Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:02:18 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: How many newbies are mining?  (Read 22513 times)
kevindeangelis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


WhereToMine.com


View Profile WWW
June 13, 2013, 04:44:39 AM
 #261

I bought a new 7950, but using it in an old system... getting bout 500kh/s

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481184138
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184138

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184138
Reply with quote  #2

1481184138
Report to moderator
1481184138
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184138

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184138
Reply with quote  #2

1481184138
Report to moderator
1481184138
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184138

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184138
Reply with quote  #2

1481184138
Report to moderator
Squambler
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 02:28:45 AM
 #262

Started mining a few months ago, its been rough
eaureliano
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 03:44:08 AM
 #263

In BTCGuild

With CPU
Intel Core2Quad Q9400
12.06 MHash/s                          4 CPU threads

With GPU
XFX Radeon HD 6950 2GB DD XXX
0.254 GHash/s                          1 GPU Cayman
23940103
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 04:00:47 AM
 #264

i mine for fun at really low khash (doge, moon)

rather invest into the coins than buy the hardware

the only coin worth investing into hardware is probably bitcoins (if you can get Ths)


spend 1k on a graphics card or buy a thousands of each type of coin

don't put all your eggs in one basket! Grin

Cryptsy Trade Key - d570c84e892a7d6e1783ae3a20e6557559687ae8
Doge - D9oqE1KFTppyKSF12WNfBN5bt76vujVDqj
BTC - 125w2am7K8e889TMdohZwoDR5Vqa7Kgr4g
pgminer01
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 04:13:28 AM
 #265

mining for 1 weeks using bi*fury and usb erupter , 0.01 for 3 days ... no ROI , just for fun ...
Gecko_3
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 04:27:18 AM
 #266

3 week old newbie miner here and enjoying every minute of it Smiley.
Munz77
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 04:54:10 AM
 #267

6 weeks old and mining at 3GH
plunk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 05:00:37 AM
 #268

Of course! I started on BTC, then LTC, PPC, and now DOGE
timewave0
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 05:12:26 AM
 #269

I mine altcoins with Middlecoin on my 270X (wanted a 280X but couldn't find one) and a CPU in a different machine. I figure the energy isn't wasted if I'd be heating anyway.

Last year I mined BTC with slush, mostly on CPUs. I made about a bitnickel before I couldn't complete shares and didn't need the heat. Actually, I still have about ~0.0027 that I'll probably never be able to claim because I can't mine the balance of a bitcent.

Offtopic rant: this is my third time typing this post. The first time I got automatically logged out. The second time I apparently hadn't waited long enough between posts. This time I'm copying my post before attempting again.
dwights
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2

I have nothing on my horizon except for everything


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 06:03:00 AM
 #270

I mine with several.  My first miner was my original NES.  I used to play Super Mario Bros 3 in college on this baby.  I modded it similarly to retrominer.

I also have a modded XBox overclocked to 2.718GHz.  I cool it by immersing it in Fluorinert with a peltier junction on the CPU and a impeller forcing the fluid over the heat sink.  The Fluorinert is circulated through our 3,000 gallon cistern to dissipate heat.

I have other less interesting miners.
KcLKcL
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 06:26:09 AM
 #271

I'm mining Dogecoin on my spare time, not getting much profit though Smiley
matt4054
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


BitcoinQueue.com


View Profile WWW
January 03, 2014, 06:29:35 AM
 #272

For those who like alt coins and would like an automatic profit-switching pool like Middlecoin, but without automatic conversion to BTC, there is Multipool.us with a friendly user interface.

★ ⏳ BitcoinQueue.com β ★ 📈 Real-time Bitcoin Unconfirmed Transaction Queue Charts ⏳ ★ Forum Topic
timewave0
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 06:38:03 AM
 #273

I mine with several.  My first miner was my original NES...I modded it similarly to retrominer.
I have some handcoded assembly to do SHA-256 on a z80, if you're interested in retro mining. I had considered setting up my TI-83, but I was too lazy to implement the I/O.
antonio8
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 06:51:59 AM
 #274

I have only been miming for about 2 weeks now and really just starting to figure things out.

My goal is to learn to solo mine with cudaminer. I know that nvidia isn't the best but this is just something that I would like to learn.

I do have 4 amd cards mining also.

If you are going to leave your BTC on an exchange please send it to this address instead 1GH3ub3UUHbU5qDJW5u3E9jZ96ZEmzaXtG, I will at least use the money better than someone who steals it from the exchange. Thanks Wink
RomanMercury
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 06:56:25 AM
 #275

All newbie's will attempt to mine!
KiloWatts
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 06:57:00 AM
 #276

Been mining since March 2012 with my lil' ol nvidia GTX 680.  It's not much, but it pulls 330k/hash with cudaminer, and I can use my computer at the same time  Smiley

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ [D]ecentralized application [E]liminated third parties [C]ontent distribution
  █ DECENT FOUNDATION    ░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░   JOIN NOW! ICO ⏰ 10th of September
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ [E]ncrypted & secure         [N]o borders                  [T]imeless reputation
prolom
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 07:21:28 AM
 #277

I used cudaminer and minerd to learn how it works. Have a couple of Radeons on order to mine Litecoin and heat up the apartment for the next several months. And will probably get a nice Lian-Li full tower while I'm at it.

prolom.
_Miracle
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 485


Do due diligence


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 07:36:06 AM
 #278

Brand spankin' newbie. I'm mining @48ghash in a pool (See? Bet I didn't even write that right ;-).
Been studying everything that's tied to the financials of bitcoin, from how it will effect the global economy to how I'll end up claiming it on my taxes.
At the moment this is an experiment/hobby. Am I hoping to realize enough gain to deal with the pain of a large taxable event..heck yeah.

Sometimes there's more truth in forums than anywhere else.  Twitter:  @cryptobitchicks   "I am expressing multiple attitudes simultaneously. To which are you referring?"
foader
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 07:48:10 AM
 #279

I'm new to this just over a month since I made the choice to buy the equipment for my first rig and only been mining about 3 weeks now. my first rig specs below running BAMT off a thumb drive, initially I had it in an open air case but about to try and fit it into a milk crate with extenders to help maintain a lower temperature. My second rig just got here yesterday and currently only has 2 of the R9 280x gigabyte cards in it hashing at 700-720 each. I'm waiting on some ASUS cards that are supposed to hit around 740 or so to finish out the rig. I've also fired up cudaminer on my gtx780 in my regular comp and it pulls around 400-600khs oddly enough this is only when I have an online game patching screen opened in the back ground. If I don't have it up before I start it it only hashes at around 140. So I've got some work to do to figure out why. Any thoughts would be great.


Sempron 145  processor
4Gb ddr3 ram
4x R9 280 XFX DDs (got em for $299.00 before they jumped in price)
ASRock 970 EXTREME4 AM3+ AMD 970
RAIDMAX RX-1200AE 1200W ATX12V
Average hash rate 2400-2800

Sharecoin: Sj9s6it1SNDFEHWaHfv8yzL9qM3F7T4hsq
andycee
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 191


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 07:55:47 AM
 #280

Been mining for over a year, and still consider myself new to this, there is --SO-- much to learn !

Luckily the mining community is really helpful and there is lots of resource out there.

Started mining BTC whilst it was still profitable with a mixture of cards..whatever I could get my hands on...5850's...5870's etc...

Then moved on to altcoins being mined on 5xGigabyte 7950's...totally the best cards I ever spent money on - £150 on ebay and a solid 650Kh/s with minimal tweaking. Now they are going for stupid money on ebay, so thats the end of that !

R9 280Xs are the next card of choice for me. Not sure which brand yet as there is still unbelievably little stock in the UK, so it will be whatever I can get. Just built an open frame 'carpenters PC'  Cheesy so will be filling that with 6 of these bad boys.

I'm not even thinking about my electricity bill. I'm justifying this at the moment by what I spend on electricity, I'm saving on gas for the heating  of my flat Tongue

...and yes...my girlfriend just LOVES my flat constantly sounding like an airport !!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!