Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:21:05 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: How many newbies are mining?  (Read 22494 times)
jondecker76
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 05:29:52 AM
 #1

Just wondering how many actual miners there are in the newbie community...

I've been mining for about a month

RollerBot Advanced Trading Platform
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=447727.0
BTC Donations for development: 1H36oTJsi3adFh68wwzz95tPP2xoAoTmhC
1481012465
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012465

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012465
Reply with quote  #2

1481012465
Report to moderator
1481012465
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012465

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012465
Reply with quote  #2

1481012465
Report to moderator
1481012465
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012465

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012465
Reply with quote  #2

1481012465
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481012465
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012465

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012465
Reply with quote  #2

1481012465
Report to moderator
stordoff
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 05:31:26 AM
 #2

Mining at 290MHash/s here. Starting in early April at 2BTC/day, and stopped because the price was only $1/BTC (I actually sold 23BTC@1USB ea). Not my best decision ever.

If I've helped you out, donations appreciated - 1G5NuGN9D6Vax6pGfqQJqPvww1CCJQPjhe

BTC Deals
muyoso
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 05:32:44 AM
 #3

Started about a week ago, which I would have started sooner.  Mining about a BTC a day at 650Mhash/s. 

I drink it up!
DrenDran
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 05:34:15 AM
 #4

Have had the GUI GPU Miner up runing at about 10.8 max Mhash/s for over a day now.
Gonna get a CPU miner going if I can, and it gets at least 3Mhash/s.
Within a month I hope to buy a rig for about 300$ that will get ~250Mhash/s.
fcmatt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 05:34:29 AM
 #5

mining here.
it is a great way to attempt paying off a new gaming rig. if it does not work out.. oh well.
two 6950s will rock.
BiggieJohn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 05:36:28 AM
 #6

I started back on 2/16/2011, been adding ahrdware slowly since then.

up to about 1.6GH/sec right now, with 5x 6870's, 1x 5830 and the leftover cpu power for the 3 boxes those cards are in.


PMC-1A11eCF2Rzqzy4PCrV9jabYv1fvYfmN2yc
Doge-D8KLtphcSB3qAkfjBdvceEMj9TJUiJrFd3
soades
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 05:37:26 AM
 #7

not mining... I thought I read mining takes quite a bit of electricity costs that prohibit any real gain???    Huh

1DAYiWIllgeTRiChwiThbitCoInPOnzIScheMe
Phil21
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 152


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 05:40:08 AM
 #8

Currently a bit over 5Ghash/sec myself
1.21gigawatts
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 05:42:34 AM
 #9

i thought all the newbies were mining?  there are so many newbie questions in the mining discussion board
Braden
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 05:44:35 AM
 #10

I was mining, switched over to namecoin about a week ago

1PVxeKo1K2TvDLiAe7hzVttDNHjqAGwcLD
BiggieJohn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 05:46:11 AM
 #11

not mining... I thought I read mining takes quite a bit of electricity costs that prohibit any real gain???    Huh

that depends on your cost of electricity, and how many hashs you can crank out.
it costs me about USD$ 0.30/hr or USD$7.25 per day, so as long as I make at least 1 BTC I'm coming out ahead.

At 1.6GH/sec, I can make at least 2.5BTC, so it is possible to make money

PMC-1A11eCF2Rzqzy4PCrV9jabYv1fvYfmN2yc
Doge-D8KLtphcSB3qAkfjBdvceEMj9TJUiJrFd3
stordoff
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:00:43 AM
 #12

not mining... I thought I read mining takes quite a bit of electricity costs that prohibit any real gain???    Huh

Depending on your electricity cost. Where I am, I get free electricity (and the PC is on 24/7 anyway, so the difference from idling to mining isn't that big).

If I've helped you out, donations appreciated - 1G5NuGN9D6Vax6pGfqQJqPvww1CCJQPjhe

BTC Deals
detroit
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:04:08 AM
 #13

"I am!"
And I'm mining for posts like a dwarf!

Tradehill.com referral code: TH-R1494
Please consider using it if I've said something useful!
CorruptDropbear
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19

Stuck in a gum tree. >_<


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:10:00 AM
 #14

Unfortunately I'm only mining at around 4mhash/s. Kind of useless, so I guess I'll stop when I hit 0.001 BTC. Yay, a tenth of a cent!
Valalvax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:14:14 AM
 #15

The first thing I did was figure out mining and get a miner and connect to a pool, took me a bit to figure it all out, but now I'm working on downloading the bittyblocky stuff so my wallet works


Oh great... now I can only post once a minute, except when I get the error saying I posted less than 60 seconds ago, that counts towards a post... so I have to wait another full 60 seconds before trying again, hope I don't wait 59.8 seconds... *breaks out the egg timer*

Sorry, don't mean to complain, the trolls were bad, but I think this might be worse, all the /smart/ people knew how to ignore the trolls
BiggieJohn
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:14:34 AM
 #16

Unfortunately I'm only mining at around 4mhash/s. Kind of useless, so I guess I'll stop when I hit 0.001 BTC. Yay, a tenth of a cent!

I'm assuming you are using only CPU mining.  you might try the ufasoft miner.  
easiest way to use it is to download the latest guiminer,  https://github.com/downloads/Kiv/poclbm/guiminer-20110609.exe
just ignore the errors about no openCL drivers not found, you dont need it for CPU mining.

PMC-1A11eCF2Rzqzy4PCrV9jabYv1fvYfmN2yc
Doge-D8KLtphcSB3qAkfjBdvceEMj9TJUiJrFd3
fcmatt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:16:05 AM
 #17

I was mining, switched over to namecoin about a week ago

i have a hard time getting excited about namecoin. after reading a few pages of that first announcement
thread i just gave up on it.
CorruptDropbear
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19

Stuck in a gum tree. >_<


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:19:03 AM
 #18

Unfortunately I'm only mining at around 4mhash/s. Kind of useless, so I guess I'll stop when I hit 0.001 BTC. Yay, a tenth of a cent!

I'm assuming you are using only CPU mining.  you might try the ufasoft miner.  
easiest way to use it is to download the latest guiminer,  https://github.com/downloads/Kiv/poclbm/guiminer-20110609.exe
just ignore the errors about no openCL drives found, you dont need it for CPU mining.

No, I'm apparently using my NVIDIA GT 320M with RPCminer CUDA. Not very good speeds were posted on the wiki, so I'm assuming it's going at the max speed. Kind of funny how bad a 6 month laptop is.
fcmatt
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:20:44 AM
 #19

Unfortunately I'm only mining at around 4mhash/s. Kind of useless, so I guess I'll stop when I hit 0.001 BTC. Yay, a tenth of a cent!

I'm assuming you are using only CPU mining.  you might try the ufasoft miner.  
easiest way to use it is to download the latest guiminer,  https://github.com/downloads/Kiv/poclbm/guiminer-20110609.exe
just ignore the errors about no openCL drives found, you dont need it for CPU mining.

No, I'm apparently using my NVIDIA GT 320M with RPCminer CUDA. Not very good speeds were posted on the wiki, so I'm assuming it's going at the max speed. Kind of funny how bad a 6 month laptop is.

on my old 8800gt.. cuda really sucked compared to the default miner. you may want to stop it and just try the
default which is pcolbm or whatever.
Valalvax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
June 12, 2011, 06:21:21 AM
 #20

Unfortunately I'm only mining at around 4mhash/s. Kind of useless, so I guess I'll stop when I hit 0.001 BTC. Yay, a tenth of a cent!

I'm assuming you are using only CPU mining.  you might try the ufasoft miner.  
easiest way to use it is to download the latest guiminer,  https://github.com/downloads/Kiv/poclbm/guiminer-20110609.exe
just ignore the errors about no openCL drives found, you dont need it for CPU mining.

No, I'm apparently using my NVIDIA GT 320M with RPCminer CUDA. Not very good speeds were posted on the wiki, so I'm assuming it's going at the max speed. Kind of funny how bad a 6 month laptop is.


A laptop will never be a good miner, you know how laptops are generally shitty for playing games, it's the same limitation, you got a crappy video card compared to what you could get on a desktop computer


Also, do rpcminer-cpu as well, compare speeds, it's possible that it might be a little faster, on my Mac Mini it was... well, compared to 4way, not really sure what 4way is though...
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!