Bitcoin Forum
April 16, 2014, 04:13:43 AM *
News: ♦♦ A bug in OpenSSL, used by Bitcoin-Qt/Bitcoin Core, could allow your bitcoins to be stolen. Immediately updating Bitcoin Core to 0.9.1 is required in some cases, especially if you're using 0.9.0. Download. More info.
The same bug also affected the forum. Changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7  All
  Print  
Author Topic: poclbm using CPU 100% even though using GPU?  (Read 47432 times)
phathash
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile

Ignore
March 14, 2011, 09:05:09 AM
 #1

Ok. So I had a 5770 running in my PC running poclbm.exe using -d0 (Juniper). Was getting 150000 khash/s. CPU was naturally at 0% as I was using the GPU.

I've added a second 5770 to the same motherboard. I now have 2 x 5770 -

[ 0 ] Juniper
[ 1 ] Juniper
[ 2 ] AMD Athlon

The problem is that whenever I run poclbm.exe against either -d0 or -d1, my CPU is taxed 100% by poclbm ? I still get the 150000 khash/s on each card, but my CPU is now running at 100%. What's up with that?

Thanks.
1397621623
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397621623

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397621623
Reply with quote  #2

1397621623
Report to moderator
1397621623
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397621623

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397621623
Reply with quote  #2

1397621623
Report to moderator
Private Internet Access™ - No logs, Unlimited Bandwidth, PC Magazine's Editor's Choice
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1397621623
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397621623

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397621623
Reply with quote  #2

1397621623
Report to moderator
1397621623
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397621623

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397621623
Reply with quote  #2

1397621623
Report to moderator
m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 170


View Profile

Ignore
March 14, 2011, 09:29:03 AM
 #2

Please give some more details about your OS, driver version, ATI Stream (APP) SDK version... Do you have crossfire?

lach
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile

Ignore
March 14, 2011, 09:48:49 AM
 #3

I am also having this problem. 2x 5570's, non crossfire, amd system too

lastest version of the miner with 2.3 sdk
kindle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile

Ignore
March 14, 2011, 09:50:02 AM
 #4

Hmm same here...haha looks like i posted on the main thread. But im running 5970 + 5850, 11.2 ccc and 2.2 stream with 25% load per poclbm instance. Win 7 64 bit here.

phathash
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile

Ignore
March 14, 2011, 10:02:07 AM
 #5

I am using streamsdk_2-3_win764

ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series. Driver Version: 8.821.0.0. Driver Date: 26/01/2011.

11-2_vista64_win7_64_dd_ccc_ocl.exe

W7 64.

Very strange.
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile

Ignore
March 14, 2011, 11:21:23 AM
 #6

Please give some more details about your OS, driver version, ATI Stream (APP) SDK version... Do you have crossfire?

If you have more than 1 video card detected, Crossfire or not, in windows you will have high cpu usage. Try to start it with only 1 card plugged.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
ZeroByte
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile

Ignore
March 14, 2011, 11:39:42 AM
 #7

I got this same problem after i added second HD 5850.

I have quad core i5 processor so when i start first instance CPU goes up to 25% and after starting second one it goes up to 50%
MH/s rates are always normal nevertheless.

Specs:

Win 7 64bit
Cats 11.2
AMD Stream 2.3
Dual 5850s
Miner: poclbm_py2exe_20110311
Cerebrum
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile

Ignore
March 14, 2011, 12:52:10 PM
 #8

You all should probably read through a few of the other threads on this forum.

To get better performance, you should:

-Use Stream SDK 2.1.
-Use the display drivers from Catalyst 10-11.
-Turn off crossfire if possible.
-Use Linux. I've heard that people had problems running DiabloMiner in Ubuntu, so I might suggest Debian instead. There are guides for getting many miners up and running on different linux platforms if you're unfamiliar with how to use it. Look around on the forums to find them. Get ready to use the command line.
johnieeliang
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile

Ignore
March 14, 2011, 12:59:34 PM
 #9

whats your gpu usage at?
qed
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile

Ignore
March 14, 2011, 01:52:01 PM
 #10

You all should probably read through a few of the other threads on this forum.

To get better performance, you should:

-Use Stream SDK 2.1.
-Use the display drivers from Catalyst 10-11.
-Turn off crossfire if possible.
-Use Linux. I've heard that people had problems running DiabloMiner in Ubuntu, so I might suggest Debian instead. There are guides for getting many miners up and running on different linux platforms if you're unfamiliar with how to use it. Look around on the forums to find them. Get ready to use the command line.


Kinda hard to do that with Cayman gpu supporting only 11.1 and later. Under linux there isnt voltage controll to reduce power consumption.

Mobile App (Android)

Monitor miners, exchange rates and Bitcoin network stats.
lach
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile

Ignore
March 15, 2011, 10:52:14 AM
 #11

Just thought id add im win7 64bit too.

Is the dud combination multiple ati 5xxx gpu's+win7 64bit?
dishwara
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile

Ignore
March 15, 2011, 08:02:11 PM
 #12

Any one with 2 cards & windows 7 32 also have this problem?

I have HD6870 & getting around 270Mhash/s after OC of core to 1038 & mem to 375, lowering mem clk reduced heat from 74C to 66C.
I do have the poclbm taking some cpu percentage & most time i see 20% in task manager.
I have 11.2 & 2.3 SDK.
However yesterday i find the preview of ati next driver version 11.4(not 11.3) with SDK 2.4 & installed it.
I see 2 difference mainly.
1. Before its always 99% GPU in MSI afterburner(only a straight line), now it floats from 92 to 99.
2.poclbm uses now 0 cpu, even though i am running with/without  -f1.

So, i think its not bad to try new version even though u have 5XXX series card.
Also, i still dont understand why all saying to use -w128 , as 6870 actually max work is 256 &  placing -w256 increases 2-4Mhash/s.

U can download the drive from here.
http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/Catalyst114earlypreview.aspx

Also, instead of express, go for custom & select only APP, driver, catalyst..only what u want, many r useless to mining, hydra...
Today, itself without a single reboot , i upgraded, downgraded, upgraded, downgraded.....from 11.2 to 11.4 & from 2.4-2.3-2.2-2.4....
Just go fro custom & don't install useless. U can verify ur SDK & ATI version using gpu caps viewer.
Hope this helps.
lach
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile

Ignore
March 20, 2011, 02:05:45 AM
 #13

thanks for that,
installed the new drivers & SDK and no change. Each gpu is still maxxing out a core when mining Sad
rikur
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 214


View Profile

Ignore
March 20, 2011, 09:14:16 PM
 #14

I'm also on Win7 64bit and seeing the same issue. Newest Catalyst drivers and Stream SDK.

Must have something to do with the 64bit windows. IIRC, I tried this on 32bit win7 and didn't have such problems. Maybe someone else could confirm if they're not having this issue on 32bit win7.

Luckily I have 4 cores.. But the rig is still consuming almost 100w more than it should :--/
dishwara
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile

Ignore
March 20, 2011, 09:19:06 PM
 #15

I am on windows 7 32 bit with Intel Quad core 2.66GHz Q8400.
LeonGeeste
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile

Ignore
March 21, 2011, 02:13:09 AM
 #16

I ran into the same problem, though it came to my attention in a different context.  My system is now:

Ubuntu 10.10
Radeon HD 5870
AMD Sempron 140
rikur
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 214


View Profile

Ignore
March 21, 2011, 08:43:21 PM
 #17

I just  spent 2 hours trying to solve the issue by installing different versions of both the Catalyst drivers and the stream SDK- nothing helped.

Combinations I tried:
10.09 + 2.1 SDK
10.10 + the included OpenCL runtime
10.10 + 2.1 SDK
11.2 + 2.1 SDK
11.2 + 2.3 SDK
11.4rc2 + 2.3 SDK

.. and maybe some others. Every combination still used 100% of a CPU core for each GPU core.

Hope this saves some time from others. Any ideas on how to fix the issue are also welcome Smiley
dishwara
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile

Ignore
March 21, 2011, 08:57:32 PM
 #18

I just  spent 2 hours trying to solve the issue by installing different versions of both the Catalyst drivers and the stream SDK- nothing helped.

Combinations I tried:
10.09 + 2.1 SDK
10.10 + the included OpenCL runtime
10.10 + 2.1 SDK
11.2 + 2.1 SDK
11.2 + 2.3 SDK
11.4rc2 + 2.3 SDK

.. and maybe some others. Every combination still used 100% of a CPU core for each GPU core.

Hope this saves some time from others. Any ideas on how to fix the issue are also welcome Smiley

Uninstall every ati driver & sdk using some uinstallers like revo uninstaller.
Also never install sdk from stand alone adk package, instead install from driver package.
If you have 5000 series card, install 10.12 & 2.1 sdk.
If you have 6000 series card, install 11.2 & 2.3 APP.

You haven't mentioned what card you have, what OS & how many Mhash/s you getting.
Instead of going express install, go for custom install & install only these 4.
ATI display driver, ATI catalyst install manager, APP 2.3 or SDK 2.1 & VC++
rikur
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 214


View Profile

Ignore
March 24, 2011, 12:56:02 AM
 #19

I just  spent 2 hours trying to solve the issue by installing different versions of both the Catalyst drivers and the stream SDK- nothing helped.

Combinations I tried:
10.09 + 2.1 SDK
10.10 + the included OpenCL runtime
10.10 + 2.1 SDK
11.2 + 2.1 SDK
11.2 + 2.3 SDK
11.4rc2 + 2.3 SDK

.. and maybe some others. Every combination still used 100% of a CPU core for each GPU core.

Hope this saves some time from others. Any ideas on how to fix the issue are also welcome Smiley

Uninstall every ati driver & sdk using some uinstallers like revo uninstaller.
Also never install sdk from stand alone adk package, instead install from driver package.
If you have 5000 series card, install 10.12 & 2.1 sdk.
If you have 6000 series card, install 11.2 & 2.3 APP.

You haven't mentioned what card you have, what OS & how many Mhash/s you getting.
Instead of going express install, go for custom install & install only these 4.
ATI display driver, ATI catalyst install manager, APP 2.3 or SDK 2.1 & VC++


Thank you for the response. I tried this, but still no luck. I'm going to try some wild stuff, like removing some AMD specific drivers etc next.

Hardware specs:

AMD 880G (3x PCIE slots for GPUs)
AMD Phenom II x4 BE550
1800Mhz DDR III
1x Radeon HD 5970 (about to get another one soon)

and I'm running win7 64bit.

I'll post if I figure out something. I need to fix this before I get the other card or this will be 100% of all my CPU core Smiley
zoro
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


View Profile

Ignore
March 31, 2011, 07:57:25 PM
 #20

exactly the same issue here!

rig:
intel 430 (one core)
X38 + 1GB DDR3
5970 + 6970 (3 GPU cores total)
drivers 11.2 with SPP and 11.4 beta, no extra SDK drivers are loaded 
win7 x86

when i am running one poclbm for the first GPU (whatever that be) cpu is at 1-4%
with the second poclbm, cpu goes 99%!!!!
with the third poclbm, cpu is devided for the 2 last poclbms (48%+48%)
i think, perhaps a bug with poclbm program?

"killer app" of BTC = MasterCoin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=265488.0Mastercoin(A new protocol layer on top of Bitcoin)
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!