Bitcoin Forum
March 08, 2021, 10:54:53 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 ... 102 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [GUIDE] GridSeed 5-Chip USB, Blade & Black Miner Support/Tuning  (Read 308111 times)
jahmen1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 25, 2014, 10:12:37 AM
 #41

I am using all units on the controller, when i am getting that error message







Let's assume you could install the controllers driver correctly ...

what would you like to do ... then?
I would like to

use the web interface to manage the units , set the mining address, and monitor hash rate with all 10 units routing through the usb bridge ,

correct ?

- I just tried using the custom cpuminer , with all units plugged directly to the pc using the usb hub, and 10 minerd.exe running  that seemed to work,


----------------

- the driver package with the preinstaller.exe seems to install the drivers. However the controller is not detected still , and is not listed in the device manager.

- same error in the web interface  system log " usb hub not found "
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1615244093
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1615244093

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1615244093
Reply with quote  #2

1615244093
Report to moderator
1615244093
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1615244093

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1615244093
Reply with quote  #2

1615244093
Report to moderator
1615244093
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1615244093

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1615244093
Reply with quote  #2

1615244093
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2954
Merit: 3091



View Profile
February 25, 2014, 01:43:58 PM
 #42

some photos. note the metal it rests on is a mail inbox from Target it will work well  with a few of these units and a psu.

http://www.target.com/p/metal-mesh-office-organizer-silver/-/A-13429688#prodSlot=medium_1_0&term=office organizer

http://www.target.com/p/5-pc-metal-mesh-drawer-organizer-set-silver/-/A-13429669#prodSlot=medium_1_3&term=office organizer

http://www.target.com/p/metal-mesh-tabletop-organizer-silver/-/A-13429685#prodSlot=medium_1_11&term=office organizer


http://www.target.com/p/metal-mesh-hanging-file-sorter-silver/-/A-13429673#prodSlot=medium_1_2&term=metal mesh

http://www.target.com/p/metal-mesh-tabletop-file-silver/-/A-13429672#prodSlot=medium_1_5&term=metal mesh

okay pretty plugs when wired correct = blue  wire wrong= red

blue = cool
red = dead





[/quote]

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2954
Merit: 3091



View Profile
February 25, 2014, 01:44:31 PM
 #43

shaved the usb plug. it now fits.

I took off 1/16 of an inch or 1.5mm









[/quote]

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
darkfriend77
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 254


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2014, 01:55:54 PM
 #44

We should start a bounty for a raspberry controller ... implementation ... so we can get ride of the controller ... and have 20-40 units connected to a raspberry ... .-)

-:| www.DOTMog.com |:-
PMB
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 25, 2014, 02:08:56 PM
 #45

We should start a bounty for a raspberry controller ... implementation ... so we can get ride of the controller ... and have 20-40 units connected to a raspberry ... .-)


From: https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=13314.225
---
great works. LIGHTNINGASIC Members.
Lightningasic - gridseed-based rig hashing litecoin on a raspberry pi.
http://vimeo.com/85853611
----

NO sources or compiled bin yet...

regards,

P.
darkfriend77
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 254


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2014, 02:14:51 PM
 #46

We should start a bounty for a raspberry controller ... implementation ... so we can get ride of the controller ... and have 20-40 units connected to a raspberry ... .-)


From: https://litecointalk.org/index.php?topic=13314.225
---
great works. LIGHTNINGASIC Members.
Lightningasic - gridseed-based rig hashing litecoin on a raspberry pi.
http://vimeo.com/85853611
----

NO sources or compiled bin yet...

regards,

P.

jep p. this one gona be closed source ... we need an open source implementation, so everyone can benefit, we don't want an other apple mining machine ...

-:| www.DOTMog.com |:-
Blueman666
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 25, 2014, 03:53:34 PM
 #47

I have seen a few mentions of gridseed in the bfgminer thread.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=168174.0;topicseen

I think they are probably concerning the single chip gridseed but bfgminer support would be the best option I think. Luke-Jr has already made contact with Lightningasic so perhaps we should all ask in his thread.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2954
Merit: 3091



View Profile
February 25, 2014, 05:51:14 PM
 #48

I have seen a few mentions of gridseed in the bfgminer thread.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=168174.0;topicseen

I think they are probably concerning the single chip gridseed but bfgminer support would be the best option I think. Luke-Jr has already made contact with Lightningasic so perhaps we should all ask in his thread.

yeah frankly I don't want to go nuts setting up the one I pruchased.
 I am running 9 gpus at wemineltc.com 
I figured I would get one 5 chip piece to play with  but I am a bit tired  of setups.

I spent a while setting up:

ant miner s-1's
ant miner u-1's
and ltc with wemineltc.

I would like an easy setup for a change

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
darkfriend77
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 254


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2014, 06:30:54 PM
 #49

just wired a few ... 2.1-5.5mm plugs (they do work) to a 12v 25a powersupply ...


-:| www.DOTMog.com |:-
wolfey2014
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2014, 06:36:38 PM
 #50

Okay, great. I have all 5 of my GC3355 pods hooked up and ready to go!
Only thing is, I don't know how to get them to mine!
I've gotten as far as installing the USB and pod drivers so my WIn7 Laptop recognizes them but I don't know which mining programs to use or are available.
IS there a win7 version I can use?
I've tried cgminer but it doesn't recognize my hardware.
Can someone who is already mining with the GC3355 Dual Miners help me out?
Thanks
Wolfey2014

I Modify Miners Professionally! PM me for details!
darkfriend77
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 254


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2014, 06:38:16 PM
 #51

Okay, great. I have all 5 of my GC3355 pods hooked up and ready to go!
Only thing is, I don't know how to get them to mine!
I've gotten as far as installing the USB and pod drivers so my WIn7 Laptop recognizes them but I don't know which mining programs to use or are available.
IS there a win7 version I can use?
I've tried cgminer but it doesn't recognize my hardware.
Can someone who is already mining with the GC3355 Dual Miners help me out?
Thanks
Wolfey2014

use the linked cpu miner in the open thread for scrypt.

-:| www.DOTMog.com |:-
wolfey2014
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2014, 07:01:00 PM
 #52

Okay, great. I have all 5 of my GC3355 pods hooked up and ready to go!
Only thing is, I don't know how to get them to mine!
I've gotten as far as installing the USB and pod drivers so my WIn7 Laptop recognizes them but I don't know which mining programs to use or are available.
IS there a win7 version I can use?
I've tried cgminer but it doesn't recognize my hardware.
Can someone who is already mining with the GC3355 Dual Miners help me out?
Thanks
Wolfey2014

use the linked cpu miner in the open thread for scrypt.

what linked cpu miner in what open thread?
Please be specific! Provide the links to what you're talking about....I'm a newbee... Wink
Thanks

I Modify Miners Professionally! PM me for details!
Blueman666
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 25, 2014, 07:48:49 PM
 #53

Good News !!

From the bfgminer thread -

Support for the single-chip thumbs is completed and submitted to Luke as a pull-request for 4.0:

https://github.com/nwoolls/bfgminer/tree/feature/dualminer-support

Support for the 5-chip miners is under way as well.
BitcoinValet
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 25, 2014, 07:52:40 PM
 #54

What is the final consensus on the connector size for individual power supplies? Is it 2.1mm, 2.5mm, or both?

jahmen1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 25, 2014, 07:59:12 PM
 #55

update :

- I am now plugging all units directly into pc via the 10 port usb hub,

- units  on com ports 1-9 are connecting and hashing  Smiley yay Smiley

- unts on com 10-12 give me an error when opening cpuminer  "open com10 failed , getlasterror 2"

any suggestions ?

- theory: I plugged each unit into the usb hub one at a time ,waiting for windows to recognize it , it has been suggested that the usb hub is getting overloaded by plugging all unit in at once.

- also to comment on my problems with the controller box,
It has been suggested to me that I need a basic hardware switch , instead of trying to use my fancy router to gain full function of the controller box,  I will go get one and try that out.

- to comment on the sdcard theory , windows is now asking me to do a sdcard update hmmm, it didnt before, maybe that is connected to issues

this is so much fun Smiley  , thanks for any help

Blueman666
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 25, 2014, 08:08:50 PM
 #56

What is the final consensus on the connector size for individual power supplies? Is it 2.1mm, 2.5mm, or both?
The actual size is 2.5mm but it seems that 2.1mm fit also.
jahmen1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 25, 2014, 09:12:16 PM
 #57

update :

- I am now plugging all units directly into pc via the 10 port usb hub,

- units  on com ports 1-9 are connecting and hashing  Smiley yay Smiley

- unts on com 10-12 give me an error when opening cpuminer  "open com10 failed , getlasterror 2"

any suggestions ?

- theory: I plugged each unit into the usb hub one at a time ,waiting for windows to recognize it , it has been suggested that the usb hub is getting overloaded by plugging all unit in at once.

- also to comment on my problems with the controller box,
It has been suggested to me that I need a basic hardware switch , instead of trying to use my fancy router to gain full function of the controller box,  I will go get one and try that out.

- to comment on the sdcard theory , windows is now asking me to do a sdcard update hmmm, it didnt before, maybe that is connected to issues

this is so much fun Smiley  , thanks for any help



 I opened up com 1 and 2 for use, and switched the units that were on com 11 and 12 over to com 1 and 2, now the units are hashing Smiley ta da !!!
darkfriend77
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 254


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2014, 10:29:52 PM
 #58

What is the final consensus on the connector size for individual power supplies? Is it 2.1mm, 2.5mm, or both?

I would say both I got both in hand here ... ordered a lot of 2.1-5.5mm and one 2.5-5.5mm to test and both worked out.

-:| www.DOTMog.com |:-
rammy2k2
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1778
Merit: 1002



View Profile
February 25, 2014, 10:35:45 PM
Merited by suchmoon (1)
 #59

For the ones who received black wires to connect to the PSU ; the wire with white text on it its the RED.
wolfey2014
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2014, 10:59:15 PM
 #60

For the ones who received black wires to connect to the PSU ; the wire with white text on it its the RED.

Right.
the black wire with the bold white stripe or bold white lettering is + Positive....
Wolfey2014

I Modify Miners Professionally! PM me for details!
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 ... 102 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!