Bitcoin Forum
June 20, 2024, 10:05:07 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] [Metiscoin] [MTS] Unique algorithm | NO PREMINE| NEW POOL! CPU/GPU  (Read 154458 times)
girino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 1170


Advertise Here - PM for more info!


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 03:24:38 AM
 #941

The quick fix that i applied today made me reduce the worksize from 0x80000 to 0x8000, which will introduce a HUUUUGE latency in faster cards. I'm working on a solution for this just about now.

Ok, NEW VERSION OF GPU MINER RELEASED! Fixed the "0x8000" worksize, so the speed drops might stop for now, and should be a little bit faster!

Linux and Mac OSX binaries also available! (Windows, of course, still available).

Download link: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/2wv2awwgebpdo0m/STzOU5tlXa

source code: https://github.com/girino/xptMiner

Hope you enjoy!

well, i left this open for quite a while now. The gpu is already initialized, and now it says "connected to server using x.pushtrough xpt protocol". But it reports no activity, it's frozen there. Is this supposed to take that long too ? thanks and sorry for the insistance, i just want to know if i am doing sth wrong.  Huh

Now this happens when the server is unreachable (it says connected, but is actually connecting). Are you behind a firewall???

Advertise Here - PM for more info!
gigawatt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100



View Profile
February 04, 2014, 03:28:59 AM
 #942

Looks like there error message for the "-f" parameter accidentally calls it "-d".

The OpenCL code looks based on the SPH implementation.  Is that the case?

sorry, i changed -d to -f to use -d for "device", but forgot the error.

About the code, it is a "pruned" SPH  code (removed all that was not used, removed all possible forks and loops, etc). I tried the reference implementation for shavite (the slower one) but could not make it compatible with the code from xptminer/SPH (for some reason hashes were always different, no matter what i did, even the "init" held different initial values). So i just gave up on other implementations and assumed they had changed something in the SPH for metiscoin. Metis "looks" vaguely like "fugue", but after the lack of success with shavite i didn't even try to use another implementation.

Ha!  I ran into that as well!
Apparently as part of round 2 of the SHA-3 competition some of the submitted algorithms had a few tweaks.  I don't think SPH is using the "correct" version, so using reference code results in "incorrect" results.

BTC: 1E2egHUcLDAmcxcqZqpL18TPLx9Xj1akcV   Ψ: AWHJbwoM67Ez12SHH4pH5DnJKPoMSdvLz2   Primecoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Quarkcoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Metiscoin VPS Pool Mining Script
girino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 1170


Advertise Here - PM for more info!


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 03:33:28 AM
 #943

Looks like there error message for the "-f" parameter accidentally calls it "-d".

The OpenCL code looks based on the SPH implementation.  Is that the case?

sorry, i changed -d to -f to use -d for "device", but forgot the error.

About the code, it is a "pruned" SPH  code (removed all that was not used, removed all possible forks and loops, etc). I tried the reference implementation for shavite (the slower one) but could not make it compatible with the code from xptminer/SPH (for some reason hashes were always different, no matter what i did, even the "init" held different initial values). So i just gave up on other implementations and assumed they had changed something in the SPH for metiscoin. Metis "looks" vaguely like "fugue", but after the lack of success with shavite i didn't even try to use another implementation.

Ha!  I ran into that as well!
Apparently as part of round 2 of the SHA-3 competition some of the submitted algorithms had a few tweaks.  I don't think SPH is using the "correct" version, so using reference code results in "incorrect" results.

Well, the previous submissions to sha3 are also public. Do you think they'll work? What about "metis" hash? is it really "fugue" or has the dev for metiscoin made something new?

Advertise Here - PM for more info!
girino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 1170


Advertise Here - PM for more info!


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 03:37:05 AM
 #944

Looks like there error message for the "-f" parameter accidentally calls it "-d".

The OpenCL code looks based on the SPH implementation.  Is that the case?

sorry, i changed -d to -f to use -d for "device", but forgot the error.

About the code, it is a "pruned" SPH  code (removed all that was not used, removed all possible forks and loops, etc). I tried the reference implementation for shavite (the slower one) but could not make it compatible with the code from xptminer/SPH (for some reason hashes were always different, no matter what i did, even the "init" held different initial values). So i just gave up on other implementations and assumed they had changed something in the SPH for metiscoin. Metis "looks" vaguely like "fugue", but after the lack of success with shavite i didn't even try to use another implementation.

Ha!  I ran into that as well!
Apparently as part of round 2 of the SHA-3 competition some of the submitted algorithms had a few tweaks.  I don't think SPH is using the "correct" version, so using reference code results in "incorrect" results.

BTW, before releasing the GPU miner I was thinking to port back my optimizations to the CPU version, do you think it's still worth it? My code was so slow on my GPU that i thought CPU mining would still be possible. What do you think?

Advertise Here - PM for more info!
NM92
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 03:48:26 AM
 #945

The quick fix that i applied today made me reduce the worksize from 0x80000 to 0x8000, which will introduce a HUUUUGE latency in faster cards. I'm working on a solution for this just about now.

Ok, NEW VERSION OF GPU MINER RELEASED! Fixed the "0x8000" worksize, so the speed drops might stop for now, and should be a little bit faster!

Linux and Mac OSX binaries also available! (Windows, of course, still available).

Download link: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/2wv2awwgebpdo0m/STzOU5tlXa

source code: https://github.com/girino/xptMiner

Hope you enjoy!

well, i left this open for quite a while now. The gpu is already initialized, and now it says "connected to server using x.pushtrough xpt protocol". But it reports no activity, it's frozen there. Is this supposed to take that long too ? thanks and sorry for the insistance, i just want to know if i am doing sth wrong.  Huh

Now this happens when the server is unreachable (it says connected, but is actually connecting). Are you behind a firewall???

I have the default windows firewall, already created an exception for the miner, but nothing yet  Sad
girino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 1170


Advertise Here - PM for more info!


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 04:07:28 AM
 #946

well, i left this open for quite a while now. The gpu is already initialized, and now it says "connected to server using x.pushtrough xpt protocol". But it reports no activity, it's frozen there. Is this supposed to take that long too ? thanks and sorry for the insistance, i just want to know if i am doing sth wrong.  Huh

Now this happens when the server is unreachable (it says connected, but is actually connecting). Are you behind a firewall???

I have the default windows firewall, already created an exception for the miner, but nothing yet  Sad

Are you running with the default "example.bat"? If so, just remove the "-o localhost" option, since it is trying to connect to your own machine and not a pool. Sorry for that, I use an SSH tunnel to connect to the pool behind my firewalls and this config "leaked" into the example.bat.

Advertise Here - PM for more info!
gigawatt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100



View Profile
February 04, 2014, 04:44:16 AM
 #947

Looks like there error message for the "-f" parameter accidentally calls it "-d".

The OpenCL code looks based on the SPH implementation.  Is that the case?

sorry, i changed -d to -f to use -d for "device", but forgot the error.

About the code, it is a "pruned" SPH  code (removed all that was not used, removed all possible forks and loops, etc). I tried the reference implementation for shavite (the slower one) but could not make it compatible with the code from xptminer/SPH (for some reason hashes were always different, no matter what i did, even the "init" held different initial values). So i just gave up on other implementations and assumed they had changed something in the SPH for metiscoin. Metis "looks" vaguely like "fugue", but after the lack of success with shavite i didn't even try to use another implementation.

Ha!  I ran into that as well!
Apparently as part of round 2 of the SHA-3 competition some of the submitted algorithms had a few tweaks.  I don't think SPH is using the "correct" version, so using reference code results in "incorrect" results.

BTW, before releasing the GPU miner I was thinking to port back my optimizations to the CPU version, do you think it's still worth it? My code was so slow on my GPU that i thought CPU mining would still be possible. What do you think?

I think it'd totally be worth it from a development point of view.  I'll make optimizing the code way easier, especially considering the "debugging" tools for OpenCL.
I actually pushed a few new optimizations to my CPU miner fork today.  Feel free to check them out: https://github.com/llamasoft/xptminer-linux/commits/master

Also, as far as the metis/fugue thing goes, I'm almost 100% certain they're the same.  The original source even calls it "fugue" in the comments.

I'll drop you a message sometime tomorrow.  I've got some optimizations I want to test out with the GPU code that I'll share with you.

BTC: 1E2egHUcLDAmcxcqZqpL18TPLx9Xj1akcV   Ψ: AWHJbwoM67Ez12SHH4pH5DnJKPoMSdvLz2   Primecoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Quarkcoin All-In-One VPS Setup Script   Metiscoin VPS Pool Mining Script
antonio8
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 05:49:22 AM
 #948

@ girino

Using GTX 670 was getting about 835 kH/s but it brought my system to a crawl. I had to stop it for now but will run it when I leave for work.

Good job on it.

EDIT: Works fine for the GTX670 but it is stuck at "Initializing Device: Oland" for my R7 250 (I know it aint worth much to mine, but I have all the other cards somewhere else). Just get a flashing cursor.

If you are going to leave your BTC on an exchange please send it to this address instead 1GH3ub3UUHbU5qDJW5u3E9jZ96ZEmzaXtG, I will at least use the money better than someone who steals it from the exchange. Thanks Wink
FreePls
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 05:54:12 AM
 #949

Would be nice if someone would team up with the dev and bring this coin a bit forward, the dev seems to be very quiet Smiley

phm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 110


DATABLOCKCHAIN.IO SALE IS LIVE | MVP @ DBC.IO


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 06:36:54 AM
 #950

@ girino

Using GTX 670 was getting about 835 kH/s but it brought my system to a crawl. I had to stop it for now but will run it when I leave for work.

Good job on it.

EDIT: Works fine for the GTX670 but it is stuck at "Initializing Device: Oland" for my R7 250 (I know it aint worth much to mine, but I have all the other cards somewhere else). Just get a flashing cursor.

Ouch, that's poor. My GPU miner does 125 MH/s on 4 x R9 290 rig. On NVIDIA cards it's much slower but still managed to get about 6 MH/s on Amazon GPU g2.2xlarge instance.

Sy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1003


Bounty Detective


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 07:43:43 AM
 #951

the GPU miner doesnt build on my smos rig...where do i get the opencl.h file?

Quote
In file included from xptMiner/main.cpp:3:
xptMiner/OpenCLObjects.h:21:23: error: CL/opencl.h: No such file or directory

Update:
Nevermind, fixed it by adding -I/opt/AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx32/include/CL/ to the makefile

BOUNTY DETECTIVE


















Powered by,
antonio8
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 08:03:11 AM
 #952

@ girino

Using GTX 670 was getting about 835 kH/s but it brought my system to a crawl. I had to stop it for now but will run it when I leave for work.

Good job on it.

EDIT: Works fine for the GTX670 but it is stuck at "Initializing Device: Oland" for my R7 250 (I know it aint worth much to mine, but I have all the other cards somewhere else). Just get a flashing cursor.

Ouch, that's poor. My GPU miner does 125 MH/s on 4 x R9 290 rig. On NVIDIA cards it's much slower but still managed to get about 6 MH/s on Amazon GPU g2.2xlarge instance.

I'll take anything extra right now.

If I use my R9 280X it gets 3,275 kH/s but I am using all my cards for something else right now. Just wanted to test this out for now.

If you are going to leave your BTC on an exchange please send it to this address instead 1GH3ub3UUHbU5qDJW5u3E9jZ96ZEmzaXtG, I will at least use the money better than someone who steals it from the exchange. Thanks Wink
kaene
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1005


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 10:40:02 AM
 #953

Would be nice if someone would team up with the dev and bring this coin a bit forward, the dev seems to be very quiet Smiley

Working on it Wink
stevenlam
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
February 04, 2014, 10:41:53 AM
 #954

Would be nice if someone would team up with the dev and bring this coin a bit forward, the dev seems to be very quiet Smiley

Working on it Wink

+1

microk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 11:28:11 AM
 #955

Hi.
That can not work on my R4870s.
Does it need the card support the OpenCl 1.1?
antonio8
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1000


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 12:48:58 PM
 #956

@ girino

Ran it overnight but when I woke up my kh/s went down by a lot. Not sure if it is just an error on reporting because it looks like my shares stayed ok.

R9 280X 3,280 kh/s woke up 245 kh/s
7850 1,400 kh/s woke up 169 kh/s
7850 1,600 kh/s woke up 270 kh/s

If you are going to leave your BTC on an exchange please send it to this address instead 1GH3ub3UUHbU5qDJW5u3E9jZ96ZEmzaXtG, I will at least use the money better than someone who steals it from the exchange. Thanks Wink
Chida
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 212
Merit: 100



View Profile
February 04, 2014, 01:09:48 PM
 #957

GPU miner came out. Increase costs, so the need for the miners to convert as soon as possible in bitcoin and relative decline in the value
Sad
bsunau7
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 01:22:20 PM
 #958

@ girino

Ran it overnight but when I woke up my kh/s went down by a lot. Not sure if it is just an error on reporting because it looks like my shares stayed ok.

R9 280X 3,280 kh/s woke up 245 kh/s
7850 1,400 kh/s woke up 169 kh/s
7850 1,600 kh/s woke up 270 kh/s

Looks like a counter wrap, the shares/h on ypool stayed constant for me..
girino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 1170


Advertise Here - PM for more info!


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 01:23:24 PM
 #959

@ girino

Ran it overnight but when I woke up my kh/s went down by a lot. Not sure if it is just an error on reporting because it looks like my shares stayed ok.

R9 280X 3,280 kh/s woke up 245 kh/s
7850 1,400 kh/s woke up 169 kh/s
7850 1,600 kh/s woke up 270 kh/s

it seems to be a reporting error, several people are complaining, the share rates don't go down, but hashes do. I will look into it.

Advertise Here - PM for more info!
girino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2296
Merit: 1170


Advertise Here - PM for more info!


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 01:31:25 PM
 #960

@ girino

Ran it overnight but when I woke up my kh/s went down by a lot. Not sure if it is just an error on reporting because it looks like my shares stayed ok.

R9 280X 3,280 kh/s woke up 245 kh/s
7850 1,400 kh/s woke up 169 kh/s
7850 1,600 kh/s woke up 270 kh/s

it seems to be a reporting error, several people are complaining, the share rates don't go down, but hashes do. I will look into it.

Just did my math. The hash counter is a uin32. At 1.4 GH/s it will cycle in 50 minutes Tongue Changing it to uint64 will get me some 400 thousand years or so at this speed. I'll do it for the next release.

Advertise Here - PM for more info!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!