Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2024, 05:04:42 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] Pool mining primecoin using DigitalOcean (VPS)  (Read 88499 times)
itod
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1075


^ Will code for Bitcoins


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 08:07:35 AM
 #341

So nice of you to add the lines for making a swap. I'll edit the OP.

I made two 2 CPU drops in NYC. They are both averaging about 300 pps.  Here is my settings:

Code:
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile bs=64M count=16
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile

apt-get install git
git clone https://github.com/primecoin/primecoin.git
apt-get install build-essential libssl-dev libboost-all-dev libdb5.3++-dev -y
cd ~/primecoin/src
make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=-
mkdir ~/.primecoin
echo "rpcuser=username
rpcpassword=AVeryLongComplexOne
gen=1" > ~/.primecoin/primecoin.conf
sudo mv primecoind /usr/local/bin/.

primecoind --daemon

IMHO you should remove the swap after compilation, so you may add (optional) following lines after compilation:

Code:
sudo swapoff /swapfile
sudo rm /swapfile

Effect would be the same after the reboot, but many people go directly to mining and never reboot the droplet.
1714064682
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714064682

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714064682
Reply with quote  #2

1714064682
Report to moderator
1714064682
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714064682

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714064682
Reply with quote  #2

1714064682
Report to moderator
TalkImg was created especially for hosting images on bitcointalk.org: try it next time you want to post an image
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714064682
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714064682

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714064682
Reply with quote  #2

1714064682
Report to moderator
superfluouso
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 08:25:10 AM
 #342

rethaw - thanks a ton for your help - been having fun.

FYI - running an 8 core drop ~1800pps

and 12 core droplet ~2300pps

The 12 core doesnt show up when you create a drop but is available for about .47/hr if you resize an existing one.  Gonna run one of these all night and see how it goes..

Thanks!
altsay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 359
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 08:53:16 AM
 #343

rethaw - thanks a ton for your help - been having fun.

FYI - running an 8 core drop ~1800pps

and 12 core droplet ~2300pps

The 12 core doesnt show up when you create a drop but is available for about .47/hr if you resize an existing one.  Gonna run one of these all night and see how it goes..

Thanks!

Which locations they are located at?
superfluouso
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 09:36:11 AM
 #344

rethaw - thanks a ton for your help - been having fun.

FYI - running an 8 core drop ~1800pps

and 12 core droplet ~2300pps

The 12 core doesnt show up when you create a drop but is available for about .47/hr if you resize an existing one.  Gonna run one of these all night and see how it goes..

Thanks!

Which locations they are located at?

Both in San Francisco
altsay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 359
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 09:42:14 AM
 #345

I'm a bit confused about the way the payments are done. I have used $10 promo code and if i create 2 cores/2 gig droplet which is $20/month, does it mean they'll charge $10 from my credit card at the end of the month?
superfluouso
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 09:45:30 AM
 #346

I'm a bit confused about the way the payments are done. I have used $10 promo code and if i create 2 cores/2 gig droplet which is $20/month, does it mean they'll charge $10 from my credit card at the end of the month?

No - once you have credit available, its deducted by the minute..you're not committing to run any systems for any specific amount of time.  It's basically pay as you go.
superfluouso
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 09:47:26 AM
 #347

FYI - I think the limitation for digitalocean is up to 20 cores per account in whatever way you want to split them up.  Could be wrong on that as someone else mentioned a 5 droplet limit..but I know i definately can't exceed a total of 20 cores.
altsay
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 359
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 09:56:25 AM
 #348

I'm a bit confused about the way the payments are done. I have used $10 promo code and if i create 2 cores/2 gig droplet which is $20/month, does it mean they'll charge $10 from my credit card at the end of the month?

No - once you have credit available, its deducted by the minute..you're not committing to run any systems for any specific amount of time.  It's basically pay as you go.

So what the promo code stands for then?
jubalix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2618
Merit: 1022


View Profile WWW
July 12, 2013, 11:02:19 AM
 #349

so now have 3 instances of about

100 pps each

finally

Admitted Practicing Lawyer::BTC/Crypto Specialist. B.Engineering/B.Laws

https://www.binance.com/?ref=10062065
subwolf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 11:05:59 AM
 #350

Running three 2-core $20 instances, getting 300 - 400 PPS out of each, thats 900 - 1200 PPS total.
Ginsley
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234
Merit: 114


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 11:42:55 AM
 #351

8-core instance = 1445-1755
4-core instance = 633-880

instances are at various locations

1HYeuyxKHGmFs1ARvAPGgmEW9pW6u8L26U
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 01:53:01 PM
 #352

I'm running 5x2 core instances, seemed more cost effective...if diff shoots up higher I may increase to 4 cores per instance.
I think the service is still worth the cost.

Guys, I'm getting error -4 when importing privkey in the windows wallet. Any ideas why that is?
blastbob
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 01:59:52 PM
 #353

I'm running 5x2 core instances, seemed more cost effective...if diff shoots up higher I may increase to 4 cores per instance.
I think the service is still worth the cost.

Guys, I'm getting error -4 when importing privkey in the windows wallet. Any ideas why that is?

You get that error when privkey is already added. Might be that.

Bitrated user: blastbob.
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 02:08:46 PM
Last edit: July 12, 2013, 02:25:43 PM by ivanlabrie
 #354

I'm running 5x2 core instances, seemed more cost effective...if diff shoots up higher I may increase to 4 cores per instance.
I think the service is still worth the cost.

Guys, I'm getting error -4 when importing privkey in the windows wallet. Any ideas why that is?

You get that error when privkey is already added. Might be that.

Never added it before...it's the vps privkey I'm trying to add to my wallet.
If I can't I'll just send the coins when they mature but don't wanna risk losing them.

Correct syntax is:  importprivkey privkey# right? (win qt)

EDIT: Got it! Forgot to unlock the wallet temporarily lol
Moebius327
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 02:35:56 PM
 #355



I got lucky and got a couple 24core drops this time.

That took me about 15minutes to set up btw. I got about 8-10 hours mining b4 getting banned, seems to be the average.

Its a nice free way to mine, I just have to be on my toes. lol

why are you getting banned?
Vorksholk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1713
Merit: 1029



View Profile WWW
July 12, 2013, 02:44:23 PM
 #356

I've had plenty of accounts banned, and I've never used a coupon code once. I've paid them around $100 worth of money from paypal and a real credit card, and they keep banning my account, saying I violated the ToS. The first time, I agree, as I made a bunch of accounts to get many drops, and I later read the ToS (more carefully, anyhow) and making multiple accoutns on the same payment method without prior notice to them is against the TOS. However, I then made a subsequent account with a credit card instead (different payment method) and got banned as well. Their twitter mentioned mining is fine (for now), and they refused to tell me the violation. I made another account with another PayPal (a good friend of mine's), and that account got locked and suspended and flagged as suspicious.

It seems to not be related to the coupon codes. I'm thinking they can't truly handle the computing power they sell at that price, and of course practice overselling (which isn't a bad thing, normally!). However, I wish they had a way to pay a bit more and get DEDICATED resources, so maybe for $2.38 an hour or something you could get a full 24 cores dedicated to you (which is probably a full node for them). However, unless they go down this route, I think mining accounts will keep getting banned. It's unfortunate. They asked me for details about myself. I gave websites, names, facebook, location, public twitter handle, and public business handles on an account I made with a different payment system, which according to my understanding of the ToS is perfectly acceptable. They locked this account as suspicious.

I think I'm done with digital ocean.

VeriBlock: Securing The World's Blockchains Using Bitcoin
https://veriblock.org
Teka
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 02:46:52 PM
 #357

I've had plenty of accounts banned, and I've never used a coupon code once. I've paid them around $100 worth of money from paypal and a real credit card, and they keep banning my account, saying I violated the ToS. The first time, I agree, as I made a bunch of accounts to get many drops, and I later read the ToS (more carefully, anyhow) and making multiple accoutns on the same payment method without prior notice to them is against the TOS. However, I then made a subsequent account with a credit card instead (different payment method) and got banned as well. Their twitter mentioned mining is fine (for now), and they refused to tell me the violation. I made another account with another PayPal (a good friend of mine's), and that account got locked and suspended and flagged as suspicious.

It seems to not be related to the coupon codes. I'm thinking they can't truly handle the computing power they sell at that price, and of course practice overselling (which isn't a bad thing, normally!). However, I wish they had a way to pay a bit more and get DEDICATED resources, so maybe for $2.38 an hour or something you could get a full 24 cores dedicated to you (which is probably a full node for them). However, unless they go down this route, I think mining accounts will keep getting banned. It's unfortunate. They asked me for details about myself. I gave websites, names, facebook, location, public twitter handle, and public business handles on an account I made with a different payment system, which according to my understanding of the ToS is perfectly acceptable. They locked this account as suspicious.

I think I'm done with digital ocean.

Did you make all of the accounts from the same ip? That might be the problem. My account is fine for now.
paulthetafy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 820
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 02:54:11 PM
 #358



Well first off im using a generated visa card with 0 balance and getting the biggest instance I can get. They keep telling me its because ive been flagged by their fraud detection system or some shit. They ask me questions trying to verify my identity. Which I fake it but they don't buy it. lol

Every time I basicly tell them good job running off a customer Ill go somewhere else. rofl

I have been using a vpn and a vps ive been creating accounts on. Its not IP, they are flagging for other stuff.
Wow you really are a complete fucking tool.  You are openly admitting that you have been defrauding them and plan to continue to do so.  Don't be such a fucking jerk and pay them for the resources you are using. 
Just FYI the mods of the forum have been notified of this and will be passing your email address and list of your login IP addresses to digital ocean.  I suggest you go hide in a corner somewhere for a while.
Moebius327
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 02:55:30 PM
 #359

I've had plenty of accounts banned, and I've never used a coupon code once. I've paid them around $100 worth of money from paypal and a real credit card, and they keep banning my account, saying I violated the ToS. The first time, I agree, as I made a bunch of accounts to get many drops, and I later read the ToS (more carefully, anyhow) and making multiple accoutns on the same payment method without prior notice to them is against the TOS. However, I then made a subsequent account with a credit card instead (different payment method) and got banned as well. Their twitter mentioned mining is fine (for now), and they refused to tell me the violation. I made another account with another PayPal (a good friend of mine's), and that account got locked and suspended and flagged as suspicious.

It seems to not be related to the coupon codes. I'm thinking they can't truly handle the computing power they sell at that price, and of course practice overselling (which isn't a bad thing, normally!). However, I wish they had a way to pay a bit more and get DEDICATED resources, so maybe for $2.38 an hour or something you could get a full 24 cores dedicated to you (which is probably a full node for them). However, unless they go down this route, I think mining accounts will keep getting banned. It's unfortunate. They asked me for details about myself. I gave websites, names, facebook, location, public twitter handle, and public business handles on an account I made with a different payment system, which according to my understanding of the ToS is perfectly acceptable. They locked this account as suspicious.

I think I'm done with digital ocean.

This thread has been read 7000times, how many of those 7000 have signed up and ran multiple instances. I'm sure they are overloaded as hell. And then How many of them are like me and dont plan on paying. lol

This is like a 4chan raid.

The thing is customers like me get banned as well now. And I payed them 20$.
Teka
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 02:57:09 PM
 #360



Well first off im using a generated visa card with 0 balance and getting the biggest instance I can get. They keep telling me its because ive been flagged by their fraud detection system or some shit. They ask me questions trying to verify my identity. Which I fake it but they don't buy it. lol

Every time I basicly tell them good job running off a customer Ill go somewhere else. rofl

I have been using a vpn and a vps ive been creating accounts on. Its not IP, they are flagging for other stuff.
Wow you really are a complete fucking tool.  You are openly admitting that you have been defrauding them and plan to continue to do so.  Don't be such a fucking jerk and pay them for the resources you are using. 
Just FYI the mods of the forum have been notified of this and will be passing your email address and list of your login IP addresses to digital ocean.  I suggest you go hide in a corner somewhere for a while.

Yeah, if digital ocean bans mining it's because of people like him. I personally only have one account and having been using them for my clients second offsite backup for  the last 3-4 months.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!