Bitcoin Forum
August 17, 2018, 11:29:43 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 ... 109 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Orbitcoin v1.6.0.0 ~ NeoScrypt ~ Green Stake ~ 4 Years Old  (Read 172081 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
almightyruler
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 01:58:43 AM
 #121

How would you use this to break down say a 10k ORB block in a single go? Could it just be address:50 copy and pasted like 200 times?

I guess so. Try with a few entries and a smaller amount first to check. You may run into commandline size limits (eg the command length is too long) with 200 entries though.

I did notice that using sendmany will result in a lower net fee; presumably it's more efficient than sending individual transactions and is rewarded appropriately.
Every time a block is mined, a certain amount of BTC (called the subsidy) is created out of thin air and given to the miner. The subsidy halves every four years and will reach 0 in about 130 years.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534505383
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534505383

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534505383
Reply with quote  #2

1534505383
Report to moderator
ghostlander
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118
Merit: 1011


No surrender, no retreat, no regret.


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2014, 03:43:42 PM
 #122

Dumb question. Is it possible to split a block into like x number of 50 coin blocks in one transaction? Or will I have to do it like 200 times by hand on a 10k coin block?

You can use the 'sendmany' RPC command. This is how I do it from the commandline:

orbitcoind sendmany "" '{"addr1":amount1,"addr2":amount2}'

Note: I think if you do this within the debug console of the QT client you omit the single quotes. Not 100% sure.

I've shown two addresses in this example, so just add more in the same format. I presume you can also send to the same address (do a small test first) but if you're wanting to split for staking purposes you probably want to send to separate addresses anyway.

How would you use this to break down say a 10k ORB block in a single go? Could it just be address:50 copy and pasted like 200 times?

All output addresses must be different for a single transaction. You can also do that in the Qt client. Split 10K ORB into 10x 1K ORB first, then each one into 10x 100 ORB using the same addresses and leave them staking.

"If you've got a problem and have to spread some coins to make it go away, you've got no problem. You've got an expence." ~ Phoenixcoin (PXC) and Orbitcoin (ORB) and Halcyon (HAL)
ghostlander
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118
Merit: 1011


No surrender, no retreat, no regret.


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2014, 03:51:47 PM
 #123

P.S.
Also seems new wallet modify database in way making it incompatible with previous ver. Uprage form 1.4.2 to 1.4.2.2 went OK, but after roll back to 1.4.2 (only replace executables) wallet not working (report some king of database error) and i restore whole database from backup too.
It is expected behavior?

BerkeleyDB upgraded from v4.8 to v5.3. It is used for wallet.dat. There is no downgrade.

"If you've got a problem and have to spread some coins to make it go away, you've got no problem. You've got an expence." ~ Phoenixcoin (PXC) and Orbitcoin (ORB) and Halcyon (HAL)
almightyruler
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 14, 2014, 05:29:31 PM
 #124


$ ./orbitcoind -datadir=. repairwallet
{
    "mismatched spent coins" : 18,
    "amount affected by repair" : 302.01000000
}


... but the balance hasn't changed. Subsequent checkwallet passes.

I haven't done any transactions (no sends, receives, stakes, or PoW mining) for around a month. 43000+ confirms for most recent addition to transaction list.

v1.4.2.0-orb, *nix daemon

Any ideas?
ChekaZ
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1001



View Profile
August 14, 2014, 05:46:02 PM
 #125

Ive got a problem with the new wallet.

I have a few thousand Inputs and had to redownload the blockchain. But at some point (10 weeks ago) it just crashes.

Sovled: Seems like my mining-rig doesnt have enough "power" so it crashes :b - went well on my Gaming PC.

BTC: 1Ges1taJ69W7eEMbQLcmNGnUZenBkCnn45
FTC: 6sxjM96KMZ7t4AmDTUKDZdq82Nj931VQvY
CrazyLoaf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 718
Merit: 530



View Profile
August 14, 2014, 05:58:00 PM
 #126

Dumb question. Is it possible to split a block into like x number of 50 coin blocks in one transaction? Or will I have to do it like 200 times by hand on a 10k coin block?

You can use the 'sendmany' RPC command. This is how I do it from the commandline:

orbitcoind sendmany "" '{"addr1":amount1,"addr2":amount2}'

Note: I think if you do this within the debug console of the QT client you omit the single quotes. Not 100% sure.

I've shown two addresses in this example, so just add more in the same format. I presume you can also send to the same address (do a small test first) but if you're wanting to split for staking purposes you probably want to send to separate addresses anyway.

How would you use this to break down say a 10k ORB block in a single go? Could it just be address:50 copy and pasted like 200 times?

All output addresses must be different for a single transaction. You can also do that in the Qt client. Split 10K ORB into 10x 1K ORB first, then each one into 10x 100 ORB using the same addresses and leave them staking.


Can you have a step-by-step guide to how to do this for the dummies like myself? I'd be interested in fooling with ORB if this is like a one click thing, but the blocks need to be too small and the value is too low atm to do this versus investing in another high PoS coin. That and I'm lazy Tongue

[ANN] Sirius A New Smart Chain Freely Distributed
SjruF8yDRPqYc3LffyS9wY71fLCsS6zfG3
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2609407.0
ghostlander
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118
Merit: 1011


No surrender, no retreat, no regret.


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2014, 09:31:42 PM
 #127

Dumb question. Is it possible to split a block into like x number of 50 coin blocks in one transaction? Or will I have to do it like 200 times by hand on a 10k coin block?

You can use the 'sendmany' RPC command. This is how I do it from the commandline:

orbitcoind sendmany "" '{"addr1":amount1,"addr2":amount2}'

Note: I think if you do this within the debug console of the QT client you omit the single quotes. Not 100% sure.

I've shown two addresses in this example, so just add more in the same format. I presume you can also send to the same address (do a small test first) but if you're wanting to split for staking purposes you probably want to send to separate addresses anyway.

How would you use this to break down say a 10k ORB block in a single go? Could it just be address:50 copy and pasted like 200 times?

All output addresses must be different for a single transaction. You can also do that in the Qt client. Split 10K ORB into 10x 1K ORB first, then each one into 10x 100 ORB using the same addresses and leave them staking.


Can you have a step-by-step guide to how to do this for the dummies like myself? I'd be interested in fooling with ORB if this is like a one click thing, but the blocks need to be too small and the value is too low atm to do this versus investing in another high PoS coin. That and I'm lazy Tongue

Could someone please explain to me how to use coin control?

"If you've got a problem and have to spread some coins to make it go away, you've got no problem. You've got an expence." ~ Phoenixcoin (PXC) and Orbitcoin (ORB) and Halcyon (HAL)
CrazyLoaf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 718
Merit: 530



View Profile
August 14, 2014, 09:43:19 PM
 #128

Thanks. I've used coin control before, but every time I've done it, I've had to break the coins up manually in multiple transactions. I think the issue with ORB vs say TEK (well, aside from TEK not staking atm Tongue) is that it seems like you have to watch the ORB to get it to stake right, and keep breaking them down. I think it'd help adoptions, at least from high PoS investors, if it was a "set and forget" sort of thing.

[ANN] Sirius A New Smart Chain Freely Distributed
SjruF8yDRPqYc3LffyS9wY71fLCsS6zfG3
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2609407.0
ghostlander
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118
Merit: 1011


No surrender, no retreat, no regret.


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2014, 10:05:12 PM
 #129

Thanks. I've used coin control before, but every time I've done it, I've had to break the coins up manually in multiple transactions. I think the issue with ORB vs say TEK (well, aside from TEK not staking atm Tongue) is that it seems like you have to watch the ORB to get it to stake right, and keep breaking them down. I think it'd help adoptions, at least from high PoS investors, if it was a "set and forget" sort of thing.

You may forget once set. All inputs end up 25 to 50 ORB in size while staking. Smaller inputs get combined and larger inputs get split in the process.

"If you've got a problem and have to spread some coins to make it go away, you've got no problem. You've got an expence." ~ Phoenixcoin (PXC) and Orbitcoin (ORB) and Halcyon (HAL)
CrazyLoaf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 718
Merit: 530



View Profile
August 15, 2014, 12:53:30 AM
 #130

Thanks. I've used coin control before, but every time I've done it, I've had to break the coins up manually in multiple transactions. I think the issue with ORB vs say TEK (well, aside from TEK not staking atm Tongue) is that it seems like you have to watch the ORB to get it to stake right, and keep breaking them down. I think it'd help adoptions, at least from high PoS investors, if it was a "set and forget" sort of thing.

You may forget once set. All inputs end up 25 to 50 ORB in size while staking. Smaller inputs get combined and larger inputs get split in the process.


Really? Now THAT'S cool! So you break all coins into 50 ORB blocks once and then you're good to go? Then it's a bubbling sea of PoS that you don't have to tend to? My thinking was you'd have to reform the blocks since PoS usually works by having the coins over and over until you start getting dust.

[ANN] Sirius A New Smart Chain Freely Distributed
SjruF8yDRPqYc3LffyS9wY71fLCsS6zfG3
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2609407.0
Mad_Max
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 899
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 17, 2014, 08:40:48 PM
 #131

No. And this was already answered:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=586674.msg7936051#msg7936051

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=586674.msg7959741#msg7959741

ORB wallet not split blocks if them already < 50 coins. Only bigger blocks split.

So you need do manual splitting to small chunks only once - at beginning of staking. After it wallet handle all staking auto.
Another manual manipulations needed only of you decide add additional coins to already staking wallet (for example buy additional coins at exchange and put it to staking too).

Не зная покоя и отдыха, При лунном и солнечном свете, Мы делаем деньги из воздуха, Чтоб снова спустить их на ветер!
almightyruler
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 18, 2014, 03:13:01 AM
 #132

My wallet has not staked for over a month. The daemon runs 24/7/365. I'm starting to wonder, especially considering that repairing the wallet apparently found 302 ORB, which did not get added to my balance.

    "stakeweight" : 1487,
    "minweightinputs" : 0,
    "avgweightinputs" : 0,
    "maxweightinputs" : 72,


Is that a half decent weight? My displayed balance (see above about repair) is only about 100 ORB so I guess I'm being usurped by people with much higher balances.
ghostlander
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118
Merit: 1011


No surrender, no retreat, no regret.


View Profile WWW
August 18, 2014, 01:00:56 PM
 #133

1487 / 72 = 20 coin days per average input. All of them are max. weight. I suppose you have solo mined 72 blocks 1 ORB each and left them staking without merging. If so, they will never stake. Too small.

"If you've got a problem and have to spread some coins to make it go away, you've got no problem. You've got an expence." ~ Phoenixcoin (PXC) and Orbitcoin (ORB) and Halcyon (HAL)
Mad_Max
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 899
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 18, 2014, 02:23:38 PM
 #134

My wallet has not staked for over a month. The daemon runs 24/7/365. I'm starting to wonder, especially considering that repairing the wallet apparently found 302 ORB, which did not get added to my balance.

    "stakeweight" : 1487,
    "minweightinputs" : 0,
    "avgweightinputs" : 0,
    "maxweightinputs" : 72,


Is that a half decent weight? My displayed balance (see above about repair) is only about 100 ORB so I guess I'm being usurped by people with much higher balances.
Seems sizes of inputs is too small:
1484 weight / 72 inputs = 20.65 coin-days per input
all at max weight (> 20 days old)
so 20.65 / (20-5) = 1.38 coins - average size of inputs
While minimum size to generate PoS block = 20 coins (wallet can auto combine small inputs but 10 inputs at once max).

Here stats from my primary ORB with really decent weight  Cool
"stakeweight" : 120727,
"minweightinputs" : 496,
"avgweightinputs" : 164,
"maxweightinputs" : 25,

With such parameters wallet now generate ~ 100 PoS blocks each day if staking 24/7

Не зная покоя и отдыха, При лунном и солнечном свете, Мы делаем деньги из воздуха, Чтоб снова спустить их на ветер!
almightyruler
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 18, 2014, 02:55:36 PM
 #135

It's late and I'm tired so perhaps I'm misunderstanding: if I mine PoW and never do anything else (sending 20+ ORB back to myself etc), my wallet will never stake?
ghostlander
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118
Merit: 1011


No surrender, no retreat, no regret.


View Profile WWW
August 18, 2014, 06:06:59 PM
 #136

It's late and I'm tired so perhaps I'm misunderstanding: if I mine PoW and never do anything else (sending 20+ ORB back to myself etc), my wallet will never stake?

Up to 10 inputs can be combined for staking. 10 inputs * 1 ORB < 20 ORB minimum.

"If you've got a problem and have to spread some coins to make it go away, you've got no problem. You've got an expence." ~ Phoenixcoin (PXC) and Orbitcoin (ORB) and Halcyon (HAL)
almightyruler
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 18, 2014, 07:30:10 PM
 #137

So in the scenario I described, with each PoW being 1 ORB, the wallet will never stake. Why isn't the limit set at 20 (or higher) so that virgin PoW inputs can be properly combined to stake? Surely there must be people who simply mine and hold - their wallets will never generate PoS...
ghostlander
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1118
Merit: 1011


No surrender, no retreat, no regret.


View Profile WWW
August 18, 2014, 10:14:04 PM
 #138

So in the scenario I described, with each PoW being 1 ORB, the wallet will never stake. Why isn't the limit set at 20 (or higher) so that virgin PoW inputs can be properly combined to stake? Surely there must be people who simply mine and hold - their wallets will never generate PoS...

Even if it was set higher, 1 ORB input had very little chance of generating stake kernel due to low weight (20 maximum). Right now, I see inputs in my wallet staking with weights 250 to 400. Each.

"If you've got a problem and have to spread some coins to make it go away, you've got no problem. You've got an expence." ~ Phoenixcoin (PXC) and Orbitcoin (ORB) and Halcyon (HAL)
mill0601
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 03:07:50 AM
 #139

Could you explain in detail how to set up staking? I feel I have missed out on a ton of orb due to the lack of information.

❘|❘ ICONOMI Fund Management Platform
LINK TO ICO | LINK TO DISCUSSION
almightyruler
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 03:08:47 AM
 #140

So in the scenario I described, with each PoW being 1 ORB, the wallet will never stake. Why isn't the limit set at 20 (or higher) so that virgin PoW inputs can be properly combined to stake? Surely there must be people who simply mine and hold - their wallets will never generate PoS...

Even if it was set higher, 1 ORB input had very little chance of generating stake kernel due to low weight (20 maximum). Right now, I see inputs in my wallet staking with weights 250 to 400. Each.


Yes, but if someone mines 5000 PoW blocks... they will still never stake?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 ... 109 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!