Bitcoin Forum
October 24, 2017, 11:34:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: NanoFury Project - Open Source Design  (Read 66477 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
vs3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622


View Profile WWW
May 04, 2014, 09:32:32 AM
 #341


But I Noticed a difference in your work and mine.
I did not solder these pads since there is not going to be placed a component anyway.
I don't see a point in soldering those, the are already conducting.

Notice the red circles:



that is correct - there are two sets of pads for the MCP2210 depending on which package you get. You should only use one of them and leave the other untouched.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508844849
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508844849

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508844849
Reply with quote  #2

1508844849
Report to moderator
1508844849
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508844849

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508844849
Reply with quote  #2

1508844849
Report to moderator
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686

FUN > ROI


View Profile
May 04, 2014, 09:39:36 AM
 #342

I did not solder these pads since there is not going to be placed a component anyway.
I don't see a point in soldering those, the are already conducting.
That's in the v0.7 change - basically, the MCP2210 USB bridge was difficult to source in the package used in v0.6 and earlier, so he added a footprint for an alternative package type.  If you look closely at a board/design file, you'll see that the pads just connect straight to the alternate one.

Edit: What he said - again.
I swear this used to tell you somebody else posted while you were editing - what happened to that?

mikerbiker6
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 04, 2014, 11:24:39 AM
 #343

Allright, I thought that was the case.
It is compatible with 2 types of MCP2210 sizes.

The MCP2210 is probably the issue, I will try and fix it tomorrow I think.
As you may have noticed I am a total noob at this and it is mostly trial and error for me haha.
Placing solder paste on the board is a total disaster without a stencil.
The paste is not sticking to the board, so I looked it up on the internet and my solder paste is probably dried out.
I also read that you can dilute it with some flux, maybe give that a try.
( flux are 2 different things apparently, the watery stuff and the fat yellow goo)

Participate and Earn on the Letstalkbitcoin forum letstalkbitcoin.com
Taugeran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


CCNA: There i fixed the internet.


View Profile
May 04, 2014, 12:43:11 PM
 #344

Allright, I thought that was the case.
It is compatible with 2 types of MCP2210 sizes.

The MCP2210 is probably the issue, I will try and fix it tomorrow I think.
As you may have noticed I am a total noob at this and it is mostly trial and error for me haha.
Placing solder paste on the board is a total disaster without a stencil.
The paste is not sticking to the board, so I looked it up on the internet and my solder paste is probably dried out.
I also read that you can dilute it with some flux, maybe give that a try.
( flux are 2 different things apparently, the watery stuff and the fat yellow goo)

I were to order a stencil, they ask you too upload some files in zip folder.
If this is just a picture(png/jpeg), how can they know what the actual size is.
Since it has to be printed in exactly the right size.



where are you getting the stencil from? and they should be asking for a gerber file of the top cream layer

Bitfury HW & Habañero : 1.625Th/s
tips/Donations: 1NoS89H3Mr6U5CmP4VwWzU2318JEMxHL1
Come join Coinbase
max337
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 04, 2014, 12:46:56 PM
 #345

The problem is the bitfury chip, some bridges have formed.
What do you think is best, use a soldering iron to remove the bridges?
Solder wick, or re-do (chipquick is some nice stuff for that).

http://www.theledart.com/blog/archives/1301

+1 :-)

Solder wick is your best friend!
And an old fashion toaster oven might be your second best one Smiley


Also take a look at this video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_Qt5CtUlqY
(the interesting part starts after 3:30)

Also, I've been using SMT stencils for majority of my work and that's how I've been making my prototypes.
Here is how I did mine: http://imgur.com/a/5hXU4

Hi vs3,

speaking of your toster oven: Do you just use an old oven or did you modify the oven too?
I'm building one for my self and didn't see on your pictures any thermocouples or something like this, how do you control the temperature?

Thank you and best regards,
max
vs3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622


View Profile WWW
May 04, 2014, 06:31:28 PM
 #346

The problem is the bitfury chip, some bridges have formed.
What do you think is best, use a soldering iron to remove the bridges?
Solder wick, or re-do (chipquick is some nice stuff for that).

http://www.theledart.com/blog/archives/1301

+1 :-)

Solder wick is your best friend!
And an old fashion toaster oven might be your second best one Smiley


Also take a look at this video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_Qt5CtUlqY
(the interesting part starts after 3:30)

Also, I've been using SMT stencils for majority of my work and that's how I've been making my prototypes.
Here is how I did mine: http://imgur.com/a/5hXU4

Hi vs3,

speaking of your toster oven: Do you just use an old oven or did you modify the oven too?
I'm building one for my self and didn't see on your pictures any thermocouples or something like this, how do you control the temperature?

Thank you and best regards,
max

It happened to be on sale (for $20) so it was a brand new one Smiley
No mods whatsoever.

It has a temperature dial - which is way off but it worked for me.

- preheat: dial at 150C (which is closer to 180C), leave it there for 5min
- melt: dial 200-220C (you'll have to experiment and find out at what temp the solder starts melting - add 20C on top of that)
- measure 1min from the moment it starts melting, then unplug oven from outlet, open door and let it cool

mikerbiker6
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 04, 2014, 09:34:42 PM
 #347

Hmm, getting kind of annoying.

I Didn't find anything that was wrong so I soldered a whole new nanofury.
It looks identical to the old one but I am seeing some improvements in soldering. No bridges as far as I can see Grin

But unfortunattely the miner is not detected by windows/raspberry.
I am hearing no sound when plugging it in, and led is not on.( I don't know if the led should be on).

Participate and Earn on the Letstalkbitcoin forum letstalkbitcoin.com
Taugeran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


CCNA: There i fixed the internet.


View Profile
May 04, 2014, 11:02:40 PM
 #348

Hmm, getting kind of annoying.

I Didn't find anything that was wrong so I soldered a whole new nanofury.
It looks identical to the old one but I am seeing some improvements in soldering. No bridges as far as I can see Grin

But unfortunattely the miner is not detected by windows/raspberry.
I am hearing no sound when plugging it in, and led is not on.( I don't know if the led should be on).


Led is not normally on. Until software is running

Bitfury HW & Habañero : 1.625Th/s
tips/Donations: 1NoS89H3Mr6U5CmP4VwWzU2318JEMxHL1
Come join Coinbase
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2014, 02:29:38 AM
 #349

I've added support for NF2 and NF6 into cgminer git master branch. I'm not getting much love out of the NF6 just yet but they may well need so much power that even a regular USB3 port is not enough. The NF2s are behaving very nicely. This is at --nfu-bits 54:

Code:
14: NF2 00001099:                         | 4.670G / 4.655Gh/s WU:    65.2/m
 23: NF2 00000753:                         | 4.447G / 4.509Gh/s WU:    63.6/m

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
simoncc
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
May 05, 2014, 05:37:45 AM
 #350

I've added support for NF2 and NF6 into cgminer git master branch. I'm not getting much love out of the NF6 just yet but they may well need so much power that even a regular USB3 port is not enough. The NF2s are behaving very nicely. This is at --nfu-bits 54:

Code:
14: NF2 00001099:                         | 4.670G / 4.655Gh/s WU:    65.2/m
 23: NF2 00000753:                         | 4.447G / 4.509Gh/s WU:    63.6/m

NFU??

1G5wJp44KHNVTf7kUFr8xSviSQVEdf9yjH
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2014, 05:46:03 AM
 #351

I've added support for NF2 and NF6 into cgminer git master branch. I'm not getting much love out of the NF6 just yet but they may well need so much power that even a regular USB3 port is not enough. The NF2s are behaving very nicely. This is at --nfu-bits 54:

Code:
14: NF2 00001099:                         | 4.670G / 4.655Gh/s WU:    65.2/m
 23: NF2 00000753:                         | 4.447G / 4.509Gh/s WU:    63.6/m

NFU??
Is that a question, statement, exasperation, disgust, or what?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
vs3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2014, 06:45:44 AM
 #352

I've added support for NF2 and NF6 into cgminer git master branch. I'm not getting much love out of the NF6 just yet but they may well need so much power that even a regular USB3 port is not enough. The NF2s are behaving very nicely. This is at --nfu-bits 54:

Code:
14: NF2 00001099:                         | 4.670G / 4.655Gh/s WU:    65.2/m
 23: NF2 00000753:                         | 4.447G / 4.509Gh/s WU:    63.6/m

NFU??
Is that a question, statement, exasperation, disgust, or what?

Heh Smiley Fun with abbreviations!

Con - I suspect he wasn't sure what the "--nfu-bits 54" part meant - which is the osc6 bits, and the "nfu..." prefix is what is used in the source code - e.g. as in this line:
mcp->value.pin[NFU_PIN_PWR_EN0] = MCP2210_GPIO_PIN_LOW;

you would see also this in the source code:
/* Identify number of chips, and use it in device name if it can fit
* into 3 chars, otherwise use generic NFU name. */
val = sscanf(bitfury->usbdev->prod_string, "NanoFury NF%u ", &info->chips);

simoncc
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
May 05, 2014, 08:26:27 AM
 #353

I've added support for NF2 and NF6 into cgminer git master branch. I'm not getting much love out of the NF6 just yet but they may well need so much power that even a regular USB3 port is not enough. The NF2s are behaving very nicely. This is at --nfu-bits 54:

Code:
14: NF2 00001099:                         | 4.670G / 4.655Gh/s WU:    65.2/m
 23: NF2 00000753:                         | 4.447G / 4.509Gh/s WU:    63.6/m

NFU??
Is that a question, statement, exasperation, disgust, or what?


I meant the identity was changed. that's great. not for NF1 only, but for MCP2210 based devices... great thing

1G5wJp44KHNVTf7kUFr8xSviSQVEdf9yjH
Killerloop
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2014, 09:10:21 AM
 #354

This board hashes at 4.4-4.6 GHs with 5W consumption?

Loan request: "I need 7 BTC because We hired an archaelogist and asked him: Is there a treasure? And he said yes!"
mikerbiker6
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 05, 2014, 09:30:49 AM
 #355

I think it is unlikely, but suppose both my MCP2210's are faulty, how could I measure this?

Participate and Earn on the Letstalkbitcoin forum letstalkbitcoin.com
Dexter770221
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1029


View Profile
May 05, 2014, 09:32:32 AM
 #356

....
you would see also this in the source code:
/* Identify number of chips, and use it in device name if it can fit
* into 3 chars, otherwise use generic NFU name. */
val = sscanf(bitfury->usbdev->prod_string, "NanoFury NF%u ", &info->chips);


In what file? I get 0 results when try to find in cgminer-4.3.3 repository.

Under development Modular UPGRADEABLE Miner (MUM). Looking for investors.
Changing one PCB with screwdriver and you have brand new miner in hand... Plug&Play, scalable from one module to thousands.
vs3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 622


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2014, 09:43:30 AM
 #357

....
you would see also this in the source code:
/* Identify number of chips, and use it in device name if it can fit
* into 3 chars, otherwise use generic NFU name. */
val = sscanf(bitfury->usbdev->prod_string, "NanoFury NF%u ", &info->chips);


In what file? I get 0 results when try to find in cgminer-4.3.3 repository.

https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/search?q=generic+NFU+name&ref=cmdform

Dexter770221
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1029


View Profile
May 05, 2014, 10:09:22 AM
 #358

....
you would see also this in the source code:
/* Identify number of chips, and use it in device name if it can fit
* into 3 chars, otherwise use generic NFU name. */
val = sscanf(bitfury->usbdev->prod_string, "NanoFury NF%u ", &info->chips);


In what file? I get 0 results when try to find in cgminer-4.3.3 repository.

https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/search?q=generic+NFU+name&ref=cmdform
Looks like those are different versions. I downloded 4.3.3 bz2 package from here: http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/ and in bitfury driver.c at line 438 I have this:
Code:
if (opt_debug) {
struct gpio_pin gp;

mcp2210_get_gpio_pindirs(bitfury, &gp);

EDIT: no occurence of "generic NFU name" in any file... Searched by notepad++ in all files...

Under development Modular UPGRADEABLE Miner (MUM). Looking for investors.
Changing one PCB with screwdriver and you have brand new miner in hand... Plug&Play, scalable from one module to thousands.
simoncc
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50


View Profile
May 05, 2014, 12:40:17 PM
 #359

....
you would see also this in the source code:
/* Identify number of chips, and use it in device name if it can fit
* into 3 chars, otherwise use generic NFU name. */
val = sscanf(bitfury->usbdev->prod_string, "NanoFury NF%u ", &info->chips);


In what file? I get 0 results when try to find in cgminer-4.3.3 repository.

https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/search?q=generic+NFU+name&ref=cmdform
Looks like those are different versions. I downloded 4.3.3 bz2 package from here: http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/ and in bitfury driver.c at line 438 I have this:
Code:
if (opt_debug) {
struct gpio_pin gp;

mcp2210_get_gpio_pindirs(bitfury, &gp);

EDIT: no occurence of "generic NFU name" in any file... Searched by notepad++ in all files...

It's just updated hours ago. I guess it's not ready for next rev. package. You should go to github to get the latest source.

1G5wJp44KHNVTf7kUFr8xSviSQVEdf9yjH
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2014, 01:28:02 PM
 #360

EDIT: no occurence of "generic NFU name" in any file... Searched by notepad++ in all files...

It's just updated hours ago. I guess it's not ready for next rev. package. You should go to github to get the latest source.

I've added support for NF2 and NF6 into cgminer git master branch.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!