Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2017, 06:59:38 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Open Source Avalon Gen2 55nm Board  (Read 35170 times)
form
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
November 02, 2013, 01:10:45 AM
 #1

edit:
A 16-chip board design is available now.
For further information see page 5 in this thread ->
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=323175.msg3756070#msg3756070

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Old posting:

I got some next-gen Avalon 55nm chips and arranged them on a board to test their communication and explore its options.
The BkkCoins' Klondike implementation was a big inspiration for me, so the design and the firmware is very similar to it - So no need to reinvent the wheel again.
Wherever BkkCoins is now, i wish him all the best, and may he come back soon.

I'm still searching for people who want to contribute to this project.
If you have some ideas for features of the board, please suggest them on https://github.com/formtapez/avalon or at #avalon2 on FreeNode IRC.



1508353178
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508353178

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508353178
Reply with quote  #2

1508353178
Report to moderator
1508353178
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508353178

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508353178
Reply with quote  #2

1508353178
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508353178
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508353178

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508353178
Reply with quote  #2

1508353178
Report to moderator
Beastlymac
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


Miner Setup And Reviews. WASP Rep.


View Profile
November 02, 2013, 01:14:18 AM
 #2

That is a good looking board, nice that you made it open source.

Message me if you have any problems
Bicknellski
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924



View Profile
November 02, 2013, 01:25:22 AM
 #3


Wherever BkkCoins is now, i wish him all the best, and may he come back soon.




Agreed.

-------

Not sure how much support there is for chips from Avalon given what they have done to everyone. Plus the fact the chips "underperform" and are not as "cost effective" as Bitfury chips which are available right now.

Personally I'd really want to support efforts like this if there are future plans to utilize other chips other than Avalon.

Dogie trust abuse, spam, bullying, conspiracy posts & insults to forum members. Ask the mods or admins to move Dogie's spam or off topic stalking posts to the link above.
fasmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
November 02, 2013, 01:34:10 AM
 #4

Nice!
Is that a 4 layer PCB?
What's the part number of that .9 volt power supply?
Did you use the same PIC16LF1459 chip ?
form
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
November 02, 2013, 01:44:21 AM
 #5

Is that a 4 layer PCB?
Yes, for better power-distribution i choosed a 4-layer pcb.

What's the part number of that .9 volt power supply?
PTH12040W => http://www.ti.com/product/pth12040w

Did you use the same PIC16LF1459 chip ?

Yes, only small modifications to the "Clock Configuration Segment" (Chapter 4.1 of the datasheet) were necessary.
fasmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
November 02, 2013, 01:54:31 AM
 #6

Do you have the ASIC's chips in 2 banks?
Also what hash rate are you getting with this board ?

eroxors
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


Think. Positive. Thoughts.


View Profile
November 02, 2013, 01:58:16 AM
 #7

How did you get early access to the chips? When did you get them?

Don't get caught up in the game and have a nice day!
Bogart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
November 02, 2013, 05:24:01 AM
 #8

That's cool, but, uh...do you think you could get the Cointamination boards working before you dive into this project?  A lot of us are really hoping for some success there.

With respect.

"All safe deposit boxes in banks or financial institutions have been sealed... and may only be opened in the presence of an agent of the I.R.S." - President F.D. Roosevelt, 1933
Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
November 02, 2013, 07:15:09 AM
 #9

It is not like he is not doing this. He had this board about finished for some time now... If he wouldn't work on Cointamination it would be publish at the start of the week...
form
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
November 05, 2013, 06:37:58 PM
 #10

Do you have the ASIC's chips in 2 banks?
Also what hash rate are you getting with this board ?

Yes, 2 banks with 5 chips each.
I didn't had much time, but today i managed to get them hashing.
The parameters and clocking are far from optimum, and as you see, it is not 100% compatible to the Klondike-driver yet.



I will do further investigation tomorrow, and come back here with more results.


How did you get early access to the chips? When did you get them?

I got them ~2 weeks ago for this contest:
http://avalon-asics.com/avalon-gen2-55nm-open-source-design-contest/
driksson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
November 05, 2013, 10:15:39 PM
 #11

design boards that fit in standard avalon casing! so we can scrap the old cards and get 4x80x1.5GH per unit.
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
November 05, 2013, 10:18:45 PM
 #12

design boards that fit in standard avalon casing! so we can scrap the old cards and get 4x80x1.5GH per unit.

+1

there are around 1500 Avalon units from batch #1,#2 and #3

Create a blade which can be used to replace a current one in an avalon and sell it at a price which leaves a 20-30% earning margin to the buyer and you can probably sell six thousands of such blades in a few hours...

spiccioli
therustytrombone
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129


View Profile
November 06, 2013, 02:04:10 AM
 #13

design boards that fit in standard avalon casing! so we can scrap the old cards and get 4x80x1.5GH per unit.

+1

there are around 1500 Avalon units from batch #1,#2 and #3

Create a blade which can be used to replace a current one in an avalon and sell it at a price which leaves a 20-30% earning margin to the buyer and you can probably sell six thousands of such blades in a few hours...

spiccioli


Whoever does this will be a hero to many in this community!  Grin
driksson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
November 06, 2013, 06:21:08 AM
 #14

i do think its the first thing avalon will sell when they sold all g1 chips..
500 g2 chips are 12btc now.
driksson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
November 06, 2013, 06:50:58 AM
 #15

make same size as gen1 unit so we can reuse the heatsinks and contact ckolivas for firmware support.
capa
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139



View Profile
November 06, 2013, 05:48:49 PM
 #16

I'd certainly be very interested in some of these boards if the price is right Smiley
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
November 06, 2013, 09:04:13 PM
 #17

can the 2nd level pcb be mered into a single PCB? having the extra steps of assembly will make costs significantly higher for this design. KISS method

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 06, 2013, 09:07:31 PM
 #18

can the 2nd level pcb be mered into a single PCB? having the extra steps of assembly will make costs significantly higher for this design. KISS method

The entire "second level pcb" is a standalone part. 
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
November 06, 2013, 11:01:39 PM
 #19

can the 2nd level pcb be mered into a single PCB? having the extra steps of assembly will make costs significantly higher for this design. KISS method

The entire "second level pcb" is a standalone part. 

okay thats more reasonable then Smiley   any of these (unpopulated) for sale? ive got 10 chips coming next week and nothing to use them with

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
November 07, 2013, 09:20:17 PM
 #20

What's the part number of that .9 volt power supply?
PTH12040W => http://www.ti.com/product/pth12040w
If anyone is interested I have some of thus I can sell you...
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!