Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 06:22:45 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: HD5850 @ 340Mhash/s  (Read 39276 times)
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
May 04, 2011, 10:00:19 AM
 #21

The 5850 can be unlocked to a 5870 with a simple bios upgrade. and I think they have a dual bios so you can't brick them either.
It's the 6950 that can be unlocked, and even then it's only partly true.
1481048565
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481048565

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481048565
Reply with quote  #2

1481048565
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481048565
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481048565

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481048565
Reply with quote  #2

1481048565
Report to moderator
1481048565
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481048565

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481048565
Reply with quote  #2

1481048565
Report to moderator
1481048565
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481048565

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481048565
Reply with quote  #2

1481048565
Report to moderator
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
May 04, 2011, 02:06:24 PM
 #22

The 5850 can be unlocked to a 5870 with a simple bios upgrade. and I think they have a dual bios so you can't brick them either.
It's the 6950 that can be unlocked, and even then it's only partly true.
You can unlock a 5850 to 5870 clock speeds, but NOT unlocking the shaders, as it is impossible.
There is no point in unlocking 5850 to 5870, as it only increases the clock speed, which you can already do in numerous OC software.
Now if flashing 5850 to 5870 can unlock the voltage, then that is a different story. But keep in mind that Sapphire 5850 Xtreme does NOT use the reference design, so you might brick your card.

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
Cablesaurus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302



View Profile WWW
May 04, 2011, 04:30:06 PM
 #23

Ordered 2 of these last night. Hope I get similar results.

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
unxetas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
May 04, 2011, 07:24:57 PM
 #24

My sapphire HD5850 seemed to run happily at 900MHz (340Mhash/s) but I knocked it down to 850MHz to keep the temperatures a bit lower.. It was getting up to around 77C at 900MHz, I'd rather keep in in the 60's Smiley Seems like with some decent cooling these cards would run at crazy speeds, eh?
Sonata
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
May 04, 2011, 11:59:52 PM
 #25

I get low 60's at 900MHz now  (63C stable)

Donate to: 1FY4jkfpr3KfVQrvDXW3HbYzTgLnawY4zf
caston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
May 05, 2011, 03:06:18 AM
 #26

I used aticonfig --odsc=960,1200 on my 5770 and was going great for a little while was even getting a 190Mhash rate but after about 10 mins of web browing the machine froze up. The temp was only about 64degrees. Is there anything else you can do to make it more stable?

18jL18iH96BBhwUCQn27FQp7ocodSxvJAB
unxetas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 03:44:39 AM
 #27

I'd look for some overclocking guides for your specific card, but at some point you will need to up the voltage a fraction.. Which may lead to higher temps as well.

I should have mentioned that I was getting higher temps with the fan on auto, I guess I could have turned the fan up to keep the temps low at 900MHz Smiley I guess an extra 5% output isn't worth me worrying about it anyway, at the current rate that would be what, another BTC or two a month?
caston
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
May 05, 2011, 04:23:26 AM
 #28

unxetas: thanks ... I was also thinking it might be the card has some microdamage because it was running at 79C all night one night because I thought that leaving the side of the case on would make it quieter and thus easier for me to sleep... if i leave the side of the case off it stays at a good temp.. but I would like to play around with this card and try more overclocking settings and a green coolant setup. The other thing is that it may be possible to get a high hash rate but how do you know your hash accuracy?

18jL18iH96BBhwUCQn27FQp7ocodSxvJAB
OUTSIDE
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 09:27:00 PM
 #29

New TrixXX for 5850Xtreme is ready!

You can overvoltage now!

ByE!
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 09:35:12 PM
 #30

That is awesome. will try it soon.

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
Convery
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 11:07:34 PM
 #31

This is quite nice, my 5850 Toxic is running at 1050 core/1200 memory and 1.25V while pushing a stable 399.57 MHash/s.
Temps at 68% locked fan speed is a stable 69C.

I'm quite pleased :3
Convery
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
May 05, 2011, 11:38:37 PM
 #32

This is quite nice, my 5850 Toxic is running at 1050 core/1200 memory and 1.25V while pushing a stable 399.57 MHash/s.
Temps at 68% locked fan speed is a stable 69C.

I'm quite pleased :3

That is a nice o/c, but it's inefficient compared to a 5870. You are pumping more voltage while getting less hashrate/s than a 5870.

I get electricity included in my rent so I don't mind :3

The bad part is that my 7 year old 400W PSU couldn't keep up and smelled like it was burning.. So I had to lower the clocks to 1000/1200/1.20V and pushing 381 Mhash. I still think it's good for a 120$ card (or 180$ when I bought it)..
fpgaminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile WWW
May 06, 2011, 03:57:51 AM
 #33

Yay!

I got my 5850 running at 900MHz@1.150V. Finally.  Tongue It has been stable during the day (before it crashed at 900MHz). I might try cranking it up more tomorrow.

I like how my purchase is actually increasing in value over time  Cool

chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 03:06:14 PM
 #34

Any tool to actually modify the BIOS?
I would like to OC with software, then, once I found the max clock and desired voltage setting, I would like to flash the BIOS so I don't need to worry about OC again when I switch the card to another PC.
Is there a complete guide for that?

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
keybaud
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 03:09:55 PM
 #35

Any tool to actually modify the BIOS?
I would like to OC with software, then, once I found the max clock and desired voltage setting, I would like to flash the BIOS so I don't need to worry about OC again when I switch the card to another PC.
Is there a complete guide for that?

Readily available BIOSes:

http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/

Radeon BIOS Editor:

http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1962/TechPowerUp_Radeon_Bios_Editor_v1.28.html
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 03:39:50 PM
 #36

Is it still true that Non-reference (Sapphire 5850 Xtreme) cards don't support BIOS voltage mods?

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
djex
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 03:58:09 PM
 #37

Is it still true that Non-reference (Sapphire 5850 Xtreme) cards don't support BIOS voltage mods?

I believe so. I had this trouble myself. Trying to find a place that sells the reference model is a pain. Just ordered 2 x 5850 sapphire extremes, hoping their reference Tongue.

Smiley  : 1LbvSEJwtQZKLSQQVYxQJes8YneQk2yhE3
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 04:20:02 PM
 #38

Well, Sapphire 5850 Extreme is NOT reference. So I guess I just blow up your hope.

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
keybaud
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 05:53:33 PM
 #39

Is it still true that Non-reference (Sapphire 5850 Xtreme) cards don't support BIOS voltage mods?

Not necessarily, as there are 2 different types of voltage mods.

1. The first and simplest is to enable volatge adjustment with MSI Afterburner, but a lot of cards don't have the relevant voltage regulators to allow this to happen.

2. The other option is to find a BIOS someone has already modified (or use RADEON BIOS Editor) to set different voltages from the existing voltage table within your card. This can be dangerous, but is achievable as I flashed my XFX 5870 with a modified ASUS BIOS. I didn't get software voltage control, but the BIOS was reporting that it was using a higher voltage than before. Having said this, it didn't overclock any better on the higher voltage, so now I'm looking at flashing it with a lower voltage to see if it still works, but uses less power.
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
May 06, 2011, 06:15:31 PM
 #40

2. The other option is to find a BIOS someone has already modified (or use RADEON BIOS Editor) to set different voltages from the existing voltage table within your card. This can be dangerous, but is achievable as I flashed my XFX 5870 with a modified ASUS BIOS. I didn't get software voltage control, but the BIOS was reporting that it was using a higher voltage than before.
If your XFX isn't a reference card it probably uses a voltage controller that isn't compatible with the bios you flashed. If that's the case it may look like the voltage is changed, but it's actually using preset values.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!