Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2018, 05:26:35 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Hacking BFL Monarchs and servicing them while times are weird.  (Read 18681 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1015

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 01:34:40 AM
 #181

These units are very interesting. I'm impressed that BFL was able to produce such a decent unit (albeit hot-running and below performance expectations) given all of their failings.
Yeah they had a tough time building the damn things. Main fault in retrospecitve was building such a fucking big chip; it ran so hot they couldn't run them in series like ants did, and trying to build a power step down supply that could feed the chips wound up with FETs that ran almost as hot as the chip (inefficient). A series string of 15 smaller chips would have been amazing, but they wanted to do the stupid plug it in your computer form factor.

And they were insane. Ah well, no more domestic US miner manufacturers. Ants or nothing.
1524677195
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524677195

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524677195
Reply with quote  #2

1524677195
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524677195
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524677195

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524677195
Reply with quote  #2

1524677195
Report to moderator
mkj_14
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 24, 2018, 08:18:40 PM
 #182

apologies if this has been covered before.

i have a number of BFL Monarch.  they power up and run fine at idle.  within 5 minutes of mining the temps at 90C and cut off.  any ideas where i should start?


Thanks
DaveF
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 712
Merit: 515


If you can read this you are too close.


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2018, 12:12:45 PM
 #183

apologies if this has been covered before.

i have a number of BFL Monarch.  they power up and run fine at idle.  within 5 minutes of mining the temps at 90C and cut off.  any ideas where i should start?


Thanks

Could be several things.

1) Cooling pump is dead so the fluid is not moving.
2) All the coolant leaked out (or was drained)
3) The cooling blocks are not solidly attached to the chips.

If you know someone with PC liquid cooling experience they can usually tell you in a few minutes if it's any of those. And for the most part #1 and #2 they are easily (if not cheaply) fixable. #3 is quick and simple but usually not the issue.

Did you get them used or have you had them since new? Did they ever work?

-Dave











▄█████████████▄
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░░░▄███▄░░░░█
█░░░░█████░░░░█
█░░░░▀███▀░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
█░░░░░░░░░░░░░█
██████▀▀███████
▀█████▄▄██████▀

         ▄▄██████████████▄▄
       ▄█▀▀              ▀▀█▄
     ▄█▀                    ▀█▄
    ██     ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄     ██
   ██   ▄▀▀ ▄▄████████▄▄ ▀▀▄   ██
   █  ▄▀ ▄██▀▀▀      ▀▀▀██▄ ▀▄ 
   █  ██▀ ▄▄        ▄▄ ▀██ ▐ 
   █  ▐█▌ ████ ▄▄▄▄ ████ ▐█▌▐ 
  ██  ██▄ ▀▀  ▀▄▄▀  ▀▀ ▄█▐  ██
 ▐██  ▀▄ ▀▀█▄▄▄      ▄▄▄█▀▀ ▄▀  ██▌
 ████▄  ▀▄▄ ▀▀███████▀▀ ▄▄▀  ▄████
▐██▌▀██▄▄  ▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀  ▄▄██▀▐██▌
██▀   ▀▀██▄▄            ▄███▀▀   ▀██
          ▀▀████████████▀▀
vivid









████████████
███████████████
██░░░░░██████████
██░░░░░████████████
███████████████████
██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
███████████████████
██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
███████████████████
██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
███████████████████
███████████████████
PRESALE
FEBRUARY 23










lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1015

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
March 27, 2018, 02:39:44 AM
 #184

Dave's got it. I'd check first to make sure the fan on the front of the radiator is hooked up and working, then check to see if the radiator is getting warm (indication of pumps running). Then check to make sure the fan on the back works, then let's go from there.

C
mkj_14
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 29, 2018, 06:05:26 AM
 #185

Hi,  thanks for the reply's.

i bought them used at a very god price for a bit of fun.

1 - work but at a lower rate. (500 ghz instead of 700 ghz)
1 - I've got one to work, however runs a little hot (68 - 78 C)
2 - overheat within 5 minute of mining.

unfortunately there no one in my area that every seen water-cooling.  plus i couldn't trust the quality of work as I'm in working in the middle east at the moment.



Cheers
mkj_14
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 02, 2018, 06:27:41 AM
 #186

Just out of interest.

Has anyone been able to get the monarch to work on Dash Coin?
cbjarscoobs
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 02, 2018, 04:56:36 PM
 #187

Just out of interest.

Has anyone been able to get the monarch to work on Dash Coin?

Monarchs hash SHA256 coins. Dash is a different algorithm, won’t work.
cbjarscoobs
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 02, 2018, 04:59:34 PM
 #188

apologies if this has been covered before.

i have a number of BFL Monarch.  they power up and run fine at idle.  within 5 minutes of mining the temps at 90C and cut off.  any ideas where i should start?


Thanks

I have same issue but mine cut off in 5 secs not 5 minutes.
mkj_14
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 03, 2018, 10:49:21 AM
 #189

hi,  does anyone know where the temperature sensor are, and if there replaceable?  my showing 150 C at start up........could be the problem me thinks. Grin
cbjarscoobs
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 24, 2018, 06:08:29 PM
 #190

hi,  does anyone know where the temperature sensor are, and if there replaceable?  my showing 150 C at start up........could be the problem me thinks. Grin
i would like to know as well
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!