Bitcoin Forum
July 17, 2018, 04:19:08 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Ebit e9 miner with 6.8Th/s from Ebang company a new rival for existing producers  (Read 62432 times)
Raymond_B
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 196
Merit: 33

Just Getting Started...


View Profile WWW
January 31, 2018, 03:34:49 AM
 #581

I could use some help with a sticky situation.

My E9+ got hacked as I was setting it up and the hacker locked me out. Web gui login doesnt work, ssh neither. I managed to telnet into it with admin/admin and saw the hacker's username and pool settings he entered to use the machine to mine in his favor. I managed to do a factory reset from telnet, and the only change I see is the destination pool is now back to the ebit manufacturer's default pool, but passwords etc still not working and have not been reset. I tried holding in the pin hole reset button for 40+ seconds and nothing happens at all.
It seems I can see the status of almost everything throught the telnet commands but I cant set or save anything.
I tried contacting Ebit support and as I expected, no reply.
At this point I am considering buying a used controller on ebay and get it over with.

Any help? I would be happy to give a bitcoin contribution for help to regain access to the controller.


Thanks!

- Jery

So you do have local access to the miner correct? 1st thing you need to do is make sure it is no longer exposed to the Internet. I am assuming you left it open to the Internet as it has been widely reported by hackers that some 2700+ miners have been left wide open. My guess is that they also flashed the firmware to something of their own doing if a factory reset does not help.

Yes of course, its actually turned off at the moment, no point wasting power to mine for someone else. It does appear that they did flash it with a homebrew fw. Nothing I've tried has worked. How can I reflash it? I have a copy of the manufacturer's latest fw, but without login permissions I have no idea how to get it on the controller.

OK, good deal, yeah it might be new controller time. Let me poke around with the firmware and see if I can figure something out. Not to add insult to injury, but have you put proper security in place? I'd hate to see you spend time and money and then have them do it again.

Yes the other machines are secure. This hacker got a lucky shot right when I was setting it up. Thanks for the help. Also, any idea where I can get a cheap controller from? I dont see any on ebay at the moment.

I do not, sorry Sad Maybe look in the marketplace here?

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Anonym777
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 31, 2018, 07:10:12 PM
 #582

My bad. Try again.

Can not again.
Send me PM. I am open for it.


nhminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 469
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 01, 2018, 06:58:49 PM
 #583

I could use some help with a sticky situation.

My E9+ got hacked as I was setting it up and the hacker locked me out. Web gui login doesnt work, ssh neither. I managed to telnet into it with admin/admin and saw the hacker's username and pool settings he entered to use the machine to mine in his favor. I managed to do a factory reset from telnet, and the only change I see is the destination pool is now back to the ebit manufacturer's default pool, but passwords etc still not working and have not been reset. I tried holding in the pin hole reset button for 40+ seconds and nothing happens at all.
It seems I can see the status of almost everything throught the telnet commands but I cant set or save anything.
I tried contacting Ebit support and as I expected, no reply.
At this point I am considering buying a used controller on ebay and get it over with.

Any help? I would be happy to give a bitcoin contribution for help to regain access to the controller.


Thanks!

- Jery

So you do have local access to the miner correct? 1st thing you need to do is make sure it is no longer exposed to the Internet. I am assuming you left it open to the Internet as it has been widely reported by hackers that some 2700+ miners have been left wide open. My guess is that they also flashed the firmware to something of their own doing if a factory reset does not help.

Yes of course, its actually turned off at the moment, no point wasting power to mine for someone else. It does appear that they did flash it with a homebrew fw. Nothing I've tried has worked. How can I reflash it? I have a copy of the manufacturer's latest fw, but without login permissions I have no idea how to get it on the controller.


Have you tried using the miner utility from Ebit?

BCH - 1EshwUEg9LRbY5WMSw7bkBGQUYQeenkcet
jeryenergy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 01, 2018, 08:51:40 PM
 #584

I could use some help with a sticky situation.

My E9+ got hacked as I was setting it up and the hacker locked me out. Web gui login doesnt work, ssh neither. I managed to telnet into it with admin/admin and saw the hacker's username and pool settings he entered to use the machine to mine in his favor. I managed to do a factory reset from telnet, and the only change I see is the destination pool is now back to the ebit manufacturer's default pool, but passwords etc still not working and have not been reset. I tried holding in the pin hole reset button for 40+ seconds and nothing happens at all.
It seems I can see the status of almost everything throught the telnet commands but I cant set or save anything.
I tried contacting Ebit support and as I expected, no reply.
At this point I am considering buying a used controller on ebay and get it over with.

Any help? I would be happy to give a bitcoin contribution for help to regain access to the controller.


Thanks!

- Jery


So you do have local access to the miner correct? 1st thing you need to do is make sure it is no longer exposed to the Internet. I am assuming you left it open to the Internet as it has been widely reported by hackers that some 2700+ miners have been left wide open. My guess is that they also flashed the firmware to something of their own doing if a factory reset does not help.

Yes of course, its actually turned off at the moment, no point wasting power to mine for someone else. It does appear that they did flash it with a homebrew fw. Nothing I've tried has worked. How can I reflash it? I have a copy of the manufacturer's latest fw, but without login permissions I have no idea how to get it on the controller.


Have you tried using the miner utility from Ebit?

You mean EBitMinerMini... ? Yes of course. Its only really useful to find the machine on the network when you dont know the IP and set DHCP. Nothing else can be set with it. Having the password is everything, and I cant find out how to reset it.
nhminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 469
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 02, 2018, 04:58:56 AM
 #585


Yes of course, its actually turned off at the moment, no point wasting power to mine for someone else. It does appear that they did flash it with a homebrew fw. Nothing I've tried has worked. How can I reflash it? I have a copy of the manufacturer's latest fw, but without login permissions I have no idea how to get it on the controller.


Have you tried using the miner utility from Ebit?

You mean EBitMinerMini... ? Yes of course. Its only really useful to find the machine on the network when you dont know the IP and set DHCP. Nothing else can be set with it. Having the password is everything, and I cant find out how to reset it.

You should also be able to reflash the firmware with it

~nh

BCH - 1EshwUEg9LRbY5WMSw7bkBGQUYQeenkcet
Bajula
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 138
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 07, 2018, 01:15:31 AM
 #586

Quote

Todo:
pool crack ssh password
PM Me for the private working group chat with books, firmware, toolchains, smtp miner interface software, and alot more Smiley
Hello. My english is bad. Somewhere I use a translater. Thaks for anderstand)

Do you give a firmware which do 11.5 Th for e9+ on stock APW and I will have ssh way for command to my asic? Do I understand correctly?  
I need to know which will be temperature around asic for working on 11.5 Th?
Will can I do entering by web-interfece in asic on your firmware?
How much donate for it now? ))  

I want to chat of  private working group)

I do not know what happened to tekkcom, but the other guy who was doing firmware is probably around here somewhere.  I'm still interested in some of those features as well. esp having xnsub but being able to open more choices for the pll would be nice. I'm broke at the moment though hehe.

online ❑ ●●● ═══════ ●●●     ❑ online
Together we can change the internet
❍ ❍ ❍ ❍ ❍  Telegram | Twitter ❍ ❍ ❍ ❍ ❍
dgoeller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 08, 2018, 09:07:22 PM
 #587

Does anyone around have a copy of the firmware for an E9 (not E9+)?  I have apparently "upgraded" my E9 with E9+ firmware and bricked it Tongue
smartass111
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101
Merit: 13


View Profile
February 10, 2018, 11:09:59 PM
 #588

Does anyone around have a copy of the firmware for an E9 (not E9+)?  I have apparently "upgraded" my E9 with E9+ firmware and bricked it Tongue

1. what do you mean by "bricked", more details plz?
2. how do you plan to upgrade back bricked unit?

say thanks:
BCH 182kTk7ziJoSjVENuADGVTShCUx3Qq6GAK
cpuguru
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 02:58:21 AM
 #589

Does anyone around have a copy of the firmware for an E9 (not E9+)?  I have apparently "upgraded" my E9 with E9+ firmware and bricked it Tongue

I'm curious as to how you upgrade the E9 - I got one for use with a project I'm working on and I'd like to switch the Web UI to use English (currently Chinese) and to update the firmware. It's a tad flaky in that it'll run for a while and suddenly stop mining & stop responding to the web interface. My only recourse is to power it down, wait a few seconds & turn it back on again.

Sometimes it'll mine for a day, sometimes for an hour or so.

Thanks for any leads.
cpuguru
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 12:55:02 PM
 #590

I've emailed eBang a few times, support & sales, about getting manuals and firmware for the E9 but so far no joy.
dgoeller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 06:47:04 PM
 #591

I say it is "bricked" because it is basically useless at the moment.  It stays in a constant reboot cycle.  It never starts mining before it reboots, but I can get to the various web pages for about 1 minute.  I believe I have time to download firmware to it before it reboots, but don't have the right firmware file.  All I  have and can seem to get is for an E9+.  I have read through all the posts here and it seems the only firmware ever discussed is for the E9+, never the E9.  Any idea where to get it?  There is obviously no support forthcoming from the a$$holes at eBit. 

Thanks
Bajula
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 138
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 14, 2018, 09:45:45 AM
 #592

I say it is "bricked" because it is basically useless at the moment.  It stays in a constant reboot cycle.  It never starts mining before it reboots, but I can get to the various web pages for about 1 minute.  I believe I have time to download firmware to it before it reboots, but don't have the right firmware file.  All I  have and can seem to get is for an E9+.  I have read through all the posts here and it seems the only firmware ever discussed is for the E9+, never the E9.  Any idea where to get it?  There is obviously no support forthcoming from the a$$holes at eBit. 

Thanks

Something else must be wrong as the latest update works for both the regular e9 and the e9+ - an important thing to keep in mind as I sold mine, and then had it returned as it would not connect or begin mining is that baidu thing brought up early on in the thread. - I believe that if it "thinks" you are mining from a location that was not the original purchaser's location (even if you ARE that person) it kills it. so FIRST try to put that address in your hosts file (can't remember it now) and 127.0.0.1 on the computer that you are using to reach the web interface.. THEN even if it is in chinese switch to the other bank, hard reset (shutdown psu) then after getting it back up, see if it still refuses to connect to the internet. Not 100% sure on how to trick it into thinking it was in the original location if that is what it needs, but I'm pretty sure it gets location data from the pc you are connecting with not the miner.

disclaimer: I'm not truly clear on if this will work, I only know that when the guy mailed back the miner it worked on my end. the rest is my guess as to what is going on. If it doesn't work, holler at me and I'll see if I can't figure out some other way.

secondary would be to see if you can't get someone who has worked out firmware that let's them in to ssh - I'm sure a few people somewhere have copies. (side note if anyone has one with xnsub and ssh access I'm looking hehe.)

online ❑ ●●● ═══════ ●●●     ❑ online
Together we can change the internet
❍ ❍ ❍ ❍ ❍  Telegram | Twitter ❍ ❍ ❍ ❍ ❍
mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1006


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2018, 03:51:44 PM
 #593

209 comments over 9 months and no one pointed out that the "Ebit e9" miner seems to be a clone of the Bitmain Antminer S9/T9? Even their product page http://miner.ebang.com.cn/en/product/product-89-151.html shares design elements with the S9 product page https://shop.bitmain.com/productDetail.htm?pid=00020161116015054858d0tUnBE6067E It seems that ebang just tweaked a few things (quieter fans? fewer chips? different voltage/clock?) but other than that it seems to be the same product. So ebang would be lying to say they use a custom chip "DW1227". Someone open up an "Ebit e9", examine the PCB, examine chips, and I'm pretty sure you will find a PCB similar to the S9/T9 and Bitmain BM1387 chips...

This is so far off base I laughed out loud when reading it. Noone pointed it out because you are 100% wrong in everything you stated. Ebang was the contract manufacturer for the Avalon A6 so if there is any comparison to be made its that they cloned the Avalon. How do you miss that in even the most basic comparison? All you have to do is look at the design.

You were, of course, absolutely right. I looked at the e9's pictures too quickly and misjudged it.

Then you claim they are lying about using their own chip. If they used bitmain chips dont you think the efficiency would be more in line with the S9?

As I said, I thought they tweaked voltage & clock. You can cover a wide range of different energy efficiency levels by doing so.

Anyway, it's nice to see one more ASIC manufacturer coming to the market.
tekcomm
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 15, 2018, 07:33:00 PM
 #594

The E9 firmware is on the ebang site. It is only available if you change the language to Chinese. Also you can activate a emergency tftp backdoor on the local network.
phusho
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 15, 2018, 08:20:30 PM
 #595

I say it is "bricked" because it is basically useless at the moment.  It stays in a constant reboot cycle.  It never starts mining before it reboots, but I can get to the various web pages for about 1 minute.  I believe I have time to download firmware to it before it reboots, but don't have the right firmware file.  All I  have and can seem to get is for an E9+.  I have read through all the posts here and it seems the only firmware ever discussed is for the E9+, never the E9.  Any idea where to get it?  There is obviously no support forthcoming from the a$$holes at eBit. 

Thanks

Something else must be wrong as the latest update works for both the regular e9 and the e9+ - an important thing to keep in mind as I sold mine, and then had it returned as it would not connect or begin mining is that baidu thing brought up early on in the thread. - I believe that if it "thinks" you are mining from a location that was not the original purchaser's location (even if you ARE that person) it kills it. so FIRST try to put that address in your hosts file (can't remember it now) and 127.0.0.1 on the computer that you are using to reach the web interface.. THEN even if it is in chinese switch to the other bank, hard reset (shutdown psu) then after getting it back up, see if it still refuses to connect to the internet. Not 100% sure on how to trick it into thinking it was in the original location if that is what it needs, but I'm pretty sure it gets location data from the pc you are connecting with not the miner.

disclaimer: I'm not truly clear on if this will work, I only know that when the guy mailed back the miner it worked on my end. the rest is my guess as to what is going on. If it doesn't work, holler at me and I'll see if I can't figure out some other way.

secondary would be to see if you can't get someone who has worked out firmware that let's them in to ssh - I'm sure a few people somewhere have copies. (side note if anyone has one with xnsub and ssh access I'm looking hehe.)

So basically selling is questionable, which is pure loss.
tekcomm
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 15, 2018, 11:41:37 PM
 #596

Hi. Who have or use a firmware of user tekcomm for 11,5th ?

I was playing wheres waldo around the world on a easter gpu hunt. I have it but, I got rid of the last two e9+'s ebangs, there up for auction on ebay. They hash at 10.5-11. Patched and running a nxsub patched version of cgminer.  They also have all the chinese backdoors removed.ssh pub key access only. I talked to the ceo of appweb about the problem. His response was sorry but we don't have control over what they do with our software its open souce awhile ago. I would post the auction but this is not the marketplace.
The Demon Slick
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 16, 2018, 12:38:16 AM
 #597

I say it is "bricked" because it is basically useless at the moment.  It stays in a constant reboot cycle.  It never starts mining before it reboots, but I can get to the various web pages for about 1 minute.  I believe I have time to download firmware to it before it reboots, but don't have the right firmware file.  All I  have and can seem to get is for an E9+.  I have read through all the posts here and it seems the only firmware ever discussed is for the E9+, never the E9.  Any idea where to get it?  There is obviously no support forthcoming from the a$$holes at eBit. 

Thanks

Something else must be wrong as the latest update works for both the regular e9 and the e9+ - an important thing to keep in mind as I sold mine, and then had it returned as it would not connect or begin mining is that baidu thing brought up early on in the thread. - I believe that if it "thinks" you are mining from a location that was not the original purchaser's location (even if you ARE that person) it kills it. so FIRST try to put that address in your hosts file (can't remember it now) and 127.0.0.1 on the computer that you are using to reach the web interface.. THEN even if it is in chinese switch to the other bank, hard reset (shutdown psu) then after getting it back up, see if it still refuses to connect to the internet. Not 100% sure on how to trick it into thinking it was in the original location if that is what it needs, but I'm pretty sure it gets location data from the pc you are connecting with not the miner.

disclaimer: I'm not truly clear on if this will work, I only know that when the guy mailed back the miner it worked on my end. the rest is my guess as to what is going on. If it doesn't work, holler at me and I'll see if I can't figure out some other way.

secondary would be to see if you can't get someone who has worked out firmware that let's them in to ssh - I'm sure a few people somewhere have copies. (side note if anyone has one with xnsub and ssh access I'm looking hehe.)

So basically selling is questionable, which is pure loss.

Somebody sold me a gimpy 9t on ebag, it works sort of, pretty sure it's not location related. It might even be a 6.5t, in which case it's running fine. Highest I've seen it go was 7Ts for a whole day once, but that could be normal fluctuations. You could sell yours, but if you don't disclose the problems you're probably screwing somebody somewhere.

This Space Not For Rent
tatooedsn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 5


View Profile
March 12, 2018, 10:01:27 PM
 #598

Has anyone had any luck ordering replacement boards from this company? I had a hash board in my E9 stop working. I've e-mailed everyone in their support team and tried skypeing a couple of them with no reply. As much as I would love one of their new machines.. if you can't get parts then I can't see buying anything from them in the future. I tried translating my email into Chinese.. let's see how this goes.
smartass111
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101
Merit: 13


View Profile
March 15, 2018, 07:51:05 PM
 #599

looks like they work only with us-based customers who already bought some miners from them
e.g. one guy here got recently invoice for e9 (old) controller board replacement


btw, I had a chance to look into ebit e10.1 - so there is ability to get root access 

say thanks:
BCH 182kTk7ziJoSjVENuADGVTShCUx3Qq6GAK
onegiantcock
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 21, 2018, 03:31:28 PM
 #600

I also tried to order E9 controller - Lynn told me “E9 too old, no controller available.”  So I got too working hash boards if anyone’s interested.  Grin
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!