Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 10:33:10 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 »
  Print  
Author Topic: A Complete Guide to P2Pool - Merged Mining (BTC/NMC/DVC/IXC/I0C) plus LTC, Linux  (Read 182619 times)
PMB
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
June 25, 2014, 08:59:59 AM
 #481

Hey all,

Can a p2pool have different fees for different users? Kind of a "0% fee list" and a "X% fee list", groups of addresses that we can add to that list or something like that?


regards,

P.
1480847590
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480847590

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480847590
Reply with quote  #2

1480847590
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
webiky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
June 27, 2014, 01:38:07 PM
 #482

I am Linux newbie, so forgive to me my question:

You wrote I should start bitcoin by this commnad:

To start Bitcoin 0.6.0, type:
Code:
bitcoind


I installed it on Ubuntu Desktop 14.04 LTS and from I understand, this will not start after restart, right?
So I should add it to programs after start in "Startup applications", right?
Kaega
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158


View Profile
June 27, 2014, 02:47:04 PM
 #483

I am Linux newbie, so forgive to me my question:

You wrote I should start bitcoin by this commnad:

To start Bitcoin 0.6.0, type:
Code:
bitcoind


I installed it on Ubuntu Desktop 14.04 LTS and from I understand, this will not start after restart, right?
So I should add it to programs after start in "Startup applications", right?

Lookup "bitcoind" and "upstart"

Documentation on upstart: http://upstart.ubuntu.com/cookbook/

Example:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/24163172/upstart-script-for-bitcoind-respawn-feature
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=25518.0

Protect your coin: Buy a Treznor
LtPaxIV
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 385


View Profile
June 29, 2014, 04:37:39 AM
 #484

I have been running my p2pool node successfully on my Ubuntu 14.04 computer, I just did some updates on the computer and restarted it now when I try to restart my p2pool server I get this error, Bitcoin is running and up to date. Can someone please point me in the right direction to get it back running again.

2014-06-03 11:58:59.174760 p2pool (version 13.4-24-gf0eeb48-dirty)
2014-06-03 11:58:59.174903
2014-06-03 11:58:59.174990 Testing bitcoind RPC connection to 'http://127.0.0.1:8332/' with username 'andmax'...
2014-06-03 11:58:59.176566 > Error while checking Bitcoin connection:
2014-06-03 11:58:59.176685 > Traceback (most recent call last):
2014-06-03 11:58:59.176738 > Failure: twisted.internet.error.ConnectionRefusedError: Connection was refused by other side: 111: Connection refused.


looks like the daemon is refusing the connection.did u change anything in the bitcoin.conf? like rpcuser and password.
is localhost allowed? is it set to act as server? u gotta tell us more what exactly u are running and how.
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
June 29, 2014, 07:47:50 PM
 #485

Hey all,

Can a p2pool have different fees for different users? Kind of a "0% fee list" and a "X% fee list", groups of addresses that we can add to that list or something like that?


regards,

P.

no built in functionality like that, no.

Quote
screen -d -m -S p2pool-vtc ~/p2pool-vtc/run_p2pool.py --net vertcoin -a $someVTCaddress$

so what doesn't work about it?  that would work, if you had some build of p2pool that included vertcoin and it was in the /home/<current user>/p2pool-vtc directory


Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
wajiminer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
August 22, 2014, 04:00:38 PM
 #486

I have 4 miners on a pi, connected to my laptop remotely which has a fixed ip address..

The first miner plugged into the pi connects great, however the rest of them keep throwing up the following error

(5s):35.26M (avg):21.20Mh/s | A:21 R:1 HW:0 U:1.4/m WU:20898.4/m
(5s):12.94M (avg):21.06Mh/s | A:21 R:1 HW:0 U:1.4/m WU:20761.8/m
[2014-08-22 23:59:43] Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
[2014-08-22 23:59:43] 1restart or 2timeout:1
[2014-08-22 23:59:43] Zeus 0 nounce2 = 01000000 readcount = 300 try sent: da25000400000000
(5s):31.42M (avg):21.20Mh/s | A:21 R:1 HW:0 U:1.4/m WU:20627.0/m
(5s):11.53M (avg):21.06Mh/s | A:21 R:1 HW:0 U:1.4/m WU:20493.9/m
[2014-08-22 23:59:55] Failed to resolve (?wrong URL) :(null)
(5s):4.233M (avg):20.93Mh/s | A:21 R:1 HW:0 U:1.3/m WU:20362.5/m

they accept shares but at a much slower rate than the first miner.

I'm using the zeusminer image on the pi.


Any advice would be appreciated.
nocroom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
August 24, 2014, 11:26:34 PM
 #487

would some like to help us create a node within our servers? willing to donate
LtPaxIV
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 385


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 10:49:38 AM
 #488

wich coin u wanna set up?
nocroom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
September 01, 2014, 05:12:38 PM
 #489

Thank you

Miami Flordia, USA | http://node.nocroom.com:9332 | 0.2% | BTC  | P2Pool | NocRoom

Details: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=756780
newbuntu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
September 22, 2014, 10:36:18 PM
 #490

Can someone please help me to understand what the RPCuser is?
I see it in the setup guides, I think that RPC is an abbreviation for remote procedure call in Windows, but I don't understand what it is to my node.
Is there a special name I am supposed to use? if so, where do I find it?
Do I just make up something? or is it derived from the user name of my user account on the node?
The guides I found are very helpful, but they lack some fine-grained explanations for newbies like me.
Thank you.
LtPaxIV
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 385


View Profile
September 22, 2014, 11:00:31 PM
 #491

rpc username is the name u did set up for your wallet client
SpAcEDeViL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 706


View Profile WWW
September 22, 2014, 11:10:21 PM
 #492

When setup are to hard for you, use http://miner-control.de/bitcoin_p2pool/

You need only a wallet address and min ~800GHs for making shares in one day.

newbuntu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
September 22, 2014, 11:24:09 PM
 #493

rpc username is the name u did set up for your wallet client
but, I'm not using a wallet client, I'm using an address from blockchain.info
newbuntu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
September 22, 2014, 11:30:27 PM
 #494

When setup are to hard for you, use http://miner-control.de/bitcoin_p2pool/

You need only a wallet address and min ~800GHs for making shares in one day.
Are you intentionally being patronizing? as if to say: "if it's too complicated for your little brain then you can come mine on my pool and I'll make money off of you?!!"
I'm not new to computers, I'm new to mining. It takes time to learn anything new, and that includes reading, trying, failing, succeeding and asking questions for clarification - the latter is what I am doing.
LtPaxIV
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 385


View Profile
September 22, 2014, 11:48:26 PM
 #495

so u want to setup your own p2pool node? u need to run a own client to do so otherwise it wont work
newbuntu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
September 23, 2014, 01:05:00 AM
 #496

so u want to setup your own p2pool node? u need to run a own client to do so otherwise it wont work
I already have a node. The node works. The node is not the subject of my question.
Again:
"Can someone please help me to understand what the RPCuser is?"
And, if I am not using a wallet within bitcoind then I am not going to have a username (because I'm using a blockchain address), therefore, how does the RPCuser apply? what do I put in that field?
Thank you.
LtPaxIV
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 385


View Profile
September 23, 2014, 01:30:16 AM
 #497

i dont understand why ur node is working without a client.what is providing the work?

rpcuser is set in the conf file for the wallet

heres an example

rpcuser=xxxxx
rpcpassword=xxxxx
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcport=9900
port=9935
listen=1
gen=0
server=1
addnode=5.228.63.38

u need to set rpcuser so p2pool can connect to the client,and get the work from it.

could u explain what u did for setting up ur node?does it run on localhost? the blockchain address ur using is only for the payout if u find a share.
newbuntu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
September 23, 2014, 01:38:55 AM
 #498

i dont understand why ur node is working without a client.what is providing the work?

rpcuser is set in the conf file for the wallet

heres an example

rpcuser=xxxxx
rpcpassword=xxxxx
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcport=9900
port=9935
listen=1
gen=0
server=1
addnode=5.228.63.38

u need to set rpcuser so p2pool can connect to the client,and get the work from it.

could u explain what u did for setting up ur node?does it run on localhost? the blockchain address ur using is only for the payout if u find a share.
Where did I state / mention / advertise that my node was NOT working?
I never said it wasn't working, I never said I didn't have a value in the RPCuser field.
I asked a simple question: "Can someone please help me to understand what the RPCuser is?"
I have to ask questions such as this as there is no actual compilation of fine-grained information that spells this out.
For those of you who have grown up developing, this is likely very simple and easy for you as you have other experiences to help you fill in the missing info - I do not.
So, I am asking simple - to the point - questions.
Taking the subject of the original question on a tangent is frustrating for the person asking the question.
Thank you for any help anyone can provide that actually answers the question.
EDIT: Above, you have provided xxxxx in the field for RPCuser. This is exactly the point I am trying to get the information for / about. What 'user' info is supposed to go in the RPCuser field? Where do I get that from? Again, I'm asking this because it is not spelled out simply, anywhere.
LtPaxIV
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 385


View Profile
September 23, 2014, 01:49:16 AM
 #499

again u need to put a config file in ur appdata folder.for example if u mining bitcoin the name of the file should be  bitcoin.conf
just make a textfile and and change the .txt to .conf
as rpcuser / password u can set anything u want to

rpc refers to json-rpc commands ,u need to set it so the client can accept commands.

https://litecoin.info/Litecoin.conf

http://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/questions/5267/what-is-rpcuser

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=17644.0
newbuntu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
September 23, 2014, 02:01:26 AM
 #500

i dont understand why ur node is working without a client.what is providing the work?

rpcuser is set in the conf file for the wallet

heres an example

rpcuser=xxxxx
rpcpassword=xxxxx
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcport=9900
port=9935
listen=1
gen=0
server=1
addnode=5.228.63.38

u need to set rpcuser so p2pool can connect to the client,and get the work from it.

could u explain what u did for setting up ur node?does it run on localhost? the blockchain address ur using is only for the payout if u find a share.
Apologies, if I seem combative, I'm not - I simply prefer straightforward answers.
As per instructions I found for setting it up, installing, etc etc ... I am using the following for starting p2pool:
sudo ~/p2pool/run_p2pool.py --net bitcoin -a myblockchainpayoutaddressgoeshere --give-author 0.5 --p2pool-port 9333 --max-conns 40 -f 0.5
The node seems to function ok, and I'm getting shares paid to my address, not making as much as I was in a mining pool, but that's ok as I'm getting to play and learn something new.
Originally, I had my computer user name in the RPCuser field, as I didn't know what to put there, it worked. Today, as I hadn't yet found out what to put in the RPCuser field, I took out the RPCuser name, it still works.
Would I be better off using the address created within the bitcoind program instead of the blockchain address? then I would be putting the user name back in.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!