Bitcoin Forum
June 23, 2024, 07:48:06 PM *
News: Voting for pizza day contest
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] Working on a GPU miner for Primecoin, new thread :)  (Read 166553 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 05, 2013, 12:13:29 PM
 #521

It seems like memory corruption, the most annoying kind of bug. Might take some time to fix, I haven't been able to reproduce it on my computer.
This is a serious problem that may not have a fix.  I have a GPU that I still have running on SHA256 because it starts throwing massive errors if I try to use the same intensity on scrypt coins.

I don't think this is a GPU error, but rather an error in the CPU code somewhere.

Agreed.happens at stock clocks too and it's too much of a coincidence that all our cards are faulty.
wyldfire
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 01:36:37 PM
 #522

Can this be used to mine in ypool?

I don't think so.  Ypool uses XPT exclusively, IIRC.  I think primecoin-reaper uses getwork, so someone would need to port XPT to it.
Pt0x
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 05, 2013, 01:47:46 PM
 #523

I just finished to read all the thread, I'm so happy that I didn't "donate".

I'm better without a GPU miner since CPU it's what I'm most using right now, however XPM needs the GPU miner to gain popularity otherwise it will remain as the botnet coin.

cheers!

BTC: 17sz6AoYVpwXjaStmnVCsGTufUhvrAMhTw
pyromaniac
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 639
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 05, 2013, 01:48:05 PM
 #524

Please help me compile a file libblkmaker, so that I could use address different than mu1DxMiRUgzjNrVyVeHeRhqDm3XVK12SK2 in my config. I'm not a programmer.

BazkieBumpercar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 415
Merit: 250



View Profile
September 05, 2013, 02:26:22 PM
 #525

Please help me compile a file libblkmaker, so that I could use address different than mu1DxMiRUgzjNrVyVeHeRhqDm3XVK12SK2 in my config. I'm not a programmer.
edit base58.c in the libblkmaker dir and add these middle lines:

      case   0:  // Bitcoin pubkey hash
      case  23:  // Primecoin pubkey hash
      case 111:  // Testnet pubkey hash

and

      case   5:  // Bitcoin script hash
      case  83:  // Primecoin script hash
      case 196:  // Testnet script hash

So, look up those bitcoin/testnet lines and add the primecoin one. Then compile Smiley (don't forget autogen.sh)
mtrlt (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 02:38:06 PM
 #526

Please help me compile a file libblkmaker, so that I could use address different than mu1DxMiRUgzjNrVyVeHeRhqDm3XVK12SK2 in my config. I'm not a programmer.
edit base58.c in the libblkmaker dir and add these middle lines:

      case   0:  // Bitcoin pubkey hash
      case  23:  // Primecoin pubkey hash
      case 111:  // Testnet pubkey hash

and

      case   5:  // Bitcoin script hash
      case  83:  // Primecoin script hash
      case 196:  // Testnet script hash

So, look up those bitcoin/testnet lines and add the primecoin one. Then compile Smiley (don't forget autogen.sh)
You can also just redownload the library sources (from https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/55025350/bitcoin-libblkmaker.zip). I have updated the source.
pyromaniac
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 639
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 05, 2013, 03:02:49 PM
 #527

Please help me compile a file libblkmaker, so that I could use address different than mu1DxMiRUgzjNrVyVeHeRhqDm3XVK12SK2 in my config. I'm not a programmer.
edit base58.c in the libblkmaker dir and add these middle lines:

      case   0:  // Bitcoin pubkey hash
      case  23:  // Primecoin pubkey hash
      case 111:  // Testnet pubkey hash

and

      case   5:  // Bitcoin script hash
      case  83:  // Primecoin script hash
      case 196:  // Testnet script hash

So, look up those bitcoin/testnet lines and add the primecoin one. Then compile Smiley (don't forget autogen.sh)
You can also just redownload the library sources (from https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/55025350/bitcoin-libblkmaker.zip). I have updated the source.
Thanks! Now next problem is GPU is not used. How can I fix it?

Quote
Share thread started
GeneratePrimeTable() : prime table [1, 262144] generated with 23000 primes
Available CPU mining algorithms: hp7
Using default: hp7
Creating 2 CPU threads.
1...Warning: can't set thread priority
2...done
List of platforms:
        0       AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing
Using platform number 0
2013-09-05 19:08:29 Error: Error getting OpenCL device IDs

balanghai
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 253


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 03:11:27 PM
 #528

Any successful blocks?
wyldfire
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 03:34:34 PM
 #529

The TOTAL counts aren't comparable between use_gpu_fermat_test true/false, should look at 2-chains. I'll remove the TOTAL count in the next version.
Good to know, thanks! Looking at 2/3 chains then the gpu_fermat_test is faster by ~ 1.4x (I do have a weak CPU in there).  Is the candidate difference a red herring (1/9 as many) or just the way it is reported?
I'm just not seeing stats anything like this.

With the fermat test done on the GPU I get...
0 fermats/s, 6.73269 gandalfs/s.
70.2502k TOTAL     1.79828k 2-chains     39.093 3-chains     39.093 4-chains

With the fermat done on the CPU I get ...
60338.8 fermats/s, 3523.21 gandalfs/s.
350.383M TOTAL     1.01852M 2-chains     64.7127k 3-chains     3.58685k 4-chains     298.904 5-chains

Ignoring the total, the fermat test on the GPU gives 1000x fewer 2-chains,  and 100x fewer 4-chains.  This is with 2 x 7950, a AMD FX(tm)-4130 Quad-Core Processor, and ubunutu 13.

Am I missing something somewhere?

I got similar results enabling/disabling the fermat test on the GPU.
mtrlt (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 04:43:12 PM
 #530

I've made the primality tester 4-5x faster, but I haven't managed to fix the "fractional assert" problem. Should I just release the faster version (many people won't be able to use it) or try to fix the bug first (will take time)?
pgbit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 771
Merit: 258


Trident Protocol | Simple «buy-hold-earn» system!


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 04:49:25 PM
 #531

I've made the primality tester 4-5x faster, but I haven't managed to fix the "fractional assert" problem. Should I just release the faster version (many people won't be able to use it) or try to fix the bug first (will take time)?
Great work! Might be fairer to fix the bug, I am one of the ones who hasnt been able to use the miner yet though.

██▄     ▄▄░
▀██▄ ▄██▀
▄▄███████████████████▄▄
▄█████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█████▄
████▀                   ▀████
████       ▄▄█████▄▄  ▀▄   ████
████      ▄██████████▄▀    ████
████      ████████▀▀       ████
████  ▄▀ ▄██▀▀▀   ▄██      ████
████   ▀▀     ▄▄███▀       ████
████▄                   ▄████
▀█████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█████▀
▀▀███████████████████▀▀
.
SECONDLIVE
.
CHOOSE LIFE      CHOOSE SPACE      CHOOSE FRIENDS
.
|    Twitter    |  Telegram  |   Medium   |  YouTube  |   Discord   |    TikTok    |    GitHub    |
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
   S T A K E   L I T T L E   W I N   B I G   
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
        ▄▄███████▄▄▄
    ▄▄████████████████▄▄
   ████████████████████▄
  ███████▀▀▀█████████████
 ██████▌     ▀████████████
███████▀ ▀▀▄▄██▀▀▀█████████
██████             ▀███████
██████▄             ███████
 ███████▄▄        ▄███████
  ███████████▄▄▄▄█████████
   ▀███████████████████▀
     ▀████████████████▀▀
   ██████████████████████
pgbit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 771
Merit: 258


Trident Protocol | Simple «buy-hold-earn» system!


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 05:09:37 PM
 #532

I've made the primality tester 4-5x faster, but I haven't managed to fix the "fractional assert" problem. Should I just release the faster version (many people won't be able to use it) or try to fix the bug first (will take time)?
If this is of any help, looking at the console as all the data flies by, my setup (i7 chip, win8, 64bit) reels out all the data, starting with 0 fermats/sec and 786 gandalfs/s, then as time passes, the gandalfs/s progressively drops and if the app doesnt crash earlier each time the console reports the gandalfs/s it shows a smaller and smaller number, reducing to 60 gandalfs/s then it usually gives up and passes onto windows error reporting. It always only shows 0 fermats/s - ? what is this meant to be?

██▄     ▄▄░
▀██▄ ▄██▀
▄▄███████████████████▄▄
▄█████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█████▄
████▀                   ▀████
████       ▄▄█████▄▄  ▀▄   ████
████      ▄██████████▄▀    ████
████      ████████▀▀       ████
████  ▄▀ ▄██▀▀▀   ▄██      ████
████   ▀▀     ▄▄███▀       ████
████▄                   ▄████
▀█████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█████▀
▀▀███████████████████▀▀
.
SECONDLIVE
.
CHOOSE LIFE      CHOOSE SPACE      CHOOSE FRIENDS
.
|    Twitter    |  Telegram  |   Medium   |  YouTube  |   Discord   |    TikTok    |    GitHub    |
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
   S T A K E   L I T T L E   W I N   B I G   
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
        ▄▄███████▄▄▄
    ▄▄████████████████▄▄
   ████████████████████▄
  ███████▀▀▀█████████████
 ██████▌     ▀████████████
███████▀ ▀▀▄▄██▀▀▀█████████
██████             ▀███████
██████▄             ███████
 ███████▄▄        ▄███████
  ███████████▄▄▄▄█████████
   ▀███████████████████▀
     ▀████████████████▀▀
   ██████████████████████
mtrlt (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 05:20:38 PM
 #533

What GPU?
y0m0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0



View Profile
September 05, 2013, 06:51:01 PM
 #534

I've made the primality tester 4-5x faster, but I haven't managed to fix the "fractional assert" problem. Should I just release the faster version (many people won't be able to use it) or try to fix the bug first (will take time)?
If this is of any help, looking at the console as all the data flies by, my setup (i7 chip, win8, 64bit) reels out all the data, starting with 0 fermats/sec and 786 gandalfs/s, then as time passes, the gandalfs/s progressively drops and if the app doesnt crash earlier each time the console reports the gandalfs/s it shows a smaller and smaller number, reducing to 60 gandalfs/s then it usually gives up and passes onto windows error reporting. It always only shows 0 fermats/s - ? what is this meant to be?

I had this same issue with the gandalfs dropping and I managed to keep it at a regular average number by playing around with the "worksize" parameter in the primecoin.conf , got the best result with 64
wyldfire
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 07:01:47 PM
 #535

I've made the primality tester 4-5x faster, but I haven't managed to fix the "fractional assert" problem. Should I just release the faster version (many people won't be able to use it) or try to fix the bug first (will take time)?
If this is of any help, looking at the console as all the data flies by, my setup (i7 chip, win8, 64bit) reels out all the data, starting with 0 fermats/sec and 786 gandalfs/s, then as time passes, the gandalfs/s progressively drops and if the app doesnt crash earlier each time the console reports the gandalfs/s it shows a smaller and smaller number, reducing to 60 gandalfs/s then it usually gives up and passes onto windows error reporting. It always only shows 0 fermats/s - ? what is this meant to be?

I had this same issue with the gandalfs dropping and I managed to keep it at a regular average number by playing around with the "worksize" parameter in the primecoin.conf , got the best result with 64

I can confirm worksize of 64 was optimal for me too.
pgbit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 771
Merit: 258


Trident Protocol | Simple «buy-hold-earn» system!


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 07:03:36 PM
 #536

What GPU?
7970 same prob with catalyst 13.4 and 13.8

██▄     ▄▄░
▀██▄ ▄██▀
▄▄███████████████████▄▄
▄█████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█████▄
████▀                   ▀████
████       ▄▄█████▄▄  ▀▄   ████
████      ▄██████████▄▀    ████
████      ████████▀▀       ████
████  ▄▀ ▄██▀▀▀   ▄██      ████
████   ▀▀     ▄▄███▀       ████
████▄                   ▄████
▀█████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█████▀
▀▀███████████████████▀▀
.
SECONDLIVE
.
CHOOSE LIFE      CHOOSE SPACE      CHOOSE FRIENDS
.
|    Twitter    |  Telegram  |   Medium   |  YouTube  |   Discord   |    TikTok    |    GitHub    |
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
   S T A K E   L I T T L E   W I N   B I G   
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
        ▄▄███████▄▄▄
    ▄▄████████████████▄▄
   ████████████████████▄
  ███████▀▀▀█████████████
 ██████▌     ▀████████████
███████▀ ▀▀▄▄██▀▀▀█████████
██████             ▀███████
██████▄             ███████
 ███████▄▄        ▄███████
  ███████████▄▄▄▄█████████
   ▀███████████████████▀
     ▀████████████████▀▀
   ██████████████████████
pgbit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 771
Merit: 258


Trident Protocol | Simple «buy-hold-earn» system!


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 08:06:14 PM
 #537

I've made the primality tester 4-5x faster, but I haven't managed to fix the "fractional assert" problem. Should I just release the faster version (many people won't be able to use it) or try to fix the bug first (will take time)?
If this is of any help, looking at the console as all the data flies by, my setup (i7 chip, win8, 64bit) reels out all the data, starting with 0 fermats/sec and 786 gandalfs/s, then as time passes, the gandalfs/s progressively drops and if the app doesnt crash earlier each time the console reports the gandalfs/s it shows a smaller and smaller number, reducing to 60 gandalfs/s then it usually gives up and passes onto windows error reporting. It always only shows 0 fermats/s - ? what is this meant to be?

I had this same issue with the gandalfs dropping and I managed to keep it at a regular average number by playing around with the "worksize" parameter in the primecoin.conf , got the best result with 64

I can confirm worksize of 64 was optimal for me too.
This does seem a improvement - thanks - this time runs from 1 - 5 mins.

██▄     ▄▄░
▀██▄ ▄██▀
▄▄███████████████████▄▄
▄█████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█████▄
████▀                   ▀████
████       ▄▄█████▄▄  ▀▄   ████
████      ▄██████████▄▀    ████
████      ████████▀▀       ████
████  ▄▀ ▄██▀▀▀   ▄██      ████
████   ▀▀     ▄▄███▀       ████
████▄                   ▄████
▀█████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█████▀
▀▀███████████████████▀▀
.
SECONDLIVE
.
CHOOSE LIFE      CHOOSE SPACE      CHOOSE FRIENDS
.
|    Twitter    |  Telegram  |   Medium   |  YouTube  |   Discord   |    TikTok    |    GitHub    |
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
   S T A K E   L I T T L E   W I N   B I G   
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
        ▄▄███████▄▄▄
    ▄▄████████████████▄▄
   ████████████████████▄
  ███████▀▀▀█████████████
 ██████▌     ▀████████████
███████▀ ▀▀▄▄██▀▀▀█████████
██████             ▀███████
██████▄             ███████
 ███████▄▄        ▄███████
  ███████████▄▄▄▄█████████
   ▀███████████████████▀
     ▀████████████████▀▀
   ██████████████████████
Entz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


I not use any kind of messenger beware of scammers


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 08:15:47 PM
 #538

Ignoring the total, the fermat test on the GPU gives 1000x fewer 2-chains,  and 100x fewer 4-chains.  This is with 2 x 7950, a AMD FX(tm)-4130 Quad-Core Processor, and ubunutu 13.

Am I missing something somewhere?
Likely not it may be my settings or some other factor (mingw compiled vs native linux etc). I have a very weak CPU in there (Celeron G530 I think) that gets maxed out when the CPU test is going (against 2 GPUs).
cpu_mining_threads  2,  worksize 64,  aggression 23,  sievepercentage 10, sievesize 25165824

CPU: 350.824k 2-chains     33.2151k 3-chains     3.13091k 4-chains     318.715 5-chains     18.7479 6-chains
GPU: 502.131k 2-chains     45.7112k 3-chains     4.8202k 4-chains     392.074 5-chains     46.1263 6-chains

I have a faster quad-core laying around, I will give that a try when I get a moment.

ReCat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
September 05, 2013, 08:17:45 PM
 #539

http://howmuchmoneyhasmtrltmadefromtheprimecoingpuminer.housecat.name/

I totally promise that it is bias-free this time. Tongue

(I was bored.)

BTC: 1recatirpHBjR9sxgabB3RDtM6TgntYUW
Hold onto what you love with all your might, Because you can never know when - Oh. What you love is now gone.
Stinky_Pete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500


View Profile
September 05, 2013, 08:26:34 PM
 #540

http://howmuchmoneyhasmtrltmadefromtheprimecoingpuminer.housecat.name/

I totally promise that it is bias-free this time. Tongue

(I was bored.)

I'd be offended if I was offered only $27/hour for a professional job.


Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!