Bitcoin Forum
February 21, 2019, 07:17:08 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Open Source Avalon Gen2 55nm Board  (Read 35605 times)
form
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 07:04:49 PM
 #81

Hey guys...

I finished a 16-chip board design.
Size: 145 mm x 70 mm (5.70866 inch x 2.75591 inch)

Board features:
  • Very efficient (~90%) DC/DC converter to power the ASICs
  • Adjustable voltage (0.85 - 1.25 V) to choose between efficiency and overclocking
  • USB-Interface to connect to a host running cgminer or bfgminer
  • I²C interface to chain multiple boards together
  • 100% flat surface on the bottom side to mount a usual heatsink
  • On-board temperature management
  • Fan connector with rotation speed measurement and PWM-control
  • Indicator LED to report USB-activity
  • 4-layer PCB for optimal heat/current transportation
  • Two board designs available: one for 10 and another for 16 ASICs

cgminer/bfgminer patch features:
  • Reporting temperature, real ASIC frequency and fan-speed back to the host
  • Control of ASIC frequency in a big range from 62.5 to 5000 MHz in smallest possible steps
  • Control of a desired temperature

Support:
The best way to get support at the moment is joining #avalon2 on freenode IRC

Get a board:
I can offer bare pcb's and ready-to-mine units. But first i have to see how much demand here is, to get an idea of how many boards i should order - which is turning the screw of pricing.
If you want to order a board, send me a message with the following information:
  • ammount of bare PCBs you want
  • ammount of ready-to-mine boards you want
  • destination country

At december 8th i will make a summary, get prices at the distributors, pcb-fab and assy and will reply to your mails with an offer you can't refuse Wink
Be aware that i don't sell Avalon chips. If you want an assembled board, you have to supply the chips on tape or reel to me in germany.


.
.
.



https://raw.github.com/formtapez/avalon/master/Layout/16-chip-board/board-layer01-top-name.png
1550776628
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550776628

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550776628
Reply with quote  #2

1550776628
Report to moderator
Your Bitcoin transactions
The Ultimate Bitcoin mixer
made truly anonymous.
with an advanced technology.
Mix coins
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1550776628
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550776628

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550776628
Reply with quote  #2

1550776628
Report to moderator
flyonwall
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 234
Merit: 100


Centerus Inc


View Profile
November 29, 2013, 12:51:31 AM
 #82

Just another card design

We are putting this up as another entry in the contest. All design materials will be made available to the public if we win Avalon's contest.

Features

  • Converts Gen2's CONFIG and REPORT signals into high-speed SPI protocol for direct connection to SPI pins of on-board PIC32 Microcontroller.
  • Power supply voltage is software-adjustable from 0.9V to 1.1V, in 64 steps. We used the LM10011 from TI for this.
  • Card has on-board USB controller, available through the PIC32MX chip.
  • Uses PIC32MX microcontroller, which has on-chip SPI and USB peripherals.
  • Uses only high slew-rate SN74LVC glue logic.
  • Compatible with either BFGMiner or CGMiner.
  • Temperature monitoring using the PIC32MX on-chip thermometer.
  • Uses a 25.000MHz oscillator module (instead of a crystal and low slew-rate logic used in ref design) for more reliable operation.
  • Same form-factor as original Gen1 hash card so that the same heat-sink can be used.







allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2744
Merit: 1053



View Profile
November 29, 2013, 05:47:36 AM
 #83

Shame nobody plans to build Avalon batc 1,2,and 3 compatible board but with 55nm chips.

fasmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 29, 2013, 07:40:37 AM
 #84

Shame nobody plans to build Avalon batc 1,2,and 3 compatible board but with 55nm chips.

I agree. I have a working mini backplane that turns 2 Avalon hash units into a 20 chip Klondike.
 
bitterdog
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 503


dApps Development Automation Platform


View Profile
November 29, 2013, 05:21:56 PM
 #85

Please Please PLEASE make a single or double chip USB miner


            ▄▄▄▄
        ▄▄████████▄▄
    ▄▄████████████████▄▄
 ▄████████████████████████▄
██████████▀▀███████████████
██████████▄   ▀█████████████
████████████▄   ▀███████████
██████████████▄   ▀█████████
█████████████▀   ▄██████████
███████████▀   ▄████████████
██████████▄  ▄██████████████
███████████████████████████
 ▀████████████████████████▀
    ▀▀████████████████▀▀
        ▀▀████████▀▀
            ▀▀▀

⬢⬢

⬢⬢



       ▄▄▄▄
   ▄▄████████▄▄
▄██████████▀▀▀█▀█▄
██ ▀█████▀     ▀██
██▌   ▀▀▀      ███
███▄           ███
████▀         ████
▀████▄     ▄▄████▀
   ▀▀▄▄▄▄████▀▀
       ▀▀▀▀


██████████████████



       ▄▄▄▄
   ▄▄████████▄▄
▄████████████████▄
██████████▀▀  ▐███
██████▀▀  ▄   ████
███▀   ▄█▀   ▐████
████▄▄█▀     █████
▀█████▌ ▄▄▄ ▐████▀
   ▀▀████████▀▀
       ▀▀▀▀


██████████████████



       ▄▄▄▄
   ▄▄████████▄▄
▄███████▀   ▐████▄
████████  ▄███████
██████      ██████
████████  ████████
████████  ████████
▀███████  ███████▀
   ▀▀████████▀▀
       ▀▀▀▀


██████████████████



       ▄▄▄▄
   ▄▄██▀█▀███▄▄
▄███▀▀▀ ▀ ▀▀█████▄
██████ ████▄ █████
██████ ▀▀▀▀ ▄█████
██████ ▄▄▄▄ ▀█████
██████ ████▀ █████
▀███▄▄▄ ▄ ▄▄█████▀
   ▀▀██▄█▄███▀▀
       ▀▀▀▀


██████████████████
marto74
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
November 30, 2013, 08:02:56 AM
 #86

Please Please PLEASE make a single or double chip USB miner
It'll be way too HOT

http://technobit.eu
tips : 12DNdacCtUZ99qcP74FwchaCPzeDL9Voff
Bicknellski
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 30, 2013, 08:13:02 AM
 #87

Please Please PLEASE make a single or double chip USB miner
It'll be way too HOT

Make a single or double chip USB coffee warmer.

Dogie trust abuse, spam, bullying, conspiracy posts & insults to forum members. Ask the mods or admins to move Dogie's spam or off topic stalking posts to the link above.
form
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 09:01:47 PM
 #88

At december 8th i will make a summary, get prices at the distributors, pcb-fab and assy and will reply to your mails with an offer you can't refuse Wink

Hey,
sorry for being a bit late with my answer. Many people were asking me how much these boards will cost, and how long it takes, etc.
I was collecting the ammount of boards to get specific prices for boards and assembly - But here in germany the prices are way too high.
Meanwhile the user "bit-tech" flew to Shenzen in china to check the prices there and he got it managed to get really good quotes there.
And this is where i'm out of the game now:
bit-tech is now ordering a big amount of boards & chips and getting them assembled there. He will post here in the next days with more details.
Bit-Tech
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 226
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 13, 2013, 07:43:11 AM
 #89

Hi Guys

We will have a couple of working prototypes by this Wednesday , if everything goes as planned we will put it into mass production , il keep you guys updated on this thread.
We will be offering completed boards and DYI kit's based upon form's design. We'r launching our website soon.

Regards
Bit-Tech
fractal02
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 13, 2013, 06:39:12 PM
 #90

Hi Guys

We will have a couple of working prototypes by this Wednesday , if everything goes as planned we will put it into mass production , il keep you guys updated on this thread.
We will be offering completed boards and DYI kit's based upon form's design. We'r launching our website soon.

Regards
Bit-Tech

Great !

Watching  Grin
testerx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 600
Merit: 500



View Profile
December 14, 2013, 09:13:45 AM
 #91

Hi Guys

We will have a couple of working prototypes by this Wednesday , if everything goes as planned we will put it into mass production , il keep you guys updated on this thread.
We will be offering completed boards and DYI kit's based upon form's design. We'r launching our website soon.

Regards
Bit-Tech
Bit-Tech, were you able to source chips as well or are these going to be blank boards?
form
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 20, 2013, 10:12:04 AM
 #92

If someone needs cheap power-modules (PTH12040WAH) send a message to Lucko.
Bit-Tech
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 226
Merit: 10


View Profile
December 20, 2013, 10:36:37 AM
 #93

Hi Guys

We will have a couple of working prototypes by this Wednesday , if everything goes as planned we will put it into mass production , il keep you guys updated on this thread.
We will be offering completed boards and DYI kit's based upon form's design. We'r launching our website soon.

Regards
Bit-Tech
Bit-Tech, were you able to source chips as well or are these going to be blank boards?

source chips aswell .

Factory is missing one component they had to order it from digikey cause its not avaible here in Shenzhen , so there is another week of waiting again.



Lucko
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1000



View Profile
December 21, 2013, 07:49:28 AM
 #94

If someone needs cheap power-modules (PTH12040WAH) send a message to Lucko.
Yes I have 150 of them. So price will change a bit on numbers you would like to get but generally it will cost less then I pay for them. I made a mistake of buying too many... I'm in EU...
hongkongapple1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 23, 2013, 03:26:57 AM
 #95

I have make 2 ~   round about $250/board,  if anyone interested ~

All hardware have been assembled, including a Big Heatsink ~

~~~

I can't really test it , Need to be setup properly for testing ...

Compiling a proper Cgminer  ~ seem real difficult ~ !!

 Huh ~~~ as currently its stuck @ -->



result from CGMiner :

--- ~ >>>    KLN0:0 unknown work (a0:51be99bff) - ignored
--- ~ >>>    KLN0:0 unknown work (a1:92cv34ofe) - ignored
--- ~ >>>    KLN0:0 unknown work (a1:xxxxxxxxx) - ignored
--- ~ >>>    KLN0:0 unknown work (a2:xxxxxxxxx) - ignored


Anyone know the reason ??  Problem solve would means cheaper on Hardware ~ Labour cost free ! For 1st 50G


http://www.hongkongapple.com/miner/image_1.jpg
http://www.hongkongapple.com/miner/image_2.jpg
http://www.hongkongapple.com/miner/image_3.jpg
http://www.hongkongapple.com/miner/image_4.jpg
http://www.hongkongapple.com/miner/image_5.jpg
fasmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 23, 2013, 03:39:24 AM
 #96

It almost looks like a firmware problem.
What firmware did you load into the PIC chip?

hongkongapple1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 23, 2013, 09:49:09 AM
 #97

I have try both ~

Loading  " Klondike.X.production.hex "

          under ->  by Formtapez_ avalon-master\firmware\Klondike.X\dist\K16\production


Also, try open the project there named "Klondike" in MPLAB X IDE,  and load from there

form
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 23, 2013, 11:24:17 AM
 #98

Looks like you dont used the patched cgminer version.
You can also use BFGminer, which includes automatic detection of this boards.

Btw (not the problem here): Did you changed the chipcount to 16 in the code? The precompiled one is for the 10 chips board.
turtle83
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


Supersonic


View Profile WWW
December 23, 2013, 02:08:02 PM
 #99

I have make 2 ~   round about $250/board,  if anyone interested ~

All hardware have been assembled, including a Big Heatsink ~

~~~

I can't really test it , Need to be setup properly for testing ...

Compiling a proper Cgminer  ~ seem real difficult ~ !!

 Huh ~~~ as currently its stuck @ -->



result from CGMiner :

--- ~ >>>    KLN0:0 unknown work (a0:51be99bff) - ignored
--- ~ >>>    KLN0:0 unknown work (a1:92cv34ofe) - ignored
--- ~ >>>    KLN0:0 unknown work (a1:xxxxxxxxx) - ignored
--- ~ >>>    KLN0:0 unknown work (a2:xxxxxxxxx) - ignored


Anyone know the reason ??  Problem solve would means cheaper on Hardware ~ Labour cost free ! For 1st 50G


Need help compiling cgminer/bfgminer? shoot me a pm. ive done it many times on linux. Cant help with firmware problems.

fasmax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 23, 2013, 03:55:29 PM
 #100

Looks like you dont used the patched cgminer version.
You can also use BFGminer, which includes automatic detection of this boards.

Btw (not the problem here): Did you changed the chipcount to 16 in the code? The precompiled one is for the 10 chips board.

@form
I know that the driver for gen2 Avalon needs to subtract 0x180 from the returned nonce but are there any other changes?
 
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!