Bitcoin Forum
April 19, 2024, 11:12:56 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Modular Python Bitcoin Miner - Official Thread  (Read 73922 times)
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 22, 2012, 07:11:13 AM
 #341

On OS X, using python3 and the BFL 768 firmware (merely haven't tested at other speeds yet) I had to change the following two lines in bflsingleworker.py to be successful:

starting about line 224

from:
if response[:12] != "NONCE-FOUND:" or response[-1:] != "\n":
to:
if response[:12] != b"NONCE-FOUND:":

and

from:
if len(nonces) != 8 and nonces[8] != b",":
to:
if len(nonces) != 8 and nonces[8] != 0x2c:
"Bitcoin: the cutting edge of begging technology." -- Giraffe.BTC
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 22, 2012, 08:51:59 AM
 #342

Same patch is working with the 800MH/s BFL firmware.
binspac
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 03:16:58 AM
 #343

Got the ftdi_sio driver and did:

Code:
modprobe ftdi_sio vendor=0x0403 product=6014

But when I plug in my device it doesn't create /dev/ttyUSB0. Here is my dmesg output when plugging it in: http://pastebin.com/8hbhVxzL

Can anyone help?

System: WM8650 Netbook
OS: Angstrom
Device: BFL Single

5btc reward for someone to get this working for me, would really like to move these loud, hot, suckers elsewhere
O_Shovah
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 410
Merit: 252


Watercooling the world of mining


View Profile
July 23, 2012, 10:19:28 AM
 #344

Got the ftdi_sio driver and did:

Code:
modprobe ftdi_sio vendor=0x0403 product=6014

But when I plug in my device it doesn't create /dev/ttyUSB0. Here is my dmesg output when plugging it in: http://pastebin.com/8hbhVxzL

Can anyone help?

System: WM8650 Netbook
OS: Angstrom
Device: BFL Single

5btc reward for someone to get this working for me, would really like to move these loud, hot, suckers elsewhere
If its not essentially nesssary to you, or the processor you may please consider using some OS like ubuntu or fedora.
I know Angström to be a little tricky here.

I am using ubuntu 12.04 and have used all ubuntu distributions from 9.04 upwards.

I will try to dig some free time tonight, so i may have a look at your problem.

binspac
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 24, 2012, 12:13:21 AM
 #345

The WM8650 has an ARM processor and the OS has to run from an SD card. I might buy a bigger SD card (mine is only 2GB) so I can use Debian instead of Angstrom.
MykelSilver
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 18, 2012, 10:15:31 PM
 #346

Mining using MPBM configured for a mining pool (like ozcoin / deepbit) runs fine.

I still run into trouble using MPBM configured for solo mining :-(

I am currently using MPBM.EXE under windows
My bitcoind is running under linux (other machine)
I have created the bitcoin.conf with the rpcuser and rpcpassword supplied

I run the bitcoind with bitcoin -server in a terminal

When I create a new worker in MPBM with the ip adress of the machine where bitcoind runs and port 8332 and supply the rpcuser and rpcpassword,
MPBM is not able to fetch jobs from bitcoind...

What am I doing wrong?
davecoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 816
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 28, 2012, 03:16:42 PM
 #347

What is the best way to set a backup pool using mpbm?  For instance, if mtred goes down, is there a way to have the program switch to another pool?  I am familiar with this feature on cgminer, but I am new to mpbm.

Thanks,
Dave
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 28, 2012, 03:23:04 PM
 #348

I never found a good way (one which satisfied me) to have mpbm do an actual hot/backup configuration.

However, it does an excellent job of equally sharing work among two to many work-sources.

So, my suggestion, pick two pools which you find both to be satisfactory and split your shares between them. Or, Ozcoin and EclipseMC both have multiple independent servers which you can point work-sources at and then all the shares get credited to the same account.
davecoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 816
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 28, 2012, 03:44:04 PM
 #349

That's a good idea, thanks.
davecoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 816
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 28, 2012, 04:01:02 PM
 #350

Should this be of any concern?

"Discarding 120 jobs from long poll response because work buffer is full"

Thanks,
Dave
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 28, 2012, 04:30:54 PM
 #351

I don't think so. Just watch for a while to ensure you are getting as many shares accepted per minute as you expect. In my case, I'm getting almost exactly, or perhaps slightly better, results as I was getting with cgminer.

However, a tip, if you want to leave the monitor web page up for long periods you'll need to change the log level to something like 200 in two places. Both for the web output and for the stdout output. If you don't do that it will develop a problem (bad) in a half day to a couple of days of continuous running.

--

Hmmm, just went to increase the log level for web output to verify that I also was getting those messages (I 'think' I was) and see that there is no longer a log level setting for the web gui. So, that problem may have been resolved.

I'm using a version pulled straight from the git repository since I wanted to take a look at some of the work in progress. Depending on where you got your distribution there could be some minor variances.
hashking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 28, 2012, 09:56:15 PM
 #352

Is there any newer version then this out for windows mpbm-v0.1.0beta.zip.  I'm seeing alot of this lately with any pool I use and wonder if its a software issue.
 


50 BTC.COM: Error while fetching job: Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Users\\Desktop\X6500_Easy_Package_For_Windows\mpbm-v0.1.0beta\core\actualworksource.py", line 155, in get_job
    jobs = self._get_job()
  File "C:\Users\\Desktop\X6500_Easy_Package_For_Windows\mpbm-v0.1.0beta\modules\theseven\bcjsonrpc\bcjsonrpcworksource.py", line 120, in _get_job
    conn.request("POST", self.settings.path, req, headers)
  File "c:\Program Files (x86)\Python32\lib\http\client.py", line 964, in request
  File "c:\Program Files (x86)\Python32\lib\http\client.py", line 1002, in _send_request
  File "c:\Program Files (x86)\Python32\lib\http\client.py", line 960, in endheaders
  File "c:\Program Files (x86)\Python32\lib\http\client.py", line 805, in _send_output
  File "c:\Program Files (x86)\Python32\lib\http\client.py", line 743, in send
  File "c:\Program Files (x86)\Python32\lib\http\client.py", line 721, in connect
  File "c:\Program Files (x86)\Python32\lib\socket.py", line 404, in create_connection
  File "c:\Program Files (x86)\Python32\lib\socket.py", line 395, in create_connection
socket.timeout: timed out
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 29, 2012, 07:18:30 AM
 #353

How to use json to get data from MPBM.

It would have saved me quite a few hours if an example of this type had been available, so, here it is for anyone else who might be looking.

The 'magic' involved is having to set the headers on the request in order to receive a non-null response.
E.g.,
curl <url> -d "1"  -H "DNT: 1" -H "If-Modified-Since:Sat, 1 Jan 2000 00:00:00 GMT" -H "Content-Type:application/json"

You can find examples of required <url> in the Python example below.

This gives a quick test to ensure the web-server / mpbm is working before you get bogged down in "why is urllib3 throwing that exception?". Smiley

(BTW, "requests" is a third party library. Free to use it seems. You can find it if you need it.)
--

#!/usr/bin/env python
# -*- coding: utf-8 -*-

# Path hack.
import sys
import os
sys.path.insert(0, os.path.abspath('..'))
import json
import unittest
import pickle
import tempfile
from pprint import pprint
import datetime
import time

import requests
from requests.compat import str, StringIO
from requests import HTTPError
from requests import get, post, head, put
from requests.auth import HTTPBasicAuth, HTTPDigestAuth
from requests.exceptions import InvalidURL

# curl <url> -d "1"  -H "DNT: 1" -H "If-Modified-Since:Sat, 1 Jan 2000 00:00:00 GMT" -H "Content-Type:application/json"

def getDataFromMPBM():
  auth = HTTPBasicAuth('admin', 'mpbm')
  headers = {'content-type' : 'application/json', 'DNT' : '1', 'If-Modified-Since' : 'Sat, 1 Jan 2000 00:00:00 GMT' }

  workerURL = 'http://host.domain.com:8832/api/statsgadget/getworkerstats'
  blockchainURL = 'http://host.domain.com:8832/api/statsgadget/getblockchainstats'
  worksourceURL = 'http://host.domain.com:8832/api/statsgadget/getworksourcestats'
  allURL = 'http://host.domain.com:8832/api/statsgadget/getallstats'

  r = requests.post(workerURL, auth=auth, data='1', headers=headers, prefetch=True)

  #print(json.dumps( r.json, sort_keys = True, indent = 4 ) )
  workerResponse = json.loads( r.text )
  #pprint( workerResponse )

  return workerResponse

tempHigh = 0.0
tempLow = 100.0
while( True ):
  workerResponse = getDataFromMPBM()

  startTime = datetime.datetime.fromtimestamp( workerResponse[ 'starttime' ] )
  dataTime = datetime.datetime.fromtimestamp( workerResponse[ 'timestamp' ] )
  upTime = dataTime - startTime
  tempNow = workerResponse['workers'][0]['temperature']
  if tempNow < tempLow : tempLow = tempNow
  if tempNow > tempHigh : tempHigh = tempNow
  #print( upTime )
  print( '{0:.1f} \tHigh: {2:.1f} \tLow: {3:.1f} \t{1}'.format( tempNow, dataTime, tempHigh, tempLow ) )

  time.sleep( 9.991 )


exit()
fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720
Merit: 525



View Profile WWW
August 29, 2012, 08:25:11 AM
Last edit: August 29, 2012, 09:05:26 PM by fizzisist
 #354

How to use json to get data from MPBM.

It would have saved me quite a few hours if an example of this type had been available, so, here it is for anyone else who might be looking.


Thanks for this, Otto. Actually, there is one example of grabbing data from the API in the munin plugin here.

TheSeven, might be good to add links to both of these in the OP?

steveme
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 29, 2012, 07:47:57 PM
 #355

Hi all,

I'm running mpbm 0.1.0 beta on Ubuntu 12.04 with Python 2.7.3 but when viewing it locally using Firefox or remotely using Firefox or IE it is displayed with the menu ('frontends', 'workers', 'work sources', etc) 'behind' a table displaying the donation pools, the only way I can interact with those options is to switch to 'no style' in 'view' -> 'page style' in FF

I'm assuming it's a missing python package - any ideas??
LazyOtto
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 29, 2012, 09:02:03 PM
 #356

It is actually a known problem that it doesn't work with Firefox.
Not a missing python package issue.

Wouldn't know about IE, haven't used it for years.

Works fine with Safari from OS X.

You might try that or Opera.
moparguy528
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 29, 2012, 11:29:52 PM
 #357

Is there any newer version then this out for windows mpbm-v0.1.0beta.zip.  I'm seeing alot of this lately with any pool I use and wonder if its a software issue.
 


50 BTC.COM: Error while fetching job: Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Users\\Desktop\X6500_Easy_Package_For_Windows\mpbm-v0.1.0beta\core\actualworksource.py", line 155, in get_job
    jobs = self._get_job()
  File "C:\Users\\Desktop\X6500_Easy_Package_For_Windows\mpbm-v0.1.0beta\modules\theseven\bcjsonrpc\bcjsonrpcworksource.py", line 120, in _get_job
    conn.request("POST", self.settings.path, req, headers)
  File "c:\Program Files (x86)\Python32\lib\http\client.py", line 964, in request
  File "c:\Program Files (x86)\Python32\lib\http\client.py", line 1002, in _send_request
  File "c:\Program Files (x86)\Python32\lib\http\client.py", line 960, in endheaders
  File "c:\Program Files (x86)\Python32\lib\http\client.py", line 805, in _send_output
  File "c:\Program Files (x86)\Python32\lib\http\client.py", line 743, in send
  File "c:\Program Files (x86)\Python32\lib\http\client.py", line 721, in connect
  File "c:\Program Files (x86)\Python32\lib\socket.py", line 404, in create_connection
  File "c:\Program Files (x86)\Python32\lib\socket.py", line 395, in create_connection
socket.timeout: timed out

I am seeing something similar using the latest version in Ubuntu 12.04. Doesn't matter which pool. Once this happens a few times sometimes I lose all connections to the pool. I have to restart. It seems to get worse the more x6500 units hook up to it.
davecoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 816
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 30, 2012, 04:23:55 AM
 #358

Hi all,

I'm running mpbm 0.1.0 beta on Ubuntu 12.04 with Python 2.7.3 but when viewing it locally using Firefox or remotely using Firefox or IE it is displayed with the menu ('frontends', 'workers', 'work sources', etc) 'behind' a table displaying the donation pools, the only way I can interact with those options is to switch to 'no style' in 'view' -> 'page style' in FF

I'm assuming it's a missing python package - any ideas??

I had the same issue.  Try the chromium browser.
Dexter770221
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1029
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 30, 2012, 06:26:06 PM
 #359

I'm looking, and looking and can't find how to use this software on Windows... Any help?

Under development Modular UPGRADEABLE Miner (MUM). Looking for investors.
Changing one PCB with screwdriver and you have brand new miner in hand... Plug&Play, scalable from one module to thousands.
O_Shovah
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 410
Merit: 252


Watercooling the world of mining


View Profile
August 31, 2012, 07:31:03 AM
 #360

I'm looking, and looking and can't find how to use this software on Windows... Any help?
You have been acting according to http://fpgamining.com/documentation/software/mpbm-windows ?
This is a guide by fizzist.

If that does not work some info on your system (software) might be intresting.
While Windows 7 is mostly problemless Windows XP is very nasty here.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!