Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 08:23:41 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [500 GH/s]HHTT -Selected Diff/Stratum/PPLNS/Paid Stales/High Availability/Tor  (Read 52396 times)
fireduck
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366



View Profile
September 26, 2012, 05:24:13 PM
 #121


I'm using difficulty 32.

I'll try to use 256 for a while, but it seems to me that the problem is in requesting more work, not in submitting less.

Cheers,

spiccioli

It could also be the clock on your system.  If you clock is off your mining software might think it is unable to change the time on the work unit to scan for more good nonces.  If it can't do that, it will end up having to request a lot of work from the server since it will only be able to do 2^32 hashes on each work unit.
1480710221
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710221

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710221
Reply with quote  #2

1480710221
Report to moderator
1480710221
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710221

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710221
Reply with quote  #2

1480710221
Report to moderator
1480710221
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710221

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710221
Reply with quote  #2

1480710221
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480710221
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710221

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710221
Reply with quote  #2

1480710221
Report to moderator
1480710221
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710221

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710221
Reply with quote  #2

1480710221
Report to moderator
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
September 26, 2012, 08:14:43 PM
 #122


I'm using difficulty 32.

I'll try to use 256 for a while, but it seems to me that the problem is in requesting more work, not in submitting less.

Cheers,

spiccioli

It could also be the clock on your system.  If you clock is off your mining software might think it is unable to change the time on the work unit to scan for more good nonces.  If it can't do that, it will end up having to request a lot of work from the server since it will only be able to do 2^32 hashes on each work unit.


Hi,

time should be ok, I have ntpd running

Code:
~$ ntpq
ntpq> pe
     remote           refid      st t when poll reach   delay   offset  jitter
==============================================================================
+2-229-10-127.ip 193.204.114.232  2 u  407 1024  373   19.548    0.912  15.804
-93.62.188.182   193.204.114.233  2 u  370 1024  377   23.031   -2.972   2.715
*2.228.72.62     193.204.114.233  2 u  625 1024  377   30.171   -0.362   1.984
+flo.m4oc.it     193.204.114.232  2 u  747 1024  377   43.694   -0.527   0.608
-europium.canoni 193.79.237.14    2 u  867 1024  377   44.668    6.510   0.836
ntpq> ass

ind assid status  conf reach auth condition  last_event cnt
===========================================================
  1 37325  941a   yes   yes  none candidate    sys_peer  1
  2 37326  931a   yes   yes  none   outlyer    sys_peer  1
  3 37327  961a   yes   yes  none  sys.peer    sys_peer  1
  4 37328  941a   yes   yes  none candidate    sys_peer  1
  5 37329  932a   yes   yes  none   outlyer    sys_peer  2
ntpq>

spiccioli
fireduck
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366



View Profile
September 26, 2012, 08:42:48 PM
 #123


What does it look like for time when you just do the getwork from the command line?

Code:
: time curl -u 1FDkoGo8o9tmXD4cYpAqBZeWACJiYjMm3x_1:foo --data '{"method":"getwork","params":[],"id":1}'  http://rpc.hhtt.1209k.com:8337/
{"id":1,"error":null,"result":{"midstate":"c64f8ea2f7221136c976492613fe1822122847ce5e92793c13dfcb1b1b8598a6","target":"0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000","data":"000000023e0344e6e5855b24ffdbee62e4c57bcfb52adc64a5a7779b000004fd00000000098c59bc923d77e04002fd2374f6bf6a2c63d19fe179f1d4512cbe0db38ba923506368101a05db8b00000000000000800000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000080020000","hash1":"00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000010000"}}
real    0m0.057s
user    0m0.001s
sys     0m0.008s
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
September 27, 2012, 06:14:38 AM
 #124


What does it look like for time when you just do the getwork from the command line?


fireduck,

I've just made three tests

Code:
$ time curl -u 1FDkoGo8o9tmXD4cYpAqBZeWACJiYjMm3x_1:foo --data '{"method":"getwork","params":[],"id":1}'  http://rpc.hhtt.1209k.com:8337/
{"id":1,"error":null,"result":{"midstate":"b93b9ac85da42577453db4df5e3743ada4feeb20601db33d9a20efb34e79128a","target":"0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000","data":"000000020a65d61cf63f18462397845d4c167ec5c0c07fddae5e814e0000056c000000001d9e2f6010bab1416aa90c6b33f49a6e359ab8b13f8115dd7ff8351cb526889a5063ee241a05db8b00000000000000800000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000080020000","hash1":"00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000010000"}}
real    0m20.495s
user    0m0.016s
sys     0m0.020s

$ time curl -u 1FDkoGo8o9tmXD4cYpAqBZeWACJiYjMm3x_1:foo --data '{"method":"getwork","params":[],"id":1}'  http://rpc.hhtt.1209k.com:8337/
{"id":1,"error":null,"result":{"midstate":"8845cf930b149e17d77b3c63b3c3539a60496654b1493b48bad364ca09458775","target":"0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000","data":"000000020a65d61cf63f18462397845d4c167ec5c0c07fddae5e814e0000056c0000000090401d646b6125d235380d0bb8f6d18568c623eac643dec293bc5c9efaae93225063ee341a05db8b00000000000000800000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000080020000","hash1":"00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000010000"}}
real    0m10.554s
user    0m0.016s
sys     0m0.020s

$ time curl -u 1FDkoGo8o9tmXD4cYpAqBZeWACJiYjMm3x_1:foo --data '{"method":"getwork","params":[],"id":1}'  http://rpc.hhtt.1209k.com:8337/
{"id":1,"error":null,"result":{"midstate":"06f5fc3e76d3bf01e2250316ecaa6a96b0e79a1a371efab3799d8ce3296460b2","target":"0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000","data":"000000020a65d61cf63f18462397845d4c167ec5c0c07fddae5e814e0000056c00000000033d51fe3a9a0142e5576c694639e08d46d854221579742ada1de20609ea235d5063ee4b1a05db8b00000000000000800000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000080020000","hash1":"00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000010000"}}
real    0m20.498s
user    0m0.020s
sys     0m0.020s

spiccioli
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
September 27, 2012, 01:02:25 PM
 #125


What does it look like for time when you just do the getwork from the command line?


fireduck,

I've just made three tests

Code:
$ time curl -u 1FDkoGo8o9tmXD4cYpAqBZeWACJiYjMm3x_1:foo --data '{"method":"getwork","params":[],"id":1}'  http://rpc.hhtt.1209k.com:8337/
{"id":1,"error":null,"result":{"midstate":"b93b9ac85da42577453db4df5e3743ada4feeb20601db33d9a20efb34e79128a","target":"0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000","data":"000000020a65d61cf63f18462397845d4c167ec5c0c07fddae5e814e0000056c000000001d9e2f6010bab1416aa90c6b33f49a6e359ab8b13f8115dd7ff8351cb526889a5063ee241a05db8b00000000000000800000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000080020000","hash1":"00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000010000"}}
real    0m20.495s
user    0m0.016s
sys     0m0.020s

$ time curl -u 1FDkoGo8o9tmXD4cYpAqBZeWACJiYjMm3x_1:foo --data '{"method":"getwork","params":[],"id":1}'  http://rpc.hhtt.1209k.com:8337/
{"id":1,"error":null,"result":{"midstate":"8845cf930b149e17d77b3c63b3c3539a60496654b1493b48bad364ca09458775","target":"0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000","data":"000000020a65d61cf63f18462397845d4c167ec5c0c07fddae5e814e0000056c0000000090401d646b6125d235380d0bb8f6d18568c623eac643dec293bc5c9efaae93225063ee341a05db8b00000000000000800000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000080020000","hash1":"00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000010000"}}
real    0m10.554s
user    0m0.016s
sys     0m0.020s

$ time curl -u 1FDkoGo8o9tmXD4cYpAqBZeWACJiYjMm3x_1:foo --data '{"method":"getwork","params":[],"id":1}'  http://rpc.hhtt.1209k.com:8337/
{"id":1,"error":null,"result":{"midstate":"06f5fc3e76d3bf01e2250316ecaa6a96b0e79a1a371efab3799d8ce3296460b2","target":"0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000","data":"000000020a65d61cf63f18462397845d4c167ec5c0c07fddae5e814e0000056c00000000033d51fe3a9a0142e5576c694639e08d46d854221579742ada1de20609ea235d5063ee4b1a05db8b00000000000000800000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000080020000","hash1":"00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000010000"}}
real    0m20.498s
user    0m0.020s
sys     0m0.020s

spiccioli

Wow. Try putting rpc.hhtp.1209k in your hosts file (50.112.109.226) so DNS is removed from the equation. Does anyone know if cgminer caches DNS info?

On linux add to /etc/hosts:

50.112.109.226    rpc.hhtt.1209k.com
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
September 27, 2012, 01:17:18 PM
 #126

Wow. Try putting rpc.hhtp.1209k in your hosts file (50.112.109.226) so DNS is removed from the equation. Does anyone know if cgminer caches DNS info?

On linux add to /etc/hosts:

50.112.109.226    rpc.hhtt.1209k.com

bitcoindaddy,

DNS seems fast enough...

Code:
$ time nslookup rpc.hhtt.1209k.com
Server:         192.168.0.1
Address:        192.168.0.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:   rpc.hhtt.1209k.com
Address: 50.112.109.226


real    0m0.033s
user    0m0.008s
sys     0m0.016s

spiccioli
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
September 27, 2012, 02:01:00 PM
 #127

Wow. Try putting rpc.hhtp.1209k in your hosts file (50.112.109.226) so DNS is removed from the equation. Does anyone know if cgminer caches DNS info?

On linux add to /etc/hosts:

50.112.109.226    rpc.hhtt.1209k.com

bitcoindaddy,

DNS seems fast enough...

Code:
$ time nslookup rpc.hhtt.1209k.com
Server:         192.168.0.1
Address:        192.168.0.1#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:   rpc.hhtt.1209k.com
Address: 50.112.109.226


real    0m0.033s
user    0m0.008s
sys     0m0.016s

spiccioli

20 seconds is an eternity. What country are you in?
fireduck
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366



View Profile
September 27, 2012, 02:38:13 PM
 #128

 
What does it look like for time when you just do the getwork from the command line?


fireduck,

I've just made three tests

summary: 20sec,10sec,20sec

spiccioli

Ok, wow.  That is certainly a problem.  Those should be taking less than a second.  I haven't seen any take nearly that long.  Can you test some other things around the net to see where that latency is coming from and do some pings and traceroutes around?
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
September 27, 2012, 03:32:47 PM
 #129

20 seconds is an eternity. What country are you in?

Italy.

spiccioli
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
September 27, 2012, 03:51:02 PM
 #130

fireduck,

I've just made three tests

summary: 20sec,10sec,20sec

spiccioli

Ok, wow.  That is certainly a problem.  Those should be taking less than a second.  I haven't seen any take nearly that long.  Can you test some other things around the net to see where that latency is coming from and do some pings and traceroutes around?

fireduck,

Code:
$ ping -U rpc.hhtt.1209k.com
PING rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226): icmp_req=1 ttl=39 time=210 ms
64 bytes from rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226): icmp_req=2 ttl=39 time=207 ms
64 bytes from rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226): icmp_req=3 ttl=39 time=208 ms
64 bytes from rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226): icmp_req=4 ttl=39 time=281 ms
64 bytes from rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226): icmp_req=5 ttl=39 time=268 ms
64 bytes from rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226): icmp_req=6 ttl=39 time=257 ms
64 bytes from rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226): icmp_req=7 ttl=39 time=217 ms
64 bytes from rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226): icmp_req=8 ttl=39 time=235 ms
64 bytes from rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226): icmp_req=9 ttl=39 time=208 ms
64 bytes from rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226): icmp_req=10 ttl=39 time=214 ms
64 bytes from rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226): icmp_req=11 ttl=39 time=210 ms
64 bytes from rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226): icmp_req=12 ttl=39 time=208 ms
64 bytes from rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226): icmp_req=13 ttl=39 time=207 ms
64 bytes from rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226): icmp_req=14 ttl=39 time=207 ms
64 bytes from rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226): icmp_req=15 ttl=39 time=208 ms
^C
--- rpc.hhtt.1209k.com ping statistics ---
15 packets transmitted, 15 received, 0% packet loss, time 14017ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 207.457/223.489/281.187/24.204 ms

traceroute shows nothing...

Code:
$ sudo traceroute  rpc.hhtt.1209k.com
traceroute to rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  * * *
 2  * * *
 3  * * *
 4  * * *
 5  * * *
 6  * * *
 7  * * *
 8  * * *
 9  * * *
10  * * *
11  * * *
12  * * *
13  * * *
14  * * *
15  * * *
16  * * *
17  * * *
18  * * *
19  * * *
20  * * *
21  * * *
22  * * *
23  * * *
24  * * *
25  * * *
26  * * *
27  * * *
28  * * *
29  * * *
30  * * *

it takes a few seconds before first hop is shown, though

with -T

Code:
$ sudo traceroute -T rpc.hhtt.1209k.com
traceroute to rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226), 30 hops max, 60 byte packets
 1  * * *
 2  * * *
 3  * * *
 4  * * *
 5  * * *
 6  * * *
 7  * * *
 8  * * *
 9  * * *
10  * * *
11  * * *
12  * * *
13  * * *
14  * * *
15  * * *
16  * * *
17  * * *
18  rpc.hhtt.1209k.com (50.112.109.226)  215.003 ms  218.025 ms  214.996 ms

they seem to me as "normal" values... what do you think?

spiccioli
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
September 27, 2012, 03:58:17 PM
 #131

Wow. Try putting rpc.hhtp.1209k in your hosts file (50.112.109.226) so DNS is removed from the equation. Does anyone know if cgminer caches DNS info?

On linux add to /etc/hosts:

50.112.109.226    rpc.hhtt.1209k.com

bitcoindaddy,

your suggestion was right, this is the same test after I put pool name inside hosts

Code:
$ time curl -u 1FDkoGo8o9tmXD4cYpAqBZeWACJiYjMm3x_1:foo --data '{"method":"getwork","params":[],"id":1}'  http://rpc.hhtt.1209k.com:8337/
{"id":1,"error":null,"result":{"midstate":"7e44ba94c313603ed64a65ff6368f9da0e8c3dfada97a819f867ecf2efc9c68b","target":"0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000","data":"00000002d2ebd8553d06b382352b7f39ead71feae3a2cbee30d28e0a0000019300000000460bb67f0c0b9d72e8766ff88f8068addf9ba4cd1ee99632623a63197b134e17506476dc1a05db8b00000000000000800000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000080020000","hash1":"00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000010000"}}
real    0m0.479s
user    0m0.020s
sys     0m0.016s

~$ time curl -u 1FDkoGo8o9tmXD4cYpAqBZeWACJiYjMm3x_1:foo --data '{"method":"getwork","params":[],"id":1}'  http://rpc.hhtt.1209k.com:8337/
{"id":1,"error":null,"result":{"midstate":"217855e033bf90b70d2524874cd2ef8ee0327af8fa7b95de884d57680b46435e","target":"0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000","data":"00000002d2ebd8553d06b382352b7f39ead71feae3a2cbee30d28e0a0000019300000000de1c00bbaaa499116e99e186b8de01a8d086cb9705f49a6e089a12c7ea6a4106506476df1a05db8b00000000000000800000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000080020000","hash1":"00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000010000"}}
real    0m0.481s
user    0m0.024s
sys     0m0.016s

~$ time curl -u 1FDkoGo8o9tmXD4cYpAqBZeWACJiYjMm3x_1:foo --data '{"method":"getwork","params":[],"id":1}'  http://rpc.hhtt.1209k.com:8337/
{"id":1,"error":null,"result":{"midstate":"eb5c53141e9582c28a54cd28e61e9800e845d4a949596d31ddcc3ce6a4783f24","target":"0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000","data":"00000002d2ebd8553d06b382352b7f39ead71feae3a2cbee30d28e0a000001930000000004d3deee22fdbabc43f89169b201df1d693f0be54a04f8bba9a21edd6e27fd05506476e21a05db8b00000000000000800000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000080020000","hash1":"00000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000008000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000010000"}}
real    0m0.516s
user    0m0.016s
sys     0m0.024s

So it is name resolution... but nslookup is fast, though.

Thanks for your help!

spiccioli
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
September 27, 2012, 05:03:40 PM
 #132

i always use IP address when mining, well, ever since eclipsemc name servers messed up... uh..  7 or 8 months ago?  don't remember.


Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
bitcoindaddy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 481


View Profile
October 05, 2012, 06:29:32 PM
 #133

Are you really 60 BTC in the hole? This has me worried. How can you keep going with those kind of losses?

Code:
Income         Paid         Net
400.00000000 460.36536787 -60.36536787
fireduck
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366



View Profile
October 05, 2012, 06:46:05 PM
 #134

Are you really 60 BTC in the hole? This has me worried. How can you keep going with those kind of losses?

Code:
Income         Paid         Net
400.00000000 460.36536787 -60.36536787

I am absolutely that far in the hole.

I have some sort of organic poptart that tastes like sadness.  I nibble it as I ponder what I have done to get myself where I am.  I have regrets but not that many.

doublec
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
October 05, 2012, 10:29:10 PM
 #135

Are you really 60 BTC in the hole? This has me worried. How can you keep going with those kind of losses?
Variance with pools is enormous. The pool can expect to be 10x up or down that at least.
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
October 05, 2012, 11:26:33 PM
 #136

Are you really 60 BTC in the hole? This has me worried. How can you keep going with those kind of losses?

Code:
Income        Paid        Net
400.00000000 460.36536787 -60.36536787

I am absolutely that far in the hole.

I have some sort of organic poptart that tastes like sadness.  I nibble it as I ponder what I have done to get myself where I am.  I have regrets but not that many.



As doublec said. I think it's why DeepBit started with such a large fee.

The following is from Meni Rosenfeld's paper "Analysis of Bitcoin Pooled Mining Reward Systems" (any transcription errors are mine) :

Quote

......

Conversely, to maintain a bankruptcy probability of at most , the pool should keep a reserve
of at least:

R = B ln(1/delta)/2f


For example, if B = 50 BTC;  delta = 1/1000 and f = 0:05 (5% fee), the reserve should be

R = 50 BTC * ln(1000) / (2 * 0.05) = 3454 BTC

If the operator tries to make do with f = 0:01 but only has a reserve of 500 BTC, then

delta = exp ( -2 * 0.01 * 500 BTC / 50 BTC) ~ 0.819

so he has 81.9% chance of eventual bankruptcy.

The Neighbourhood Pool Watch post on the risks of SMPPS discusses a related problem.


Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
October 06, 2012, 10:01:09 PM
 #137

@FD,

Sorry to see the pool stats as they are - cross my fingers that a good luck streak is hit.

Is there a donation address for the pool?

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
fireduck
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366



View Profile
October 07, 2012, 04:49:27 AM
 #138

@FD,

Sorry to see the pool stats as they are - cross my fingers that a good luck streak is hit.

Is there a donation address for the pool?

I certainly wouldn't seek donations, I am intending this as a for-profit operation.  However, I wouldn't turn down donations.  If you are so inclined, you can send too the main pool pot: 1HHTTPaz86gcxqntnjZMHbaoF4EvyYZCka

If the luck doesn't improve, here is what will happen:

Whenever there are funds, the pool will send what it can proportionally to what is owed.  This will keep on until everyone is paid, including whoever (reasonably) elects to stop mining on the pool.  Regardless of how long that takes, at the very least my two singles will be on the pool and my two SC singles when they come so some blocks will come in and payments will go out.

I certainly understand anyone who decides to switch pools if that happens.  I know most people are not looking for variance.  Really I started this pool to raise awareness of lowering mining overhead by increasing difficulty and that goal is accomplished.
Shadow383
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
October 07, 2012, 11:21:15 AM
 #139

Are you really 60 BTC in the hole? This has me worried. How can you keep going with those kind of losses?

Code:
Income        Paid        Net
400.00000000 460.36536787 -60.36536787

I am absolutely that far in the hole.

I have some sort of organic poptart that tastes like sadness.  I nibble it as I ponder what I have done to get myself where I am.  I have regrets but not that many.


Can I make a suggestion?
How about varying the pool fee according to the net financial position?

I made a little pool sim in matlab, for a bit of visual representation of just how savage operator variance can be on a 2% PPS pool, here's 100 runs over 1000 blocks:



As you can see, the risk to you is fairly substantial - however I was planning on pointing ASICs at your pool when they release, and I do think you could make a great success of this thing if you had some investors on board to give you a bit of a war-chest.
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
October 07, 2012, 12:34:06 PM
 #140

Stopping payouts is a double-edged sword but I understand your reasoning...

My concern, is users will abandon the pool and then the time to find a block will increase substantially with only 2 singles mining.  At current diff that is just shy of 90 days (assuming 1.6 Gh/s) and we know diff will increase at a crazy pace once ASIC arrives = never finding a block?!?

So I continue to hope luck changes as the pool has been rock solid - so congrats on your efforts!

EDIT - I just found a block   Grin

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!