Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:36:29 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Electrum server discussion thread  (Read 51340 times)
killerstorm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994



View Profile
June 15, 2013, 08:12:31 AM
 #201

Is it still possible to use abe as a backend? I've read that it is deprecated, but I kinda want it this way...

colored coins proof-of-concept: private currencies, stock/bond p2p exchange

Tips and donations: 16v13Fa9cPmfFzpm9mmbWwAkXY4gyY6uh4
1481416589
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416589

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416589
Reply with quote  #2

1481416589
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481416589
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416589

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416589
Reply with quote  #2

1481416589
Report to moderator
1481416589
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481416589

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481416589
Reply with quote  #2

1481416589
Report to moderator
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
June 15, 2013, 08:19:24 AM
 #202

As far as I'm aware it's still possible it's just no longer supported.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
DigitalHermit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150


Thank you! Thank you! ...


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 06:31:38 PM
 #203

FYI: Recent electrum servers are reported to have gotten stuck when attempting to parse Block 251526.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=271761

This is preventing clients from seeing or processing any new transactions. No workaround reported yet.
EagleTM
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 11:11:46 PM
 #204

To all server ops:

All servers are stuck on block 251526 because of a bug in the deserializer.
Pleae see https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=271761.0
Please stop your server, git pull to the latest head and restart.

From simple tests it looks as though that's all that is required to get a clean database with 251526 indexed. This isn't final yet, so there's still the chance we need to re-index from a backup... I'll let you know if that's the case but for now it doesn't appear to be necessary.
Pontius
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 225


View Profile
August 12, 2013, 06:32:27 AM
 #205

To all server ops:

All servers are stuck on block 251526 because of a bug in the deserializer.
Pleae see https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=271761.0
Please stop your server, git pull to the latest head and restart.

From simple tests it looks as though that's all that is required to get a clean database with 251526 indexed. This isn't final yet, so there's still the chance we need to re-index from a backup... I'll let you know if that's the case but for now it doesn't appear to be necessary.


electrum.pdmc.net patched & restarted.
aquarius
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 275



View Profile
August 13, 2013, 01:34:26 PM
 #206

To all server ops:

All servers are stuck on block 251526 because of a bug in the deserializer.
Pleae see https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=271761.0
Please stop your server, git pull to the latest head and restart.

From simple tests it looks as though that's all that is required to get a clean database with 251526 indexed. This isn't final yet, so there's still the chance we need to re-index from a backup... I'll let you know if that's the case but for now it doesn't appear to be necessary.


electrum.pdmc.net patched & restarted.

awesome! Smiley

+1 internets
SnowDog2003
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
September 03, 2013, 02:28:34 AM
 #207

Trying to set up an Electrum Server and am having an issue:

* The client will not connect to it. It returns Errno: 111 Connection Refused.

The block chain is caught up. I am specifically trying to connect the client to the server using TCP, <IP Address>, 50001.

These are my open ports:

22           tcp   0.0.0.0/0   
8081-8082   tcp   0.0.0.0/0   
8333           tcp   0.0.0.0/0   
50001-50002   tcp   0.0.0.0/0   
0-65535   tcp   127.0.0.0/8   
0-65535   udp   127.0.0.0/8   
0           icmp   127.0.0.0/8   

Electrum Server host file is as follows.
** Note that I do not know what the 'password' is supposed to be. I have not been able to find a reference for that.

[server]
host = localhost
#report_host =                                                                                                                                  
native_port=50000
stratum_tcp_port = 50001
stratum_http_port = 8081
#stratum_tcp_ssl_port = 50002                                                                                                                  
#stratum_http_ssl_port = 8082                                                                                                                  
#report_stratum_tcp_port = 50001                                                                                                                
#report_stratum_http_port = 80                                                                                                                  
#report_stratum_tcp_ssl_port = 50002                                                                                                            
#report_stratum_http_ssl_port = 443                                                                                                            
password = secret
banner = Welcome to Electrum!
irc = no
cache=yes
#irc_nick = <yournickname>                                                                                                                      
#ssl_certfile = /path/to/electrum-server.crt                                                                                                    
ssl_certfile = /etc/ssl/electrum.crt
ssl_keyfile = /etc/ssl/electrum.key

# default backend is leveldb (pruning server)                                                                                                  
backend = leveldb

[leveldb]
path = /home/ubuntu/db/electrum-leveldb-100
# for each address, history will be pruned if it is longer than this limit                                                                      
pruning_limit = 100

[bitcoind]
host = localhost
port = 8332
# user and password from bitcoin.conf                                                                                                          
user=bitcoinrpc
password=<pw>

Any thoughts?
SnowDog2003
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
September 03, 2013, 03:23:31 AM
 #208

It connects locally through tcp, http, ssl, and even https. I just tested that. I just can't connect remotely. I did uncomment stratum_tcp_ssl_port and stratum_http_ssl_port.
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
September 03, 2013, 07:27:23 AM
 #209

Firewall? NAT?

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
SnowDog2003
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
September 03, 2013, 10:00:25 AM
 #210

Firewall? NAT?

I'm running on an Amazon EC2 server. The ports listed above, are the open ports.

My local client that I'm using to test it, is my laptop, and it connects fine to the other electrum servers. I'm using the IP port to specify the name of my server, and this works when I attach locally and use 127.0.0.1. It just doesn't work when I'm connecting from my laptop and using the IP of the Amazon server.

The 'password=secret' is the only thing that bugs me, from the server's electrum.conf file. I don't know understand it. What is it a password to?

It's frustrating because this setup went so well. I had the whole thing ready to download the block chain in about 2 hours, since I already had the bitcoind up and running; only to be stumped by a port issue. Smiley
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
September 03, 2013, 10:22:02 AM
 #211

Firewall? NAT?

I'm running on an Amazon EC2 server. The ports listed above, are the open ports.

My local client that I'm using to test it, is my laptop, and it connects fine to the other electrum servers. I'm using the IP port to specify the name of my server, and this works when I attach locally and use 127.0.0.1. It just doesn't work when I'm connecting from my laptop and using the IP of the Amazon server.

The 'password=secret' is the only thing that bugs me, from the server's electrum.conf file. I don't know understand it. What is it a password to?

It's frustrating because this setup went so well. I had the whole thing ready to download the block chain in about 2 hours, since I already had the bitcoind up and running; only to be stumped by a port issue. Smiley

And electrum-server is started correctly?

I have no experience with EC2 Sad

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
SnowDog2003
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
September 03, 2013, 10:30:27 AM
 #212


And electrum-server is started correctly?

I have no experience with EC2 Sad

I'm starting it and stopping it with the 'start' and 'stop' scripts in ~/src/electrum/server, and seems to run fine and connect when I run a local electrum client. It brings up the transactions and the balances just fine.

What are these two parameters from the electrum.conf server file?

host=localhost (?? Is this correct? Since this is the Electrum server, then isn't this correct?)

password=secret (Huh This bugs me a lot. Do I just make something up for the password, or is this supposed to somehow be used?)

From 'electrum.conf' file:

[server]
host = localhost
#report_host =                                                                                                                                 
native_port=50000
stratum_tcp_port = 50001
stratum_http_port = 8081
stratum_tcp_ssl_port = 50002                                                                                                                   
stratum_http_ssl_port = 8082                                                                                                                   
#report_stratum_tcp_port = 50001                                                                                                               
#report_stratum_http_port = 80                                                                                                                 
#report_stratum_tcp_ssl_port = 50002                                                                                                           
#report_stratum_http_ssl_port = 443                                                                                                             
password = secret

tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
September 03, 2013, 10:36:10 AM
 #213


And electrum-server is started correctly?

I have no experience with EC2 Sad

I'm starting it and stopping it with the 'start' and 'stop' scripts in ~/src/electrum/server, and seems to run fine and connect when I run a local electrum client. It brings up the transactions and the balances just fine.

What are these two parameters from the electrum.conf server file?

host=localhost (?? Is this correct? Since this is the Electrum server, then isn't this correct?)

password=secret (Huh This bugs me a lot. Do I just make something up for the password, or is this supposed to somehow be used?)

From 'electrum.conf' file:

[server]
host = localhost
#report_host =                                                                                                                                 
native_port=50000
stratum_tcp_port = 50001
stratum_http_port = 8081
stratum_tcp_ssl_port = 50002                                                                                                                   
stratum_http_ssl_port = 8082                                                                                                                   
#report_stratum_tcp_port = 50001                                                                                                               
#report_stratum_http_port = 80                                                                                                                 
#report_stratum_tcp_ssl_port = 50002                                                                                                           
#report_stratum_http_ssl_port = 443                                                                                                             
password = secret

For me, host is set to electrum.be:
Code:
host = electrum.be
Electrum.be resolves to the public ip of my server. In your case, this will resolve to 127.0.0.1 (via /etc/hosts). So this is 1 problem.

Password should be set to the password of bitcoin.conf.

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
SnowDog2003
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
September 03, 2013, 10:47:38 AM
 #214


For me, host is set to electrum.be:
Code:
host = electrum.be
Electrum.be resolves to the public ip of my server. In your case, this will resolve to 127.0.0.1 (via /etc/hosts). So this is 1 problem.

Password should be set to the password of bitcoin.conf.

Thank you! I think that solved it. I changed from 'host=localhost' to 'host=0.0.0.0', and I commented out the 'password=secret'. This isn't the bitcoind section, so I don't think it's the bitcoin password. I DO have the bitcoin password set in the bitcoind section.

Anyway, now I can connect REMOTELY using TCP, SSL, HTTP, and HTTPS.

Cool... If this works, I'll be running another public electrum server soon. Electrum is really the ONLY wallet that doesn't suck in some way.
[I hope Thomas doesn't take offense to this. This is my highest compliment.]


EagleTM
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 12:02:09 AM
 #215

To server ops: You can upgrade to bitcoind 0.8.4 without any problems with the current electrum-server code. Just apply the known patch and compile.

I've updated the howto accordingly: https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum-server/blob/master/HOWTO.md
neoranga
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
September 08, 2013, 06:41:40 PM
 #216

Yeah! I've just got my server to work on a linux VM with the help from the IRC channel and now I was wondering if I can make it run on windows.
Is there anything that will prevent me from compiling and running the electrum server on a windows machine?
soapmodem
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
September 26, 2013, 06:18:15 PM
 #217

Does anyone have a Windows compile of the latest Electrum server?
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
September 26, 2013, 07:17:37 PM
 #218

It's python, no compile AFAIK. (I haven't tried running server on Windows though...)

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
September 30, 2013, 12:26:49 PM
 #219

Hello,

I just introduced SSL certificate validation in the client code.
The client does accepts self-signed certificates.
However, it rejects expired certificates.

I noticed that a few servers have expired certificates, and are rejected by the client.
If that is your case, please create a new certificate for your server; you may set its expiration date in 10 years.


Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
October 23, 2013, 10:04:09 AM
 #220

we just detected and fixed a bug with the servers:
https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum-server/commit/4a82994032a48db0fc4be814091215c69891ab17

if you are running an Electrum server, please do a git pull;
(servers that have not updated their code are stuck at block 265457).


Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!