in block generation code. In one of last updates in Bytecoin there was a bug introduced: it calculates extra-size penalty the wrong way. As a result we see that a mined block isn't accepted by the network. I will consume the big transaction now into correct block. As soon as network accepts this block I will release new mining code to git.

Here is the tx that caused the problem:

id: <f1d8e3391161e4e98566c746d605f97cf432cbd19c83d8b0444e02748f54117e>
blob_size: 20534

Funnily this is my tx

Hope to see the commit soon!

edit: looks like your patch worked, as the tx now exists in the main chain.

Thank you for this problem. This is the way software becomes better.

Thank you for fixing it. But also, come join us on freenode.
We where just discussing this tx bug before you got back Wink
eizh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 19, 2014, 08:59:15 PM
 #189


The problem is in block generation code. In one of last updates in Bytecoin there was a bug introduced: it calculates extra-size penalty the wrong way. As a result we see that a mined block isn't accepted by the network. I will consume the big transaction now into correct block. As soon as network accepts this block I will release new mining code to git.

Here is the tx that caused the problem:

id: <f1d8e3391161e4e98566c746d605f97cf432cbd19c83d8b0444e02748f54117e>
blob_size: 20534


Does BCN still possess this issue?
thankful_for_today
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 19, 2014, 09:02:46 PM
 #190

Looks like it's fixed now. Big tx gone into blockchain. You can see blocks in the network at normal speed.

1. Sorry for inconvenience.

2. I'll post about git changes soon.

Git updated. BUT: I don't recomment to update all nodes now due to following reasons:

- this patch isn't tested properly (=> can cause some other unknown problems)
- network operates normally without this patch (it doesn't change any protocol logic)

Let's wait 1-2 days before updating all nodes. Old code works the right way in most cases except transactions bigger than 20Kb.
In case such big (>20Kb) transaction will appear again it will be included by patched nodes and this will not influence network very much.

Vote for BitMonero on Comkort exchange: https://comkort.com/vote
BTC: 1F1Ryrc2gvJQsVNTS5xvCxKugMjvbFRzX4
thankful_for_today
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 19, 2014, 09:04:54 PM
 #191

It's up on git. Can someone compile the Windows binary?

Please see my comments below: patch wasn't tested properly. It's better to stay 1-2 days with some node not patched. This will help in case of problems with this patch.

The absense of this patch doesn't influence miner's income in most cases.

Vote for BitMonero on Comkort exchange: https://comkort.com/vote
BTC: 1F1Ryrc2gvJQsVNTS5xvCxKugMjvbFRzX4
sussex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 19, 2014, 09:08:58 PM
 #192

It's up on git. Can someone compile the Windows binary?

Please see my comments below: patch wasn't tested properly. It's better to stay 1-2 days with some node not patched. This will help in case of problems with this patch.

The absense of this patch doesn't influence miner's income in most cases.

Sorry, I'm confused, can we continue mining with the wallet and bitmonerod from yesterday?
eizh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 19, 2014, 09:10:49 PM
 #193

It's up on git. Can someone compile the Windows binary?

Please see my comments below: patch wasn't tested properly. It's better to stay 1-2 days with some node not patched. This will help in case of problems with this patch.

The absense of this patch doesn't influence miner's income in most cases.

Sorry, I'm confused, can we continue mining with the wallet and bitmonerod from yesterday?

The tx that was causing the problem has been accepted into a block, so yes you can keep using yesterday's version.
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1051



View Profile
April 19, 2014, 09:11:13 PM
 #194

It's up on git. Can someone compile the Windows binary?

Please see my comments below: patch wasn't tested properly. It's better to stay 1-2 days with some node not patched. This will help in case of problems with this patch.

The absense of this patch doesn't influence miner's income in most cases.

Sorry, I'm confused, can we continue mining with the wallet and bitmonerod from yesterday?

Yes, you can.

The problem with the block chain being stalled was caused by no one having the patch. As long as some nodes have the patch, everyone else can continue using the old code.
thankful_for_today
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 19, 2014, 09:18:36 PM
 #195


The problem is in block generation code. In one of last updates in Bytecoin there was a bug introduced: it calculates extra-size penalty the wrong way. As a result we see that a mined block isn't accepted by the network. I will consume the big transaction now into correct block. As soon as network accepts this block I will release new mining code to git.

Here is the tx that caused the problem:

id: <f1d8e3391161e4e98566c746d605f97cf432cbd19c83d8b0444e02748f54117e>
blob_size: 20534


Does BCN still possess this issue?

Probably yes, but it doesn't influences network operations as much as in BMR. Why? I suppose that there is a number of BCN nodes using old or very old mining code. This bug has been introduced a week or two ago and BMR has been started from last snapshoot of BCN code and we met this problem.

This way there is no real problem with BCN even with a bug in last commits. But I've sent them an e-mail.

Vote for BitMonero on Comkort exchange: https://comkort.com/vote
BTC: 1F1Ryrc2gvJQsVNTS5xvCxKugMjvbFRzX4
the_darkness
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 19, 2014, 09:20:45 PM
 #196


The problem is in block generation code. In one of last updates in Bytecoin there was a bug introduced: it calculates extra-size penalty the wrong way. As a result we see that a mined block isn't accepted by the network. I will consume the big transaction now into correct block. As soon as network accepts this block I will release new mining code to git.

Here is the tx that caused the problem:

id: <f1d8e3391161e4e98566c746d605f97cf432cbd19c83d8b0444e02748f54117e>
blob_size: 20534


Does BCN still possess this issue?

Probably yes, but it doesn't influences network operations as much as in BMR. Why? I suppose that there is a number of BCN nodes using old or very old mining code. This bug has been introduced a week or two ago and BMR has been started from last snapshoot of BCN code and we met this problem.

This way there is no real problem with BCN even with a bug in last commits. But I've sent them an e-mail.

Just wanted to say good job on a quick recovery and sorting out what sounds like a tricky problem.
eizh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 19, 2014, 09:23:47 PM
 #197

You changed a lot of the code. What are the consequences? Previously the tx's were sorted more thoroughly.
thankful_for_today
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 19, 2014, 09:27:23 PM
 #198

It's up on git. Can someone compile the Windows binary?

Please see my comments below: patch wasn't tested properly. It's better to stay 1-2 days with some node not patched. This will help in case of problems with this patch.

The absense of this patch doesn't influence miner's income in most cases.

Sorry, I'm confused, can we continue mining with the wallet and bitmonerod from yesterday?

Yes, you can.

The problem with the block chain being stalled was caused by no one having the patch. As long as some nodes have the patch, everyone else can continue using the old code.


I confirm this is correct.

Vote for BitMonero on Comkort exchange: https://comkort.com/vote
BTC: 1F1Ryrc2gvJQsVNTS5xvCxKugMjvbFRzX4
thankful_for_today
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 19, 2014, 09:40:12 PM
 #199

You changed a lot of the code. What are the consequences? Previously the tx's were sorted more thoroughly.

2 changed files with 14 additions and 47 deletions. I hope that nothing bad can happen. But we have to be careful Wink

Vote for BitMonero on Comkort exchange: https://comkort.com/vote
BTC: 1F1Ryrc2gvJQsVNTS5xvCxKugMjvbFRzX4
sussex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 19, 2014, 09:42:24 PM
 #200

OK, prolly nothing, but I now have a sea of red complaining about found future peerlist all for the same IP..... it has complained about this six times in the last ten minutes.

On the upside, I found a block !!!!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!