Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 06:54:21 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: How many newbies are mining?  (Read 22532 times)
DV1101
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:30:13 AM
 #21

I am mining at 50MH/s with a 4830.
1481396061
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481396061

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481396061
Reply with quote  #2

1481396061
Report to moderator
1481396061
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481396061

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481396061
Reply with quote  #2

1481396061
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481396061
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481396061

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481396061
Reply with quote  #2

1481396061
Report to moderator
1481396061
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481396061

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481396061
Reply with quote  #2

1481396061
Report to moderator
CorruptDropbear
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19

Stuck in a gum tree. >_<


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:35:49 AM
 #22

Unfortunately I'm only mining at around 4mhash/s. Kind of useless, so I guess I'll stop when I hit 0.001 BTC. Yay, a tenth of a cent!

I'm assuming you are using only CPU mining.  you might try the ufasoft miner.  
easiest way to use it is to download the latest guiminer,  https://github.com/downloads/Kiv/poclbm/guiminer-20110609.exe
just ignore the errors about no openCL drives found, you dont need it for CPU mining.

No, I'm apparently using my NVIDIA GT 320M with RPCminer CUDA. Not very good speeds were posted on the wiki, so I'm assuming it's going at the max speed. Kind of funny how bad a 6 month laptop is.


A laptop will never be a good miner, you know how laptops are generally shitty for playing games, it's the same limitation, you got a crappy video card compared to what you could get on a desktop computer


Also, do rpcminer-cpu as well, compare speeds, it's possible that it might be a little faster, on my Mac Mini it was... well, compared to 4way, not really sure what 4way is though...

CPU miner (i5 core 2.26GHz) is doing 1800khash/s, not experiencing any slowdown like the CUDA one did. I'm just thinking that laptops arn't as powerful.  Sad
BiggieJohn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:40:38 AM
 #23


CPU miner (i5 core 2.26GHz) is doing 1800khash/s, not experiencing any slowdown like the CUDA one did. I'm just thinking that laptops arn't as powerful.  Sad


see my post earlier in this thread.  I have the ufasoft miner running on a i5-750 @2.66 Ghz  and I'm getting about 9.5MH/sec

PMC-1A11eCF2Rzqzy4PCrV9jabYv1fvYfmN2yc
Doge-D8KLtphcSB3qAkfjBdvceEMj9TJUiJrFd3
Valalvax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:41:13 AM
 #24

Well, it's the truth Tongue

1..... 2...... 3....... 4..... 5....... 6....... 7..... 10..... 15......... 20...... 30.....
CorruptDropbear
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19

Stuck in a gum tree. >_<


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:59:12 AM
 #25


CPU miner (i5 core 2.26GHz) is doing 1800khash/s, not experiencing any slowdown like the CUDA one did. I'm just thinking that laptops arn't as powerful.  Sad


see my post earlier in this thread.  I have the ufasoft miner running on a i5-750 @2.66 Ghz  and I'm getting about 9.5MH/sec

OK, this is weird. I'm apparently getting 5.8mh/s on CPU, only 4.1mh/s on the NVIDIA, for a total of 10mh/s. I'll play around with it. Also no lag! o-o
Valalvax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:00:55 AM
 #26

M or K?
CorruptDropbear
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19

Stuck in a gum tree. >_<


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:03:50 AM
 #27

M or K?

Mega. I am guessing that the RPC miner is not good for CPU mining or something. :T
itsagas
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:09:32 AM
 #28

Aye.  a miner here.  Wink
jakemates
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


firstbits.com/1c3qpa


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2011, 07:12:28 AM
 #29

Mining here, doing around 28 mhash/s for BTC guild.
killer2021
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:19:30 AM
 #30

Nope I don't mine. I'll leave that up to the professionals.

Anonymous Cash-By-Mail Exchange: https://www.bitcoin2cash.com
1H6mqgB6UcqKt2SrCmhjxUp9np1Xrbkdj7
Marcus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:30:56 AM
 #31

.
Are you a newbie starting to mine?
Are you a newbie looking to build a trusted reputation?

I'll offer to buy some of your mining output.
And, together, we can start building reputations of trust.

I'm a newbie, too, but not a miner.
And I'm willing to take a bit of risk with other newbies who are mining and who want to sell Bitcoins.

I've given lots of thought to how to build trust, when starting from zero.
I'm willing to put money into testing those methods.

Send a private message to discuss details.
Or let's discuss in the open Newbie section of this forum.


-- Marcus
nathanrees19
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:36:49 AM
 #32

M or K?

Mega. I am guessing that the RPC miner is not good for CPU mining or something. :T

CPU mining is not good in general.
Maxxx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:44:33 AM
 #33

not mining... I thought I read mining takes quite a bit of electricity costs that prohibit any real gain???    Huh

Get yourself a kill-a-watt and see for yourself. With a few calculations you can determine profitability as well as learn some new things in the process.

Time is money. This means that if you have spare time, you can use it to make money.

Modular, open, and stack-able miner case.
Valalvax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:48:42 AM
 #34

not mining... I thought I read mining takes quite a bit of electricity costs that prohibit any real gain???    Huh

Get yourself a kill-a-watt and see for yourself. With a few calculations you can determine profitability as well as learn some new things in the process.

Yea, I've been wanting a kill-a-watt for a while now, they're just so darn cool.... and I know it's only like 16 bucks, maybe once I get a REAL miner going I'll grab one with some extra funds...
Mike 71
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 07:54:54 AM
 #35

I am mining on two computers since 10 days. I was lucky to bought a 5770 for each for gaming before, so i could start without any cost.

For now, i am on the side of that people who say, buying mining hardware doesnt pay off.

I must say that, cause i want a low difficult, you know Wink
Capitan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 08:18:32 AM
 #36

Newbie but not mining or trading or anything. Just really interested in the topic.
Ben
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 10:20:05 AM
 #37

Im trying to, not going so well.
wegotpickles
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 10:29:21 AM
 #38

I've known about bitcoin for a while now, but after i saw it hit 2$ i HAD to get involved. I ordered a 5970 off Ebay and built a dedicated miner strait away. Haven't really had much of a grip on the workings of the economy until more recently, now i try to both day trade and mine, failing pretty hard as a trader though.  Undecided

If anyone needs help setting up a headless miner with Debian 6 let me know.

1AEM2iPbyh6EV6Q5CHYBrrgZeGknLmW7aL
PGP public key | 10% off TradeHill | Bitcoin7
bcc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 10:34:13 AM
 #39

Yep, mining here too (for almost a month now). I have a reasonably specced gaming rig, but nothing dedicated or too silly.
officialsavage
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 10:42:37 AM
 #40

Not mining, but wondering with the investment required to make mining profitable worth it anymore?  Buying btc seems best to me.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!