Bitcoin Forum
May 25, 2018, 09:01:26 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Electrum server discussion thread  (Read 60351 times)
sd
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 730
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 25, 2014, 08:16:34 PM
 #261

I'm running the most recent electrum server from GIT. The logfile seems to be missing blocks, is the following normal?

Code:
[25/07/2014-20:48:22] blockchain: 312457 (82.964s)
[25/07/2014-20:58:35] blockchain: 312458 (194.778s)
[25/07/2014-21:02:21] blockchain: 312460 (128.478s)
[25/07/2014-21:10:27] blockchain: 312462 (250.398s)
[25/07/2014-21:16:38] blockchain: 312463 (166.109s)
[25/07/2014-21:22:49] blockchain: 312464 (212.260s)
[25/07/2014-21:51:48] blockchain: 312466 (670.598s)
[25/07/2014-21:56:06] blockchain: 312468 (168.989s)
[25/07/2014-22:04:08] blockchain: 312469 (166.773s)

Why do I not get a log message for every block?
1527282086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527282086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527282086
Reply with quote  #2

1527282086
Report to moderator
1527282086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527282086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527282086
Reply with quote  #2

1527282086
Report to moderator
1527282086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527282086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527282086
Reply with quote  #2

1527282086
Report to moderator
Be very wary of relying on JavaScript for security on sites such as blockchain.info and brainwallet.org. The site can change the JavaScript at any time unless you take unusual precautions, and browsers are not generally known for their airtight security.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527282086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527282086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527282086
Reply with quote  #2

1527282086
Report to moderator
1527282086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527282086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527282086
Reply with quote  #2

1527282086
Report to moderator
1527282086
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527282086

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527282086
Reply with quote  #2

1527282086
Report to moderator
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1899
Merit: 1007



View Profile WWW
August 08, 2014, 06:59:44 PM
 #262

I'm running the most recent electrum server from GIT. The logfile seems to be missing blocks, is the following normal?

Code:
[25/07/2014-20:48:22] blockchain: 312457 (82.964s)
[25/07/2014-20:58:35] blockchain: 312458 (194.778s)
[25/07/2014-21:02:21] blockchain: 312460 (128.478s)
[25/07/2014-21:10:27] blockchain: 312462 (250.398s)
[25/07/2014-21:16:38] blockchain: 312463 (166.109s)
[25/07/2014-21:22:49] blockchain: 312464 (212.260s)
[25/07/2014-21:51:48] blockchain: 312466 (670.598s)
[25/07/2014-21:56:06] blockchain: 312468 (168.989s)
[25/07/2014-22:04:08] blockchain: 312469 (166.773s)

Why do I not get a log message for every block?

if several blocks are available, it processes them together, before it prints a log line.
I agree that it can be confusing, it should probably print a message on each block

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
sd
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 730
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 14, 2014, 05:28:58 PM
 #263

Thomas,

You put a lot of great work into Electrum but it's all a bit lost if people can't easily get the server running. Can you update the install instructions? Right now HOWTO.md references start and stop scripts that don't exist. The TLDR section at the top of INSTALL doesn't result in a running server, nor do the full instruction in that file.

I tried to do it myself and send a pull request but I've no idea what the instructions should be. Whatever I try 'python setup.py install' won't install the src module on ubuntu 14.04 so electrum_server.py won't run. It was all working so nicely until I upgraded.

If you want people to run servers it should be as easy as possible for those guys.
it-zone
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0



View Profile
August 14, 2014, 05:35:10 PM
 #264

Can you update the install instructions? Right now HOWTO.md references start and stop scripts that don't exist. The TLDR section at the top of INSTALL doesn't result in a running server, nor do the full instruction in that file.

Give Thomas few days, it is completely new version of the server Smiley I will install it soon and I might be able to improve the docs.

My contribution to Bitcoin: I run Electrum server btc.random.re and two open bitcoin nodes.
sd
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 730
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 14, 2014, 06:40:19 PM
 #265

Give Thomas few days, it is completely new version of the server Smiley I will install it soon and I might be able to improve the docs.

I got it running with some minor hacks. I didn't see any tags in the repo. Release tags might be a good idea so if something doesn't work I can just go back to the last tag.

EDIT: Actually, no I didn't get it running. It's choking on a futex.
ThomasV
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1899
Merit: 1007



View Profile WWW
August 15, 2014, 06:58:21 AM
 #266

Give Thomas few days, it is completely new version of the server Smiley I will install it soon and I might be able to improve the docs.

I got it running with some minor hacks. I didn't see any tags in the repo. Release tags might be a good idea so if something doesn't work I can just go back to the last tag.

EDIT: Actually, no I didn't get it running. It's choking on a futex.


I fixed setup.py yesterday.. let me know

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
sd
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 730
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 15, 2014, 08:12:31 AM
 #267

I fixed setup.py yesterday.. let me know

I get different problems now.
Code:
zipimport.ZipImportError: bad local file header in /usr/local/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/electrum_server-0.9-py2.7.egg

This apparently means there is a syntax error somewhere, possibly python code that only works with a higher version. The error message makes it look like a ZIP error, which it isn't. If I run 'python setup.py install' again it seems to work and it seems to run. I can't connect but that may be because it's updating.

I really need to test this on a clean machine.
Martok88
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


SteamBitShop.com


View Profile WWW
August 17, 2014, 02:33:38 PM
 #268

Is it possible to patch the memory allocation bug manually, in the previous version of electrum-server? I attempted to update to the new version but ran into problems, including permission errors.
sd
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 730
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 23, 2014, 08:58:54 AM
 #269

Is it possible to patch the memory allocation bug manually, in the previous version of electrum-server? I attempted to update to the new version but ran into problems, including permission errors.

I really think what this project needs is a release cycle. The version on github is a development version. That's fine but we are going to get frustrated if we try and use it as a production version. I gave up running the new server, if there was a stable tag I would have gone back to that.

I did think of taking a known good version, scripting all setup, and putting it in a docker container. That way setting up a new server would be as easy as 'docker run blahblah/electrum-server' and waiting until it set itself up.
tnkflx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 23, 2014, 10:30:06 PM
 #270

Is it possible to patch the memory allocation bug manually, in the previous version of electrum-server? I attempted to update to the new version but ran into problems, including permission errors.

I really think what this project needs is a release cycle. The version on github is a development version. That's fine but we are going to get frustrated if we try and use it as a production version. I gave up running the new server, if there was a stable tag I would have gone back to that.

I did think of taking a known good version, scripting all setup, and putting it in a docker container. That way setting up a new server would be as easy as 'docker run blahblah/electrum-server' and waiting until it set itself up.

I've been running an Electrum server for almost 2 years now and to be honest it's been running very stable. Yes, there are the occasional bugs, but they are solved quickly by Thomas. You should hang out in the IRC channel though to follow up on the latest developments..

| Operating electrum.be & us.electrum.be |
tl121
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 279
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 21, 2014, 12:38:48 AM
 #271

Has anybody profiled the Python code for electrum server?  It seems slow to me, about four times slower than bitcoind.  Not a problem right now keeping up with blocks, but if the block size gets expanded and transaction rate continues to increase then there is likely to be a problem.  I am using the latest code from github.  I am running a private server on a 1.4 GHz Haswell based atom server with 8 GB of RAM and an SSD.  A recent 1 MB block took about 200 seconds to process according to the log. This had 99% CPU utilization while processing the large block.

Perhaps there are some tuning suggestions around, but I wasn't able to find any.





ingrownpocket
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000


View Profile
December 04, 2014, 06:52:54 PM
 #272

What's the disk size required at the moment to run an Electrum server?
molecular
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2520
Merit: 1006



View Profile
December 04, 2014, 07:24:40 PM
 #273

What's the disk size required at the moment to run an Electrum server?

On my host, in addition to bitcoind data, it currently uses 16GB (pruning_limit=10000)

PGP key molecular F9B70769 fingerprint 9CDD C0D3 20F8 279F 6BE0  3F39 FC49 2362 F9B7 0769
ingrownpocket
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000


View Profile
December 04, 2014, 07:38:48 PM
 #274

What's the disk size required at the moment to run an Electrum server?
On my host, in addition to bitcoind data, it currently uses 16GB (pruning_limit=10000)
Was hoping I could run an Electrum server on a $10 VPS on DigitalOcean. I'll have to find another host then. Thanks.
jack_jin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 23, 2014, 08:52:04 AM
 #275

  I have a trouble when i installed the electrum server.
every thing has been done before run "electrum-server start" command to launch electrum server.
but it print an error: "ImportError: /home/bitcoin/.python-eggs/plyvel-0.9-py2.7-linux-x86_64.egg-tmp/plyvel/_plyvel.so: undefined symbol: _ZN6snappy13RawUncompressEPKcmP".
I have google with the key word "_ZN6snappy13RawUncompressEPKcmP". i found a reference in this page("https://github.com/wbolster/plyvel/issues/5"). I do as this page said, but finally failed.
my leveldb is 1.9, i install the liblevedb1,libleveldb-dev,plyvel.

can somebody help me with this big problem.thanks a lot!
 Sad
BadAss.Sx
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1000


Bulletproof VPS/VPN/Email @ BadAss.Sx


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2015, 01:31:27 PM
 #276

electrum.badass.sx (p10000) is added with no logging (/dev/null).

On my host, in addition to bitcoind data, it currently uses 16GB (pruning_limit=10000)


Don't forget, you need the BTC blockchain also which is 37GB atm.

Need BadAss Bulletproof VPS or Bulletproof VPN or why not just mail safe with Safe-Mail. We care about your privacy.
fex
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 03, 2015, 05:13:26 PM
 #277

Hi,

I'm setting up an electrum server and have a problem getting the run_electrum_server running correctly - this process does not seem to respond.

Steps taken:
- installed electrum server using the provided python script
- setup a user account and specified it in /etc/electrum.conf
- increased allowed file handels for user in /etc/security/limits.conf
- downloaded a leveldb dump, set ownership of all files to user

- start server:
Code:
> sudo electrum-server start
Starting server as daemon
bash: line 0: ulimit: open files: cannot modify limit: Operation not permitted
nohup: redirecting stderr to stdout

- log says:
Code:
[03/04/2015-19:01:15] Starting Electrum server on XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
[03/04/2015-19:01:15] Database version 3
[03/04/2015-19:01:15] Blockchain height 350446
[03/04/2015-19:01:15] UTXO tree root hash: b8bcc0587c80e07e3fd56da7e85faf2676d8dc35da1b1094f236936af1eeb958
[03/04/2015-19:01:15] Coins in database: 1400838008059941
[03/04/2015-19:01:15] TCP server started on XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX:50001

Now if I try "sudo electrum-server getinfo" the electrum-server process blocks and nothing happens. The log does not show anything. Process cpu usage is at ~100%.

Any suggestions on how to debug this?
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1000


View Profile
April 03, 2015, 09:28:52 PM
 #278

@fex,

The electrum-server DB has to catch-up.  It isn't a verbose process but seeing the CPU usage will assure you it is working.  The log will only update after passing every 1000 blocks.  Note it can take an hour or two to catch-up just 10-12 hours (on a modern CPU with an SSD).


Lexiko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 17, 2015, 12:48:51 PM
 #279

Hi! Does anybody have any working sample of using Electrum RPC daemon using curl?

I'm trying to use such request (this was taken from bitcoind rpc server sample):

Code:
curl --data-binary '{ "id": 0, "method": "server.version", "params": [ "1.9.5", "0.6" ] }'  -H 'content-type: text/plain;' http://127.0.0.1:8000/

... but as a result I have an answer:

Code:
<value><string>&lt;class 'xml.parsers.expat.ExpatError'&gt;:not well-formed (invalid token): line 1, column 0</string></value>

fex
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 27, 2015, 09:19:40 PM
 #280

Now if I try "sudo electrum-server getinfo" the electrum-server process blocks and nothing happens. The log does not show anything. Process cpu usage is at ~100%.

Any suggestions on how to debug this?
@fex,

The electrum-server DB has to catch-up.  It isn't a verbose process but seeing the CPU usage will assure you it is working.  The log will only update after passing every 1000 blocks.  Note it can take an hour or two to catch-up just 10-12 hours (on a modern CPU with an SSD).

Yes, I found this to be the case, but there was another thing.

I finally had some time to look into the problem: there were too many files open. I did change the limit for this in /etc/security/limits.conf as described on github, however, two things to note:

1. If you put an entry like "<bitcoinuser> hard nofile 65536" in limits.conf, it will only work if <bitcoinuser> is really logged in. It does not work (at least on Ubuntu 14.10) when another user account loggs in and then uses "su" to get into the <bitcoinuser> account. This might be a problem when using "electrum-server" binary as it seems to use "su". To solve this, I added limits.conf-entries for the "really logged in" user account that starts the "electrum-server" binary.

Maybe this information could be added to the readme on Github somehow.

2. The error indicating that too many files were open was burried under a stack trace that I got when I was running run_electrum_server directly (instead of "electrum-server start"). It did not show up in the log file.



Regards,

Felix
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!