Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 03:48:10 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: RPC Miners (CPU/4way/CUDA/OpenCL)  (Read 528796 times)
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
September 17, 2012, 02:57:34 PM
 #281

Thought about it (gdb) but in the end I gotta ask: is it worth it?

I mean (other than pure curiosity which drives me so far) is using this CUDA miner gonna bring me some gain in speed, so much that it would turn an Nvida card in something efficient for mining?

So you have an 460 and I suppose you have done some tests openCL vs Cuda with it...is there any significant improvement?   

Obv being optimized for your hardware will help, but it really depends on the number of cores you have, and at what speeds they're running at. A 460 has 336 cores, at 675MHz. The closest comparison I can come up with is a 5570, with 400 SPU at 650MHz.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
1480780090
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780090

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780090
Reply with quote  #2

1480780090
Report to moderator
1480780090
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780090

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780090
Reply with quote  #2

1480780090
Report to moderator
1480780090
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780090

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780090
Reply with quote  #2

1480780090
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480780090
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780090

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780090
Reply with quote  #2

1480780090
Report to moderator
senseless
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 388



View Profile
September 17, 2012, 11:23:29 PM
 #282

Thought about it (gdb) but in the end I gotta ask: is it worth it?

I mean (other than pure curiosity which drives me so far) is using this CUDA miner gonna bring me some gain in speed, so much that it would turn an Nvida card in something efficient for mining?

So you have an 460 and I suppose you have done some tests openCL vs Cuda with it...is there any significant improvement?  

The only improvement in cuda vs opencl is not having the miner use 100% cpu of 1 core. Which is the entire reason I updated the code for this one to support newer gpus. If there is any performance difference; It's insignificant at best.





philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
September 18, 2012, 01:39:49 PM
 #283

No point then...

A 470 has 448 cores so that would be close to a 5670 perhaps?....still weak.
I can bring it with cgminer to 150MH/s and I was curious to see if CUDA would push that limit even higher...

Thanks
yzfzfcex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
January 22, 2013, 11:41:12 AM
 #284

Hello everyone. I would like to know if there is still someone interested in trying to compile this in Linux.

I'm having trouble to compile in Ubuntu 10.04. I am preparing a little script in Bash based on previous posts so that others benefit from it as well, but I can't get pass the issue with nvcc (I'm using gcc and g++ version 4.4). I also attach the characteristics of my video card. Let me know if you need more information:

The error is this:
Code:
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-linux-gnu/4.4.3/../../../../lib/crt1.o: In function `_start':
(.text+0x20): undefined reference to `main'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status

The script is this
Code:
#!/bin/bash

# Script to modify the source to build rpcminer with CUDA support

echo "Make sure to have installed the CUDA drivers and toolkit";
echo "You can go to https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-downloads";
echo "and https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Cuda";
sleep 3;

# 0.  Prepare the environment
Unpack the zip file with the source and go into the folder
unzip -q -d rpcminer `ls bitcoin-remote-rpc-*-src.zip` && cd rpcminer

# 1.  Open up the CMakeLists.txt.  There's a group of seven options
# (lines 5-11 in my version of the file for me).  I set "Enable CUDA
# miner" and "Build RPC miner" to ON and everythign else to OFF.
sed -i 's-\(OPTION(BITCOIN_\(ENABLE\|BUILD\)_\(OPENCL\|REMOTE\|GUI\|DAEMON\).*\)ON)-\1OFF)-g;' CMakeLists.txt;

# 2. Ran cmake → go to step 4

# 3.  Cleaned up some compile errors:
# 3A.  Added "#include <limits.h>"
# and "using namespace boost;" to serialize.h after the rest of the
# #includes
# 3A-a. Find last line with #include (after the boost library;
# there is another include near line 1112)
last_line_include_boost=`sed -n '/\#include.*boost/=' ./src/serialize.h | tail -n 1`;
# 3A-b. Add both "#include <limits.h>" and "using namespace boost;"
sed -i $last_line_include_boost's-^\(.*\)$-\1\n\#include <limits.h>\nusing namespace boost\;-g' ./src/serialize.h;
# 3C.  Modified bitcoinminercuda.cu to "#define _BITCOIN_MINER_CUDA_"
# right above the #ifdef that checks for it.
# 3C-a. For every file named "bitcoinminercuda.cu", check if it does
# not have "#define _BITCOIN_MINER_CUDA_". If that is the case, find
# the line with "#ifdef _BITCOIN_MINER_CUDA_", and put
# "#define# _BITCOIN_MINER_CUDA_" before it
for i in `find ./ -iname 'bitcoinminercuda.cu'`; do
   if [[ -z `grep '#define _BITCOIN_MINER_CUDA_' "$i"` ]]; then
      sed -i '/\#ifdef _BITCOIN_MINER_CUDA_/{x;s-.*-\#define _BITCOIN_MINER_CUDA_-;p;x}' "$i";
   fi;
done;

#4.  Ran make → Ran cmake and make
cmake ./ && make

#5.  Build the appropriate ".cubin" file
fad
#5A. Ask the user to input the correct version of the compute
#capabilities for their GPU
# http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:2.6/Source/Render/Cycles/Building
# http://ondoc.logand.com/d/365/html
# https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CUDA
# http://docs.nvidia.com/cuda/cuda-c-programming-guide/
#5A-a. Print message with the link to find the right information
echo "Visit the website https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-gpus";
echo "and look for the Compute Capability corresponding to the model";
echo "of your GPU. Then input the number and press enter";
#5A-b. Read value from standard input
read GPU_CompCap;
#5A-c. Delete the period in the version
GPU_CompCap=`echo "$GPU_CompCap" | tr -d '.'`;
#5A-d. Run nvcc to compile the cubin file
nvcc ./src/cuda/bitcoinminercuda.cu -gencode arch=compute_"$GPU_CompCap",\"code=sm_$GPU_CompCap,compute_$GPU_CompCap\" --keep

I have been using 1.3 for GPU_CompCap. I also tried with 1.2 with the same result

The specs of my card are:
Code:
Device 0: "NVS 3100M"
  CUDA Driver Version / Runtime Version          5.0 / 5.0
  CUDA Capability Major/Minor version number:    1.2
  Total amount of global memory:                 511 MBytes (536084480 bytes)
  ( 2) Multiprocessors x (  8) CUDA Cores/MP:    16 CUDA Cores
  GPU Clock rate:                                1468 MHz (1.47 GHz)
  Memory Clock rate:                             790 Mhz
  Memory Bus Width:                              64-bit
  Max Texture Dimension Size (x,y,z)             1D=(8192), 2D=(65536,32768), 3D=(2048,2048,2048)
  Max Layered Texture Size (dim) x layers        1D=(8192) x 512, 2D=(8192,8192) x 512
  Total amount of constant memory:               65536 bytes
  Total amount of shared memory per block:       16384 bytes
  Total number of registers available per block: 16384
  Warp size:                                     32
  Maximum number of threads per multiprocessor:  1024
  Maximum number of threads per block:           512
  Maximum sizes of each dimension of a block:    512 x 512 x 64
  Maximum sizes of each dimension of a grid:     65535 x 65535 x 1
  Maximum memory pitch:                          2147483647 bytes
  Texture alignment:                             256 bytes
  Concurrent copy and kernel execution:          Yes with 1 copy engine(s)
  Run time limit on kernels:                     Yes
  Integrated GPU sharing Host Memory:            No
  Support host page-locked memory mapping:       Yes
  Alignment requirement for Surfaces:            Yes
  Device has ECC support:                        Disabled
  Device supports Unified Addressing (UVA):      No
  Device PCI Bus ID / PCI location ID:           1 / 0
  Compute Mode:
     < Default (multiple host threads can use ::cudaSetDevice() with device simultaneously) >

deviceQuery, CUDA Driver = CUDART, CUDA Driver Version = 5.0, CUDA Runtime Version = 5.0, NumDevs = 1, Device0 = NVS 3100M

If someone can help me with the optimal parameters, that would be greatly appreciated :D
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
January 22, 2013, 01:39:39 PM
 #285

I might be interested out of curiosity but I no longer have a working Nvidia card. I fried mine while playing Amnesia.
Bernd33-1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
January 22, 2013, 08:04:10 PM
 #286

Hi,

I try to work with remote miner server and remote miner client but with no success. Maybe one can help?

My PC with Internetconnection (IP=192.168.0.113) starts with:
rpcminer-cuda.exe -url=http://port80.btcguild.com:80 -user=USER -password=PASSWORD -threads=1 -aggression=8 -remoteserver -remotebindaddr=192.168.0.113 -remotepassword=banana -distributiontype=contributed

A second PC in my network (192.168.0.110) starts with:
rpcminer-opencl.exe -server=192.168.0.113 -password=banana -aggression=6

But the Client says always "Could nit retreive work from RPC Server. Curl return Value 7"

Maybe someone knews what I'm doing wrong?

Thangs, Bernd
yzfzfcex
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
January 23, 2013, 03:12:10 PM
 #287

I might be interested out of curiosity but I no longer have a working Nvidia card. I fried mine while playing Amnesia.

HAHA Well, I hope we don't do the same thing with this one. Let me know if you come up with some ideas. I am willing to try...
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
January 31, 2013, 03:59:47 AM
 #288

is there potential to damage a card?

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2013, 10:54:55 AM
 #289

Is this miner still in development? If so, there's one bug report: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=144016.0

slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
March 03, 2013, 06:34:47 PM
 #290

Many people reported problems while using RPCminer with Stratum proxy. I just released Stratum proxy 1.5.1 with workaround especially for RPCminer. If you have RPCminer and want to mine over Stratum, please use proxy with --old-target parameter and let me know if it fixed your issues!

Clock Loop
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


...2,951,413.141592...


View Profile
April 11, 2013, 09:59:29 AM
 #291

I have dual gtx460's watercooled & oclocked to 851mhz and they hash at about 145 Mhash/sec (70Mhash/sec each)
This is the norm for nvidia.
 

I use two rpcminer-cuda.exe instances like so:
-gpu=0 -gpugrid=320 -gputhreads=320 -aggression=7 -workrefreshms=1000
-gpu=1 -gpugrid=320 -gputhreads=320 -aggression=7 -workrefreshms=1000

Guiminer Messages about "lost connection" are normal, its from the pool servers reply time.  

Every server has different reply times, if your miner tries to query the server too soon, guiminer will say you have connection problems.
You need to find the refresh rate your pool allows and change -workrefreshms=XXXX to the servers limit.
Default for  -workrefreshms=4000


Most virus scanners and firewall programs hate "coin" miners and call them viruses, so make sure your virus scanner and firewall allow rpcminer-cuda.exe, and guiminer.

I use p2pool as my pool server.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=18313.0

DO NOT USE rpcminer-mod-cuda.exe
This MOD also uses up all of 1 cpu, so i think its using the cpu to do hash also, perhaps tricking users into thinking its better than original.  It uses all cpu, and no hashes are accepted in GUIMINER, even tho it says its hashing, and p2pool says almost all are DOA...
DO NOT USE THIS MOD-->hxxps://github.com/cdmackie/rpcminer-mod/tree/master/bin
 USE ORIGINAL RPCMINER

Original RPCMINER: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2444.0

If your RPCMINER program uses 100% of any cpu, and GUIminer shows 0(0) under "Accepted"
 (if you are only doing gpu mining) then you have the modified broken rpcminer-cuda.

Feel free to send me bitcoins. 1KSwVC3intr4KJK36bQ5NDMmyuxAcpzEY9
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fFYHWYaT_oo
Lacan82
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
April 15, 2013, 03:42:45 AM
 #292

I'm attempting to use NVCC to get rid of the Unable to Load CUDA module error. I'm getting this after I run the command to compile.

LIBCMT.lib(crt0.obj) : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _main reference
d in function ___tmainCRTStartup
a.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals


Anyone able to help?Smiley


owenprescott
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
April 15, 2013, 06:22:14 PM
 #293

Noob question? How do I set this up, the readme.txt does not have any instructions, I have a NVidia GPU. So far I have copied the rar files into a folder in the program files. When I start up the rcpminer-cuda.exe I get this message...


If I remember correctly I would need to join a pool or something?
Krako
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 401



View Profile
April 21, 2013, 09:15:59 AM
 #294

Hi
I trying to use the rpcminer.cuda.exe with guiminer (geforce gtx660)

Quote
Client will start 1 miner threads
Work will be refreshed every 4000 ms
1 CUDA GPU devices found
Setting CUDA device to first device found
Loading module bitcoinminercuda_11.cubin
Unable to load CUDA module

I get the above error but few pages back I found this answer

Quote
You need to compile the .cu file targeting the 1.1, 1.2, and 2.0 CUDA architecture, and give the resulting cubin the appropriate name, and place it in the working directory before you start the miner.

Please can some one teachme how to doing this? I am absolutely ignorant about and I have no Idea what is this and how to make it work.

Thanks a lot in advance
Aggrophobia
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
April 21, 2013, 02:23:12 PM
 #295

is anyone able to compile the cudafiles with cuda 5.0 for windows 7 x64?
milazi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 04:34:24 AM
 #296

windows
Stoneysilence
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
April 26, 2013, 04:07:50 AM
 #297

I tried to download the Windows Binaries and got a warning from ESET NOD32 that it was a virus they coined BitcoinMiner.M
420
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
May 04, 2013, 01:07:52 AM
 #298

with a cuda mod miner I get 185Khash with litecoin on GTX 680

Donations: 1JVhKjUKSjBd7fPXQJsBs5P3Yphk38AqPr - TIPS
the hacks, the hacks, secure your bits!
Eli0t
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 03:38:23 AM
 #299

for anyone wondering if this app will give you a faster hash rate than newer CUDA miners the answer is no

after some tweaking for best performance i was able to get the same hash rate (maybe even 1% less) as i get by default with ufasoft Coins CUDA implementation and there i get a much better readout and stratum support into the bargain.

560ti(no OC) ~83 MH/s with -aggression=9 -gpugrid=128 -gputhreads=384

LTC:  LKpJf3uk7KsHU73kxq8iFJrP1AAKN7Yni7  DGC:  DKXGvEbj3Rwgrm2QQbRyNPDDZDYoq4Y44d  XPM:  AWV5AKfLFyoBaMjg9C77rGUBhuFxz5DGGL
Tritonio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 652


Vanity of vanities; all is vanity...


View Profile WWW
September 22, 2013, 05:16:52 PM
 #300

Avira started detecting the rcpminer-cpu.exe as a Security or Private Risk (SPR/BitCoin.djh.1). Also if you search the file's hash on google you'll find that it's known as winvnc86.exe and wininiit.exe. I suppose someone used it in a botnet or other trojan?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!