Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 10:08:45 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Electrum server discussion thread  (Read 51228 times)
filchef
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138


View Profile
April 13, 2014, 09:42:52 PM
 #241

Your server is not good configured when I connect to him hi don't show limit of users for all servers and when I change it with another hi disappear  from the list of servers.
Hmm, I wouldn't call that "not good configured" - the server just lost its connection to IRC. After restarting it everything is back to normal.
Anyway thank you for the hint!

Again lost connection to IRC so I didnt try to use low fee 0.00001/kb with your server but with another servers ho use bitcoind  0.9.1 I try to send without suggest are you chek it is working with your server because I try with  <mr_burdell> from #electrum IRC chanel to fix him server without suggest - I send to him 0.0003 btc with fee 0.00001 but in him log there is dust error.
1480802925
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802925

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802925
Reply with quote  #2

1480802925
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480802925
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802925

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802925
Reply with quote  #2

1480802925
Report to moderator
1480802925
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802925

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802925
Reply with quote  #2

1480802925
Report to moderator
1480802925
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802925

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802925
Reply with quote  #2

1480802925
Report to moderator
raindex
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
April 21, 2014, 09:25:13 PM
 #242

Can anyone give me a hint on what might be going wrong with my server. Any time it catches up with the blockchain, it crashes. The exception error message suggests that bind() fails, however I can't see the reason for that happening, as all ports assigned in the configuration file are unused. Here is what I get in the log file:

Code:
[21/04/2014-12:37:56] Database version 3
[21/04/2014-12:37:56] Blockchain height 296956
[21/04/2014-12:37:56] UTXO tree root hash: 469a5e3385265bc67a0f9479cc26f012d31b6544728148faf594140411d964d3
[21/04/2014-12:37:56] Coins in database: 1267617386701994
[21/04/2014-12:37:56] catching up missing headers: 296934 296956
[21/04/2014-13:24:55] catch_up: block 297000 (4.029s 2814.156s) 36ce5c0b18d7b84140e4b87c8d0334046c267c024d1ef51fe34b43573a97d54f
[21/04/2014-14:04:53] Blockchain is up to date.
[21/04/2014-14:05:40] utxo not in database; postponing mempool update
[21/04/2014-14:05:40] Memory pool initialized.
[21/04/2014-14:05:40] TCP server started on port 50001
[21/04/2014-14:05:40] SSL server started on port 50002
[21/04/2014-14:05:40] Stopping Stratum
Exception in thread Thread-8:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/threading.py", line 811, in __bootstrap_inner
    self.run()
  File "/home/bitcoin/src/electrum/server/transports/stratum_tcp.py", line 168, in run
    sock.bind((self.host, self.port))
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/socket.py", line 224, in meth
    return getattr(self._sock,name)(*args)
error: [Errno 99] Cannot assign requested address

Exception in thread Thread-7:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/threading.py", line 811, in __bootstrap_inner
    self.run()
  File "/home/bitcoin/src/electrum/server/transports/stratum_tcp.py", line 168, in run
    sock.bind((self.host, self.port))
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/socket.py", line 224, in meth
    return getattr(self._sock,name)(*args)
error: [Errno 99] Cannot assign requested address

Exception in thread Thread-9:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/threading.py", line 811, in __bootstrap_inner
    self.run()
  File "/home/bitcoin/src/electrum/server/transports/stratum_http.py", line 375, in run
    self.server = StratumThreadedServer((self.host, self.port))
  File "/home/bitcoin/src/electrum/server/transports/stratum_http.py", line 294, in __init__
    SocketServer.TCPServer.__init__(self, addr, requestHandler, bind_and_activate)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/SocketServer.py", line 419, in __init__
    self.server_bind()
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/SocketServer.py", line 430, in server_bind
    self.socket.bind(self.server_address)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/socket.py", line 224, in meth
    return getattr(self._sock,name)(*args)
error: [Errno 99] Cannot assign requested address

Exception in thread Thread-10:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/threading.py", line 811, in __bootstrap_inner
    self.run()
  File "/home/bitcoin/src/electrum/server/transports/stratum_http.py", line 370, in run
    self.server = StratumThreadedServer((self.host, self.port), self.certfile, self.keyfile)
  File "/home/bitcoin/src/electrum/server/transports/stratum_http.py", line 327, in __init__
    SSLTCPServer.__init__(self, addr, certfile, keyfile, requestHandler, bind_and_activate)
  File "/home/bitcoin/src/electrum/server/transports/stratum_http.py", line 263, in __init__
    self.server_bind()
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/SocketServer.py", line 430, in server_bind
    self.socket.bind(self.server_address)
  File "/usr/lib64/python2.7/socket.py", line 224, in meth
    return getattr(self._sock,name)(*args)
error: [Errno 99] Cannot assign requested address

[21/04/2014-14:05:50] Stopping timer
[21/04/2014-14:05:50] Closing database...
[21/04/2014-14:05:50] Database is closed
[21/04/2014-14:05:50] Electrum Server stopped
raindex
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
April 22, 2014, 06:01:24 AM
 #243

Got it. In the configuration file, host should resolve to the address of an interface where the server should listen for new connections. For public server it should probably be 0.0.0.0. The name used by clients and peers to connect to the server should be defined in report_host.
s4
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
April 23, 2014, 05:56:41 PM
 #244


Hi all,

I just got my electrum server up and running today. All seems to be operating fine, but I am receiving this mesage in the logs:

KICK E_f6ee30c3ff:wrong_hash

This looks to be something to do with the IRC server for finding peers. Is this something to be concerned about?
raindex
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
April 23, 2014, 11:30:35 PM
 #245

I'm having the same problem. Folks at IRC suggested to redownload the DB from foundry.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
April 24, 2014, 06:33:54 AM
 #246

Electrum servers build and maintain a merkle hash tree of the set of UTXOs in the blockchain.
Your server will be kicked from IRC if it does not advertise the correct root hash.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
raindex
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
April 25, 2014, 12:36:08 AM
 #247

Redownloading latest DB indeed fixed the problem.

Now I wonder what the following lines mean. Is this normal?

[24/04/2014-00:33:26] utxo not in database; postponing mempool update
[24/04/2014-00:33:37] utxo not in database; postponing mempool update
s4
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
April 25, 2014, 07:53:13 PM
 #248


Fixed it for me as well.

I was able to reproduce the problem by starting the server without setting an appropriate limit for maximum open files. After an exception was thrown for too many open files, correcting the maximum open files and restarting the server caused my server to be kicked from IRC.

ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
April 28, 2014, 03:44:30 PM
 #249

Four Electrum servers need to be updated:

 E_SLUSH
 E_206I
 E_CryptoPusH
 E_mg

They are running with the old 0.8 protocol (not used by recent clients), and they often get rejected from the IRC channel due to excess flood (this bug has been corrected for a while).
Please upgrade!


Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Martok88
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 278


SteamBitShop.com


View Profile WWW
May 22, 2014, 08:48:57 PM
 #250

Hi everyone. I've got my server up and running, and I'm able to connect to it using a copy of Electrum running on the same machine. However I'm unable to connect to it from my windows PC on the same network. I've tried each of the protocols and double checked the config, everything looks fine as far as I can tell. Any help would be appreciated.

Edit: I tried using both the server's LAN IP and its hostname to connect.

Edit2: I read through some previous posts and fixed the probelm by setting host to 0.0.0.0 in electrum.conf

If I'm able to store either the blockchain or Electrum's leveldb on an SSD, but not both, which would be better?
Pontius
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 225


View Profile
July 07, 2014, 01:51:47 PM
 #251

Third time in 2 or 3 months that the database of my server e2.pdmc.net broke ("wrong_hash"). Is this just me or are other operators experiencing this as well?
Anyway, I'll take my server offline for now and bring it back online once I find enough time to move it faster hardware (probably in August).
it-zone
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37



View Profile
July 07, 2014, 02:17:47 PM
 #252

Third time in 2 or 3 months that the database of my server e2.pdmc.net broke ("wrong_hash"). Is this just me or are other operators experiencing this as well?
Anyway, I'll take my server offline for now and bring it back online once I find enough time to move it faster hardware (probably in August).

I have the same, I moved to Samsung 840 SSD but database is still breaking sometimes, without a clear reason.

S.

My contribution to Bitcoin: I run Electrum server btc.random.re and two open bitcoin nodes.
raindex
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
July 07, 2014, 05:19:29 PM
 #253

Third time in 2 or 3 months that the database of my server e2.pdmc.net broke ("wrong_hash"). Is this just me or are other operators experiencing this as well?
Anyway, I'll take my server offline for now and bring it back online once I find enough time to move it faster hardware (probably in August).

I have the same, I moved to Samsung 840 SSD but database is still breaking sometimes, without a clear reason.

I never had this problem, while running the server on a very old and busy box.

Do both of you want to share particulars of your setup to see if there are any similarities?
it-zone
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37



View Profile
July 08, 2014, 01:30:18 AM
 #254

I have nothing extraordinary in the config to show Smiley

My contribution to Bitcoin: I run Electrum server btc.random.re and two open bitcoin nodes.
grnbrg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 509

Official LRM shill


View Profile
July 08, 2014, 03:04:23 AM
 #255

Third time in 2 or 3 months that the database of my server e2.pdmc.net broke ("wrong_hash"). Is this just me or are other operators experiencing this as well?
Anyway, I'll take my server offline for now and bring it back online once I find enough time to move it faster hardware (probably in August).

Do you have the open files limit set sufficiently high? 

Code:
ulimit -n

should show 16k or higher.



grnbrg.
Pontius
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 225


View Profile
July 08, 2014, 06:39:32 AM
 #256

Do you have the open files limit set sufficiently high? 
Code:
ulimit -n
should show 16k or higher.

That shouldn't be the problem - nofile is set to 32k in the upstart script.

My setup:
Ubuntu 12.04 LTS (kernel 3.2.0) w/Python 2.7.3; latest Electrum server from git; leveldb 1.9.0; plyvel 0.8

grnbrg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 509

Official LRM shill


View Profile
July 08, 2014, 01:24:17 PM
 #257

Do you have the open files limit set sufficiently high? 
Code:
ulimit -n
should show 16k or higher.

That shouldn't be the problem - nofile is set to 32k in the upstart script.

My setup:
Ubuntu 12.04 LTS (kernel 3.2.0) w/Python 2.7.3; latest Electrum server from git; leveldb 1.9.0; plyvel 0.8



What does the ulimit command show for the userid running the server, though?  On most Linuxes, max open files is set to 1024, and this limit can not be raised by non-root users.

You probably need to add a line to /etc/security/limits.conf to give your server user a higher soft/hard limit. ie:

Code:
electrum    soft    nofile    16384
electrum    hard   nofile    16384


grnbrg.
Pontius
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 225


View Profile
July 09, 2014, 05:08:51 AM
 #258

What does the ulimit command show for the userid running the server, though?  On most Linuxes, max open files is set to 1024, and this limit can not be raised by non-root users.

As said the 'ulimit' is not the problem:
Code:
$ ps -efa|grep server.py |grep -v grep
electrum 24942     1  0 06:59 ?        00:00:00 /usr/bin/python -u server.py

$ cat /proc/24942/limits
Limit                     Soft Limit           Hard Limit           Units
Max cpu time              unlimited            unlimited            seconds
Max file size             unlimited            unlimited            bytes
Max data size             unlimited            unlimited            bytes
Max stack size            8388608              unlimited            bytes
Max core file size        0                    unlimited            bytes
Max resident set          unlimited            unlimited            bytes
Max processes             15862                15862                processes
Max open files            32768                32768                files
Max locked memory         65536                65536                bytes
Max address space         unlimited            unlimited            bytes
Max file locks            unlimited            unlimited            locks
Max pending signals       15862                15862                signals
Max msgqueue size         819200               819200               bytes
Max nice priority         0                    0
Max realtime priority     0                    0
Max realtime timeout      unlimited            unlimited            us
GiGa#
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163


View Profile
July 12, 2014, 04:10:57 AM
 #259

Hi all!

I have setup an Electrum BTC server on one of my linux machine.  It is working great!  

I also wanted to install Electrum LTC beta server on the same PC, but since both servers uses the same resources files - that didn't work.  So, I installed the Electrum LTC on a second linux machine on my LAN.  

Separately, they both worked perfectly. However, when I tried to operate both at the same time, that didn't work... The obvious thing you may think of, is common ports (50001/50002, 8001/8002, etc).  So, I changed the BTC server to different ports, and IRC nickname, in the /etc/electrum.conf file.  Although, the BTC server booted ok, the minute I tried to connect a client to it, the BTC server crashed with the error: "UTF8 codec can't decode byte 0x84 in position 4, invalid start byte"

It seems that the only way to operate both servers is to have them on the default ports, but on different outbound IP addresses?

My question: is there any other way to run both BTC and LTC Electrum servers on the same LAN?


PS: @Pontius - I could not get any of the above servers to work on Ubuntu 12.04, so I installed 14.04 on both Linux PC and all problems went away... specially the "easy_install plyvel" part of the install...). ulimit -n is not that important for Electrum-LTC, but for Electrum-BTC, I had to set it to 16384 with ("websuser" being your Linux account name):

Code:
1) Add the following line to /etc/security/limits.conf

webuser hard nofile 64000
then login as webuser

su - webuser
2) Edit following two files for webuser

append .bashrc and .bash_profile file by running

echo "ulimit -n 64000" >> .bashrc ; echo "ulimit -n 64000" >> .bash_profile
3) Log out, then log back in and verify that the changes have been made correctly:

$ ulimit -a | grep open
open files                      (-n) 64000
g0dcompl3x
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
July 14, 2014, 10:47:55 PM
 #260

I don't know how to edit/create/activate any server on my Electrum. I use a Window and any expert could just put a link here where I can learn about it. I know what you're thinking, but it's effortless to help me out here. Thanks
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16 17 18 19 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!