Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 04:12:32 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Electrum 1.9 released  (Read 15623 times)
oggers
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
November 25, 2013, 04:33:39 PM
 #141

Ok. Right clicking on one or several addresses on the receive tabs does the trick. Thank you for this improvement.

But what about the connecting issue?
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511496752
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511496752

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511496752
Reply with quote  #2

1511496752
Report to moderator
1511496752
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511496752

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511496752
Reply with quote  #2

1511496752
Report to moderator
1511496752
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511496752

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511496752
Reply with quote  #2

1511496752
Report to moderator
Mitchell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638


Verified awesomeness ✔


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2013, 04:44:13 PM
 #142

Another bug:
If my laptop goes into sleep mode and starts up again, Electrum won't sync or reconnect.


▄██████████████████
███████████████████
███████████████████
█████████████████
███████████████
████████████████
████████████████
█████████████████
███████████████████
████████████████████
█████████████████████
▀████████████████████
Bazista®
██ █  ██ ██
██   ██  ██
██  ██   ██
██ ██  █ ██
██ █  ██ ██
██   ██  ██
██  ██   ██
██ ██  █ ██
██ █  ██ ██
██   ██  ██
██  ██   ██
██ ██  █ ██

██ █  ██ ██
██   ██  ██
██  ██   ██
██ ██  █ ██
██ █  ██ ██
██   ██  ██
██  ██   ██
██ ██  █ ██
██ █  ██ ██
██   ██  ██
██  ██   ██
██ ██  █ ██
|||
oggers
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
November 26, 2013, 12:13:20 AM
 #143

No problem with my home laptop, it connects just after starting. I must check my work laptop.

Ok. Right clicking on one or several addresses on the receive tabs does the trick. Thank you for this improvement.

But what about the connecting issue?
dexX7
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050



View Profile WWW
November 27, 2013, 04:58:40 AM
 #144

Electrum 1.9.5 was released. (binaries will follow)

Changes:
* coin control: the 'prioritize' command is replaced by a "send from" menu in the Qt GUI.
(you may select multiple addresses to spend from with the mouse, and the "!" shortcut is compatible with this)
* used addresses are moved to a collapsed section
* more bug fixes

Hi,

it seems that freeze/unfreeze resets the column width of "Address" every time. Using 1.9.5 standalone executable on Win7 x64.

While the idea of coin control is really awesome, I prefer the implementation of coin control is implemented for the stock client:



Cheers and thank you very much for this great client nevertheless! Smiley

Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
November 27, 2013, 09:06:44 AM
 #145

Electrum 1.9.5 was released. (binaries will follow)

Changes:
* coin control: the 'prioritize' command is replaced by a "send from" menu in the Qt GUI.
(you may select multiple addresses to spend from with the mouse, and the "!" shortcut is compatible with this)
* used addresses are moved to a collapsed section
* more bug fixes

Hi,

it seems that freeze/unfreeze resets the column width of "Address" every time. Using 1.9.5 standalone executable on Win7 x64.

While the idea of coin control is really awesome, I prefer the implementation of coin control is implemented for the stock client:



Cheers and thank you very much for this great client nevertheless! Smiley

Feel free to port it to Python and send a pull request. I'm sure it will be very welcome.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
hobbes
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122



View Profile
November 29, 2013, 04:27:55 PM
 #146

If I wanted to split the seed in two parts would this procedure make sense for split cold storage:

* Generate two normal seeds by starting Electrum without datadir (part1 and part2)
* concatenate the two parts with a single space in between
* use concatenated parts as input to "restore from seeds"
* put one part to a safe place (bank locker); keep the other one safe, too
* restore from concatenated parts whenever necessary

Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568



View Profile WWW
November 29, 2013, 04:30:52 PM
 #147

If I wanted to split the seed in two parts would this procedure make sense for split cold storage:

* Generate two normal seeds by starting Electrum without datadir (part1 and part2)
* concatenate the two parts with a single space in between
* use concatenated parts as input to "restore from seeds"
* put one part to a safe place (bank locker); keep the other one safe, too
* restore from concatenated parts whenever necessary


You can generate a new wallet using the -w switch. No need to move/rename the data dir. Run electrum --help for more details.

As far as splitting the seed goes you can also use shamir's secret sharing algo to create arbitrary n of m splits. Google shamir's secret sharing for more info. There's a ready made program out there called ssss

hobbes
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 122



View Profile
November 29, 2013, 04:50:08 PM
 #148

If I wanted to split the seed in two parts would this procedure make sense for split cold storage:

* Generate two normal seeds by starting Electrum without datadir (part1 and part2)
* concatenate the two parts with a single space in between
* use concatenated parts as input to "restore from seeds"
* put one part to a safe place (bank locker); keep the other one safe, too
* restore from concatenated parts whenever necessary


You can generate a new wallet using the -w switch. No need to move/rename the data dir. Run electrum --help for more details.

As far as splitting the seed goes you can also use shamir's secret sharing algo to create arbitrary n of m splits. Google shamir's secret sharing for more info. There's a ready made program out there called ssss
Thanks for the hint. I read about ssss but I like the nice pronounceable words from the Electrum seed better.

Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568



View Profile WWW
November 29, 2013, 04:52:06 PM
 #149

If I wanted to split the seed in two parts would this procedure make sense for split cold storage:

* Generate two normal seeds by starting Electrum without datadir (part1 and part2)
* concatenate the two parts with a single space in between
* use concatenated parts as input to "restore from seeds"
* put one part to a safe place (bank locker); keep the other one safe, too
* restore from concatenated parts whenever necessary


You can generate a new wallet using the -w switch. No need to move/rename the data dir. Run electrum --help for more details.

As far as splitting the seed goes you can also use shamir's secret sharing algo to create arbitrary n of m splits. Google shamir's secret sharing for more info. There's a ready made program out there called ssss
Thanks for the hint. I read about ssss but I like the nice pronounceable words from the Electrum seed better.

Yeah they definitely are more user friendly. ssss is for when you need more than the straight forward n of n split.

SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
November 30, 2013, 12:45:54 AM
 #150

Electrum 1.9.5 portable isnt working portable. It doesnt find the wallet and creates a directory in the system dir which shouldnt happen for a portable version i guess.
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
December 03, 2013, 10:14:28 AM
 #151

Electrum 1.9.5 portable isnt working portable. It doesnt find the wallet and creates a directory in the system dir which shouldnt happen for a portable version i guess.

What's the md5 of your 1.9.5 portable.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2013, 12:04:08 AM
 #152

Electrum 1.9.5 portable isnt working portable. It doesnt find the wallet and creates a directory in the system dir which shouldnt happen for a portable version i guess.

What's the md5 of your 1.9.5 portable.

It shows the correct md5 from the download website. But i was wrong. The dir in roaming was old. It doesnt create it. Instead it creates a dir electrum_data in the rootdir of the .exe and then asks for creating a new wallet.

Should i push files into that dir somehow? I have the dir locale and the files blockchain_headers, electrum.dat and the .exe.
Tachikoma
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile WWW
December 04, 2013, 01:52:36 PM
 #153

Ah yeah. The new file it's looking for is wallets/default_wallet. I believe there should however be a migration system in place that should automatically do this for you. If it hasn't try moving your wallet to that folder/ filename but please back it up first Smiley

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks | Bytesized Seedboxes BTC/LTC supported
Sioux
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188


View Profile
December 04, 2013, 08:12:17 PM
 #154

so electrum you arre still not workingg when arre you going to conect?

Cant connect here! what do?
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
December 04, 2013, 10:57:28 PM
 #155

Ah yeah. The new file it's looking for is wallets/default_wallet. I believe there should however be a migration system in place that should automatically do this for you. If it hasn't try moving your wallet to that folder/ filename but please back it up first Smiley

I tried it. But pushing the 2 files and the dir locales to electrum_data/wallets/default_wallet didnt work. I then put them one directory higher and it started. But it doesnt save any settings. I cant change language or the currency.

Is auto-connect connecting only via SSL when i set it that way? The ssl-dropdownbox is grayed out then too so i wonder if it honors that setting at all with autoconnect.
btcven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 717


Bitcoin Venezuela


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2013, 11:47:54 AM
 #156

Ah yeah. The new file it's looking for is wallets/default_wallet. I believe there should however be a migration system in place that should automatically do this for you. If it hasn't try moving your wallet to that folder/ filename but please back it up first Smiley

I tried it. But pushing the 2 files and the dir locales to electrum_data/wallets/default_wallet didnt work. I then put them one directory higher and it started. But it doesnt save any settings. I cant change language or the currency.

Is auto-connect connecting only via SSL when i set it that way? The ssl-dropdownbox is grayed out then too so i wonder if it honors that setting at all with autoconnect.

It should take the electrum.dat in ~/.electrum and turn it to /wallets/default_wallet in the first run of the new versions. So you have to place your electrum.dat in the older default folder that is the legacy ~/.electrum hidden folder.

You can also use the File >Open option to select the desire wallet file, and then use the File > Copy option.

Admin: rdymac (PGP) | contacto@bitcoinvenezuela.com | @cafebitcoin | Electrum, lightweight bitcoin client
If I've been helpful tip me a coffee! Cheesy1rdymachKZpA9pTYHYHMYZjfjnoBW6B3k Bitrated user: rdymac.
SebastianJu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974


Legendary Escrow Service - Tip Jar in Profile


View Profile WWW
December 05, 2013, 10:35:04 PM
 #157

Ah yeah. The new file it's looking for is wallets/default_wallet. I believe there should however be a migration system in place that should automatically do this for you. If it hasn't try moving your wallet to that folder/ filename but please back it up first Smiley

I tried it. But pushing the 2 files and the dir locales to electrum_data/wallets/default_wallet didnt work. I then put them one directory higher and it started. But it doesnt save any settings. I cant change language or the currency.

Is auto-connect connecting only via SSL when i set it that way? The ssl-dropdownbox is grayed out then too so i wonder if it honors that setting at all with autoconnect.

It should take the electrum.dat in ~/.electrum and turn it to /wallets/default_wallet in the first run of the new versions. So you have to place your electrum.dat in the older default folder that is the legacy ~/.electrum hidden folder.

You can also use the File >Open option to select the desire wallet file, and then use the File > Copy option.

Im not sure if i see what you mean. It sounds a bit like linux directories?

Lets say my portable electrum is at L:\Electrum and all files are in there:
blockchain_headers
electrum.dat
electrum-1.8.1-portable.exe
and dir: locale

I put electrum-1.9.5-portable.exe in there and start it.

The following dir-structure is built:

electrum_data
  certs
  wallets

When i put
blockchain_headers
electrum.dat
and dir: locale

into electrum_data and stat 1.9.5 then it starts and creates a file:
electrum_data\wallets\default_wallet (Its a file, no dir)

It puts some files from the electrum servers in certs.

electrum.dat seems to be gone. Instead there is a file config. Electrum itself has its settings set back to default.

When i restart 1.9.5 all settings i made in settings or plugins are gone again. So no safing of settings happens.

The dir structure is then:
electrum_data
  certs
    (files from electrum servers)
  locale
    (dirs with locales)
  wallets
    default_wallet (file)
  blockchain_headers (file)
  config (file)
electrum-1.9.5-portable.exe (file)

Im not sure but i think the saving of configurations might be the only problem now.
splat44
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


Hoqu.io – Decentralized Affiliate platform


View Profile
December 06, 2013, 05:44:34 PM
 #158

Those member having connectivity problems:

Since yesterday I was problem when no connection or by receiving message "Synchronizing..." while trying auto connecting.

By restarting client always help!

.....HOQU....
.MARKETING OF THE FUTURE!.






                                             
       ████████████████████    ██████████████████
    ██████              ██████   ████         █████
   ████   █████████████    ████   ███████████    ████
 ████   ██████      ██████   ████  ████   ██████   ███
████  █████    ████    █████  ████  █████    ████   ███
████  ████   ██████████   ████  █████████████   ███   ███
████  ███  ████     █████  ███  █████     ████  ████  ████
███  ████  ███        ███  ████  ███       ████  ███  ████
███  ████  ███        ███  ████  ███       ████  ███  ████
███  ████  ███        ███  ████  ███       ████  ███  ████
███  ████  ███        ███  ████  ███       ████  ███  ████
███  ████  ███        ███  ████  ███       ████  ███  ████
███  ████  ███        ██████████████       ████  ███  ████
███  ████  ███        ██████████████       ████  ███  ████
███  ████  ███                             ████  ███  ████
███  ████  ███                             ████  ███  ████
███  ████  ███                             ████  ███  ████
███  ████  ███        ██████████████       ████  ███  ████
███  ████  ███        ██████████████       ████  ███  ████
███  ████  ███        ███  ████  ███       ████  ███  ████
███  ████  ███        ███  ████  ███       ████  ███  ████
███  ████  ███        ███  ████  ███       ████  ███  ████
███  ████  ███        ███  ████  ███       ████  ███  ████
███  ████  ███        ███  ████  ███       ████  ███  ████
████  ███  ███████████████  ████  █████████████  ████  ████
 ████  ████   █████████████  ████   ██████████  ████  ████
 ████  █████    █████  ████  █████    ███     ████   ███
  ████   ███████  ████  ████   ███████    ███████  ████
   ████    ███████████  █████    ████████████   █████
    ██████         ████   ██████              █████
       ██████████████████    ████████████████████
           █████████████████     ████████████ 





............................................Decentralized affiliate platform...........................................
▬ ▮ ▮ ▮ ▮ ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ▮ ▮ ▮ ▮ ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ▮ ▮ ▮ ▮ ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ▮ ▮ ▮ ▮ ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ ▮ ▮ ▮ ▮ ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ▮ ▮ ▮ ▮ ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ▮ ▮ ▮ ▮ ▬▬▬▬▬▬ ▮ ▮ ▮ ▮ ▬
Facebook   Twitter   ANN Thread   White Paper   Telegram   Medium





[/tr
Mitchell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638


Verified awesomeness ✔


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2013, 05:50:14 PM
 #159

Those member having connectivity problems:

Since yesterday I was problem when no connection or by receiving message "Synchronizing..." while trying auto connecting.

By restarting client always help!
Of course that helps, but it's not how it should work.


▄██████████████████
███████████████████
███████████████████
█████████████████
███████████████
████████████████
████████████████
█████████████████
███████████████████
████████████████████
█████████████████████
▀████████████████████
Bazista®
██ █  ██ ██
██   ██  ██
██  ██   ██
██ ██  █ ██
██ █  ██ ██
██   ██  ██
██  ██   ██
██ ██  █ ██
██ █  ██ ██
██   ██  ██
██  ██   ██
██ ██  █ ██

██ █  ██ ██
██   ██  ██
██  ██   ██
██ ██  █ ██
██ █  ██ ██
██   ██  ██
██  ██   ██
██ ██  █ ██
██ █  ██ ██
██   ██  ██
██  ██   ██
██ ██  █ ██
|||
btcven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 717


Bitcoin Venezuela


View Profile WWW
December 06, 2013, 05:55:40 PM
 #160

Those member having connectivity problems:

Since yesterday I was problem when no connection or by receiving message "Synchronizing..." while trying auto connecting.

By restarting client always help!
Of course that helps, but it's not how it should work.

ThomasV is pushing some fixes to the server code to avoid this problems.

Don't worry, after some more fixes, you and all Electrum users will have to struggle your heads to find a reason to come here and say hi Cheesy

Admin: rdymac (PGP) | contacto@bitcoinvenezuela.com | @cafebitcoin | Electrum, lightweight bitcoin client
If I've been helpful tip me a coffee! Cheesy1rdymachKZpA9pTYHYHMYZjfjnoBW6B3k Bitrated user: rdymac.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!