Bitcoin Forum
May 04, 2024, 12:34:22 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Encrypted wallet.dat, lost password, any solutions?  (Read 213393 times)
user0244
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 02, 2013, 10:18:36 PM
 #301

I don't get this script. I have tested it on another wallet. I entered the correct password into the script so it would find it right away. However 2 hours later it still hasn't found? When it started off with the correct password...
1714826062
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714826062

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714826062
Reply with quote  #2

1714826062
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
Evil-Knievel
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1168



View Profile
December 02, 2013, 10:46:35 PM
Last edit: April 17, 2016, 09:28:12 PM by Evil-Knievel
 #302

This message was too old and has been purged
KieranJones1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 04:17:09 AM
 #303

I don't get this script. I have tested it on another wallet. I entered the correct password into the script so it would find it right away. However 2 hours later it still hasn't found? When it started off with the correct password...
I've had trouble getting it to work with Feathercoin wallets, too. Do you know if different encryption standards might be responsible for the problem?
KieranJones1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 04:18:50 AM
 #304

Here is maybe a silly question, but how do I know where my bitcoind is installed? I tend to remember that I installed it after I installed the regular qt client. Right now bitcoind runs but I don't know where it's at.
It's typically located (on Windows) in C:\Program Files (x86)*\Bitcoin\daemon\.

*can be just "program files", depending on your processor
SP4RK7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 09:15:34 AM
 #305

Still no luck.

I haven't been able to get on the forum since Sunday night for some reason, so I will try the new scrypt later thanks
user0244
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 09:30:29 PM
 #306

Well the feathercoin wallet script doesn't work
I entered a simple password and in the brute file i only allowed it to search for letters that were in the password
Pointed it towards the simple password, so when it first ran the first word was the password etc
I ran the program twice and it didn't find the password!

I wonder if a file recovery program would reover an earlier version of the saved wallet?
Ecurb123
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 03, 2013, 09:45:02 PM
 #307

Here is maybe a silly question, but how do I know where my bitcoind is installed? I tend to remember that I installed it after I installed the regular qt client. Right now bitcoind runs but I don't know where it's at.
It's typically located (on Windows) in C:\Program Files (x86)*\Bitcoin\daemon\.

*can be just "program files", depending on your processor

thanks for that but what about on ubuntu?
W-M
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100

In Crypto we Trust.


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 07:40:51 AM
 #308

Well the feathercoin wallet script doesn't work
I entered a simple password and in the brute file i only allowed it to search for letters that were in the password
Pointed it towards the simple password, so when it first ran the first word was the password etc
I ran the program twice and it didn't find the password!

I wonder if a file recovery program would reover an earlier version of the saved wallet?
You very well might.

SatoshiCarnival.co ♢ Refreshing ♥ Fair ♧ Bitcoin Casino

WMCode ~ Web Development ~ Design
amitweil
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 12:52:48 PM
 #309

Hi,

im trying the 2112's script (powershell) but im getting this error and i have no idea what to do

the error "the underlying connection was closed: the connection closed unexpectidely".

anyone has a clue?
george51
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0



View Profile
December 07, 2013, 10:40:09 AM
 #310

Here's another version customized for a specific request.  In this case he knows the start and end of his passphrase, but he forgot the number in between except that it definitely doesn't have any zeroes.  Just edit in the parts you know where it says "pass" and "word".

This may be useful for anyone in a "missing number" situation.  You can set the start or end to "" (empty string) if the mystery number is at the end or beginning, and you can add 0 to the list of digits if yours might have a zero.

Code:
#!/usr/bin/ruby -w

start = "pass"
finish = "word"

def test(phrase)
  print phrase, "\t"
  system("./bitcoind", "walletpassphrase", phrase, "20")
  case $?.exitstatus
  when 0
    puts "Found it!  #{phrase}"
    exit 0
  when 127
    puts "bitcoind not found in current dir"
    exit 1
  when nil
    puts "Aborting"
    exit 1
  end
end

(0..20).each do |length|
  [1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9].repeated_permutation(length) do |digits|
    test(start + digits.join + finish)
  end
end

Any chance you could find one where I know the start and the end, but the middle contains a set of numbers, letters and symbols(of which I know most)?
tjc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 09:25:09 PM
Last edit: December 13, 2013, 01:55:52 PM by tjc
 #311

After about 12 hours of working on it, I successfully ran the script and found my actual passcode for both a Bitcoin and Litecoin wallet within hours of running the script. They were 20 character random passphrases. For Bitcoin, the problem was a character deletion. For Litecoin, it was a mistyped character.

This successfully ended a 4 day stressful quest during which I learned a lot. It was very frustrating at times but ultimately rewarding in a sense of personal accomplishment. I do not have any coding experience and no Windows admin experience. With the kind help and recorded knowledge of posters to this forum thread I was able to figure it out. For those of you this comes easy, good on you. But remember there are those of us out there who have to work really hard to understand this stuff and make it work.

What follows is a laymen’s description of how to get this to work in Windows 7. Hopefully other novice users like me will find it useful if they come across this. I apologize for any errors or misinformation - hopefully it can be corrected by others who know more.

Revalin's ruby passcode cracking script workflow for Windows 7 for both Bitcoin and Litecoin wallets.

(If needed, substutue Litecoin and litcoind for Bitcoin and bitcoind in the instructions below.)

Preparation Phase:

1) Install Ruby 1.9 or newer for Windows http://rubyinstaller.org/downloads/

2) Choose one of the scripts in this thread that best fits your needs. (I chose a version recorded here http://pastebin.com/nWTBxPES - but frankly do not recall how I came across the link). Cut and paste the script into Notepad and save as "brute.rb"  using  the quotations. Right click on the file and open it in edit. Edit the top of the script putting your expected passphrase between the quotations in the line passphrase = "oops". Save the changes. I saved it to the desktop.

3) Drag and drop that brute.rb file into the folder C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\daemon. It will then be in a folder with the bitcoind application file.

*4) Add a config file for bitcoind at C:\Users\addyourusername\AppData\Roaming (or wherever your computer has the wallet.dat file for Bitcoin-qt). Name the config file bitcoin.conf and put the following in it:

rpcuser=bitcoinrpc
rpcpassword=anypassword (apparently any random password will work here)

Note: Other instructions call for adding the line rpcpassword=anypassword to the ruby script. This did not work for me and only worked when I did not add it to the script.

Running Phase:

1) Navigate to C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\daemon. Double click on the bitcoind application. An empty command promp will open (not even a blinking cursor) with C:\Program Files (x86)\Bitcoin\daemon\bitcoind.exe in the title bar. Leave this open and running.

2) Open the Windows start button and type Ruby in the search bar. Then select and open Start Command Prompt with Ruby. A command propt will open with some version of the following:  ruby 1.9.3p484 (2013-11-22) [i386-ming32] and a blinking cursor at C:\Users\yourusername>

type ruby brute.rb

The script should start running and you will see it fill with lines of attempted and failed passphrases. If it succeeds, it stops running and prints Found it! youractualpasscode

*Note: for step 4 above, I still do not know the proper way to make a config file for windows 7. I struggled with this and finally got something to work. If anyone can give some simple and complete instructions please add them.
madmooseman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0



View Profile
December 12, 2013, 10:40:42 AM
 #312

Quote
type ruby brute.rb

The script should start running and you will see it fill with lines of attempted and failed passphrases. If it succeeds, it stops running and prints Found it! youractualpasscode

*Note: for step 4 above, I still do not know the proper way to make a config file for windows 7. I struggled with this and finally got something to work. If anyone can give some simple and complete instructions please add them.

I assume with this you have to navigate to the folder where brute.rb is?

Whether I run it on windows or ubuntu, I have the same problem - it says that my RPC password is incorrect, even when copying the password from the file.

It does try one guess first, but it isn't correct.

Here is the code I'm running (with my passwords censored)

Code:
#!/usr/bin/ruby
require "net/http"
require "json"

$rpc_pass = "rpc-pass"
words = ['pass1', 'pass2', 'pass3', 'pass4']
max_words = 4

def test(passphrase)
  puts passphrase.inspect
  request = Net::HTTP::Post.new("/")
  request.basic_auth "", $rpc_pass
  request.body = { method:"walletpassphrase", params:[passphrase, 1] }.to_json
  response = Net::HTTP.new("localhost", 8332).request(request)
  if response.code == "401" ; puts "Incorrect RPC user/pass" ; exit 1 ; end
  ret = JSON.parse response.body
  if ret["error"].nil? ; puts "\nFound it! #{passphrase.inspect}" ; exit ; end
  return if ret["error"]["code"] == -14 # wrong passphrase
  raise "WTF? #{ret.inspect}"
end

(1..max_words).each do |n_words|
  words.permutation(n_words).each do |perm|
    [" ", ""].repeated_permutation(perm.count + 2).each do |j|
      test(["", *perm, ""].zip(j).join)
    end
  end
end

puts "No luck."

My problem is that I have a list of words, but I don't know the order.  I know that I used either 3 or 4 of these words.

I also have seen people saying to use John the Ripper on this, but I can't for the life of me work it out.

Alternatively, I can offer a "pretty decent" reward if someone can get it based on the lists of possible passwords, the mkey section of the wallet and whatever else you need (short of the wallet file itself).

Any help would be much appreciated.
Revalin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 06:21:27 AM
 #313

I assume with this you have to navigate to the folder where brute.rb is?

Whether I run it on windows or ubuntu, I have the same problem - it says that my RPC password is incorrect, even when copying the password from the file.

I recommend that you rename bitcoin.conf to bitcoin.conf.old to disable it, then provide the password on the command line when you start Bitcoin:
C:\"Program Files (x86)"\Bitcoin\daemon\bitcoind -rpcpassword=rpc-pass

Quote
Here is the code I'm running (with my passwords censored)
(...)
My problem is that I have a list of words, but I don't know the order.  I know that I used either 3 or 4 of these words.

That script is exactly what you need.  Just fill in your list of words in this part: words = ['pass1', 'pass2', 'pass3', 'pass4']

      War is God's way of teaching Americans geography.  --Ambrose Bierce
Bitcoin is the Devil's way of teaching geeks economics.  --Revalin 165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g
madmooseman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0



View Profile
December 13, 2013, 07:45:02 AM
Last edit: December 13, 2013, 08:37:38 AM by madmooseman
 #314

Great, that's running now.  Thanks Revalin!

So when it's gone through them all I'll either get a "success: your password is: dontbeanidiot" or "no luck"?

EDIT: I still get "Incorrect RPC user/pass" even when starting bitcoind as "bitcoind -rpcpassword=rpc-pass".  I renamed bitcoin.conf to bitcoin.conf.old like you said (in linux)

I've got it running on my windows machine, but it won't run in my ubuntu VM properly.  I want to run it in the VM as it may take a while, and I can save the state of the VM and safely reboot my computer without losing the progress.
tjc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145
Merit: 100


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 01:55:18 PM
 #315

Great, that's running now.  Thanks Revalin!

So when it's gone through them all I'll either get a "success: your password is: dontbeanidiot" or "no luck"?

EDIT: I still get "Incorrect RPC user/pass" even when starting bitcoind as "bitcoind -rpcpassword=rpc-pass".  I renamed bitcoin.conf to bitcoin.conf.old like you said (in linux)

I've got it running on my windows machine, but it won't run in my ubuntu VM properly.  I want to run it in the VM as it may take a while, and I can save the state of the VM and safely reboot my computer without losing the progress.

I misspoke in my write up. The rpc password is in the config file but i did not add it to the ruby script. I could not get it to run if I did. I do not understand the reasoning but that is how it worked for me. I have edited it.
madmooseman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0



View Profile
December 14, 2013, 03:47:54 AM
 #316

Great, that's running now.  Thanks Revalin!

So when it's gone through them all I'll either get a "success: your password is: dontbeanidiot" or "no luck"?

EDIT: I still get "Incorrect RPC user/pass" even when starting bitcoind as "bitcoind -rpcpassword=rpc-pass".  I renamed bitcoin.conf to bitcoin.conf.old like you said (in linux)

I've got it running on my windows machine, but it won't run in my ubuntu VM properly.  I want to run it in the VM as it may take a while, and I can save the state of the VM and safely reboot my computer without losing the progress.

I misspoke in my write up. The rpc password is in the config file but i did not add it to the ruby script. I could not get it to run if I did. I do not understand the reasoning but that is how it worked for me. I have edited it.

Yeah alright, so what I did to get it running was to have the line "$rpc_pass = "rpc-pass"" in brute.rb and then start bitcoind as "bitcoind -rpcpassword=rpc-pass".

Is there any way to make the script not check passwords with spaces between them?
Revalin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g


View Profile
December 14, 2013, 04:13:29 AM
Last edit: December 14, 2013, 06:59:54 AM by Revalin
 #317

Is there any way to make the script not check passwords with spaces between them?

Sure:

Code:
#!/usr/bin/ruby
require "net/http"
require "json"

$rpc_pass = "rpc-pass"
words = ['pass1', 'pass2', 'pass3', 'pass4']
max_words = 4

def test(passphrase)
  puts passphrase.inspect
  request = Net::HTTP::Post.new("/")
  request.basic_auth "", $rpc_pass
  request.body = { method:"walletpassphrase", params:[passphrase, 1] }.to_json
  response = Net::HTTP.new("localhost", 8332).request(request)
  if response.code == "401" ; puts "Incorrect RPC user/pass" ; exit 1 ; end
  ret = JSON.parse response.body
  if ret["error"].nil? ; puts "\nFound it! #{passphrase.inspect}" ; exit ; end
  return if ret["error"]["code"] == -14 # wrong passphrase
  raise "WTF? #{ret.inspect}"
end

(1..max_words).each do |n_words|
  words.repeated_permutation(n_words).each { |p| test p.join }
end

puts "No luck."

This should be much faster.  For a list of 30 words it will take less than a day, and 50 words will take about a week.

      War is God's way of teaching Americans geography.  --Ambrose Bierce
Bitcoin is the Devil's way of teaching geeks economics.  --Revalin 165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g
madmooseman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0



View Profile
December 14, 2013, 05:11:00 AM
 #318

Using that script, I get this error:

http://puu.sh/5LZZp.png

Only thing I changed was the word list.

Any ideas?
Revalin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g


View Profile
December 14, 2013, 07:03:40 AM
 #319

Sorry, my mistake.  Change this:

  words.repeated_permutation(n_words).each { |p| test p }

to this:

  words.repeated_permutation(n_words).each { |p| test p.join }

      War is God's way of teaching Americans geography.  --Ambrose Bierce
Bitcoin is the Devil's way of teaching geeks economics.  --Revalin 165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g
goldbishop
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 14, 2013, 11:04:51 PM
 #320

i've lost my PTS & DTC wallet psw (The psw is the same at both) like bounty i offer 30% of my pts & 25% of my DTC!
i remember it but when i try to put it the wallet give a error
The psw was Ctrl+c & ctrl+v form a wikipedia page so i'm sure at 100% it is. but maybe i'm missing a space or something like that...thanks who will pm me!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!